输入搜索

公司文化

“Blindspotting”专注于美国奥克兰日益增加的种族分歧

Blindspotting

喜剧电影 Blindspotting 今年早些时候在圣丹斯电影节上首映,并因其同时在加利福尼亚州奥克兰的高档化和警察暴行而热闹和令人心碎的表现而获得赞誉。

明星和合着者拉斐尔·卡萨尔(Rafael Casal)和戴维·迪格斯(Daveed Diggs)在电影中注入了嘻哈感,如口语诗歌,强调及时和相关的主题,如种族和正义。

这部电影以一位名叫科林(Diggs)的前罪犯为中心,他试图在试用期结束时避免麻烦。 但是,当他无意中目击一名白人警察枪击并杀死一名手无寸铁的黑人时,他发现自己不得不考虑他迅速变化的城市和他与白人最好的朋友迈尔斯(卡萨尔)的友谊。

这部电影一直被吹捧为“自Spike Lee's以来最激动人心的当代种族关系电影 做正确的事 差不多30多年前,“通过 品种 杂志。

事实上,斯派克李的1989电影关于在纽约布鲁克林酝酿的种族紧张局势仍然在我们当前的政治和文化氛围中引起共鸣。 现在,一部电影就像 Blindspotting 对于探索不同种族之间以及色彩与执法人员之间的争议关系来说,这当然是相关和必要的,这在我们的头条新闻中占据了可怕的地位。

它在奥克兰的设置也让人想起致命的 事件 在2009的新年当天,一名BART官员射杀了一名名叫奥斯卡·格兰特的手无寸铁的非裔美国人,他的故事激发了这部电影 水果站.

过去,Diggs和Casal将这部电影带到Lionsgate的CinemaCon演讲中 星期四他们在那里上演了一首即兴的口语诗歌,这首诗被视为对被警察杀害的手无寸铁的人民的致敬,对这对家乡的颂歌,以及电影的高档化和不平等主题的总结。

“在我们为他哀悼之前,一个黑人男孩有多完美?”迪格斯问道。 “一个社区必须多快消失才能让我们注意到?”

Diggs以前在粉碎的百老汇音乐剧“汉密尔顿”中饰演托马斯·杰斐逊和侯爵拉斐特,以前曾获得过托尼奖。卡萨尔是一位经验丰富的口语艺术家,曾在HBO的“Def Poetry”中表演过。

由CarlosLópezEstrada执导, Blindspotting 将于7月20上映。

Rapper Meek Mill从Jail,Sheds Light on Legal System发布

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

‘Blindspotting’ Focuses on the Increasing Racial Divide in Oakland, the U.S.

Blindspotting

The comedy-drama film Blindspotting made its premiere earlier this year at the Sundance Film Festival and has been earning raves for its simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking look at gentrification and police brutality in Oakland, California.

Stars and co-writers Rafael Casal and Daveed Diggs infused hip-hop sensibilities such as spoken word poetry into the film, emphasizing timely and relevant themes like race and justice.

The film centers on an ex-convict named Collin (Diggs) who’s trying to stay out of trouble towards the end of his probation. But when he inadvertently witnesses a white police officer shooting and killing an unarmed black man, he finds himself forced to reckon with his rapidly changing city and his friendship with his white best friend Miles (Casal).

The film has been touted as “the most exciting cinematic take on contemporary race relations since Spike Lee’s Do the Right Thing nearly 30 years ago,” by Variety magazine.

Indeed, Spike Lee’s 1989 film about simmering racial tensions in Brooklyn, New York still resonates today in our current political and cultural climate. Now, a film like Blindspotting is certainly relevant and necessary to explore the contentious relationships between different races and between people of color and law enforcement, which sadly dominate our headlines.

Its setting in Oakland also brings to mind the deadly incident on New Year’s Day in 2009, when a BART officer shot and killed an unarmed African-American man named Oscar Grant, whose story inspired the movie Fruitvale Station.

Diggs and Casal brought the film to Lionsgate’s CinemaCon presentation this past Thursday, where they took the stage for an impromptu spoken-word poem that was seen as a tribute to the unarmed people of color killed by police, an ode to the pair’s hometown, and a summation of the film’s themes of gentrification and inequality.

 

“How perfect does a black boy have to be before we mourn him?” Diggs asked. “How quickly must a neighborhood vanish for us to notice?”

Diggs previously won a Tony award for his portrayal of Thomas Jefferson and Marquis de Lafayette in the smash Broadway musical “Hamilton.” Casal is an experienced spoken-word artist who has performed on HBO’s “Def Poetry”.

Directed by Carlos López Estrada, Blindspotting will hit theaters July 20.

Rapper Meek Mill Released from Jail, Sheds Light on Legal System

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.