输入搜索

亚太 精选

在柬埔寨消灭幸存者之后,眼睛逐渐走向中国的一带一路倡议

西哈努克城的救援队与挖掘机和反铲挖土机一起移动瓦砾(Photo by CENTRAL)。
西哈努克城的救援队与挖掘机和反铲挖土机一起移动瓦砾(Photo by CENTRAL)。

中国的“一带一路”倡议为中国带来了有利可图的中国投资,但当地人付出了多少代价?

挖掘机仔细地挖了一堆弯曲的钢铁和瓦砾,在柬埔寨沿海一座倒塌的建筑周围的泛光灯下移动它。 在60时间,邻居和公职人员挤在一起,看着紧急救援人员和士兵寻找幸存者。

据报道,前一天晚上,两辆卡车在西哈努克城的这个建筑工地上撤离了工人,这是一个快速膨胀的新兴城市。 但就在6月22黎明前,这座七层高的建筑倒塌了, 杀死人28 至少伤害26。

劳动者住在半完成的建筑物中,有些与他们的家人住在一起。 由于该地区的租金过于昂贵,许多人在建筑物周围倒塌时都睡着了。 一位37岁的建筑工人Phat Sophal是 被困 在救援人员将他拉出来之前的六个小时。 柬埔寨当局发现该建筑项目是非法的并且有 带电 五名中国公民因非故意杀人罪及其在事故中的共谋而受到串谋。

上周,含有86百万磅塑料废物的3.5集装箱非法抵达西哈努克港。 柬埔寨政府正在调查中国公司Chingyeun Plastics公司试图进口这些废物,所有这些废物都被贴上了回收标签。 当局仍在决定美国和加拿大的哪些公司负责运输废物。

中国的“一带一路”倡议引领柬埔寨

这些事件是中国近期在柬埔寨发展的最高潮。 这个王国是中国在东南亚的“一带一路”计划(BRI)的关键,中国企业已经投资了从高速公路到赌场的一切。 在l70% 柬埔寨的外国投资现在来自中国。

但是在西哈努克城发生六月灾难之后,现在有一群建筑工人,工会和民间社会团体 推回来 针对中国开发商违反柬埔寨法律的行为。 他们要求西哈努克城和柬埔寨各地的所有建筑项目暂停,直到独立专家可以核实承包商是否遵守法律和安全标准。

“我们担心中国在柬埔寨的投资项目不受监管。 项目数量如此之高,我们无法计算,“与工会合作的民间社会团体Equitable Cambodia执行董事Eang Vuthy告诉我们 公民真相.

工会联盟呼吁柬埔寨政府和开发商赔偿受害者及其家属,并要求所有违反柬埔寨法律的人承担责任。

“大多数中国国有和私营公司都不尊重他们的社会责任,不仅仅是在柬埔寨,而是在其他地方,”劳工和人权联盟中心(CENTRAL)项目经理Khun Tharo说。其中一个集团表达了对外国投资的担忧 公民真相.

这种情况也引起了联合国的注意 “必须进行全面调查和公开报告,以确定发生的事情,谁(如果有人)应受到指责并确保任何不法行为得到适当起诉,”联合国柬埔寨人权情况特别报告员罗娜史密斯教授告诉记者 公民真相。 “完整的独立调查还将允许当局确定目前的许可和检查制度是否足够。”

西哈努克城6月份建筑物倒塌的应急响应持续了60多个小时(图片来自CENTRAL)。

西哈努克城6月份建筑物倒塌的应急响应持续超过60小时(图片来自CENTRAL)。

在2018中,柬埔寨超过三分之一的6.2百万游客是中国人, 8倍 据该国旅游部称,与2011一样多。 许多中国人涌向该国的赌场:虽然赌博在中国大陆非常违法,柬埔寨法律禁止柬埔寨人赌博,但外国人可以参加赌博。

西哈努克城是中国赌场热潮以及中国在柬埔寨发展的重要基石。 中国公民拥有 90% 根据西哈努克城警察局局长Chuon Narin的说法,该市的业务。 这个城市的市长Y Sokleng, 说过 该地区的中国和柬埔寨人口现在大致相等。 北京建成的西哈努克经济特区(SEZ)位于城外的1,100公顷土地上,吸引了近10亿美元的投资。

柬埔寨对中国企业的宽松态度

工会 有人表示担心建筑工人越来越多地受到不受监管的外国投资的风险。 在西哈努克城崩溃前两个月,柬埔寨建筑和木材工人工会联合会(BWTUC)成员 游行 在金边要求更安全的工作条件。

