输入搜索

环境 意见 TRENDING - 观点

阿巴拉契亚山峰受山顶驱逐煤矿开采威胁

(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

该地区的许多采矿作业在没有有效许可证的情况下运作,因此,在许多诉讼中都是被告。

这条曾经在肯塔基州东部的原始溪流已被山顶清除煤矿开采/照片:Matt Wasson摧毁

这条曾经在肯塔基州东部的原始溪流已被山顶清除煤矿开采/照片:Matt Wasson摧毁

密歇根州弗林特的水危机向全世界展示了当人们的水源得不到保护和妥善维护时可能发生的可怕悲剧,尽管公众的强烈抗议导致了 弗林特的情况得到了很大改善, 在那里和许多其他美国城市,水质仍然是一个巨大的公共卫生问题。 这个问题通常是由有毒金属或不适当的水处理方法制成的旧管道造成的,但在阿巴拉契亚地区是美国最孤立和最贫困的地区之一,大型企业采矿业务正在积极中毒水资源。

由于水力压裂和其他形式的天然气开采造成的污染导致水燃烧的视频存在,但不太为人所知,甚至更可怕的是山顶去除煤炭开采对人们的供水的影响。 阿巴拉契亚地区的大多数人生活在偏远的农村地区,因此,使用水井而不是公共水源。 当山顶清除煤矿的污染物进入地下水位时,结果对附近居民来说是灾难性的。

这种水中存在的污泥和污染的沉积物令人作呕和丑陋,在淋浴,水槽和洗衣机中留下了可怕的橙色和棕色污渍。 但它的影响远远超过它可怕的外观所表明的。 这种污染物含有许多剧毒化学物质,对人类和环境都构成严重威胁。 受山顶清除煤炭开采影响的水不仅是不可饮用的,由于其毒性含量和几乎每种材料永久性污染的能力,几乎任何东西都无法使用。

西弗吉尼亚州的一名男子展示了他的水/照片是如何进行肮脏的山顶清除采矿的:Vivian Stockman,ohvec.org

问题的绝对影响可以很容易地观察到并且确实令人担忧。 根据美国地质调查局和杜克大学研究人员进行的一项研究,山顶附近的溪流清除采矿作业 “只有不到一半的鱼类和约三分之一的鱼类与非受影响的河流一样多。” 此外,耶鲁大学林业与环境研究学院的一份报告指出 山顶清除煤炭开采是每年超过1000死亡的原因.

这些地区的居民已经开始关注并试图采取行动,他们往往面临缺乏支持甚至是邻居的彻底反对,因为很多人认为没有煤炭工业就无法在阿巴拉契亚地区谋生。 该地区的大多数人的就业能力至少与煤炭开采有关,并认为如果这个行业受到威胁,许多有价值的工作将会丢失。

西弗吉尼亚州居民杰森沃克(Jason Walker)曾参与诉讼,企图让能源公司对他们家附近的供水造成的损害负责,详细说明了这种法律行为对社区成员的影响有多严重。 在这里有一位女士不会加入诉讼,“他说。 “因为这件事,她近两年没有和我说过话。 他们害怕这意味着失去工作。 有趣的是,山顶清除采矿等实践可能实际上是造成阿巴拉契亚矿业工作流失的原因,因为他们需要的矿工比传统的地下采矿作业少得多,并导致 采矿劳动力大幅减少 自收养以来

特朗普发誓要废除联邦法规,直到比1960少这显然非常令人不安,因为目前的联邦限制是使饥饿的煤炭公司陷入困境的唯一因素。 许多人认为这种立场是保护阿巴拉契亚矿业工作的一种方式,否则这些工作就会丢失,因此阿巴拉契亚受影响地区的许多人对采矿公司采取立场犹豫不决。

特朗普政府还公然忽视并积极停止对山顶清除采矿潜在危害的科学研究,例如取消政府资助的国家科学院研究,调查阿巴拉契亚采矿作业对健康造成的负面影响。

该地区的许多采矿作业也在没有有效许可证的情况下运作,因此被告在众多诉讼案件中,如 一个煤河山区观察,阿巴拉契亚之声和塞拉俱乐部就其庞大的鹰号而对共和党能源提起诉讼。 2我的 十一月2018。

