اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا المميز في التركيز أفريقيا في عالم التركيز الشرق الأوسط

بينما ينتقل ترامب إلى جماعة الإخوان المسلمين باعتبارها جماعة إرهابية ، فإن المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية لمصر تمول انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان

الرئيس دونالد ترامب يرحب بالرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي ، الاثنين ، إبريل / نيسان 3 ، 2017 ، عند مدخل الجناح الغربي من البيت الأبيض في واشنطن ، العاصمة (الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض بقلم شيلا كرايجيد
الرئيس دونالد ترامب يرحب بالرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي ، الاثنين ، إبريل / نيسان 3 ، 2017 ، عند مدخل الجناح الغربي للبيت الأبيض في واشنطن ، العاصمة (الصورة الرسمية للبيت الأبيض بقلم شيلا كرايجيد)

"تدعو منظمة العفو الدولية الولايات المتحدة إلى وقف نقل الغاز المسيل للدموع والأسلحة الصغيرة والذخيرة وغيرها من المعدات القمعية ، بما في ذلك بعض الطائرات العمودية إلى الجيش وقوات الأمن المصرية".

البيت الأبيض أعلن يضغط الرئيس دونالد ترامب يوم الثلاثاء على تسمية جماعة الإخوان المسلمين التي تتخذ من مصر مقراً لها بأنها منظمة إرهابية.

كما تواصل الولايات المتحدة دعم مصر مع حزمة مساعدات عسكرية سنوية من 1.3 مليار دولار، تمول الولايات المتحدة أيضًا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المستمرة من قبل القوات العسكرية والأمنية المصرية.

أشرف الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي على ما هيومن رايتس ووتش المكالمات "أسوأ أزمة لحقوق الإنسان في مصر في العقود الأخيرة ، بما في ذلك الإفلات شبه التام من العقاب على الانتهاكات التي ارتكبها الجيش وقوات الأمن."

تولى السيسي السلطة في يوليو 2013 في انقلاب عسكري ضد الرئيس آنذاك محمد مرسي ، زعيم جماعة الإخوان المسلمين. منذ ذلك الحين ، السلطات المصرية لديها أعدم ما لا يقل عن 130 الناس. قادت حكومة السيسي حملة ضد المعارضين من جميع الأنواع: تقول جماعات المجتمع المدني إن هناك حاليًا السجناء السياسيين 60,000 في السجن.

وقال جيفري موك ، "حتى خلال ثلاثة عقود من المجتمع المدني الغامض في عهد [الرئيس حسني مبارك] ، كان النشطاء في مجموعة واسعة من النشاط المدني ، من وسائل الإعلام والصحة والقانون وحتى المجموعات المسرحية في الشوارع ، قادرين على اتخاذ بعض الإجراءات". أخصائي مصر في منظمة العفو الدولية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، "الآن بعد أن أغلقت المساحة بالكامل تقريبًا".

الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي خلال زيارة لروسيا. (الصورة: الكرملين)

الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي خلال زيارة لروسيا. (الصورة: الكرملين)

تأتي خطوة إدارة ترامب لتسمية جماعة الإخوان المسلمين كإرهابيين بعد زيارة السيسي إلى البيت الأبيض في أبريل 9 ، والتي خلالها طلب ورقة رابحة لإحداث التغيير. كان هذا طلبًا قديمًا من Sisi ، وقد نظرت فيه الإدارة الأمريكية - رفضت إدارة أوباما ، لكن كبير الاستراتيجيين السابقين كان ستيف بانون مؤيدًا رئيسيًا. تم ربط المجموعة بهجمات إرهابية تاريخ 90 وقد تضم ما يصل إلى مليون عضو عبر 20 أو أكثر من البلدان.

دعم الولايات المتحدة للجيش المصري لا يتزعزع. البلد هو ثاني أكبر مستلم من المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية بعد إسرائيل التي تتلقى 3.3 مليار دولار. على مدار سنوات 40 الماضية ، قدمت الولايات المتحدة لمصر 47 مليار دولار في المساعدات العسكرية ، جنبا إلى جنب مع 24 مليار دولار في المساعدات الاقتصادية.

