输入搜索

非洲 精选 在Focus-Africa 在焦点世界 中东

随着特朗普向穆斯林兄弟会提出恐怖主义集团的标签,美国对埃及的军事援助资助了人权侵犯

唐纳德·特朗普总统欢迎埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·阿尔西西,周一,4月3,2017,在华盛顿特区白宫西翼入口处(白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)
唐纳德·特朗普总统欢迎埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·阿尔西西,星期一,4月3,2017,在华盛顿特区白宫西翼入口处(白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)

“大赦国际呼吁美国停止向埃及军队和安全部队转移催泪瓦斯,小型武器,弹药和其他压制性设备,包括一些直升机。”

白宫 公布 星期二,唐纳德特朗普总统正在推动将埃及伊斯兰组织穆斯林兄弟会指定为恐怖组织。

随着美国继续支持埃及每年的军事援助计划 的美元1.3亿元,美国还在资助埃及军方和安全部队持续侵犯人权的行为。

埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·西西将军监督人权观察 电话 “近几十年来埃及发生的最严重的人权危机,包括军队和安全部队滥用权力几乎完全不受惩罚。”

西西在7月2013的军事政变中掌权,当时的总统穆罕默德穆尔西是穆斯林兄弟会的领袖。 从那时起,埃及当局就有了 至少执行了130人。 西斯政府已经对各种异议进行了镇压:民间社会组织表示目前存在这种情况 60,000政治犯 在监狱里。

“即使在[总统胡斯尼]穆巴拉克统治下的三十年时间里,民间社会仍然存在,从媒体,健康和法律到街头戏剧团体等各种民间活动的活动家都能够采取一些行动,”杰弗里·莫克说,埃及国家大赦国际专家,“现在这个空间几乎完全被关闭了。”

埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·西西在访问俄罗斯期间。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

埃及总统阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·西西在访问俄罗斯期间。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

特朗普政府将穆斯林兄弟会指定为恐怖分子的举动是在西西四月访问白宫后进行的,其间他 特朗普做出改变。 这是Sisi的长期要求,美国政府已经考虑过 - 奥巴马政府拒绝了,但前首席战略家 史蒂夫班农是一个关键的支持者。 该组织与其恐怖袭击有关 90年历史 20或更多国家/地区可能拥有多达一百万名会员。

美国对埃及军方的支持是坚定不移的; 这个国家是 第二大收件人 接受以色列的美国军事援助 的美元3.3亿元。 在过去40年,美国向埃及提供了 的美元47亿元 在军事援助方面,以及数十亿美元的经济援助。

只要埃及打击恐怖主义,美国的军事援助就会忽视日益严重的侵犯人权行为

埃及和美国两国政府都声称需要军事援助计划来打击恐怖主义并保持稳定,特别是在军队拥有的北西奈地区。 与伊斯兰国有关的团体。 美国国务卿 迈克·蓬佩奥 西西总统利用恐怖袭击 辩解 各方面的 军事行动 和侵犯言论和集会自由权利。

“只要埃及援引侵犯人权的行为,政府的反思就是谈论打击恐怖主义的必要性,”人权观察中东和北非分部的宣传和传播主任艾哈迈德·本切姆西说。 “当谈到西方时,这一论点背后的想法是,埃及军队不仅在捍卫自己的国家,而且在捍卫整个世界。 但无论谁注意这个借口,他们都不会看得更近。“

在北西奈,埃及军队 反恐 运动在很大程度上 无效 同时摧毁了成千上万的建筑物 拆除 与加沙接壤的拉法市。 这座城市是70,000人的家园。 至少 420,000人 自2018早期以来,该地区一直迫切需要人道主义援助,因为军方限制运动和获取食物。

一名英国女性是几名英国公民中的一员,他们与数百名埃及抗议者一起生气,他们对英国大卫卡梅隆为埃及独裁者阿卜杜勒法塔赫·西西(Abdel Fatah el-Sisi)铺上红地毯感到愤怒。 为什么她将Sisi描绘成“米老鼠”? 因为就在上个月,一名埃及Facebook用户被判处三年徒刑,因为他们拍摄了一张Sisi的照片并添加了米老鼠的耳朵。