美国对能源的需求似乎无穷无尽,而且由于资金岌岌可危,矿业公司和能源集团似乎不太可能停止从该地区开采煤炭,直到没有剩余。 煤炭工业拥有一次性财政资源,继续在法院和媒体上消除阿巴拉契亚人民的声音,但即便如此,也不能否认每个人都应该获得清洁,安全的水。 提高对山顶清除煤炭开采及其可怕后果的认识是保护美国这个独特角落免受大煤攫取的唯一途径。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

2评论

  1. 库尔特 二零一八年二月

    我们生活在一个充满热熔岩的鸡蛋上。
    由于我们的活动,shell越来越精细,越来越薄。 采矿,战争,炸弹和火炮,地下核试验等。
    当我们将壳体或外壳的内部顶部敲回熔体时,它们会膨胀。 难怪为什么火山变得越来越活跃。 “在我们从地壳破裂中消失之前,我们不会高兴。

    回复
  2. Maria冈诺的 二零一八年二月

    这些诉讼旨在使律师和组织变得富有,所以要小心你自己。

    我花了12多年来处理这些诉讼。 这些定居点给了我额外的地铁,并给了律师至少100万。 他们拒绝承担这笔巨额资金的全部责任。

    他们创建了一个组织来花一些钱。 它被称为阿巴拉契亚河源。 他们在路易斯堡建了一家名为The Spring的餐厅。 他们现在拥有我们的夏令营Light Lightfoot。 它现在是养蜂场,矿工正在重新培训作为养蜂人。 这太压抑了。 矿工可以做任何事情!

    他们的诉讼危及我的生命,但仍然存在。 当他们选择46.5百万美元时,我就失去了沉默和绝望,这使得546增加了数英里的地铁。

    我被告知这些诉讼改变了法律。 他们没有改变任何东西,但他们确实让律师变得富有。

    小心你想要的。 你可能会得到它。

    确保你没有像我一样卖完。

    此外,请记住,参与这些团体的人员几乎没有人住在地铁发生的地方。

    他们知道这种态度已经锁定了居住在这里的公民,他们在法庭上做出了由外人做出的可怕决定!

    我讨厌他们对我做了什么。 但是,老老实实地告诉他们而不是我。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT OPINION TRENDING-OPINION

Appalachia Threatened by Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining

(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Many mining operations in the region are operating without valid permits, and as a result, have been the defendants in numerous lawsuits.

This once pristine stream in eastern Kentucky has been destroyed by runoff from mountaintop removal coal mining/photo: Matt Wasson

This once pristine stream in eastern Kentucky has been destroyed by runoff from mountaintop removal coal mining/photo: Matt Wasson

The water crisis in Flint, Michigan, showed the world what horrible tragedies can occur when people’s water sources aren’t protected and properly maintained, and although public outcry has led to the situation in Flint being greatly improved, water quality is still a massive public health issue there and in many other American cities.  This problem is typically a result of old pipes made out of toxic metals or improper water treatment practices, but in Appalachia one of America’s most isolated and impoverished areas, large corporate mining interests are actively poisoning the water.

Videos of water combustion as a result of contamination from fracking and other forms of natural gas extraction exist, but less known and possibly even more terrifying is the effect mountaintop removal coal mining has on people’s water supply. Most people in Appalachia live in isolated rural areas, and as a result, use wells for water as opposed to a public water source. When contaminants from mountaintop removal coal mining enter the water table, the result can be disastrous for nearby residents.

The sludge and contaminated sediment that is present in this water is disgusting and ugly, leaving hideous orange and brown stains in showers, sinks and washing machines. But its effects are far worse than its horrible appearance indicates. This contamination contains many highly toxic chemicals, which pose a grave risk to both humans and the environment. Water affected by mountaintop removal coal mining is not only undrinkable, it’s unusable for pretty much anything due to its toxic content and capacity to permanently stain nearly every material.

