اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS تتجه-AMERICAS

"ألبرتا مفتوحة للأعمال" بعد انتصار المحافظين الرئيسيين في المقاطعة الغنية بالنفط

جيسون كيني (الصورة: michael_swan)
جيسون كيني (الصورة: michael_swan)

تحدث كيني عن الطريقة التي سيدافع بها عن قطاع الموارد في ألبرتا من خلال "غرفة حرب استجابة سريعة التزويد بالموظفين" والتي "تدحض بشكل فعال كل كذبة يرويها اليسار الأخضر".

فاز جيسون كيني وحزبه اليميني المحافظ (UCP) بنصر ساحق في مقاطعة ألبرتا الغنية بالنفط في كندا يوم الثلاثاء ، متعهدين بخفض الضرائب ، وإعادة تطوير قطاع الوقود الأحفوري المضطرب في الإقليم ، وخفض الأنظمة البيئية.

يعد انتصار كيني خبراً سيئًا لرئيس الوزراء جوستين ترودو ، حيث تسعى القيادة البرلمانية المحافظة القادمة إلى تحدي عتبة انبعاثات الكربون الصادرة عن رئيس الوزراء.

"ألبرتا هي مفتوح للعملقال كيني في خطاب النصر الذي أنهى أربع سنوات من القيادة في ظل الحزب الديمقراطي الجديد اليساري لراشيل نوتلي.

وصف كيني أونتاريو وأربعة أقاليم أخرى تعارض خطة رئيس الوزراء ترودو الفيدرالية لتسعير الكربون بأنها "تحالف الحكومات الكندية" ، وذكر أن أولويته الأولى كرئيس للوزراء هي إلغاء ضريبة "قتل الوظائف" التي وضعها الزعيم السابق. وردت حكومة ترودو الفيدرالية من خلال التهديد بفرض بلدها.

ألبرتا تحارب كلا من الصعوبات الاقتصادية والتلوث

واجهت ألبرتا صعوبات اقتصادية منذ انهيار أسعار النفط في 2014 ، ويرى الكثير من ألبرتا أن الحزب الليبرالي لراشيل نوتلي مذنب بسبب تفاقم المشكلة باللوائح البيئية. شونا ويلتون ، أستاذ العلوم السياسية في جامعة ألبرتا ، قال وصي"الناس يحبون وتحترم راشيل نوتلي ، ولكن هناك شريحة من السكان تلومها على تراجع النفط وترى أن ضريبة الكربون هي مصدر كل مشكلات ألبرتا".

كندا ترتفع درجة حرارتها ضعف المتوسط ​​العالمي وألبرتا هي إلى حد بعيد أكبر ملوث في البلاد. كانت حكومة نوتلي حليفًا مهمًا لحكومة جاستن ترودو في خطتها على مستوى البلاد لمكافحة تغير المناخ.

في منطقة تعتمد على الوقود الأحفوري لتحقيق النجاح الاقتصادي ، رأى ألبرتانز أن التنمية أكثر إلحاحًا من المخاوف البيئية ، وأعربوا عن استيائهم مما اعتبروه سياسات اتحادية غير ديمقراطية. أظهر استطلاع حديث أجراه معهد أنجوس ريد 50 في المئة من البرتانز لصالح الانفصال عن كندا ، وهي فكرة أطلق عليها البعض اسم "Albexit".

كيني يجمع غرفة حرب لمكافحة أكاذيب حزب الخضر

كيني تعهد بالتحقيق تمويل الجماعات البيئية ، التي اتهمها "بحملة تخريب اقتصادي ضد المقاطعة". تحدث كيني عن الطريقة التي سيدافع بها عن قطاع الموارد في ألبرتا من خلال "غرفة حرب سريعة الاستجابة مزودة بموظفين كاملين" من شأنها أن "تدحض فعلياً كل كذبة" رواه اليسار الأخضر ".

