输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

大数据对选举和民主的威胁正在迅速成为全球性问题

剑桥分析和Facebook数据丑闻与Christopher Wylie和Shahmir Sanni一起抗议。 日期:三月2018。 (照片:Jwslubbock,CC BY-SA 4.0)
剑桥分析和Facebook数据丑闻与Christopher Wylie和Shahmir Sanni一起抗议。 日期:三月2018。 (照片:Jwslubbock,CC BY-SA 4.0)

Netflix上一部引人入胜的电影, 伟大的黑客,增加了我们对大科技对民主的威胁的理解,并解释了许多“工具”是如何从军队的心理操作(或心理学)和网络战技术中产生的。

费用 2016美国选举是6.5十亿美元 如果我们结合总统和国会选举。 2019的印度议会选举超过了2016美国2016选举, 花费约$ 8.6十亿。 无论是在印度还是美国,所有这些钱都去了哪里? 当所有其他福利投资都在减少时,为什么选举的成本 - 民主的动力 - 攀升到天文数字的高度? Netflix电影中有一个答案 伟大的黑客 这表明大钱和大数据之间的结合。

伟大的哈克涉及 Cambridge Analytica的角色 特朗普在2016大选中选举了一个更大的问题 - 全球科技巨头对我们民主的威胁。 这不是剑桥“黑客攻击”的Facebook数据,而是选举本身。 重要的不仅仅是选举,而是选举 民主的未来。 如果选举可以被黑客攻击,我们的民主也可以。 这部电影为我们的时代提出了一个基本问题:金钱可以购买的最佳数据“团队”是否会赢得更多地方的更多选举?

2014和2019的印度选举提出了类似的问题。 Shivam Singh的书, 如何赢得印度选举,涵盖非常类似的基础,以显示选举确实可以使用大笔资金和大数据被黑客入​​侵。

广告和媒体顾问在选举中的作用并不新鲜。 随着大众传媒的增长,销售方式 肥皂和洗涤剂也成为销售政治的方法。 现在添加的是微型定位的强大功能:根据知识,细微的细节,定位每个人的目标。 普通人留下足够的数字足迹 生成5,000数据点 今天; 大数据公司使用它们来定位我们每个人的广告。 这就是谷歌,Facebook和亚马逊以及现在的阿里巴巴和微信之间的关系 世界十大公司.

我们已经了解了很多。 伟大的哈克增加了我们的理解是很多这些 “工具”来自军方的心理行动 (或psyops)和网络战技术。 它们甚至被列为出口管制制度下的武器。 这些工具用于传播仇恨,虚假信息和分裂 - 假新闻,换句话说 - 在“敌人”行列中,或者用于政权更迭的国家中的任何目标人群。

这部电影的另一个见解是,选举胜利并不是大选票。 这些投票一般都是决定性的,难以转变。 重要的是一小部分选票。 如果这些选票被转换,他们可以将选举从失败转为胜利。 例如,在美国大选中,鉴于选举团制度的不平衡性,只有三个州的70,000选民给了特朗普他对希拉里的胜利。

如果我们理解选民的心理状况,或者剑桥分析学家亚历山大·尼克斯所谓的心理测量学概况,我们可以做两件事:我们可以劝阻那些可能投票给另一方的选民; 我们可以鼓励“我们这边”的选民出来投票。 电影显示了一个 特立尼达的成功典范:年轻人的目标是“运动”信息 - Do-So运动 - 显示“酷”是不投票。 鼓励另一方投票,听取有关家庭价值观的信息,例如倾听父母的意见。

例如,在最近的印度选举中,最大的州 - 北方邦(UP)的数据分析显示,执政的右翼印度人民党(BJP)据点的投票率高于反对派联盟 - 萨马吉瓦迪党( SP)和Bahujan Samaj党(BSP) - 表明类似运动的成功。 如果你是反对派选民,那么你的目标就是所有政治家如何腐败,以及选举如何没有目的。 对执政的BJP选民来说,传达的信息是爱国主义要求你投票反对“我们的敌人”。

虽然这部电影主要关注剑桥分析和特朗普选举,但它也注重了角色 全球右翼网络 使用大笔资金和深刻的分裂信息。 这是可见的,例如,在 Bolsonaro在巴西的胜利,使用Facebook的消息传递平台WhatsApp进行了大规模的假新闻活动。

Great Hack还让我们面对Facebook和Google创建的反乌托邦世界 - 一个社交媒体世界,它将我们分开而不是联系我们。 早期,Facebook意识到我们的 焦虑 和我们的 恐惧 广告工具比我们的“喜欢”更有效。当Facebook和谷歌向广告商出售我们的焦虑,恐惧和仇恨时,可以说,人类最糟糕的一面在社交媒体空间爆炸。