طالما تحارب مصر الإرهاب ، تتجاهل المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية تزايد انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان

تدعي كل من الحكومتين المصرية والأمريكية أن برنامج المساعدات العسكرية ضروري لمحاربة الإرهاب والحفاظ على الاستقرار ، خاصة في منطقة شمال سيناء حيث يوجد الجيش. مجموعات قتال مرتبطة بالدولة الإسلامية. شرطة المدينة مايك بومبيو والرئيس السيسي يستخدم الهجمات الإرهابية تبرير جميع جوانب حملة عسكرية وانتهاك الحقوق في حرية التعبير والتجمع.

وقال أحمد بن شمسي ، مدير قسم المناصرة والاتصالات في قسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في هيومن رايتس ووتش: "عندما يتم التذرع بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في مصر ، فإن رد الفعل المنعكس للحكومة هو التحدث عن الحاجة إلى مكافحة الإرهاب". "عندما يتم توجيهها إلى الغرب ، فإن الفكرة وراء هذه الحجة هي أن الجيش المصري يدافع ليس فقط عن بلادهم ولكن عن العالم بأسره. لكن من يستجيب لهذه الذريعة ، فهو لا يبحث عن قرب. "

في شمال سيناء ، الجيش المصري مكافحة الإرهاب كانت الحملة إلى حد كبير غير فعالة بينما تدمير عشرات الآلاف من المباني و هدم مدينة رفح على الحدود مع غزة. كانت المدينة موطنًا لأفراد 70,000. على الأقل الناس 420,000 في المنطقة كانت في أمس الحاجة إلى المساعدات الإنسانية منذ أوائل 2018 ، حيث يقيد الجيش حركة الوصول إلى الغذاء.

كانت امرأة إنجليزية واحدة من العديد من المواطنين البريطانيين الذين انضموا إلى مئات المحتجين المصريين الغاضبين من ديفيد كاميرون البريطاني الذي طرح السجادة الحمراء للديكتاتور المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي. ولماذا وصفت السيسي بأنها "ميكي ماوس"؟ لأنه في الشهر السابق فقط ، حكم على مستخدم مصري على Facebook بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات لتصوير صورة لسيسي وإضافة آذان ميكي ماوس.

كانت امرأة إنجليزية واحدة من العديد من المواطنين البريطانيين الذين انضموا إلى مئات المحتجين المصريين الغاضبين من ديفيد كاميرون البريطاني الذي طرح السجادة الحمراء للديكتاتور المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي. ولماذا وصفت السيسي بأنه "ميكي ماوس"؟ لأنه في الشهر السابق فقط ، حكم على مستخدم مصري على Facebook بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات لتصوير صورة لسيسي وإضافة آذان ميكي ماوس. (الصورة: اليسدار هيكسون)

وسيسي ذكر كانت السياسة هي "استعادة الاستقرار والأمن" عن طريق "كل القوة الغاشمة" ، لكنها لم تنجح.

وقال بنشمسي "الغالبية العظمى من الوقت ، الحملة ليست ضد الإرهابيين بل ضد أي شخص يعارض النظام".

إن تسمية جماعة الإخوان المسلمين بأنها منظمة إرهابية سوف يدعم التكتيكات العسكرية لسيسي

إن تحرك إدارة ترامب لتسمية جماعة الإخوان المسلمين كمنظمة إرهابية هو تأييد لسيسي من القمع وانتهاكات الحقوق.

في أوائل أبريل ، نشرت رويترز أ تقرير حول مقتل أكثر من 460 من المتشددين الإسلاميين المزعومين منذ منتصف 2015. تدعي وزارة الداخلية المصرية أن 320 منهم إرهابيون وأن 117 كانوا أعضاء في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين.

لكن أسر وأصدقاء العديد من هؤلاء الضحايا يقولون إنهم تعرضوا لها لا يوجد اتصال إلى الإخوان المسلمين.

على سبيل المثال ، غادر أبناء العم سهيل أحمد وزكريا محمود منزلهم في دمياط في رحلة على الطريق في يوليو / تموز 2017 ، لكنهم قتلوا بعد خمسة أيام فيما زعمت وزارة الداخلية أنها تبادل لإطلاق النار بين متشددين إسلاميين وقوات الأمن. ولكن وفقا لمستقلة خبراء الطب الشرعي، جروح محمود طلقات نارية تشير إلى القتل على غرار الإعدام ، في حين أن أحمد لم تظهر أي طلقات نارية أو سبب واضح للوفاة.

خطط بعض أعضاء جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر لهجمات عنيفة ضد حكومة السيسي ، لكنهم فعلوا ذلك من خلال تشكيل فصائل منفصلة ، مثل لواء الثورة وحسم. وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية محدد هذه الجماعات كمنظمات إرهابية في يناير 2018. تدين العديد من جماعات الإخوان المسلمين ، وخاصة تلك الموجودة في تركيا ، وهي حليف رئيسي للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة ، العنف.