一名英国女性是几名英国公民中的一员,他们与数百名埃及抗议者一起生气,他们对英国大卫卡梅隆为埃及独裁者阿卜杜勒法塔赫·西西(Abdel Fatah el-Sisi)铺上红地毯感到愤怒。 为什么她将Sisi描绘成“米老鼠”? 因为就在上个月,一名埃及Facebook用户被判处三年徒刑,因为他们拍摄了一张Sisi的照片并添加了米老鼠的耳朵。 (照片:Alisdare Hickson)

思思的 政策一直是“以所有蛮力”恢复“稳定与安全”,但没有取得成功。

“绝大多数时候,镇压不是针对恐怖分子,而是针对任何反对政权的人,”Benchemsi说。

指定穆斯林兄弟会是恐怖组织将支持思思的军事战术

特朗普政府将穆斯林兄弟会指定为恐怖组织的行动是对西西镇压和侵权行为政策的认可。

4月初,路透社发表了一篇文章 报告 自460中期以来杀害2015据称的伊斯兰武装分子。 埃及内政部声称,他们的320是恐怖分子,117是穆斯林兄弟会的成员。

但许多这些受害者的家人和朋友都说他们有 无连接 到穆斯林兄弟会。

例如,Cousins Souhail Ahmed和Zakaria Mahmoud在7月2017的一次公路旅行中离开了他们在Damietta的家,但是在内政部声称是伊斯兰武装分子和安全部队之间的枪战后五天被杀。 但据独立报道 法医专家,Mahmoud的枪伤表明了执行式的杀戮,而Ahmed没有枪伤或明显的死因。

埃及的一些穆斯林兄弟会成员计划对Sisi政府进行暴力袭击,但他们通过组建Liwa Al-Thawra和Hasm等单独的派别来实现这一目标。 美国国务院 指定 这些团体是1月2018的恐怖组织。 许多穆斯林兄弟会团体,特别是土耳其,在该地区的美国关键盟友,明确谴责暴力。

兄弟会回应特朗普的举动 声明 在他们的网站上说:“我们将依照我们温和和平的思想以及我们认为正确的方式坚持我们的工作,诚实和建设性的合作,为我们生活的社区和整个人类服务。”

埃及已将这一指定视为维持其美国赞助的关键一步,并努力推动这项工作。 除了思思与埃及政府特朗普的友谊外 雇用 美国公关公司Weber Shandwick在1月2017宣传埃及与美国的“战略伙伴关系”及其“管理区域风险的主导作用。”Weber Shandwick 截至 当年7月份的年度1.2万美元合同,但不是在egyptfwd.org上发起一项名为“埃及前进”的活动之前。

该网站上的第一篇文章标题为 “世界需要了解的穆斯林兄弟会” 并指责该组织在开罗发生2016恐怖袭击,造成数十名基督徒死亡。 但伊斯兰国已经有了 声称 他们进行了轰炸。 公关活动还包括在国会山为埃及立法者设立会议,准备他们的谈话要点,并为这些会议准备美国立法者。 这可能影响了参议员特德克鲁兹的竞选活动 法案 这会促使国务卿指定穆斯林兄弟会为恐怖分子。

尽管美国立法者之间存在争议,但对Sisi政策的支持仍在继续

一些美国立法者仍然质疑对埃及军队的无条件支持。

在Sisi四月访问白宫之前,众议院外交事务委员会主席Eliot Engel以及Reps.Michael McCaul,Ted Deutch和Joe Wilson写了埃及总统并要求他解决“任意拘留,酷刑和强迫失踪。“ 美国政府问责局提交的一份报告称,埃及“未能为美国官员提供定期访问,以便在使用援助的地区监督此类援助。”

国会议员艾略特·恩格尔(D,NY-16 CD)在全国信函承运人协会举办的集会上发表讲话,作为他们“为美国提供”活动的一部分(以节省六天的邮件投递)。

国会议员艾略特·恩格尔(D,NY-16 CD)在全国信函承运人协会组织的2013集会上发表讲话,作为他们“为美国提供”活动的一部分(以节省六天的邮件投递)。 (照片:Thomas Altfather Good)

