输入搜索

分析 公司文化 TRENDING分析

另一个私营部门 - 公共教育伙伴关系引起了人们的关注

美国校车。 (照片:DHdendrix73,Flickr)
美国校车。 (照片:DHdendrix73,Flickr)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

俄亥俄州有一个新的商业领袖联盟“致力于改善每个俄亥俄州学生的教育”,但是他是否真的致力于优质教育或为当地企业创造最佳员工?

多位着名的商界领袖和媒体机构很快就赞扬了3月份的推出 俄亥俄州Excels联盟 - 一个旨在帮助该州公立学校学生为现代工作场所不断变化的需求做准备的组织。

然而,仔细观察该计划会引起人们的关注,俄亥俄州Excels正在实施的计划和政策实际上是企业资助该计划的一种方式,以确保他们将拥有一整套满足公司需求的工人。 。 这种以业务需求为中心的教育可能会以更全面的教育为代价,这种教育可以培养批判性思维等技能。

什么是俄亥俄州Excels?

Ohio Excels主页的屏幕截图。

Ohio Excels网站主页的屏幕截图。

对俄亥俄州Excels表达的大多数担忧源于其大多数董事会成员都与强调自由市场经济增长的大公司或组织有关。 人们担心这些个人和团体对教育政策的影响可能会将经济问题置于学术和个人发展的利益之上。

俄亥俄州Excels的董事会成员 包括 来自辛辛那提的Mary Beth Martin,他是农民家庭基金会的执行董事,以及辛辛那提商业委员会主席Gary Z. Lindgren,以及俄亥俄州商业圆桌会议的成员以及其他以市场为中心的商业伙伴和倡导者。州。

俄亥俄州Excels的总裁是Lisa Gray,他曾经经营一家公共政策咨询公司,并与比尔和梅林达盖茨基金会有密切联系。 她还曾在大哥伦布商会担任过各种职务,并在前共和党市长Greg Latushka的领导下担任副执行助理。

格雷告诉辛辛那提询问者,“通过2025,65%的俄亥俄州人需要某种类型的中学后学位或培训才能在工作中取得成功。”格雷称,目前只有44%的俄亥俄州人具备这些资格。

格雷是正确的,俄亥俄州政府有充分理由担心劳动力发展和教育学生团体为就业市场做好准备。 由于广泛可用的制造业和农业工作,俄亥俄州是一个前经济强国,但近年来由于就业机会离开该地区而落后。 现在,俄亥俄州必须接受这样一个事实:它必须修复一个破碎的教育系统,以培养有能力找到工作并在不同经济部门取得成功的学生。

俄亥俄州老师说什么?

俄亥俄州哥伦布市的北高中被列入国家历史名胜名录。 (照片:Wdzinc)

俄亥俄州哥伦布市的北高中被列入国家历史名胜名录。 (照片:Wdzinc)

来自俄亥俄州哥伦布市的高中社会研究教师Rob Soccorsi认为,专注于基于内容的知识和理解的教育是让学生为他们想要追求的任何专业方向做好准备的最佳方式。

Soccorsi说:“如果学校强调严格,内容丰富的课程,提供支持并让所有学生负责,那么技能和劳动力准备将是一个自然的结果,学生获得广泛的知识,有意义和智能地参与一种民主的政府形式。“

Soccorsi认为,学生不应该被教导服从和遵守,应该向他们提供经过验证的事实信息,然后提供以自己的方式处理这些信息的工具。

俄亥俄州是否是大企业的管道?

话虽这么说,格雷和俄亥俄州Excels的其他成员可能不会以最好的方式接近教育问题。 俄亥俄州过去经济生产的原因是因为在钢铁厂和橡胶工厂工作的人很勤奋,而他们的农村同行生产了数千吨玉米和其他农产品来养活美国。

美国在生产产品方面拥有巨大的经济能力,但政治家和大企业现在倾向于从能够生产商品的国家进口商品,而成本只是美国工厂的一小部分。

为学生准备商业世界的努力无疑是有益的,但也可能看起来俄亥俄州Excels可能更感兴趣的是创建一条从俄亥俄州公立学校到大公司的“管道”。 俄亥俄州Excels可能正在填补这一渠道,学生可能缺乏批判性思考和质疑周围世界的能力,但对大企业成功使用的工具有着广泛的了解。

控制美国经济的许多公司利益不希望下一代美国青年批判性思考,质疑权威或挑战公司政策,他们希望服从和利润最大化。 俄亥俄州Excels似乎已经准备好为这些公司提供这些特征。

事实上,在对辛辛那提询问者的评论中,格雷暗示了这样一条管道。

“我们真正感兴趣的是(维持)教育渠道。 我们如何让学生为生活的成功做好准备?“ 格雷问道。 “当你看到我们找到无法找到工作的人的事实,那些有空缺职位且知道培训不匹配的企业时,你怎么能确保更多的孩子更好地准备他们的知识和技能呢?需要?”

