输入搜索

警察/监狱

美国出生的公民在完全逃离牙买加后被起诉

ICE代理的形象
这张照片来自第二次国家跨行动检查行动,这是ICE努力逮捕和驱逐带有犯罪记录的无证移民。 2,900人被捕,18武器被没收。 (http://www.ice.gov/news/releases/1109/110928washingtondc.htm [新闻稿],9月28,2011。)

在被拘留三个星期之后,一名费城男子在身份错误的情况下勉强逃脱被驱逐到牙买加。

ICE差点被驱逐出境 彼得肖恩布朗,50岁的美国公民,出生于费城,牙买加 - 他没有家人,也不认识任何人。

布朗因违反缓刑而前往佛罗里达州门罗县治安官办公室,但随后被拘留并移交给ICE,最终被驱逐到牙买加。 他现在正在向治安官办公室提起诉讼,因为他在拘留期间遭受了不人道待遇。

根据美国公民自由联盟,南方贫困法律中心和Gibson,Dunn&Crutcher律师事务所提起的诉讼,布朗访问了治安官的办公室,因为他被指控通过检测大麻的阳性来违反他的缓刑。

监狱官员和警卫在他即将被驱逐出境时嘲笑布朗

一旦官员通知他将被移交给ICE驱逐出境,布朗向治安官办公室抗议他是美国公民,甚至提出将他的出生证和有效的佛罗里达州驾驶执照作为证据提供。 但是治安官办公室的拘留人员不会听他的。

在他的锁定期间,布朗回忆起官员如何模仿牙买加口音告诉布朗,他在牙买加的家乡会很好。 当他坚持说他从未去过牙买加,但出生在费城时,一名警卫唱了一首演员威尔史密斯在费城出生和长大的歌。 他填写了多份正式投诉,但据报道,警长Rick Ramsay完全无视这些投诉。

该男子在监狱度过了三个星期,最后被转移到迈阿密的Krome移民拘留中心进行最后的驱逐程序。 在Krome,当他继续声称布朗是美国公民时,他们同意审查布朗的公民身份证明。 布鲁克林奇,他的朋友和经理在他工作的餐厅用电子邮件发送了布朗的出生证和驾驶执照以及其他文件,然后ICE允许他去。

据NBC称林奇还在网上进行了一次简单的搜索,并在一个在线犯人定位器中检查了布朗的名字,并发现他有一个针对他的ICE拘留请求。 但在线信息与监狱中的男子不符。 在线记录与布朗的出生日期不符,并且当他是7英尺5英寸时,他将其列为7英尺高。

在联邦诉讼中,ICE在确认布朗是美国出生的公民后匆忙释放他之前,检索了与他即将被驱逐出境有关的所有文件。

警长说他缺乏释放被ICE拘留的任何人的权力

拉姆齐在对诉讼的反应中表示,与布朗的折磨“是ICE错误认同的一个不幸案例。”他说,ICE告诉他布朗有一个驱逐令,他应该被关押,因为他的生物识别技术得到了验证驱逐出境。

“重要的是还要注意,当一名囚犯在ICE问题下被关押时,我作为治安官,没有法律权力释放那个人,”拉姆齐说。 “尽管治安官的办公室没有调查移民事务,虽然我不能在ICE监管下释放被拘留者,但几个月前我立即采取行动通知此事。”

当布朗坚持说他是美国公民时,拉姆齐联系了ICE,移民局跟进了这些说法,直到他被释放。 该诉讼没有提及ICE,但指控警长办公室收到每个被ICE要求的被拘留者收取50的费用。 拉姆齐否认这笔钱是用于他的办公室,并说它直接进入该县。

在美国佛罗里达州南区地方法院提起的诉讼中,布朗声称他的第四修正案权利受到了侵犯。 他说,由于门罗县监狱和ICE监禁,他失去了工作。 他的律师说,他现在“严重沮丧”,并且在政府特工的手中受到了创伤。 他要求法院提供经济赔偿以及法院认为适当的其他救济。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

After being detained for three weeks, a Philadelphia man just barely escaped being deported to Jamaica in a case of mistaken identity.

ICE almost deported Peter Sean Brown, a 50-year-old American citizen born in Philadelphia to Jamaica – a place where he had no family and knew no one.

Brown had gone to the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office in Florida for violating his probation but was then detained and handed over to ICE for final deportation to Jamaica. He is now filing a lawsuit against the sheriff’s office for the inhuman treatment he suffered in detention.

According to the lawsuit filed by the American Civil Liberties Union, the Southern Poverty Law Center and Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP, Brown visited the sheriff’s office because he was accused of violating his probation by testing positive for marijuana.

Jail Officers and Guards Mocked Brown at His Impending Deportation

As soon as officers informed him he would be handed over to ICE for deportation, Brown protested to the sheriff’s office that he was a US citizen and even offered to provide his birth certificate and valid Florida driver’s license among other documents as proof. But detention officers at the sheriff’s office would not listen to him.

During his lockup, Brown recalled how officers mimicked a Jamaican accent to tell Brown he’d be fine back home in Jamaica. And when he insisted he’d never been to Jamaica but was born in Philadelphia, a guard sang a song that actor Will Smith raps about being born and raised in Philadelphia. He filled multiple formal complaints, but Sheriff Rick Ramsay reportedly ignored them all.

The man spent three weeks in jail before he was eventually transferred to the Krome immigration detention center in Miami for final deportation processes. At Krome, agents agreed to examine Brown’s proofs of citizenship when he continued to claim he was a US citizen. Brooke Lynch, his friend and manager at the restaurant where he worked emailed Brown’s birth certificate and driver’s license among other documents before ICE allowed him to go.

According to NBC, Lynch had also conducted a simple search online and checked Brown’s name in an online inmate locator and discovered he had an ICE detainer request against him. But the online information did not match up with the man in jail. The online records did not match Brown’s birth date and listed him as being 7 feet tall when he is 5 foot 7 inches.

In the federal lawsuit, ICE retrieved all documents related to his impending deportation before hastily releasing him after confirmation Brown is an American-born citizen.

Sheriff Says He Lacks the Authority to Release Anyone Detained by ICE

In his reaction to the lawsuit, Ramsay said the ordeal with Brown “was an unfortunate case of mistaken identity by ICE.” He said ICE informed him Brown had a deportation order against him and that he should be held in custody since his biometrics were verified for deportation.

“It is important to also note that when an inmate is held under an ICE matter, I, as sheriff, do not have the legal authority to release that person,” Ramsay said. “Though the sheriff’s office does not investigate immigration matters and while I cannot release detainees under ICE custody, I immediately took action when notified of this matter months ago.”

Ramsay contacted ICE when Brown insisted he was a US citizen, and the immigration agency followed up with the claims until his release from custody. The lawsuit did not mention ICE but accuses the sheriff’s office of receiving $50 for every detainee held at ICE’s request. Ramsay denied the money is for his office, saying it goes directly to the county.

In the lawsuit filed at the US District Court for the Southern District of Florida, Brown claimed his Fourth Amendment rights were violated. He said he lost his job as a result of the detention at the Monroe County jail and at the ICE custody. His lawyers say he is “severely depressed” at the moment and traumatized at what he went through at the hands of government agents. He is demanding financial compensation from the courts as well as other relief the court deems appropriate.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.