رد الإخوان على تحرك ترامب في بيان على موقعه على الويب: "سنبقى ... صامدين في عملنا وفقًا لتفكيرنا المعتدل والسلمي وما نعتقد أنه صواب ، من أجل تعاون صادق وبناء في خدمة المجتمعات التي نعيش فيها والإنسانية ككل".

حددت مصر هذا التصنيف كخطوة أساسية في الحفاظ على رعايتها للولايات المتحدة وعملت جاهدة من أجل دفعها. إلى جانب صداقة السيسي مع ترامب ، الحكومة المصرية التعاقد شركة العلاقات العامة الأمريكية Weber Shandwick في يناير 2017 لتعزيز "شراكة مصر الاستراتيجية مع الولايات المتحدة" و "دورها الرائد في إدارة المخاطر الإقليمية". Weber Shandwick انتهى عقد بقيمة 1.2 مليون دولار في السنة في يوليو من ذلك العام ، ولكن ليس قبل إطلاق حملة بعنوان "Egypt Forward" على egyptfwd.org.

المقالة الأولى على الموقع كانت بعنوان "ما يحتاج العالم إلى معرفته عن جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" وألقت باللوم على الجماعة في الهجوم الإرهابي 2016 في القاهرة الذي قتل فيه عشرات المسيحيين. لكن الدولة الإسلامية كانت بالفعل ادعى نفذوا القصف. تضمنت حملة العلاقات العامة أيضًا عقد اجتماعات للمشرعين المصريين في الكابيتول هيل ، وإعداد نقاط الحوار واستعداد المشرعين الأمريكيين لهذه الاجتماعات. قد يكون هذا قد أثرت حملة السناتور تيد كروز لتمرير مشروع قانون كان من شأن ذلك أن يدفع وزير الخارجية إلى تسمية جماعة الإخوان المسلمين بالإرهابيين.

المضي قدما في تأييد سياسات السيسي على الرغم من النقاش بين المشرعين الأمريكيين

لا يزال بعض المشرعين الأمريكيين يشككون في الدعم غير المشروط للجيش المصري.

قبل زيارة السيسي إلى البيت الأبيض في أبريل / نيسان ، كتب النائب إليوت إنجل ، رئيس لجنة الشؤون الخارجية في مجلس النواب ، فضلاً عن النواب مايكل مكول ، وتيد ديوتش وجو ويلسون ، الرئيس المصري وطلبوا منه معالجة "الاحتجاز التعسفي ، التعذيب والاختفاء القسري " خطاب أشار إلى تقرير من مكتب محاسبة الحكومة الأمريكية زعم أن مصر "فشلت" في توفير وصول منتظم للمسؤولين الأمريكيين لمراقبة مثل هذه المساعدة في المناطق التي تستخدم فيها المساعدة "."

عضو الكونغرس إليوت إنجل (D ، NY-16 CD) يتحدث في اجتماع حاشد نظمته الرابطة الوطنية لناقلات الرسائل كجزء من حملة "تسليم لأمريكا" (لحفظ تسليم البريد لمدة ستة أيام).

عضو الكونغرس إليوت إنجل (D ، NY-16 CD) يتحدث في مسيرة 2013 نظمتها الرابطة الوطنية لناقلات الرسائل كجزء من حملتهم "تسليم لأمريكا" (لحفظ تسليم البريد لمدة ستة أيام). (الصورة: توماس التفاثر جيد)

كتب السناتور جيمس ريش ، رئيس لجنة العلاقات الخارجية بمجلس الشيوخ ، وبوب مينينديز ، كبير الديمقراطيين في اللجنة ، بومبو خطاب يدعو ترامب وله لمناقشة "تآكل الحقوق السياسية وحقوق الإنسان" مع السيسي. السناتور بن كاردان والجمهوري ليندسي جراهام لديهم أيضا ودعا لخفض محتمل لحزمة المساعدات العسكرية في مصر.

لكن الضغوط على الحكومة المصرية قصيرة وغير متسقة.