俄亥俄州Excels网站的座右铭也暗示着对业务需求的高度关注:“每个学生,每一天,每个人的业务。”

Soccorsi解释了基于劳动力的教育方法的潜在问题:

“虽然我们希望学生拥有在商业上取得成功的知识和技能,但我发现,这种愿望常常导致他们采用一种方法,强调教授21st世纪技能或工作技能,如批判性思维,解决问题,创新和协作,而无需欣赏这些技能取决于具体主题内容知识的广度和深度。 知识文章通常被企业界无意中最小化,坦率地说,甚至是倡导学生和教师的组织以及培训教师的许多大学。“

另外根据该组织的网站俄亥俄州Excels的使命是“提供明智的商业视角,帮助改善和改造俄亥俄州的教育体系,以便更好地帮助学生满足我们不断发展的经济需求。”

但满足“不断发展的经济”的需求真的只是意味着培养学生量身定制,以满足大企业和大公司的需求吗? 人们不得不怀疑,尤其是包含了诸如“明智的商业视角”这样的术语。俄亥俄州的Excels真正帮助俄亥俄州的公立学校学生并为他们在现代世界工作做好准备,它不仅要教会他们成为优秀员工的技能而且知识也是好公民。

俄亥俄州Excels也与之相关 未来的工作,一个将沃尔玛和谷歌列为合作伙伴的组织。 “为未来而工作”也因其对共同核心标准政策倡议的支持而闻名,这一有争议的计划因限制教育自由及其与基本上失败的“不让一个孩子掉队”实验的相似性而受到批评。

标准化测试在哪里适应?

小学标准化考试题。 (照片:Tom Woodward)

小学标准化考试题。 (照片:Tom Woodward)

许多人对标准化考试以及强迫教师以牺牲学术自由为代价教授严格课程的方式提出了质疑。 但Soccorsi认为标准化测试很重要。 他强调,严格的,内容丰富的课程并不意味着放弃学生必须满足的标准和标准才能从俄亥俄州的公立学校系统毕业,但实际上恰恰相反。

据Soccorsi说,“标准化测试至关重要。 他们不是所有受过教育的人的全部目标,但他们服务于重要目的。 它们是衡量和比较学校内部和学校之间学生成绩的可量化,客观和可靠的方法。“

需要有一些方法来为州立学校提供一致的问责制标准,到目前为止,标准化考试似乎是最佳选择。 根据Soccorsi的说法,标准化测试“为一些教师提供了激励,使他们能够教授作为课程一部分的标准。 同样,它们激励学生掌握他们期望学习的内容。“

但是,标准化测试及其创建的指标并非没有问题和额外的包袱。 以牺牲学生教育为代价的弱势课程开设的教学课程限制了教师。

Soccorsi表示,他“既有同情心,也有同情心,因为许多教师都会因为教学课程内容标准薄弱或含糊不清而无法让学生为基于软技能的考试做好准备。 在这些情况下,应该修复标准,而不是取消测试。“

改变俄亥俄州的毕业要求

俄亥俄州一直在努力寻找最佳方式来确定学生可以实现的毕业要求,并确保学生准备好加入劳动力市场。

原作的批评者 俄亥俄州毕业考试 在2006中引入的(OGT)维持测试不够困难,因此没有很好地测试学生是否准备好上大学或进入就业市场。

测试的修改也证明是有问题的,因为一些学区的学生中只有不到一半的学生得分足以通过测试的后期版本。 立法纠正了这一点,并为学生提供了替代毕业途径,如果他们没有通过考试。

国家被迫尝试许多不同的选择,以找到一种适当的方式来指定毕业要求,标准已经从一个测试发展到一系列的七个测试,以及一个允许学生完成“最终学生体验项目”的选项通过标准化考试获得毕业生的权利。

俄亥俄州Excels及其成员一直非常反对最高学生体验项目。 事实上,俄亥俄州Excels董事会成员和前国会议员 Pat Tiberi称这个选项 一个“低期望的软偏见”的例子。

