输入搜索

非洲 健康/ SCI / TECH TRENDING-AFRICA

默克制药公司是否选择了儿童的利润?

泰迪熊与疫苗
(图片来源)

由于供应问题,默克公司正在终止以低成本向低收入国家提供拯救生命的病毒的协议,但将开始向中国出售这种疫苗。

由于“供应限制”,制药公司默克公司(Merck&Co.,Inc。)已终止了向西非国家提供拯救生命的轮状病毒疫苗的长期协议。 据国家公共广播电台报道。 相反,默克公司刚开始向中国出售轮状病毒疫苗RotaTeq,价格更高。

去年四月,默克收到了 批准 开始在中国销售疫苗,预计销售额每年将为公司带来80百万美元。

默克公司已同意2011在低收入国家销售该疫苗,每剂的成本降低约3.50,在美国每剂的售价约为70。

什么是轮状病毒?

一种可能致命的腹泻形式,轮状病毒每年导致大约200,000婴儿和幼儿死亡,根据 世界卫生组织.

到五岁时,全球几乎每个孩子都接触过轮状病毒。 根据美国疾病控制和预防中心的数据,在美国接种疫苗之前,每年有超过50,000儿童因轮状病毒住院。

在富裕国家,轮状病毒可能很严重,但很少致命。 然而,在较不富裕的国家,轮状病毒经常变得致命, Mathuram Santosham博士 在约翰霍普金斯大学说。 患有轮状病毒的儿童可以 高达20 每天腹泻一次。

桑托斯博士说 美国国家公共电台:“我看到孩子们在我眼前死去。 这令人心碎。 因此,最贫穷国家的儿童 - 以及这些国家中最贫困的儿童 - 接种这种疫苗尤为重要。“

疫苗联盟的Gavi说 NPR在一封电子邮件中 默克公司决定终止协议可能意味着西非国家布基纳法索,马里,象牙海岸和圣多美和普林西比的50万儿童可以在2018和2019中没有轮状病毒疫苗。 在2020中,可能有2百万儿童可能没有它。

Santosham继续说道,“无论您是富裕还是不富裕,每个国家都需要轮状病毒疫苗。 因此默克在中国销售这种疫苗没问题。 但是,孩子们不应仅仅因为他们属于一个贫穷的国家而被拒绝接种疫苗。“

关于终止与西非的协议并向中国提供疫苗的决定,默克的一位发言人间接表示 回应NPR 在电子邮件中:

“当面临供应限制时,例如,我们会评估所有选项,以确定我们如何能够尽最大努力履行我们与联合国儿童基金会和符合GAVI资格的国家达成的协议,同时满足具有约束力的合同要求我们与其他国家有关。 我们分配给中国的产品是在该国批准使用的产品,以履行我们与2012当地疫苗公司签订的具有约束力的协议的条款。 我相信你可以欣赏,该合同的细节是默克所有的[原文如此]; 因此,我们无法确认剂量数量,也无法讨论价格。“

新的轮状病毒疫苗可用,但可能需要两年时间才能到达西非的儿童

幸运的是,世界卫生组织在今年早些时候对两种新的轮状病毒疫苗进行了预先认证。 两种疫苗, Rotavac 由巴拉特生物技术公司制造 Rotasil 由印度血清研究所制造,在印度制造。

唯一的缺点是这些疫苗可能需要两年多的时间才能在西非全国范围内使用。 弗雷德里克卡塞尔斯,PATH疫苗创新和获取中心的肠道和腹泻疾病的领导者。

虽然短短几年的延迟可能使数百万婴儿和儿童面临轮状病毒的风险,这可能会摧毁西非的众多家庭,Cassels和其他新疫苗的倡导者希望它们能在不到五年的时间内随时可用。 。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Merck is ending an agreement to supply a life-saving virus to low-income countries at reduced costs due to supply issues, but will begin selling the vaccine to China.

Pharmaceutical company Merck & Co., Inc. has ended a long-term agreement to supply life-saving rotavirus vaccines to countries in West Africa due to “supply constraints,” according to National Public Radio. Merck has instead just begun to sell the rotavirus vaccine, RotaTeq, to China, most likely for a much higher price.

Last April, Merck received approval to begin selling the vaccine in China where sales are expected to bring the company $80 million every year.

Merck had agreed in 2011 to sell the vaccine in low-income countries for a reduced cost of about $3.50 per dose, in the U.S. each dose sells for about $70.

What is Rotavirus?

A potentially deadly form of diarrhea, rotavirus kills approximately 200,000 babies and young children each year, according to the World Health Organization.

By age five, nearly every child globally has been exposed to rotavirus. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, more than 50,000 children were hospitalized each year due to rotavirus before the U.S. got the vaccine.

In affluent countries, rotavirus can be severe but is rarely deadly. In less affluent countries, however, rotavirus often becomes lethal, Dr. Mathuram Santosham at Johns Hopkins University says. Children with rotavirus can have up to 20 bouts of diarrhea a day.

Dr. Santosham said to NPR: “I’ve seen kids die right in front of my eyes. It’s heartbreaking. So it’s particularly important for the children in the poorest countries—and the poorest children in these countries—to get this vaccine.”

Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, told NPR in an email that Merck’s decision to end their agreement could mean that a half-million children in the West African countries of Burkina Faso, Mali, Ivory Coast and Sao Tome and Principe could go without the rotavirus vaccine in 2018 and 2019. In 2020, potentially 2 million children could go without it.

Santosham continues, “The rotavirus vaccine is needed in every country, whether you’re affluent or not affluent. So I have no problem with Merck selling the vaccine in China. But kids should not be denied vaccines just because they belong to a poor country.”

Regarding the decision to end the agreement with West Africa and supply the vaccine to China, a spokesperson from Merck indirectly responded to NPR in an email:

“When faced with supply constraints, such as this, we evaluate all options to determine how we can fulfill the agreement we made with UNICEF and GAVI-eligible countries to the best of our ability, while at the same time meet the binding contract demands we have with other countries. The product we have allocated to China is what has been approved for use in that country to fulfill the terms of a binding agreement we signed with a local vaccine company in 2012. As I’m sure you can appreciate, the details of that contract is [sic] proprietary to Merck; as such, we cannot confirm the number of doses nor discuss price.”

New Rotavirus Vaccines are Available but May Take Two Years to Reach Children in West Africa

Fortunately, the World Health Organization pre-qualified two new rotavirus vaccines earlier this year. Both vaccines, Rotavac manufactured by Bharat Biotech and Rotasil manufactured by Serum Institute of India, are made in India.

The only downside is that it could take more than two years for these vaccines to become available on a national scale in West Africa, according to Frederick Cassels, a leader for enteric and diarrheal diseases with PATH Center for Vaccine Innovation and Access.

Although a delay of just a few years could put millions of babies and children at risk for rotavirus, which could devastate a multitude of families in West Africa, Cassels and other advocates for the new vaccines hope they will become readily available in fewer than five years.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.