输入搜索

亚太 欧洲 TRENDING-ASIA

美国中央情报局,俄罗斯,异议团体参与朝鲜大使馆袭击的指控漩涡

来自韩国的一名记者在朝鲜驻西班牙马德里大使馆2月28,2019对话。 路透社/塞尔吉奥佩雷斯
来自韩国的一名记者在朝鲜驻西班牙马德里大使馆2月28,2019对话。 路透社/塞尔吉奥佩雷斯

谁闯入了朝鲜驻西班牙大使馆? 无耻的攻击和围攻数据促成了多种理论。

在22二月,就在唐纳德特朗普总统与朝鲜同行金正恩在越南河内举行峰会前五天,十名蒙面男子闯入朝鲜驻马德里大使馆。

进入内部后,蒙面男子将大使馆员工绑起来并偷走了几台电脑。 一名女性员工设法通过二楼的窗户逃生。 她尖叫起来,附近的居民通过报警来迅速做出反应。

当警察到达时,一名亚洲男子向他们打招呼并试图向他们保证一切正常,一切都没有发生。 几分钟后,这名男子和十名袭击者用计算机,手机和文件逃离使馆大楼,并在两辆全速行驶的外交车上起飞。

“他们携带假火器并持有他们两个小时,” 一位接近调查的消息人士说。 警察发现,八个人被绑在头上需要四个小时。 突袭后,其中两人需要医疗帮助。

谁是朝鲜驻马德里大使馆袭击的幕后黑手?

到目前为止,关于谁应对此次袭击负责的指控在媒体上有所不同。 El Pais的 的机密 两人都报告说,西班牙调查人员认为其中两名嫌犯与中央情报局(CIA)有联系。

美国中央情报局否认了这一指控,美国,西班牙和朝鲜政府的官员拒绝发表评论。

“华盛顿邮报”和其他美国媒体报道称,一名旨在推翻金正恩的朝鲜持不同政见者组织被认为是袭击事件的策划者。 根据消息来源对邮政的声明,该组织被召集 Cheollima民防。

该报称,这个名为Free Joseon的集团在从韩国撤离金的一名侄子后,在2017中突显出来,当他对他的生命构成潜在威胁时。

邮报的消息称,该组织没有与任何政府协调行动,美国情报机构特别不愿意介入,因为金正日与美国总统唐纳德特朗普将于2月在河内举行第二次峰会之前的敏感时间。 27-28。

2月25小组的网站发布 一份声明说,该组织“收到了某个西方国家同志的帮助请求”,“这是一个非常危险的情况,但(我们)回应了。”该组织表示,一周将发布重要的声明,但没有任何行动的细节已经公布。

到目前为止,El Confidencial和El Pais尚未提供支持证据证明CIA是袭击事件的背后,尽管他们声称他们的信息来自西班牙警方调查人员。

华盛顿考官根据作者的论点,俄罗斯可能会参与El Pais指控中央情报局参与大使馆袭击的指控 - 因为俄罗斯喜欢推动其反美政治议程。

中央情报局参与马德里质疑

其他报道声称中央情报局策划袭击是不可能的。 多名安全专家和情报官员告诉记者 雅虎新闻 美国情报部门进行这样的行动风险太大。

中央情报局前高级领导分析师约翰尼克松, 他在给雅虎的电子邮件中写道:“这对我来说听起来像是基石警察(原文如此)。 美国中央情报局对这种公开行为所感受到的风险厌恶情绪肯定会引发并导致这样的计划在死板上死亡。“

David Maxwell,前特别行动官,在亚洲拥有超过20年的经验, 同时也对中央情报局在袭击中的作用表示怀疑.

然而,总部位于弗吉尼亚州的非营利性分析公司CNA的国际事务小组高级外国领导分析师兼主任Ken Gause告诉雅虎“情报机构有这样做的先例是出于[反间谍]原因向外国大使馆这样做。

“通常情况下,我们可以保持安静,但过去几年在欧洲有美国知识产权(例如,窃听领导者的个人手机)以及特朗普的政策对传统盟友造成的愤怒,我们不能这样做也就不足为奇了保持这个事件安静,如果实际上是我们这样做了,“Gause在给雅虎的电子邮件中说。

另一个理论 西班牙新闻网站el Periodico提出,这些人是雇佣兵,可能是由韩国情报部门雇佣的,这些情报经常与美国情报部门携手合作。 随着特朗普 - 金正日峰会在闯入几天后即将到来,这引发了一个问题,即韩国和美国是否会使首脑会议处于危险之中。

为什么朝鲜大使馆有针对性?

多份报告显示,袭击者可能已闯入使馆大楼,了解有关前朝鲜驻西班牙大使Kim Hyok-Chol的信息,由于平壤的核试验计划,他于9月被2017驱逐出境。

在河内峰会期间,Hyok-Chol在他的国家与美国的谈判中发挥了至关重要的作用。 去年1月,Hyok-chol还与Jong-un的右手Kim Yong-Chol一起参加了华盛顿之旅。

奇怪的是,袭击者携带仿制武器,而警方在大使馆发现了“武器库”,其中包括霰弹枪,步枪和手枪。 西班牙的枪支所有权法律非常严格。

无论攻击背后的原因是什么,攻击者都能顺利地进行操作,表明他们知道他们在寻找什么:手机和计算机设备,其中包含朝鲜政府的大量信息。

目前尚不清楚嫌疑人是否知道下午大楼内有会议。 “看来他们不知道那里有客人。 然而,他们显然正在寻找具体的文件,“接近西班牙调查人员的消息人士称 告诉El Pais。


路透社对本文做出了贡献。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC EUROPE TRENDING-ASIA

Accusations Swirl of CIA, Russia, Dissident Group Involvement in North Korea Embassy Attack

A journalist from South Korea rings an intercom of North Korea's embassy in Madrid, Spain February 28, 2019. REUTERS/Sergio Perez
A journalist from South Korea rings an intercom of North Korea's embassy in Madrid, Spain February 28, 2019. REUTERS/Sergio Perez

Who broke into North Korea’s embassy in Spain? The brazen attack and siege of data has prompted multiple theories.

