输入搜索

欧洲

学校的双语教育可以做得更好

一台计算机的学生与在她后的黑板。 在黑板上它说“你好,hola,ola,bonjour”
(图片来自MaxPixel)
马德里双语教育计划的标识www.comunidad.madrid/servicios/educacion/madrid-comunidad-bilingue

马德里双语教育计划的标识www.comunidad.madrid/servicios/educacion/madrid-comunidad-bilingue

西班牙推动双语教育以提高其全球竞争力可能弊大于利。

几十年来,西班牙的英语语言能力水平落后于其他欧盟成员国,西班牙政客最近才开始将英语语言教育作为优先事项。 根据 EF英语水平指数衡量英语语言能力的西班牙语远远落后于瑞典,挪威和丹麦等斯堪的纳维亚强国。

许多人可能会感到惊讶的是,塞尔维亚和保加利亚这些最近刚出现多年政治和经济动荡的国家的英语水平比西班牙高,但这些国家在推动英语教育方面更加积极主动。优先。

无论好坏,英语语言技能对于进入现代就业市场的学生来说变得至关重要,因此西班牙大力推动公立学校的英语课程,英语语言能力考试准备和双语课堂。 西班牙现在拥有数量迅速增加的双语机构,其中大多数集中在马德里和安达卢西亚地区。 这些机构的入学率飙升,360和2011之间的2017比例增长, 来自Ministerio de Educacion(教育部)的数据).

在课堂上使用英语和西班牙语的学校必须是积极的,对吧? 学习语言有什么比通过项目和教学在学校的强烈曝光更好的方式? 这是决定在全国范围内实施大规模双语计划背后的心态,但这种方法确实有一些声音反对者,许多专家警告说,教育在双语机构中可能产生负面影响。

根据2015研究 由伦敦大学学院,马德里卡洛斯三世大学和应用经济研究基金会(FundacióndeEstudios de Economia Aplicada)进行的所有努力“确定双语计划对不同学习成果的影响......得出相同的结论:学习英语授课的课程有明显的负面影响,这在数量上是实质性的。“

IES Clara Campoamor,马德里以外Móstoles的双语研究所:照片来源:Will Bacha

IES Clara Campoamor,马德里以外Móstoles的双语研究所:照片来源:Will Bacha

双语教育可能会破坏学生

由于最近推出了双语课程,这些院校的大多数学生在小学阶段都没有接受过英语教学,如果是这样的话,几乎可以肯定的是,当代学生并没有采用多学科的方式。 Institutos bilingues,as 西班牙人都知道双语高中. 因此,这些学生中的许多人对英语语言没有非常牢固的把握,当用英语教授现代欧洲历史或化学等困难和复杂的科目时,这可能成为一个障碍。

更糟糕的是,许多双语学校的教师可能在日常环境中讲英语,但可能不一定需要掌握正确解释复杂主题的细微差别和细节所需的掌握。 这在安达卢西亚等地区尤其成为问题,因为安达卢西亚对双语学校的需求量很大,而没有相应的英语教师。

据西班牙报纸报道 El Pais的在安达卢西亚地区在2004推出双语课程后,它面临着合格教师的严重短缺。 当局允许只有低中级英语水平的教师在双语课堂上教学。 此外,双语方法背后的想法并非真正基于任何具体的统计数据或公认的教学法。 基本上,这些机构的学生被用作大规模教育实验的豚鼠。

新一代的西班牙学生有可能胜过年长的同龄人,并且在所有领域都表现出色,因为他们专注于英语语言教育,这种教育已经产生了双语制度的倾向,但这个实验很可能会产生由于双语教育而在某些领域缺乏知识的一代人。

不平等的申请

在双语计划方面似乎也存在不公平的经济偏见,来自更多特权背景的学生有资源和机会可以利用双语系统的收益,而他们较不富裕的同龄人则没有。 来自富裕家庭的学生有办法雇用昂贵的私人教师,也可能有一个精通英语的父母的好处。

父母缺乏高等教育的贫困背景和用英语课后教学支付的经济资源的学生被遗忘,因此很难找到他们所处的双语系统。

双语教育黑暗结果

西班牙语教师和教育专家对双语系统的积极效益表示关注和怀疑,但如果目前的趋势有任何迹象,那么在这些学校注册的学生人数将继续激增,教育者需要的教育者人数也将继续增加。 。 在更多学生从这些机构毕业并加入劳动力队伍之前,没有人会知道这项政策的真正后果,但人们只能希望这项计划的最终效果是积极的。

有一件事是肯定的,西班牙需要很快提高其英语水平,无论是双语学校还是其他一些行动方式,以在全球市场上竞争。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Bilingual Education in Schools Can do More Harm Than Good

student at a computer with chalkboard behind her. On the chalkboard it says "hello, hola, ola, bonjour"
(Image via MaxPixel)
Logo of Madrid’s Bilingual Education Program www.comunidad.madrid/servicios/educacion/madrid-comunidad-bilingue

Logo of Madrid’s Bilingual Education Program www.comunidad.madrid/servicios/educacion/madrid-comunidad-bilingue

Spain’s drive towards bilingual education to increase their global competitiveness may be doing more harm than good.