تحدى داف كوناشير من ديمقراطيو ووتش مطالبة كيني ، قول:

"إذا أراد جيسون كيني إيقاف الأموال الكبيرة ، فعليه أن يستهدف جميع مصادر الأموال الكبيرة ، وليس فقط مجموعات المواطنين والبيئة التي يحاول شيطانتها لأنه يفضل الشركات الكبيرة المملوكة من الخارج والتي تعمل في مجال النفط. "

يعد رئيس الوزراء الجديد بإنعاش تطوير الرمال النفطية في المنطقة واستكمال خط أنابيب ترانس مورغان.

في حين أن ألبرتا هي منطقة محافظة تاريخياً ، فإن الخسارة مؤلمة بشكل خاص بالنسبة إلى ترودو قبل ستة أشهر من الانتخابات الفيدرالية. تراجع ترودو مؤخرًا في شعبية بعد مزاعم تدخل بشكل غير صحيح في قضية جنائية ظهرت ، وهو الآن 82٪ من الكنديين يعيشون في المقاطعات التي تسيطر عليها حكومات يمين الوسط.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS TRENDING-AMERICAS

‘Alberta Open For Business’ After Major Conservative Victory in Oil-Rich Province

Jason Kenney (Photo: michael_swan)
Jason Kenney (Photo: michael_swan)

Kenney spoke of how he would defend Alberta’s resource sector with a “fully staffed, rapid response war room” that would, “effectively rebut every lie told by the green left.”

Jason Kenney and his right-wing United Conservative party (UCP) won a sweeping victory in Canada’s oil-rich Alberta province on Tuesday, pledging to cut taxes, redevelop the territory’s troubled fossil fuel sector, and slash environmental regulations.

Kenney’s victory is bad news for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, as Alberta’s incoming conservative leadership seeks to challenge the PM’s carbon emission threshold.

“Alberta is open for business,” Kenney said in his victory speech, ending four years of leadership under Rachel Notley’s leftwing New Democratic party.

Kenney called Ontario and four other provinces opposed to Prime Minister Trudeau’s federal carbon pricing plan the “alliance of Canadian governments,” and stated his first priority as premier would be to cancel the former leader’s “job killing” carbon tax. Trudeau’s federal government responded by threatening to impose its own.

Alberta Battles Both Economic Hardship and Pollution

Alberta has faced economic difficulties since the collapse of oil prices in 2014, and many Albertans view Rachel Notley’s liberal party as guilty for exacerbating the problem with environmental regulations. Shauna Wilton, a professor of political science at the University of Alberta, told the Guardian, “People like and respect Rachel Notley, but there’s a segment of the population that blames her for the oil downturn and sees the carbon tax as the source of all of Alberta’s problems.”

Canada is warming at a rate twice the global average and Alberta is by far the largest polluter in the country. Notley’s government was a critical ally to Justin Trudeau’s government in their nationwide plan to fight climate change.

In a region dependent on fossil fuels for economic success, however, Albertans viewed development as more urgent than environmental concerns, and they expressed discontent with what they perceived to be undemocratic federal policies. A recent poll from the Angus Reid Institute showed 50 percent of Albertans in favor of splitting from Canada, an idea some have dubbed “Albexit.”

Kenney to Amass a War Room to Combat Green Party Lies

Kenney vowed to investigate the funding of environmentalist groups, whom he accused of “a campaign of economic sabotage against the province.” Kenney spoke of how he would defend Alberta’s resource sector with a “fully staffed, rapid response war room” that would, “effectively rebut every lie told by the green left.”

Democracy Watch’s Duff Conacher challenged Kenney’s claim, saying:

“If Jason Kenney wants to stop big money, he should be aiming at all the sources of big money, not just citizen and environmental groups that he’s trying to demonize because he favors the foreign-owned big businesses that are operating in the oil patch.”

The new premier promises to revitalize the region’s oil sands development and complete the Trans Morgan pipeline.

While Alberta is a historically conservative region, the loss is particularly hurtful to Trudeau six months before the federal election. Trudeau recently dipped in popularity after allegations he improperly intervened in a criminal case surfaced, and he now 82% of Canadians live in provinces controlled by center-right governments.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.