俄亥俄州的一名高中教师喜欢保持匿名并且与俄亥俄州Excel不相关,他提到许多替代选择“对学习学术内容的理解很少甚至没有。”

俄亥俄州Excels总裁Lisa Gray也担心最终的学生体验项目, 声称她很担心 对于那些“在整个州内不一致的学生来说,这将是一个选择,根据你所居住的社区,会有不同的期望。”

许多支持最终学生体验项目选择的州立学校董事会成员反对格雷的评论。 支持体验测试的这些论据的基础是多方面的,并涉及几个对教育辩论非常重要的问题以及如何衡量教育成功。

学校董事会成员John Hagan指出 许多非常聪明的学生在参加不能充分衡量他们技能水平的标准化测试时遇到了麻烦。 他的同事梅丽尔·约翰逊(Meryl Johnson)指出,当不同地区的公立学校的财务手段发生巨大变化时,采用一刀切的办法是不公平的。

即使新的毕业要求在整个州的学区造成了一些不一致的问题,这会有问题吗?

预计郊区高中学生将高中毕业,并且这些地区有适当的系统来确保他们的毕业率相当高,但是贫困的市中心学区的学生往往没有相同的支持系统。

如果富裕的高年级学区能够确保大多数学生毕业,那么在特权较低的学校里,学生应该有同样的机会吗? 高中毕业证书是获得高等教育和所有职业机会的第一步,如果所有学区的学生都能获得这种选择,即使这意味着国家要求不那么严格吗?

立法者在意识到许多学生不会毕业的新的更严格的要求之后,不断被迫推迟实施新​​的国家要求。 俄亥俄州是否会降低高中毕业所需的标准,以确保毕业率不会直线下降?

一些教育工作者这么认为。 一位喜欢保持匿名的俄亥俄州高中老师说:

“我已经为具有广泛能力和残疾的学生多年教授了一门经过测试的课程,而且我认为任何希望获得文凭的学生都不会觉得这个考试是不合理的。

“抛弃测试是一个坏主意,因为有必要采取客观,标准化和可靠的措施来确保俄亥俄州的所有学生都能达到不同学科的最低学习标准。

“我意识到许多学生未能达到设定的标准,但这些测试在难度上并非不合理,学生甚至能够低于其中一些人的成绩,并且仍然可以获得毕业所需的最低分数。

“我认为通过提供不需要合理严谨的途径来降低毕业要求是一个错误。 重点应放在保持高标准,同时为学生提供学习材料的支持,而不是让他们免于测试。“

专注于STEM

俄亥俄州戴顿市 - 参加10月2 2017家庭学校STEM日的学生,在美国空军国家博物馆。 学生们喜欢导游,寻宝活动,动手课程和航空航天示范站。 (美国空军照片)

俄亥俄州戴顿市 - 参加10月2 2017家庭学校STEM日的学生,在美国空军国家博物馆。 学生们喜欢导游,寻宝活动,动手课程和航空航天示范站。 (美国空军照片)

俄亥俄州Excels和其他以教育为中心的政策研究小组关注的主要举措之一是专注于STEM(科学,技术,工程和数学)领域以及这些学科的发展。 这些领域被认为是最前沿的商业实践和实施的前沿,但人们不禁要问,现代教育发展这些研究领域的趋势是否以牺牲基于文科的研究知识为代价。

毫无疑问,理解科学和技术概念对于人类成功和适应未来至关重要。 但是,如果在没有社会科学,语言艺术和哲学等领域所表达的概念的基础上实现这一进步,那么几乎可以肯定这种进步将导致无法进行批判性和广泛性的思考。 学生必须对周围的世界和社会有一个平衡而全面的了解,而不仅仅是教育他们如何最大化产出和利润的教育。

Soccorsi强调了这种多学科方法的重要性。

“STEM做了一些好事,但我不喜欢任何最小化历史,政府或语言艺术的举措,因为这些对于形成知识渊博的公民是绝对必要的,这些公民能够了解他们是谁,社会如何运作,他们如何适应大局,批判地思考并有意义地参与代议制民主。 如果以不花时间和专注于这些课程的方式实施STEM,那么STEM是很棒的,但我不知道这种实施方式有多么普遍和现实。“

教育需要让学生为在美国社会中成为一个有效的成年人的所有方面做好准备,而不仅仅是工人。 这对于像美国这样拥有民主政府的国家尤其重要,因为个人需要了解情况,并能够批判性地评估他们的政府和民选领导人。 美国需要了解社会各方面的公民以及政治政策影响所有生活领域的不同方式。