如果没有有效的监管,建筑工人将面临巨大的风险,例如可能未注册且缺乏保险的非法承包商。 当地方当局试图执行劳动法和建筑法规时,分包商推卸责任。

“如果发生任何意外或侵犯工人权利,很难提出投诉并找出真正的雇主是谁,”Tharo说。

在西哈努克市,一些监管机构估计中国建筑项目的70%到80%有 使用与折叠建筑相同的方法,使用钢框架锚固结构而不是混凝土柱。 一些工会会员观察到许多承包商用海砂建造基础 建议 这也导致了建筑物的崩溃。

问题不在于缺乏法律,而在于缺乏执法。 在大楼倒塌之前,当局曾两次告诉承包商停止施工。

“投资者非常强大,很多时候他们不尊重地方当局。 它需要高层干预,“Vuthy说。

一个2017 调查 BWTUC发现,首都只有40%的建筑工人认为他们的工作场所是安全无伤的。

哈佛大学研究员Sreang Hang表示,“[柬埔寨首相]洪森和有关官员一直试图粉饰中国建筑和其他企业的案件,其中许多企业没有适当的法律许可。” Sreang表示,“中国政府已宣布对洪森提供更多支持。”

据CENTRAL称,该国有大约223,000建筑工人,使其成为该国第二大的建筑工人。

柬埔寨是一个低收入国家,建筑业是一个快速发展和有吸引力的工人工业。 虽然柬埔寨没有建筑工人的最低工资,但他们通常在首都每天的收入在8和$ 15之间,或者在西哈努克省的收入略高于 每月182美元 纺织工人的最低工资,柬埔寨最大的工业。

6月在柬埔寨西哈努克城致命建筑物现场的救援人员(照片来自CENTRAL)。

6月在柬埔寨西哈努克城致命建筑物现场的救援人员(照片来自CENTRAL)。

中国和柬埔寨作出回应

柬埔寨政府没有像工会要求的那样暂停建设项目,但他们已采取措施解决这个问题。 洪森 发射 Nhim Vanda,国家灾害管理委员会副主任,因为“缺乏责任感和撒谎”,以及未能出现在西哈努克城的灾难现场。

当时的省长云敏在事故发生后辞职,但很快就辞职了 任命 担任国防部国务卿。 根据工会的要求,他的继任者下令暂停该省所有钢结构建筑项目,等待审查。 政府还成立了工作组,审查西哈努克省的建筑项目,以确保他们遵守法律。

中国政府也意识到了这个问题。 关于西哈努克大使馆在金边大使馆倒塌后逮捕中国公民的问题 说过 他们支持“根据法律对柬埔寨主管当局的事故和必要措施进行彻底调查。”

民间社会团体正在监督政府的举措,并表示对外国投资和提高工人权利的规定是发展的关键步骤。 “各国需要投资来创造就业机会,市场和基础设施,但这在环境影响,问责制和透明度方面存在问题,”Tharo说。

“我们所说的都是真理,这些都是真正的问题。 这将有利于所有参与者,包括中国和柬埔寨政府,投资者和人民,“Vuthy说。

中国在柬埔寨的投资只会继续增长。 在4月的第二次一带一路论坛上,中国和柬埔寨 至少签了九笔交易。 西哈努克城的一个发展项目。

柬埔寨也正在利用其与中国越来越密切的联系,以防止欧盟自由贸易特权的潜在损失,因为欧盟委员会考虑结束关于柬埔寨持续侵犯人权和政治镇压的关切,以此结束“除武器之外的一切”计划。 对欧盟的出口占柬埔寨对外贸易和EBA协议的约40% 据说 每年为经济增加约676百万美元。

柬埔寨的BRI项目也影响了美国和中国在该地区的竞争以及两国之间的贸易争端。 美国有 所谓的 中国企业正在使用西哈努克城经济特区来避免对出口到美国的商品征收关税

中国还在柬埔寨的Ream海军基地开发了一个海军前哨基地,引起了美国国防部的关注,尽管这两个国家都有 否认 任何协议的存在。

“让我问一下那些指责我离中国过于亲近的人:除了诅咒和训练我并威胁要对我施加制裁之外,你还给了我什么?”洪森 说过 在去年中国支持的桥梁的开创性。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay是一位从事东南亚和中东项目的作家和摄影师。 他现在可能正在骑自行车。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月1,2019

    他们说历史重演。 是的,不。 世界在不断发展(变化),它是一个线性向量,而不是一个圆形现象。 但整个历史上的政治经历了同样的事情,称为“兴衰”。 崛起可能是欣快的,似乎是无止境的...但是 - 总是,及时 - 来临了秋天。

    富有洞察力的历史学家已经观察到,堕落往往是由于“内部腐烂” - 而不是来自入侵和征服。 他们在很大程度上将“内部腐败”等同于特殊利益集团对财富和权力的过度聚集。

    我们可能会问,在美国如何处理特殊利益。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC FEATURED

After Cambodia Digs Out Survivors, Eyes Cast Toward China’s Belt and Road Initiative

Rescue teams in Sihanoukville worked with excavators and backhoes to move rubble (Photo by CENTRAL).
Rescue teams in Sihanoukville worked with excavators and backhoes to move rubble (Photo by CENTRAL).