في 2017 ، جمدت الولايات المتحدة 195 مليون دولار كمساعدات عسكرية لمصر ، داعية الحكومة إلى عكس قانون يقيد بشدة عمليات جماعات الإغاثة الدولية في البلاد وإلغاء الإدانات ضد بعض المواطنين الأجانب. رفض Sisi الامتثال لأي من الطلبات ، ولكن في يوليو 2018 ، الولايات المتحدة أعاد المساعدات. كثفت الحكومة القيود المفروضة على المجتمع المدني وحاولت إرسال السائح اللبناني منى المزبوح إلى السجن لمدة ثماني سنوات لنشره مقطع فيديو على Facebook يصف فيه التحرش الجنسي واجهت في شوارع القاهرة. تم ترحيلها لاحقًا.

قد تكون المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية لمصر شديدة الاتساع بحيث لا تعلق شروط حقوق الإنسان على البرنامج بأكمله ، لكن بعض الجماعات ترى طريقة ممكنة من خلال تقييد أنواع الأسلحة التي يمكن بيعها.

وقال جيفري موك من منظمة العفو الدولية: "تدعو منظمة العفو الدولية الولايات المتحدة إلى وقف نقل الغاز المسيل للدموع والأسلحة الصغيرة والذخيرة وغيرها من المعدات القمعية ، بما في ذلك بعض المروحيات إلى الجيش المصري وقوات الأمن المصرية". "لقد تم توثيق هذه العناصر المعينة على أنها تستخدم في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان على أيدي قوات الجيش والأمن والشرطة. كما نريد من الحكومة أن تضع الشروط المناسبة ومراقبة الاستخدام النهائي التي ستحمل الحكومة المصرية المسؤولية ومسؤوليتها عن استخدام هذه الأموال ".

لكن المنظمات غير الحكومية مثل منظمة العفو لديها أيضا ركز على حقيقة أن الولايات المتحدة تدعم الحكومة المصرية لاستخدام التكتيكات غير الفعالة بشكل أساسي والتي قد تأتي بنتائج عكسية.

إن فكرة أن الاستقرار وحقوق الإنسان تعارضان الأهداف ، هي فكرة خاطئة. في الواقع ، بالنظر إلى ارتفاع موجة السخط في مصر واستمرار العنف من جانب الجماعات المسلحة في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، من الصعب القول بأن سياسة الاستقرار تجلب الاستقرار لأكثر من فترة قصيرة ". "إننا نشعر بالقلق من أنه بدون الإصلاح الذي يؤدي إلى مجتمع داعم لحقوق الإنسان ، فإن التغيير سيأتي في نهاية المطاف بطريقة أكثر تفجراً".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
سكايلر ليندساي

سكايلار ليندساي كاتبة ومصورة تعمل في مشاريع في جنوب شرق آسيا والشرق الأوسط. ربما كان على دراجته الآن.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت يوليو 1، 2019

    يتم وضع عدد كبير من العلامات على مختلف الحكومات والأنظمة السياسية: الديمقراطية والاشتراكية والشيوعية. جمهورية ، جمهورية شعبية ، جمهورية اشتراكية ، ملكية دستورية ، ثيوقراطية ، نظام ، نظام دمية. لكن في التحليل النهائي ، كلهم ​​أنظمة حكم بلوتوقراطية وكل الأنظمة حكم.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA FEATURED In Focus-Africa In Focus-World MIDDLE EAST

As Trump Moves to Label Muslim Brotherhood a Terrorist Group, US Military Aid to Egypt Funds Human Rights Abuses

President Donald Trump welcomes Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Monday, April 3, 2017, at the West Wing entrance of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead
President Donald Trump welcomes Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, Monday, April 3, 2017, at the West Wing entrance of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

“Amnesty is calling for the U.S. to halt the transfer of tear gas, small arms, ammunition and other repressive equipment, including some helicopters to the Egyptian military and security forces.”

The White House announced on Tuesday that President Donald Trump is pushing to designate Egypt-based Islamist group the Muslim Brotherhood as a terrorist organization.

As the United States continues to support Egypt with an annual military aid package of $1.3 billion, the U.S. is also funding ongoing human rights violations by the Egyptian military and security forces.

Egyptian President General Abdel Fattah al-Sisi has overseen what Human Rights Watch calls the “worst human rights crisis in Egypt in recent decades, including near-total impunity for abuses by the military and security forces.”

Sisi took power in July 2013 in a military coup against then-President Mohamed Morsi, a leader of the Muslim Brotherhood. Since then, Egyptian authorities have executed at least 130 people. Sisi’s government has led a crackdown on dissent of all kinds: civil society groups say there are currently 60,000 political prisoners in jail.