众所周知,世界正在快速变化,下一代企业高管,医生和教师将需要技能,为不断发展的工作场所做好准备。 但是,引入更现代的技能必须以一种将基于内容的知识考虑在内的方式,并允许新的想法与古老的教育内容和经过时间考验的教育实践共存。

这可能是俄亥俄州Excels打算完成的,但俄亥俄州必须仔细观察该计划。 对该计划的热情不应取代该计划的实际结果及其对俄亥俄州公立学校学生的好处和后果。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS CULTURE TRENDING-ANALYSIS

Another Private Sector-Public Education Partnership Raises Eyebrows

American school bus. (Photo: DHdendrix73, Flickr)
American school bus. (Photo: DHdendrix73, Flickr)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Ohio has a new coalition of business leaders “committed to improving education for every Ohio student,” but is the commitment really to quality education or to creating an optimal employee for local business?

Multiple prominent business leaders and media outlets were quick to praise the March launch of the Ohio Excels coalition – an organization that seeks to prepare public school students in the state for the changing demands of the modern workplace.

However, a closer look at the program raises concern that the programs and policies Ohio Excels is implementing are actually a way for corporations funding the program to ensure they will have a pool of workers fully conditioned to fit the needs of their companies right out of school. That kind of business-needs-focused education could be coming at the expense of a more well-rounded education that develops skills like critical thinking.

What is Ohio Excels?

Screenshot of Ohio Excels homepage.

Screenshot of Ohio Excels’ website homepage.

The majority of the concerns expressed about Ohio Excels stem from the fact that most of its board members are affiliated with large corporations or organizations that emphasize free-market economic growth. People are worried the influence of such individuals and groups on education policies could put economic concerns before academic and personal development interests.

The board members of Ohio Excels include Mary Beth Martin from Cincinnati, who is the executive director of the Farmer Family Foundation and Gary Z. Lindgren, who is the president of the Cincinnati Business Committee, and members of the Ohio Business Roundtable and other market-centered business associates and advocates around the state.

The president of Ohio Excels is Lisa Gray, who used to run a public policy consulting firm and has close ties with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. She has also held various positions at the Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce and worked as the Deputy Executive Assistant under former Republican Mayor Greg Latushka.

As Gray told the Cincinnati Enquirer, “By 2025, 65% of Ohioans will need some type of post-secondary degree or training to succeed at work.” Gray claims that currently only 44% of Ohioans have these qualifications.

Gray is right that Ohio’s state government has good reason to be concerned about workforce development and educating a student body to be prepared for the job market. Ohio is a former economic powerhouse due to widely available manufacturing and agriculture jobs, but fell behind in recent years as job opportunities left the region. Now, Ohio has to come to terms with the fact it must fix a broken education system to produce students equipped to find jobs and succeed in different economic sectors.

What do Ohio Teachers Say?

North High School in Columbus, Ohio is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. (Photo: Wdzinc)

North High School in Columbus, Ohio is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. (Photo: Wdzinc)

Rob Soccorsi, a high school social studies teacher from Columbus, Ohio, believes an education focused on content-based knowledge and understanding is the best way to prepare students for whichever professional direction they want to pursue.

Soccorsi says, “If schools emphasize a rigorous, content-rich curriculum, provide support and hold all students accountable, then the skills and workforce preparation will be a natural result, with the added benefit of students gaining broad knowledge to meaningfully and intelligently participate in a democratic form of government.”

Students shouldn’t be taught to obey and conform, they should be provided with proven, factual information and then given the tools to process this information in their own way, Soccorsi believes.

Is Ohio Excels a Pipeline for Big Business?

That being said, Gray and the other members of Ohio Excels might not be approaching education issues in the best way. The reason Ohio was so economically productive in the past was because of the hardworking individuals who worked in steel mills and rubber factories while their rural peers produced thousands of tons of corn and other agricultural products to feed the United States.

America has a tremendous economic capability in terms of producing products, but politicians and big business now favor importing goods from nations that can produce goods at a fraction of the cost that American factories could.

The push toward preparing students for the business world can be undoubtedly beneficial, but it could also appear that what Ohio Excels is perhaps more interested in is creating a “pipeline” from Ohio public schools to large corporations. And Ohio Excels could be filling that pipeline with students who may lack the ability to think critically and question the world around them but have a vast understanding of the tools big business use to succeed.

Many corporate interests that control the American economy don’t want the next generation of American youth to think critically and question authority or challenge company policy, they want obedience and profit maximization. Ohio Excels seems more than ready to provide these corporations with those characteristics.