这也是什么 MIT研究人员 发现:他们发现了 假新闻更深入,更快,更广 比实际新闻。

仇恨也将眼球拉入电视屏幕。 这解释了仇恨电视和假电视的兴起:美国的福克斯新闻以及印度共和国/ Zee / Times Now的巨头电视频道。 这是今天在媒体领域发生的转变,特别是在所有形式的电子媒体中 - 从电视到社交媒体。

问题是:我们要做什么? Great Hack认为数据隐私和我们数据的个人所有权就是答案。 但是,数据属于我们的观点开辟了大公司确实拥有我们的数据的可能性,但仅在购买之后。 它不会改变大数据公司的基本商业模式。

作为私有财产的数据仍然可以使我们的“眼球”像任何其他商品一​​样被买卖; 允许数据和权力集中在大型科技公司的手中。 社交媒体巨头在这场比赛中并不中立。 他们的商业模式建立在不仅仅是数学的算法之上。 他们编码 我们的偏见和马克扎克伯格的业务需求 在他们的算法中。 全球权利的摆动和仇恨政治的兴起都在谷歌和Facebook的基因中编码。 将权利转移到自由主义,民主主义或左翼空间的模仿政治不是答案。

将数据视为私有财产意味着忽略这样一个事实,即数据不仅仅是我们的个人数据,还包括我们的社会关系以及属于社区和群体的数据。 我们必须关注数据如何与我们共同,而不是专注于如何将数据作为属于我们的商品保存在我们手中; 如何 属于公地 并不是商品。 我们必须将我们的社会关系和社区数据的数据视为无法买卖的东西。

接下来,我们如何保障选举? 我们的民主? 答案一直是限制金钱在选举中的作用。 大数据需要大笔资金。 聘请一家能够访问大数据的选举分析公司需要大笔资金。 限制 金钱在选举中的作用 是确保包括选举在内的民主未来的任何运动的重要组成部分。

限制金钱在选举中的作用是不够的。 我们还需要建立草根活动,使用社交媒体而不是点击主义,而是建立运动; 并加强民主媒体和平台 - 所有这些都不仅仅是数字媒体和平台。

人们可以在短时间内被恐惧和仇恨所操纵,但不会长久,当然也不会永远。 他们将回到真正的问题,这些问题束缚了我们而不是分裂我们。 过去对真实的人及其问题的仇恨是对我们民主未来的争夺。


本文是由合作伙伴制作的 Newsclick 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha是该杂志的创始人和主编 Newsclick。 他是印度自由软件运动的主席,并且是工程师和科学活动家。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Big Data’s Threat to Elections and Democracy Is Quickly Becoming a Global Problem

A protest following the Cambridge Analytics and Facebook data scandal with Christopher Wylie and Shahmir Sanni. Date: March 2018. (Photo: Jwslubbock, CC BY-SA 4.0)
A protest following the Cambridge Analytics and Facebook data scandal with Christopher Wylie and Shahmir Sanni. Date: March 2018. (Photo: Jwslubbock, CC BY-SA 4.0)

A compelling film on Netflix, The Great Hack, adds to our understanding of big tech’s threat to democracy and explains how a lot of “tools” came out of the military’s psychological operations (or psyops) and cyberwar techniques.

The cost of the 2016 U.S. elections was $6.5 billion if we combine the presidential and congressional elections. The Indian Parliamentary election of 2019 outspent the 2016 U.S. 2016 election, costing about $8.6 billion. Where does all this money go, whether in India or the U.S.? And why is the cost of elections—the motor of democracy—climbing to astronomical heights when all other welfare investments are declining? There’s an answer in the Netflix film The Great Hack that points to the marriage between big money and big data.

The Great Hack relates Cambridge Analytica’s role in Trump’s 2016 elections to a much larger issue—the threat to our democracy from global tech giants. It is not the Facebook data that Cambridge “hacked,” but the election itself. And what is at stake is not just an election, but the very future of democracy. If elections can be hacked, so can our democracy. The film poses a fundamental question for our times: Are more elections in more places going to be won by the best data “team” that money can buy?

The Indian elections of 2014 and 2019 raised similar questions. Shivam Singh’s book, How to Win an Indian Election, covers very similar ground to show that elections can indeed be hacked, using big money and big data.

The role of advertising and media consultants in elections is not new. With the growth of mass media, the methods of selling soaps and detergents also became the method to sell politics. What has been added now is the power of micro-targeting: targeting each individual based on knowing, in minute detail, what makes us tick. An average person leaves enough digital footprints to generate 5,000 data points today; these are used by big data companies to target each one of us with ads. This is what has made Google, Facebook and Amazon—and now Alibaba and WeChat as well—among the world’s ten biggest companies.