参议院外交关系委员会主席詹姆斯·里施参议员和委员会高级民主党人鲍勃·梅嫩德斯写了一篇关于Pompeo的文章 呼吁特朗普和他讨论与思思“政治和人权的侵蚀”。 参议员本卡丹和共和党人林赛格雷厄姆也有 被称为 可能削减埃及的军事援助计划。

但对埃及政府的压力是短暂而不一致的。

在2017,美国冻结了向埃及提供的195万美元军事援助,呼吁政府撤销严格限制国际援助组织在该国的行动并推翻对一些外国公民的定罪的法律。 Sisi拒绝遵守这两项要求,但是在7月2018,美国 恢复 援助。 政府加强对民间社会的限制,并试图将黎巴嫩游客Mona el-Mazbouh入狱八年,因为他在Facebook上发布了一段视频,描述了 性骚扰 她面对开罗的街道。 她后来被驱逐出境。

美国对埃及的军事援助可能过于庞大,无法将人权条件纳入整个计划,但一些团体认为可以通过限制可以出售的武器类型来实现。

国际特赦组织的杰弗里·莫克说:“大赦国际呼吁美国停止向埃及军队和安全部队转移催泪瓦斯,小型武器,弹药和其他压制性设备,包括一些直升机。” “这些特殊物品已被记录为用于军事,安全和警察部队的侵犯人权行为。 我们还希望政府建立适当的条件和最终用途监测,使埃及政府对这些资金的使用负责并负责。“

但像大赦国际这样的非政府组织也有 重点 事实上,美国正在支持埃及政府使用从根本上无效的战术,并可能适得其反。

“稳定和人权是对立目标的想法是错误的。 事实上,考虑到埃及不满情绪的上升以及整个地区武装团体的持续暴力,很难说稳定政策会在短期内带来稳定,“莫克说。 “我们担心,如果没有改革导致社会支持人权,变革最终会以更具爆炸性的方式发生。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay是一位从事东南亚和中东项目的作家和摄影师。 他现在可能正在骑自行车。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 1, 2019

    各种政府和政治制度都有相当多的标签:民主,社会主义,共产主义; 共和国,人民共和国,社会主义共和国,君主立宪制,神权政权,政权,傀儡政权。 但归根结底,他们所有政权都是政权,所有政权都是政体。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA FEATURED In Focus-Africa In Focus-World MIDDLE EAST

As Trump Moves to Label Muslim Brotherhood a Terrorist Group, US Military Aid to Egypt Funds Human Rights Abuses

President Donald Trump welcomes Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Monday, April 3, 2017, at the West Wing entrance of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead
President Donald Trump welcomes Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Monday, April 3, 2017, at the West Wing entrance of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

“Amnesty is calling for the U.S. to halt the transfer of tear gas, small arms, ammunition and other repressive equipment, including some helicopters to the Egyptian military and security forces.”

The White House announced on Tuesday that President Donald Trump is pushing to designate Egypt-based Islamist group the Muslim Brotherhood as a terrorist organization.

As the United States continues to support Egypt with an annual military aid package of $1.3 billion, the U.S. is also funding ongoing human rights violations by the Egyptian military and security forces.

Egyptian President General Abdel Fattah al-Sisi has overseen what Human Rights Watch calls the “worst human rights crisis in Egypt in recent decades, including near-total impunity for abuses by the military and security forces.”

Sisi took power in July 2013 in a military coup against then-President Mohamed Morsi, a leader of the Muslim Brotherhood. Since then, Egyptian authorities have executed at least 130 people. Sisi’s government has led a crackdown on dissent of all kinds: civil society groups say there are currently 60,000 political prisoners in jail.

“Even during three decades of muzzling civil society under [President Hosni] Mubarak, activists in a wide range of civil activity, from the media, health and law to even street theater groups, were able to take some action,” said Geoffrey Mock, Egypt Country Specialist for Amnesty International USA, “now that space is nearly entirely shut down.”

President of Egypt Abdel Fattah el-Sisi during a visit to Russia. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

President of Egypt Abdel Fattah el-Sisi during a visit to Russia. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

The Trump administration’s move to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as terrorists comes after Sisi’s visit to the White House on April 9, during which he asked Trump to make the change. This has been a long-standing request of Sisi’s, and the U.S. administration has considered it – the Obama administration refused, but ex-Chief Strategist Steve Bannon was a key proponent. The group has been linked to terrorist attacks over its 90-year history and may have as many as one million members across 20 or more countries.