In fact, in a comment to the Cincinnati Enquirer Gray hinted at such a pipeline.

“What we are really interested in is (sustaining) the education pipeline. How do we prepare students for success in life?” Gray asked. “When you look at the fact that we have people seeking employment who can’t find it, businesses who have open positions and know that there is a mismatch in training, how can you ensure more kids are better prepared with the knowledge and skills they need?”

The motto on Ohio Excels website also hints at the hyper-focus on business needs: “Every Student, Every Day, Everybody’s Business.”

Soccorsi explains the potential problems with a workforce based approach to education:

“While we want students to have the knowledge and skills to succeed in business, I find that often this desire leads them to an approach that emphasizes teaching 21st century skills or work skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, innovation and collaboration without an appreciation that these skills are dependent on vast breadth and depth of subject-specific content knowledge. The knowledge piece is typically unintentionally minimized by the corporate community and, frankly, even by organizations that advocate for students and teachers as well as many universities that train teachers.”

Also according to the group’s website, the mission of Ohio Excels is “To provide an informed business perspective to help improve and transform Ohio’s education system so that it better prepares students to meet the demands of our evolving economy.”

But does meeting the demands of the “evolving economy” really just mean producing students tailor-made to fit the demands of big business and large corporations? One has to wonder, especially with the inclusion of jargon like “informed business perspective.” For Ohio Excels to truly help Ohio’s public school students and prepare them for work in the modern world, it must not only teach them the skills to be good employees but also the knowledge to be good citizens.

Ohio Excels is also linked to Jobs for the Future, an organization that counts Walmart and Google among its partners. Jobs for the Future is also known for its support of the Common Core Standards policy initiative, a controversial program that has garnered criticism for limiting educational freedom and its similarities to the essentially failed No Child Left Behind experiment.

Where Does Standardized Testing Fit In?

Elementary school standardized test question. (Photo: Tom Woodward)

Elementary school standardized test question. (Photo: Tom Woodward)

Many individuals take issue with standardized tests and the way in which they force teachers to teach to a rigid curriculum at the expense of academic freedom. But Soccorsi believes standardized tests are important. He emphasized a rigorous, content-rich curriculum does not mean an abandonment of standards and criteria that a student must meet to graduate from Ohio’s public school system, but in fact, quite the contrary.

According to Soccorsi, “Standardized tests matter. They’re not the be all end all of an educated person, but they serve important purposes. They’re a quantifiable, objective and reliable way to measure and compare student achievement both within a school and among schools.”

There needs to be some way to provide cohesive standards of accountability to state schools, and as of now, standardized tests seem to be the best option. According to Soccorsi, standardized tests “provide an incentive for some teachers to teach the standards that are part of their curriculum. Similarly, they provide incentive for students to master the content that they’re expected to learn.”

However, standardized tests and the metrics they create do not come without problems and additional baggage. Teaching lessons based on weakly established curricula at the expense of their students’ education constrains teachers.

Soccorsi says that he’s “both empathetic and sympathetic to the many teachers who are stuck teaching courses with weak or vague content standards who then have to prepare students for tests based on soft skills that are somewhat unteachable. In those cases, the standards should be fixed instead of eliminating the tests.”

Changing Graduation Requirements in Ohio

Ohio has struggled to find the best way to set graduation requirements that are possible for students to achieve and also ensure that students are ready to join the workforce.

Critics of the original Ohio Graduation Test (OGT), introduced in 2006, maintained the test wasn’t difficult enough and therefore didn’t do a good job of testing whether students were ready to attend university or enter the job market.

Revisions of the test also proved problematic since some school districts had fewer than half of their students score enough points to pass later versions of the test. Legislation remedied this and provided students with alternative routes to graduation if they didn’t pass the test.

The state has been forced to try many different options to find an appropriate way to designate graduation requirements, and the standards have evolved from one test to a series of seven tests to an option that allows students to complete a “culminating student experience project” instead of having their right to graduate qualified by standardized tests.

Ohio Excels and its members have been very vocal in their opposition to the culminating student experience project. In fact, Ohio Excels board member and former congressman Pat Tiberi called the option an example of “the soft bigotry of low expectations.”

An Ohio high school teacher who prefers to remain unnamed and is not associated with Ohio Excels mentioned that many of the alternative options “demonstrate little to no understanding of learning academic content.”

Lisa Gray, the president of Ohio Excels, is also worried about the culminating student experience project, claiming that she is worried it is going to be an option for students that is “inconsistent across the state, that there will be different expectations depending on the community that you live.”