China’s Belt and Road Initiative has brought lucrative Chinese investment into Cambodia, but at what cost for locals?

Excavators carefully scooped piles of bent steel and rubble, moving it aside under the floodlights surrounding a collapsed building in this coastal Cambodian town. For 60 hours, neighbors and public officials crowded around, watching as emergency responders and soldiers looked for survivors.

The night before, two trucks reportedly dropped workers off at this construction site in Sihanoukville, a rapidly swelling boomtown. But just before dawn on June 22, the seven-story building collapsed, killing 28 people and injuring at least 26.

Laborers were living in the half-completed building, some with their families. With rent in the area too expensive to afford, many were asleep inside the structure when it collapsed around them. One 37-year-old construction worker, Phat Sophal, was trapped for six hours before rescuers pulled him out. Cambodian authorities found that the construction project was illegal and have charged five Chinese nationals with involuntary manslaughter and conspiracy for their role in the accident.

Last week, 86 shipping containers containing 3.5 million pounds of plastic waste arrived illegally at the port in Sihanoukville. The Cambodian government is now investigating Chinese firm Chingyeun Plastics for attempting to import the waste, all of which was labeled for recycling. Authorities are still determining which companies in the U.S. and Canada were responsible for shipping the waste.

China’s Belt and Road Initiative Leads to Cambodia

These incidents are the culmination of a recent tide of Chinese development in Cambodia. The kingdom is key to China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) plans in Southeast Asia, and Chinese firms have invested in everything from highways to casinos. At least 70% of Cambodia’s foreign investments now come from China.

But following the June disaster in Sihanoukville, a group of construction workers, unions and civil society groups is now pushing back against Chinese developers’ violations of Cambodian law. They’re calling for all construction projects in Sihanoukville and across Cambodia to be suspended until independent experts can verify that contractors are complying with laws and safety standards.

“We are concerned about the unregulated Chinese investment projects in Cambodia. The number of projects is so high that we cannot count,” Eang Vuthy, Executive Director at Equitable Cambodia, a civil society group working with unions, told Citizen Truth.

The coalition of unions is calling for the Cambodian government and developers to compensate victims and their families and hold all violators of Cambodian law accountable. 

“Most of the Chinese state-owned and private companies have a bad history of not respecting their social responsibilities, not just in Cambodia but elsewhere,” said Khun Tharo, program manager at the Center for Alliance of Labor and Human Rights (CENTRAL), one of the groups voicing concerns about foreign investment, to Citizen Truth.

The situation has also attracted the attention of the U.N. “A full investigation and public report is necessary to establish what happened, who (if anyone) is to blame and to ensure that any wrongdoing is properly prosecuted,” Professor Rhona Smith, U.N. special rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Cambodia, told Citizen Truth. “A full independent investigation will also allow the authorities to determine if the current system of permits and checks is adequate.”

The emergency response to the building collapse in Sihanoukville in June continued for over sixty hours (Photo by CENTRAL).

The emergency response to the building collapse in Sihanoukville in June continued for more than 60 hours (Photo by CENTRAL).

In 2018 more than a third of Cambodia’s 6.2 million tourists were Chinese, eight times as many as in 2011, according to the kingdom’s Ministry of Tourism. Many Chinese flock to the country’s casinos: while gambling is mostly illegal in mainland China and Cambodian law prohibits Cambodians from gambling, foreigners are allowed to partake.

Sihanoukville is ground zero for this Chinese casino boom and much of the Chinese development in Cambodia. Chinese nationals own 90% of the city’s businesses, according to Sihanoukville Police Chief Chuon Narin. The city’s mayor, Y Sokleng, said that the Chinese and Cambodian populations in the area are now roughly equal. The Beijing-built Sihanoukville Special Economic Zone (SEZ) is located on a 1,100-hectare plot just outside the city and has attracted nearly a billion dollars of investments. 

Cambodia’s Lax Approach to Chinese Firms

Unions have voiced concerns that construction workers are increasingly at risk from unregulated foreign investments. Only two months prior to the collapse in Sihanoukville, members of the Building and Wood Workers Trade Union Federation of Cambodia (BWTUC) marched in Phnom Penh to demand safer working conditions.

Without effective regulation, construction workers face immense risks such as illegal contractors who may be unregistered and lack insurance. When local authorities attempt to enforce labor laws and construction regulations, subcontractors shirk responsibility.