U.S. support for the Egyptian military is unwavering; the country is the second-largest recipient of U.S. military aid after Israel, which receives $3.3 billion. Over the past 40 years, the U.S. has provided Egypt with $47 billion in military aid, along with $24 billion in economic assistance.

As Long as Egypt Fights Terrorism, US Military Aid Ignores Growing Human Rights Abuses

Both the Egyptian and U.S. governments claim the military aid program is needed to fight terrorism and maintain stability, especially in the North Sinai region where the military has fought groups linked to the Islamic State. U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and President Sisi use terrorist attacks to justify all aspects of the military campaign and violations of rights to freedom of expression and assembly.

“Whenever human rights abuses are invoked in Egypt, the government’s reflexive response is to talk about the need to fight terrorism,” said Ahmed Benchemsi, Advocacy and Communications Director for Human Rights Watch’s Middle East and North Africa division. “When addressed to the West, the idea behind that argument is that Egypt’s military is defending not only their country but the whole world. But whoever heeds that pretext, they’re not looking closer.”

In North Sinai, the Egyptian military’s counterterrorism campaign has been largely ineffective while destroying tens of thousands of buildings and demolishing the city of Rafah on the border with Gaza. The city was home to 70,000 people. At least 420,000 people in the area have been in urgent need of humanitarian aid since early 2018, as the military restricts movement and access to food.

An English woman was one of several British citizens who joined hundreds of Egyptian protesters angry at Britain's David Cameron rolling out the red carpet for Egypt's dictator Abdel Fatah el-Sisi. And why did she depict Sisi as "Mickey Mouse" ? Because just the previous month an Egyptian Facebook user had been sentenced to three years in prison for photoshopping a picture of Sisi and adding the mickey mouse ears.

An English woman was one of several British citizens who joined hundreds of Egyptian protesters angry at Britain’s David Cameron rolling out the red carpet for Egypt’s dictator Abdel Fatah el-Sisi. And why did she depict Sisi as “Mickey Mouse”? Because just the previous month an Egyptian Facebook user had been sentenced to three years in prison for photoshopping a picture of Sisi and adding the mickey mouse ears. (Photo: Alisdare Hickson)

Sisi’s stated policy has been to “restore stability and security” by “all brute force,” but it hasn’t succeeded.

“The great majority of the time, the crackdown is not against terrorists but against anyone who opposes the regime,” said Benchemsi.

Designating the Muslim Brotherhood a Terrorist Organization Will Support Sisi’s Military Tactics

The Trump administration’s move to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as a terrorist organization is an endorsement of Sisi’s policies of repression and rights abuses.

In early April, Reuters published a report on the killing of over 460 alleged Islamist militants since the middle of 2015. Egypt’s Interior Ministry claims that 320 of them were terrorists and 117 were members of the Muslim Brotherhood.

But the families and friends of many of these victims say they had no connection to the Muslim Brotherhood.

Cousins Souhail Ahmed and Zakaria Mahmoud, for example, left their home in Damietta on a road trip in July 2017, but were killed five days later in what the Interior Ministry claimed was a shootout between Islamist militants and security forces. But according to independent forensic experts, Mahmoud’s gunshot wounds suggested an execution-style killing, while Ahmed showed no gunshot wounds or obvious cause of death.

Some Muslim Brotherhood members in Egypt have planned violent attacks against the Sisi government, but they have done so by forming separate factions, such as Liwa Al-Thawra and Hasm. The U.S. State Department designated these groups as terrorist organizations in January 2018. Many Muslim Brotherhood groups, especially those in Turkey, a key U.S. ally in the region, explicitly condemn violence.

The Brotherhood responded to Trump’s move in a statement on their website: “We will remain… steadfast in our work in accordance with our moderate and peaceful thinking and what we believe to be right, for honest and constructive cooperation to serve the communities in which we live and humanity as a whole.”

