输入搜索

美洲 TRENDING美洲地区

在富油省获得重大保守胜利后,“艾伯塔省开门营业”

杰森肯尼(摄影:michael_swan)
杰森肯尼(摄影:michael_swan)

肯尼谈到他将如何通过“充分配备人员,快速反应的战争室”来捍卫艾伯塔省的资源部门,这将“有效地反驳绿色左派所说的每一个谎言”。

杰森肯尼和他的右翼联合保守党(UCP)周二在加拿大石油资源丰富的阿尔伯塔省赢得了全面胜利,承诺减税,重建该地区陷入困境的化石燃料部门,并削减环境法规。

肯尼的胜利对首相贾斯汀特鲁多来说是个坏消息,因为艾伯塔省即将到来的保守派领导层试图挑战总理的碳排放门槛。

“艾伯塔省是 开门营业“肯尼在胜利演讲中说,结束了雷切尔诺特左翼新民主党领导下的四年领导。

肯尼称安大略省和其他四个省份反对特鲁多总理的联邦碳定价计划“加拿大政府联盟”,并表示他作为总理的首要任务是取消前领导人的“杀死工作”碳税。 特鲁多的联邦政府做出回应,威胁要施加自己的政府。

艾伯塔省既经济困难又污染

自2014油价暴跌以来,艾伯塔省面临经济困难,许多艾伯塔人认为雷切尔·诺特利自由党因加剧环境法规问题而感到内疚。 阿尔伯塔大学(University of Alberta)政治学教授肖娜•威尔顿(Shauna Wilton)对此表示 监护人“人们喜欢并尊重雷切尔·诺特,但是有一部分人因石油危机而责备她,并将碳税视为艾伯塔省所有问题的根源。”

加拿大正在以一定的速度变暖 全球平均水平的两倍 艾伯塔省是迄今为止该国最大的污染者。 在国家应对气候变化的计划中,诺特利政府是贾斯汀特鲁多政府的重要盟友。

然而,在依赖化石燃料取得经济成功的地区,艾伯塔人认为发展比环境问题更为紧迫,他们对他们认为不民主的联邦政策表示不满。 安格斯里德研究所最近的一项民意调查显示 50% 艾伯塔人支持从加拿大分裂,一些人称之为“Albexit”。

肯尼到Amass战争室打击绿党谎言

肯尼 发誓要调查 为环保主义团体提供资金,他被指控为“对该省进行经济破坏活动。”肯尼谈到他将如何通过“充分配备人员,快速反应的战争室”来捍卫艾伯塔省的资源部门,这将“有效地反驳每一个谎言绿色左边说道。“

Democracy Watch的Duff Conacher挑战Kenney的主张, :

“如果杰森肯尼希望停止大笔资金,他应该瞄准所有大笔资金的来源,而不仅仅是他试图妖魔化的公民和环保团体,因为他赞成在石油补丁中运营的外资大企业。 ”

新总理承诺振兴该地区的油砂开发并完成Trans Morgan管道。

虽然艾伯塔省是一个历史悠久的保守地区,但在联邦大选前六个月,特鲁多的损失尤为严重。 特鲁多最近在受到指控后声名鹊起 不当干预 在一个刑事案件浮出水面,他现在 82%的加拿大人 生活在由中右翼政府控制的省份。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS TRENDING-AMERICAS

‘Alberta Open For Business’ After Major Conservative Victory in Oil-Rich Province

Jason Kenney (Photo: michael_swan)
Jason Kenney (Photo: michael_swan)

Kenney spoke of how he would defend Alberta’s resource sector with a “fully staffed, rapid response war room” that would, “effectively rebut every lie told by the green left.”

Jason Kenney and his right-wing United Conservative party (UCP) won a sweeping victory in Canada’s oil-rich Alberta province on Tuesday, pledging to cut taxes, redevelop the territory’s troubled fossil fuel sector, and slash environmental regulations.

Kenney’s victory is bad news for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, as Alberta’s incoming conservative leadership seeks to challenge the PM’s carbon emission threshold.

“Alberta is open for business,” Kenney said in his victory speech, ending four years of leadership under Rachel Notley’s leftwing New Democratic party.

Kenney called Ontario and four other provinces opposed to Prime Minister Trudeau’s federal carbon pricing plan the “alliance of Canadian governments,” and stated his first priority as premier would be to cancel the former leader’s “job killing” carbon tax. Trudeau’s federal government responded by threatening to impose its own.

Alberta Battles Both Economic Hardship and Pollution

Alberta has faced economic difficulties since the collapse of oil prices in 2014, and many Albertans view Rachel Notley’s liberal party as guilty for exacerbating the problem with environmental regulations. Shauna Wilton, a professor of political science at the University of Alberta, told the Guardian, “People like and respect Rachel Notley, but there’s a segment of the population that blames her for the oil downturn and sees the carbon tax as the source of all of Alberta’s problems.”

Canada is warming at a rate twice the global average and Alberta is by far the largest polluter in the country. Notley’s government was a critical ally to Justin Trudeau’s government in their nationwide plan to fight climate change.

In a region dependent on fossil fuels for economic success, however, Albertans viewed development as more urgent than environmental concerns, and they expressed discontent with what they perceived to be undemocratic federal policies. A recent poll from the Angus Reid Institute showed 50 percent of Albertans in favor of splitting from Canada, an idea some have dubbed “Albexit.”

Kenney to Amass a War Room to Combat Green Party Lies

Kenney vowed to investigate the funding of environmentalist groups, whom he accused of “a campaign of economic sabotage against the province.” Kenney spoke of how he would defend Alberta’s resource sector with a “fully staffed, rapid response war room” that would, “effectively rebut every lie told by the green left.”

Democracy Watch’s Duff Conacher challenged Kenney’s claim, saying:

“If Jason Kenney wants to stop big money, he should be aiming at all the sources of big money, not just citizen and environmental groups that he’s trying to demonize because he favors the foreign-owned big businesses that are operating in the oil patch.”

The new premier promises to revitalize the region’s oil sands development and complete the Trans Morgan pipeline.

While Alberta is a historically conservative region, the loss is particularly hurtful to Trudeau six months before the federal election. Trudeau recently dipped in popularity after allegations he improperly intervened in a criminal case surfaced, and he now 82% of Canadians live in provinces controlled by center-right governments.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.