A West Virginia man shows how dirty mountaintop removal mining has made his water/photo: Vivian Stockman, ohvec.org

The sheer impact of the problem can be easily observed and is truly alarming. According to a study conducted by the U.S. Geological Survey and researchers from Duke University, streams near mountaintop removal mining operations “have less than half as many fish species and about a third as many fish as non-impacted streams.”  Further, a report from the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies stated that mountaintop removal coal mining is the cause of more than 1000 deaths every year.  

Residents in these areas who have become concerned and attempted to pursue action often face lack of support or even downright opposition from their neighbors because many people believe that without the coal industry it would be impossible to make a living in Appalachia. The majority of people in this region are employed in a capacity at least related to coal mining and believe that if this industry is threatened, many valuable jobs would be lost.

Jason Walker, a West Virginia resident who has been involved in lawsuits attempting to hold energy companies accountable for the damage they have done to the water supply near his home, detailed how severely this type of legal action can divide members of the community. There’s a lady down the street here who wouldn’t join the lawsuit,” he says. “She hasn’t spoken to me in almost two years because of it. They were scared it would mean losing jobs.  Interestingly enough, practices such as mountaintop removal mining may actually be to blame for the loss of mining jobs in Appalachia since they require far fewer miners than conventional underground mining operations and have led to the mining workforce being drastically reduced since their adoption.

Trump has vowed to get rid of federal regulations until there are fewer than there were in 1960, which is obviously very troubling since these current federal restrictions are the only things keeping hungry coal companies at bay. Many people view this stance as a way to protect mining jobs in Appalachia that would otherwise be lost, and as a result, many people in affected regions of Appalachia are hesitant to take a stand against the mining companies.

The Trump administration has also both blatantly ignored and actively stopped scientific research into the potential hazards of mountaintop removal mining, for example by canceling a government-funded national Academy of the Sciences study investigating negative health effects caused by mining operations in Appalachia.

Many mining operations in the region are also operating without valid permits, and as a result have been the defendants in numerous lawsuits, such as the one Coal River Mountain Watch, Appalachian Voices and the Sierra Club filed against Republic Energy regarding its sprawling Eagle no. 2 mine in November 2018. 

America has a seemingly endless need for energy sources and given the money at stake, it seems unlikely that mining companies and energy conglomerates will stop extracting coal from this region until there is none left. The coal industry has the financial resources at its disposable to continue silencing the voices of the people of Appalachia both in the courts and in the media, but even this cannot deny the fact that everyone deserves access to clean, safe water. Raising awareness about mountaintop removal coal mining and its horrific consequences is the only way to protect this unique corner of America from the grasps of big coal.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

2 Comments

  1. Kurt February 18, 2019

    We live on a egg filled with hot molten rock.
    The shell keeps getting thiner, and thinner because of our activity. Mining, war, bombs and artillery, underground nuclear testing ect.
    As we knock the internal peices of the shell or crust back into the melt they expand. No wonder why the volcanoes are becoming more and more active. “We won’t be happy until we go extinct from the break up of the Earths crust.

    Reply
  2. Maria Gunnoe February 19, 2019

    These lawsuits are designed to make lawyers and organizations rich so be careful what you get yourself into.

    I spent 12 years on these lawsuits. These settlements gave me additional MTR and gave the lawyers at least 100 million to play with. They REFUSE to be fully accountable for this massive amount of money.

    They created an organization to spend some of this money. Its called Appalachian Headwaters. They built a restaurant in Lewisburg called The Spring. They now own what used to be our summer camp, Camp Lightfoot. It is now the bee farm where miners are retraining as Beekeepers. This is so oppressive. Miners can do anything!

    Their lawsuits endangered my life and it still does. I was left jobless and hopeless when they settled for 46.5 million that allowed an addition 546 acres of MTR.

    I was told that these lawsuits changed laws. They didn’t change anything but they did make lawyers rich.

    Careful what you wish for. You just might get it.

    Make sure that you aren’t sold out like I was.

    Also, KEEP in mind NEARLY NONE of the people involved in these groups live where MTR is taking place.

    Their know it all attitude has locked citizens who do live here into horrible decisions made in courtrooms by outsiders!

    I hate what they have done to me. However, it honestly speaks to them and not me.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.