“With any accident or violation of workers’ rights, it’s hard to file complaints and to find who the real employer is,” said Tharo.

In Sihanoukville some watchdogs groups estimate that 70% to 80% of the Chinese construction projects have used the same methods as the collapsed building, using steel frames to anchor the structure instead of concrete columns. Some trade unionists have observed that many contractors build foundations with sea sand and suggest this also contributed to the building’s collapse.

The problem doesn’t stem from a lack of laws but from a lack of enforcement. Before the building collapsed, authorities had twice told the contractors to stop construction.

“The investors are really strong and many times they’re not respecting local authorities. It needs a high-level intervention,” said Vuthy.

A 2017 survey by BWTUC found that only 40% of construction workers in the capital considered their worksites were safe and injury-free.

“[Cambodian Prime Minister] Hun Sen and the officials involved have been trying to whitewash the case of Chinese construction and other businesses, many of which have no proper legal permits,” said Sreang Hang, a research fellow at Harvard University. In response, said Sreang, “The Chinese government has declared more support for Hun Sen.”

According to CENTRAL, there are about 223,000 construction workers in the country, making it the country’s second-largest sector.

Cambodia is a lower-income country, and construction is a rapidly growing and attractive industry for workers. Though Cambodia doesn’t have a minimum wage for construction workers, they typically make between $8 and $15 per day in the capital, or slightly more in Sihanoukville, much more than the $182 per month minimum wage for textile workers, the largest industry in Cambodia.

Rescue workers at the scene of the fatal building collapse in Sihanoukville, Cambodia in June (Photo by CENTRAL).

Rescue workers at the scene of the fatal building collapse in Sihanoukville, Cambodia in June (Photo by CENTRAL).

China and Cambodia Respond

The Cambodian government hasn’t suspended construction projects as the unions demanded, but they have taken steps to address the problem. Hun Sen fired Nhim Vanda, deputy director of the National Committee on Disaster Management, for his “lack of responsibility and for lying,” as well as failing to show up at the site of the disaster in Sihanoukville. 

The governor of the province at the time, Yun Min, resigned after the accident but was soon appointed as secretary of state to the Ministry of National Defense. Following demands from unions, his successor ordered that all steel frame construction projects in the province be suspended pending review. The government also established working groups to review construction projects across Sihanoukville province to ensure they’re in compliance with the law. 

The Chinese government is aware of the problem as well. Regarding the arrest of Chinese nationals following the collapse in Sihanoukville, the embassy in Phnom Penh said they support “a thorough investigation of the accident and necessary measures by competent Cambodian authority in accordance with the law.”

Civil society groups are monitoring the government’s moves and say regulations on foreign investments and advancing workers rights are key steps toward development. “Countries need investment to create jobs, markets and infrastructure, but it’s an issue in terms of environmental impacts, accountability and transparency,” said Tharo.

“All we say is truth and these are real concerns. This will benefit all actors, including the Chinese and Cambodian governments, the investors and the people,” said Vuthy.

Chinese investment in Cambodia will only continue to grow. At the second Belt and Road Forum in April, China and Cambodia signed at least nine deals. One covered development in Sihanoukville.

Cambodia is also using its ever-closer ties with China to insulate itself against the potential loss of E.U. free trade privileges, as the European Commission considers ending the Everything But Arms (EBA) program over concerns about continuing human rights violations and political repression in Cambodia. Exports to the E.U. account for about 40% of Cambodia’s outbound trade and the EBA agreement reportedly adds around $676 million per year to the economy.

BRI projects in Cambodia are also affecting the U.S. and China’s rivalry in the region and the trade dispute between the two countries. The U.S. has alleged that Chinese businesses are using the Sihanoukville SEZ to avoid paying tariffs on goods exported to the U.S.

China is also developing a naval outpost at Cambodia’s Ream Naval Base in the area, prompting concern from the U.S. Defense Department, though both countries have denied the existence of any agreement. 

“Let me ask those of you who have accused me of being too close to China: What have you offered me besides cursing and disciplining me and threatening to put sanctions on me?” Hun Sen said at the groundbreaking of a Chinese-backed bridge last year.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay is a writer and photographer working on projects in Southeast Asia and the Middle East. He is probably on his bicycle right now.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 1, 2019

    They say that history repeats itself. Yes, and no. The world is continually evolving (changing), and it is a linear vector, not a circular phenomenon. But polities throughout history have experienced the same thing, called “the rise and fall”. The rise can be euphoric and seem to be neverending…but — always, in time — comes the fall.

    Insightful historians have observed that the fall, as often as not, results from “internal rot” — not from invasion and conquest from without. And they largely equate “internal rot” with the inordinate aggregation of wealth and power by special interests.

    How are special interests faring in the USA, we might ask.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.