English language proficiency rates in Spain have lagged behind those of other European Union members for decades, and Spanish politicians have only recently begun to make English language education a priority. According to the EF English proficiency index, which measures English language proficiency rates, Spain lags far behind Scandinavian powerhouses like Sweden, Norway and Denmark.

Many may find it surprising that countries such as Serbia and Bulgaria, which only recently emerged from years of political and economic turmoil boast higher rates of English proficiency than Spain, but these countries have been far more proactive in their push to make English language education a priority.

For better or for worse, English language skills are becoming essential for students entering the modern job market, and as a result there has been a huge push in Spain toward English classes in public schools, preparation for English language proficiency exams and bilingual classrooms. Spain is now home to a quickly rising number of bilingual institutions with the majority concentrated in the regions of Madrid and Andalucía. Enrollment in these institutions has skyrocketed, growing 360 percent between 2011 and 2017, according to data from the Ministerio de Educacion (Ministry of Education).

Schools that use both English and Spanish in the classroom must be a positive thing, right? What better way to learn a language than intense exposure at school through projects and instruction? That was the mentality behind the decision to implement the massive bilingual program throughout the country, but the approach does have some vocal opponents, and many experts have warned about the potential negative consequences of education in bilingual institutions.

According to a 2015 study conducted by University College London, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, and the Foundation of Applied Economic Studies (Fundación de Estudios de Economia Aplicada), all their efforts “to identify the effect of the bilingual program on different learning outcomes… lead to the same conclusion: There is a clear negative effect, which is quantitatively substantial, on learning the subject taught in English.”

  IES Clara Campoamor, a bilingual institute in Móstoles, outside of Madrid: Photo credit: Will Bacha

IES Clara Campoamor, a bilingual institute in Móstoles, outside of Madrid: Photo credit: Will Bacha

Bilingual Education May Be Sabotaging Students

Due to the recent introduction of the bilingual program, most of the students in these institutions were not exposed to English language instruction during their primary school years, and if they were, it was almost certainly not in the multi-disciplinary manner employed by contemporary institutos bilingues, as bilingual high schools are known in Spain. As a result, many of these students do not have a very firm grasp on the English language, which can become quite the handicap when difficult and complex subjects such as modern European history or chemistry are being taught in English.

Making matters worse, many teachers in bilingual schools may speak English in everyday contexts but might not necessarily have the mastery needed to properly explain the nuances and details of complicated topics. This is especially a problem in areas such as Andalucía, which have experienced a massive demand for bilingual schools without the corresponding supply of English-proficient teachers.

According to Spanish newspaper El Pais, after the region of Andalucía launched its bilingual program in 2004 it faced a huge shortage of qualified teachers. Authorities allowed teachers who had only demonstrated a low-intermediate level of English to teach in bilingual classrooms. Further, the ideas behind the bilingual method are not really based on any concrete statistics or accepted pedagogy. Essentially the students in these institutions are being used as guinea pigs for a massive educational experiment.

It is possible that this new generation of Spanish students will outperform their older peers and excel in all fields as a result of the focus on English language education that has birthed the tendency toward bilingual institutions, but it is also very likely that this experiment will produce a generation lacking knowledge in certain areas as a result of their bilingual education.

Unequal Application

There would also seem to be an unfair economic bias at play in terms of the bilingual program, with students from more privileged backgrounds having the resources and opportunities available to capitalize on the gains from the bilingual system while their less affluent peers do not. Students from wealthy families have the means to hire expensive private tutors and may also have the benefit of a parent who is proficient in English.

Students from underprivileged backgrounds whose parents lack higher education and the financial resources to pay for after-school instruction in English are left behind and find it very difficult to navigate the bilingual system they are in.

Bilingual Education Murky Results

Spanish teachers and educational experts have voiced concern and skepticism about the positive benefits of the bilingual system, but if current trends are any indication, the number of students enrolled in these schools will continue to skyrocket, as will the number of educators needed to teach them. No one will know the true ramifications of this policy until more students have graduated from these institutions and joined the workforce, but one can only hope that the final effects of this plan are positive.

One thing is for certain, Spain needs to drastically increase its levels of English proficiency soon, either with bilingual schools or some other course of action to compete in a global market.

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.