Many members of the state school board who supported the culminating student experience project option opposed Gray’s comments. The basis of these arguments in support of the experience test was multi-faceted and touched upon several issues that are incredibly important to the education debate and how educational success is measured.

School board member John Hagan points out that many students that are incredibly intelligent have trouble taking standardized tests that do not adequately measure their skill level. His colleague Meryl Johnson pointed out it is unfair to have a one-size-fits-all approach when the financial means of public schools in different districts vary drastically.

Even if the new graduation requirements created some inconsistencies across school districts throughout the state, would it be that problematic?

Suburban high school students are expected to graduate high school, and these areas have systems in place to ensure their graduation rates are fairly high, but often students in impoverished, inner-city school districts do not have the same support systems.

If affluent, upper-class school districts can ensure that the majority of their students graduate, shouldn’t students in less privileged schools have the same opportunity? A high school diploma is the first step toward being able to access higher education and all the career opportunities that follow, should this option be available to students from all school districts, even if it means less rigid state requirements?

Legislators have continually been forced to postpone the application of new state requirements after realizing that under new, stricter requirements many students would not graduate. Is the state of Ohio lowering the standards required to graduate high school in order to ensure that graduation rates don’t plummet?

Some educators think so. An Ohio high school teacher who prefers to remain unnamed stated:

“I’ve taught one of the tested courses for multiple years to students of wide-ranging abilities and disabilities, and I don’t find the test to be unreasonable for any student expecting to earn a diploma.

“It’s a bad idea to throw out the tests because it’s important to have objective, standardized and reliable measures to ensure that all students in Ohio are held to a minimal standard of learning across various disciplines.

“I realize that many students are failing to reach the bar that was set, but these tests are not unreasonable in difficulty, and students are even able to score below proficient on some of them and still earn the minimal number of points necessary to graduate.

“I think that watering down the graduation requirements by offering pathways that don’t require reasonable rigor is a mistake. The focus should be on maintaining high standards, while providing supports for students to learn the material instead of exempting them from the tests.”

Focus on STEM

DAYTON, Ohio -- Students participating in Home School STEM Day on Oct. 2, 2017, at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force. Students enjoyed the guided tours, scavenger hunts, hands-on classes and aerospace demonstration stations. (U.S. Air Force photo)

DAYTON, Ohio — Students participating in Home School STEM Day on Oct. 2, 2017, at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force. Students enjoyed the guided tours, scavenger hunts, hands-on classes and aerospace demonstration stations. (U.S. Air Force photo)

One of the major initiatives that Ohio Excels and other education-centered policy research groups focus on is a concentration on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields and development in these disciplines. These fields are considered to be at the forefront of cutting edge business practice and implementation, but one has to wonder if modern education’s trend toward developing these fields of study is coming at the expense of knowledge in liberal arts-based studies.

There is no doubt that understanding science and technology concepts will be essential for humans to succeed and adapt to the future. But if this progress is realized without a basis of the concepts expressed in fields such as social sciences, language arts and philosophy, then it is almost certain this progress will lead to an inability to think critically and broadly. It is imperative that students have a balanced and well-rounded knowledge of the world and society around them, not just an education that teaches them how to maximize output and profit.

Soccorsi emphasized the importance of such a multi-disciplinary approach.

“STEM does some good things, but I don’t like any initiative that minimizes history, government or language arts as these are absolutely essential in forming knowledgeable citizens able to understand who they are, how societies function, how they fit into the big picture, critically think and meaningfully participate in a representative democracy. STEM is great if implemented in a way that doesn’t take time and focus from those courses, but I don’t know how common, realistically, that type of implementation is.”

Education needs to prepare students for all aspects of being a functioning adult in American society, not just a worker. This is especially important in a country with a democratic government like the United States because individuals need to be informed, and able to critically assess their government and elected leaders. America needs citizens who understand all aspects of society and the different ways in which political policy impacts all areas of life.

It’s no secret the world is changing at a rapid speed, and the next generation of business executives, doctors and teachers will need skills that prepare them for the constantly evolving workplace. But the introduction of a more modern skill set must take place in a way that takes content-based knowledge into account and allows new ideas to coexist with age-old educational content and time-tested educational practices.

It’s possible this is what Ohio Excels intends to accomplish, but Ohio must keep a careful watch of the program. Enthusiasm for the program must not supersede the actual outcome of the program and the benefits and consequences it will have for Ohio’s public school students.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.