Egypt has identified this designation as a key step in maintaining its U.S. patronage and has worked hard to push for it. Alongside Sisi’s friendship with Trump, the Egyptian government hired U.S. public relations firm Weber Shandwick in January 2017 to promote Egypt’s “strategic partnership with the United States” and its “leading role in managing regional risks.” Weber Shandwick ended the $1.2 million-per-year contract in July of that year, but not before launching a campaign entitled “Egypt Forward” on egyptfwd.org.

The first article on the website was titled “What the World Needs To Know About the Muslim Brotherhood” and blamed the group for a 2016 terrorist attack in Cairo that killed dozens of Christians. But the Islamic State had already claimed they carried out the bombing. The PR campaign also included setting up meetings for Egyptian lawmakers on Capitol Hill, preparing their talking points and prepping U.S. legislators for these meetings. This may have influenced Senator Ted Cruz’s campaign to pass a bill that would have pushed the Secretary of State to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as terrorists.

Endorsement of Sisi’s Policies Moves Forward Despite Debate Among US Legislators

Some U.S. lawmakers still question the unconditional support for Egypt’s military.

Ahead of Sisi’s visit to The White House in April, Rep. Eliot Engel, chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, as well as Reps. Michael McCaul, Ted Deutch and Joe Wilson wrote the Egyptian president and asked him to address “arbitrary detention, torture, and enforced disappearances.” The letter referenced a report from the U.S. Government Accountability Office that claimed Egypt had “failed ‘to provide regular access for U.S. officials to monitor such assistance in areas where the assistance is used.’”

Congressman Eliot Engel (D, NY-16 CD) speaking at a rally organized by the National Association of Letter Carriers as part of their "Delivering For America" campaign (to save six day mail delivery).

Congressman Eliot Engel (D, NY-16 CD) speaking at a 2013 rally organized by the National Association of Letter Carriers as part of their “Delivering For America” campaign (to save six day mail delivery). (Photo: Thomas Altfather Good)

Senators James Risch, chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, and Bob Menendez, the senior Democrat on the committee, wrote Pompeo a letter calling for Trump and him to discuss the “erosion of political and human rights” with Sisi. Senators Ben Cardin and Republican Lindsey Graham have also called for possible cuts to Egypt’s military aid package.

But pressure on the Egyptian government is brief and inconsistent.

In 2017, the U.S. froze $195 million in military aid to Egypt, calling for the government to reverse a law that heavily restricted international aid groups’ operations in the country and to overturn convictions against some foreign citizens. Sisi refused to comply with either request, but in July 2018, the U.S. reinstated the aid. The government intensified restrictions on civil society and attempted to send Lebanese tourist Mona el-Mazbouh to jail for eight years for posting a video on Facebook describing the sexual harassment she faced on the streets of Cairo. She was later deported.

U.S. military aid for Egypt may be too expansive to attach human rights conditions to the whole program, but some groups see a possible way through restricting the types of arms that can be sold.

“Amnesty is calling for the U.S. to halt the transfer of tear gas, small arms, ammunition and other repressive equipment, including some helicopters to the Egyptian military and security forces,” said Amnesty International’s Geoffrey Mock. “These particular items have been documented as being used in human rights violations by military, security and police forces. We also want the government to put in place the proper conditions and end-use monitoring that will hold the Egyptian government accountable and responsible for use of these funds.”

But NGOs like Amnesty have also focused on the fact that the U.S. is supporting the Egyptian government to use tactics that are fundamentally ineffective and may backfire.

“The idea that stability and human rights are opposing goals is mistaken. In fact, considering the rising tide of discontent in Egypt and the continuing violence of armed groups throughout the region, it’s hard to argue that stability policy brings stability for more than a short term period,” said Mock. “We are concerned that without reform leading to a society supportive of human rights, change will ultimately come in a way that will be more explosive.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay is a writer and photographer working on projects in Southeast Asia and the Middle East. He is probably on his bicycle right now.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 1, 2019

    Quite a number of tags are put on various governments and political systems: democracy, socialism, communism; republic, people’s republic, socialist republic, constitutional monarchy, theocracy, regime, puppet regime. But in the final analysis, they are all regimes are plutocracies and all plutocracies are regimes.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.