On February 22, just five days ahead of the summit between President Donald Trump and North Korean counterpart Kim Jong-Un in Hanoi, Vietnam, ten masked men broke into the North Korea embassy in Madrid.

Once inside, the masked men tied up embassy employees and stole several computers. A female employee managed to escape through a window on the second floor. She screamed, and nearby residents reacted quickly by calling the police.

When police officers arrived an Asian man greeted them and tried to assure them everything was OK and nothing had happened. A few minutes later, the man and the ten attackers escaped from the embassy building with computers, mobile phones and documents and took off in two diplomatic cars driving at full speed.

“They carried fake firearms and held them for two hours,” said a source close to the investigation. The police found that eight people were bound for four hours with bags on their heads. Two of them needed medical help after the raid.

Who Was Behind the Raid on the North Korean Embassy in Madrid?

Allegations of who’s responsible for the attack have varied in the media so far. El Pais and El Confidencial both reported that Spanish investigators believe two of the suspects have ties to the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

The CIA denied the allegation and officials from American, Spanish and North Korean governments declined to comment.

The Washington Post and other American media outlets reported that a North Korean dissident group aimed at overthrowing Kim Jong-Un was believed to be the mastermind of the attack. According to a source’s statement to the Post, the group is called the Cheollima Civil Defense.

The newspaper said the group, which also goes by the name Free Joseon, came to prominence in 2017 after evacuating a nephew of Kim from Macau when potential threats to his life surfaced.

The Post’s sources said the group did not act in coordination with any governments and U.S. intelligence agencies would have been especially reluctant to be involved given the sensitive timing of the mission ahead of a second summit between Kim and U.S. President Donald Trump in Hanoi from Feb. 27-28.

On Feb. 25 the group’s website posted a statement saying the group had “received a request for help from comrades in a certain Western country” and that “it was a highly dangerous situation but (we) responded.” The group said an important announcement would be coming that week, but no details of any operation have been released.

So far, El Confidencial and El Pais have yet to provide supporting evidence that the CIA was behind the attack though they claim their information comes from Spanish police investigators.

The Washington Examiner, in an opinion piece, suggested that Russia might be involved in El Pais’ accusation of CIA involvement in the embassy attack – since Russia loves to promote its anti-American political agenda, according to the author’s argument.

CIA Involvement in Madrid Questioned 

Other reports claim that it was improbable the CIA masterminded the raid. Multiple security experts and intelligence officials told Yahoo News that it was too risky for American intelligence to conduct such an operation.

John Nixon, a former senior leadership analyst at the CIA, wrote in his email to Yahoo: “This sounds like keystone cops (sic) to me. The risk aversion the CIA feels for such [an] overt act would most certainly kick in and cause such a plan to die on the drawing board.”

David Maxwell, a former Special Operations officer with more than 20 years experience in Asia, also cast doubt over the CIA’s role in the raid.

However, Ken Gause, a senior foreign leadership analyst and director of the international affairs group at CNA, a nonprofit analysis firm based in Virginia told Yahoo “There is precedent of intelligence agencies doing this to foreign embassies for [counterintelligence] reasons.

“Normally we can keep it quiet but given U.S. intel ops in Europe over the last few years (bugging leaders’ personal cell phones, for example) and the anger Trump’s policies have caused with traditional allies, it is not surprising that we couldn’t keep this incident quiet, if in fact it was us who did it,” said Gause in an email to Yahoo.

Another theory put forth by Spanish news site el Periodico is that the men were mercenaries for hire, possibly hired by South Korean intelligence which has often worked hand in hand with U.S. intelligence. With the Trump-Kim summit approaching only days after the break-in though, it begs the question if South Korea and the U.S. would put the summit at risk.

Why Was the North Korean Embassy Targeted?

Multiple reports suggested that the assailants may have broken into the embassy building to find out information about former North Korean ambassador to Spain, Kim Hyok-Chol, who was expelled in September 2017 due to Pyongyang’s nuclear testing program.

Hyok-Chol played a vital role in his country’s negotiations with the U.S. during the Hanoi summit. Hyok-chol also joined a Washington trip with Jong-un’s right hand Kim Yong-Chol last January.

Oddly, the assailants carried imitation weapons while police discovered “an arsenal of arms” in the embassy which consisted of shotguns, rifles and handguns. Gun ownership laws in Spain are stringent.

Whatever the reason behind the attack, the attackers carried out the operation smoothly, indicating they knew what they looking for: cellphones and computer devices, which contained vast information of the North Korean government.

It is unknown whether the suspects knew there was a meeting inside the building in the afternoon. “It appears that they did not know that there were guests there. They were, however, apparently looking for specific documentation,” sources close to Spanish investigators told El Pais.

 


Reuters contributed to this article.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.