“Even during three decades of muzzling civil society under [President Hosni] Mubarak, activists in a wide range of civil activity, from the media, health and law to even street theater groups, were able to take some action,” said Geoffrey Mock, Egypt Country Specialist for Amnesty International USA, “now that space is nearly entirely shut down.”

President of Egypt Abdel Fattah el-Sisi during a visit to Russia. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

President of Egypt Abdel Fattah el-Sisi during a visit to Russia. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

The Trump administration’s move to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as terrorists comes after Sisi’s visit to the White House on April 9, during which he asked Trump to make the change. This has been a long-standing request of Sisi’s, and the U.S. administration has considered it – the Obama administration refused, but ex-Chief Strategist Steve Bannon was a key proponent. The group has been linked to terrorist attacks over its 90-year history and may have as many as one million members across 20 or more countries.

U.S. support for the Egyptian military is unwavering; the country is the second-largest recipient of U.S. military aid after Israel, which receives $3.3 billion. Over the past 40 years, the U.S. has provided Egypt with $47 billion in military aid, along with $24 billion in economic assistance.

As Long as Egypt Fights Terrorism, US Military Aid Ignores Growing Human Rights Abuses

Both the Egyptian and U.S. governments claim the military aid program is needed to fight terrorism and maintain stability, especially in the North Sinai region where the military has fought groups linked to the Islamic State. U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and President Sisi use terrorist attacks to justify all aspects of the military campaign and violations of rights to freedom of expression and assembly.

“Whenever human rights abuses are invoked in Egypt, the government’s reflexive response is to talk about the need to fight terrorism,” said Ahmed Benchemsi, Advocacy and Communications Director for Human Rights Watch’s Middle East and North Africa division. “When addressed to the West, the idea behind that argument is that Egypt’s military is defending not only their country but the whole world. But whoever heeds that pretext, they’re not looking closer.”

In North Sinai, the Egyptian military’s counterterrorism campaign has been largely ineffective while destroying tens of thousands of buildings and demolishing the city of Rafah on the border with Gaza. The city was home to 70,000 people. At least 420,000 people in the area have been in urgent need of humanitarian aid since early 2018, as the military restricts movement and access to food.

An English woman was one of several British citizens who joined hundreds of Egyptian protesters angry at Britain's David Cameron rolling out the red carpet for Egypt's dictator Abdel Fatah el-Sisi. And why did she depict Sisi as "Mickey Mouse" ? Because just the previous month an Egyptian Facebook user had been sentenced to three years in prison for photoshopping a picture of Sisi and adding the mickey mouse ears.

An English woman was one of several British citizens who joined hundreds of Egyptian protesters angry at Britain’s David Cameron rolling out the red carpet for Egypt’s dictator Abdel Fatah el-Sisi. And why did she depict Sisi as “Mickey Mouse”? Because just the previous month an Egyptian Facebook user had been sentenced to three years in prison for photoshopping a picture of Sisi and adding the mickey mouse ears. (Photo: Alisdare Hickson)

Sisi’s stated policy has been to “restore stability and security” by “all brute force,” but it hasn’t succeeded.

“The great majority of the time, the crackdown is not against terrorists but against anyone who opposes the regime,” said Benchemsi.

Designating the Muslim Brotherhood a Terrorist Organization Will Support Sisi’s Military Tactics

The Trump administration’s move to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as a terrorist organization is an endorsement of Sisi’s policies of repression and rights abuses.

In early April, Reuters published a report on the killing of over 460 alleged Islamist militants since the middle of 2015. Egypt’s Interior Ministry claims that 320 of them were terrorists and 117 were members of the Muslim Brotherhood.

But the families and friends of many of these victims say they had no connection to the Muslim Brotherhood.

Cousins Souhail Ahmed and Zakaria Mahmoud, for example, left their home in Damietta on a road trip in July 2017, but were killed five days later in what the Interior Ministry claimed was a shootout between Islamist militants and security forces. But according to independent forensic experts, Mahmoud’s gunshot wounds suggested an execution-style killing, while Ahmed showed no gunshot wounds or obvious cause of death.

Some Muslim Brotherhood members in Egypt have planned violent attacks against the Sisi government, but they have done so by forming separate factions, such as Liwa Al-Thawra and Hasm. The U.S. State Department designated these groups as terrorist organizations in January 2018. Many Muslim Brotherhood groups, especially those in Turkey, a key U.S. ally in the region, explicitly condemn violence.