We have known much of this. What The Great Hack adds to our understanding is that a lot of these “tools” came out of the military’s psychological operations (or psyops) and cyberwar techniques. They were even classified as weapons under export control regimes. These tools are used to spread hate, disinformation and divisions—fake news, in other words—in the “enemy” ranks, or any targeted population in countries slated for regime change.

The other insight of the film is that it is not the big votes that count in an electoral victory. These votes are generally decided, and difficult to shift. What counts is a small section of votes. If these votes are turned, they can tip the election from defeat to victory. In the U.S. elections, for instance, given the lopsided nature of the electoral college system, just 70,000 voters in three states gave Trump his victory over Hillary.

If we understand the psychological profile of a voter, or what Alexander Nix of Cambridge Analytica calls the psychometric profile, we can do two things: We can discourage voters who would probably vote for the other side; and we can encourage the voters from “our side” to come out and vote. The film shows a successful example in Trinidad: young people of color were targeted with a “movement” message—the Do-So movement—how “cool” it is to not vote. The other side was encouraged to vote with messages about family values such as listening to parents.

In the recent Indian elections, for example, data analysis in the largest state—Uttar Pradesh (UP)—shows that the ruling right-wing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) strongholds had a higher turnout than those of the opposition alliance—Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)—indicating the success of a similar campaign. If you are an opposition voter, you were targeted with messages about how all politicians are corrupt, and how elections serve no purpose. To the ruling BJP voters, the messaging was that patriotism demands you vote to strike a blow against “our enemies.”

Though the film focuses on Cambridge Analytica and the Trump elections, it also registers the role of global right-wing networks using big money and deeply divisive messaging. This is visible, for example, in Bolsonaro’s victory in Brazil, where a massive fake news campaign was mounted using WhatsApp, Facebook’s messaging platform.

The Great Hack also brings us face to face with the dystopian world that Facebook and Google have created—a social media world that divides us rather than connecting us. Early on, Facebook realized that our anxieties and our fears are far more potent as advertising tools than our “likes.” When Facebook and Google sell our anxieties, fears and hatred to advertisers, what is, arguably, the worst side of humanity explodes in the social media space.

This is also what MIT researchers found out: they discovered that fake news penetrates deeper, faster and wider than actual news.

Hate pulls in eyeballs to TV screens as well. This explains the rise of hate TV and fake TV: Fox News in the U.S. and the gaggle of Republic/Zee/Times Now troll television channels in India. This is the transformation taking place today in the media space, particularly in all forms of electronic media—from television to social media.

The question is: What are we going to do? The Great Hack argues that data privacy and individual ownership of our data is the answer. But the view that data belongs to us opens up the possibility that big corporations can indeed own our data, but only after purchasing it. It does not change the fundamental business model of the big data companies.

Data as private property would still it make possible for our “eyeballs” to be bought and sold like any other goods; to allow data and power to be concentrated in the hands of big tech companies. Social media giants are not neutral in this game. Their business models are built on algorithms that are not simply mathematics. They encode our prejudices and Mark Zuckerberg’s business needs in their algorithms. The swing to the global right and the rise of hate politics are coded in the gene of Google and Facebook. Copycat politics of the right transferred to liberal, democratic or left spaces is not the answer.

Seeing data as private property means missing the fact that data is not simply our individual data, but also that of our social relations, and data that belongs to communities and groups. Instead of focusing on how to keep data in our hands as commodities that belong to us, we must look at how data is common to us; how it belongs to the commons and is not a commodity. We must treat the data of our social relationships, and community data, as something that cannot be bought and sold.

Next, how do we safeguard our elections? Our democracy? The answer has always been to limit the role of money in elections. Big data requires big money. Hiring an election analytics company with access to big data requires big bucks. Limiting the role of money in elections is an essential part of any campaign to ensure the future of democracy, including our elections.

It is not enough to limit the role of money in elections. We also need to build grassroots activism, using social media not for clicktivism but for building movements; and strengthen democratic media and platforms—all of them, not just the digital ones.

People can be manipulated by fear and hatred for a short time, but not for long, and certainly not forever. They will come back to the real issues, issues that bind us instead of dividing us. Getting past hate to real people and their issues is the battle for the future of our democracy.


This article was produced in partnership by Newsclick and Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Prabir Purkayastha

Prabir Purkayastha is the founder and editor in chief of Newsclick. He is the president of the Free Software Movement of India and is an engineer and a science activist.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.