The Brotherhood responded to Trump’s move in a statement on their website: “We will remain… steadfast in our work in accordance with our moderate and peaceful thinking and what we believe to be right, for honest and constructive cooperation to serve the communities in which we live and humanity as a whole.”

Egypt has identified this designation as a key step in maintaining its U.S. patronage and has worked hard to push for it. Alongside Sisi’s friendship with Trump, the Egyptian government hired U.S. public relations firm Weber Shandwick in January 2017 to promote Egypt’s “strategic partnership with the United States” and its “leading role in managing regional risks.” Weber Shandwick ended the $1.2 million-per-year contract in July of that year, but not before launching a campaign entitled “Egypt Forward” on egyptfwd.org.

The first article on the website was titled “What the World Needs To Know About the Muslim Brotherhood” and blamed the group for a 2016 terrorist attack in Cairo that killed dozens of Christians. But the Islamic State had already claimed they carried out the bombing. The PR campaign also included setting up meetings for Egyptian lawmakers on Capitol Hill, preparing their talking points and prepping U.S. legislators for these meetings. This may have influenced Senator Ted Cruz’s campaign to pass a bill that would have pushed the Secretary of State to designate the Muslim Brotherhood as terrorists.

Endorsement of Sisi’s Policies Moves Forward Despite Debate Among US Legislators

Some U.S. lawmakers still question the unconditional support for Egypt’s military.

Ahead of Sisi’s visit to The White House in April, Rep. Eliot Engel, chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, as well as Reps. Michael McCaul, Ted Deutch and Joe Wilson wrote the Egyptian president and asked him to address “arbitrary detention, torture, and enforced disappearances.” The letter referenced a report from the U.S. Government Accountability Office that claimed Egypt had “failed ‘to provide regular access for U.S. officials to monitor such assistance in areas where the assistance is used.’”

Congressman Eliot Engel (D, NY-16 CD) speaking at a rally organized by the National Association of Letter Carriers as part of their "Delivering For America" campaign (to save six day mail delivery).

Congressman Eliot Engel (D, NY-16 CD) speaking at a 2013 rally organized by the National Association of Letter Carriers as part of their “Delivering For America” campaign (to save six day mail delivery). (Photo: Thomas Altfather Good)

Senators James Risch, chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, and Bob Menendez, the senior Democrat on the committee, wrote Pompeo a letter calling for Trump and him to discuss the “erosion of political and human rights” with Sisi. Senators Ben Cardin and Republican Lindsey Graham have also called for possible cuts to Egypt’s military aid package.

But pressure on the Egyptian government is brief and inconsistent.

In 2017, the U.S. froze $195 million in military aid to Egypt, calling for the government to reverse a law that heavily restricted international aid groups’ operations in the country and to overturn convictions against some foreign citizens. Sisi refused to comply with either request, but in July 2018, the U.S. reinstated the aid. The government intensified restrictions on civil society and attempted to send Lebanese tourist Mona el-Mazbouh to jail for eight years for posting a video on Facebook describing the sexual harassment she faced on the streets of Cairo. She was later deported.

U.S. military aid for Egypt may be too expansive to attach human rights conditions to the whole program, but some groups see a possible way through restricting the types of arms that can be sold.

“Amnesty is calling for the U.S. to halt the transfer of tear gas, small arms, ammunition and other repressive equipment, including some helicopters to the Egyptian military and security forces,” said Amnesty International’s Geoffrey Mock. “These particular items have been documented as being used in human rights violations by military, security and police forces. We also want the government to put in place the proper conditions and end-use monitoring that will hold the Egyptian government accountable and responsible for use of these funds.”

But NGOs like Amnesty have also focused on the fact that the U.S. is supporting the Egyptian government to use tactics that are fundamentally ineffective and may backfire.

“The idea that stability and human rights are opposing goals is mistaken. In fact, considering the rising tide of discontent in Egypt and the continuing violence of armed groups throughout the region, it’s hard to argue that stability policy brings stability for more than a short term period,” said Mock. “We are concerned that without reform leading to a society supportive of human rights, change will ultimately come in a way that will be more explosive.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Skylar Lindsay

Skylar Lindsay is a writer and photographer working on projects in Southeast Asia and the Middle East. He is probably on his bicycle right now.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 1, 2019

    Quite a number of tags are put on various governments and political systems: democracy, socialism, communism; republic, people’s republic, socialist republic, constitutional monarchy, theocracy, regime, puppet regime. But in the final analysis, they are all regimes are plutocracies and all plutocracies are regimes.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.