输入搜索

亚太

中美贸易战将中国经济放缓至28年度新低

美国和中国的图形用手指向彼此的手指
中国经济放缓至28年度低点,至少部分是因为2018期间的中美贸易战。 (图片来自PxHere)

与上一年同期相比,中国经济增长在6.4第四季度放缓至2018%,这是过去28年度中由于与美国贸易战的影响持续的最慢速度。

中国是世界第二大经济体,在6.6中增长了2018%,标志着该国近三十年来经济增长最慢。 经济放缓归因于国内需求下降和与美国的贸易战

中国统计局的数据显示 自1990以来,经济遭遇了最停滞的扩张。 在2018的第三季度,中国大陆经济从季度的1.7百分比略微下降至1.6%。

中国有记录的固定资产投资增长扩大至 5.9中的2018百分比,低于分析师对6百分比的估计,以及自1996以来最慢的估计。

由于国内需求疲软和美国征收关税增加,中国经济在控制高债务水平的努力下失去了增长势头。 由于中国在过去十年中为全球经济增长贡献了近三分之一,这些条件引发了对全球经济的担忧。

美中贸易战的影响

美国和中国之间的贸易战使华盛顿对中国商品实施了大量进口关税,而北京则以实物形式作出回应。 关税战一直持续到11月2018,但随后两国同意90日休战从12月持续到3月2019。

在美国指责中国进行不公平贸易行为并迫使全球科技公司在中国开展业务以转让其技术以获得商业许可后,贸易战爆发。

根据中国统计机构发布的零售和工业产出报告,11月2018的增长缓慢迹象明显。 11月5.4的工业利润增长了2018%,略低于路透社分析师对5.9百分比的估计。 零售业的销售额下降了 仅上涨8.1%,自2003以来的最低汇率,低于上个月的8.6百分比。

中国的汽车销量也大幅下滑 11月13.9的2018百分比,是自2012以来的最大降幅, 雅康 国家汽车行业协会报道。

中国经济增长缓慢影响亚洲几个国家

预计全球经济增长疲软将对日本造成伤害。 据路透社调查日本将在即将到来的财政年度(4月2019- 4月2020)面临经济衰退的风险。

日本感受到贸易争端的间接影响。 全国的 由于美国和中国的出货量下降,11月2018出口下降,最新数据显示。 12月2018日本的出口 与一年前相比,缩减了3.8%。

PermataBank的经济学家Josua Pardede解释说,印度尼西亚应该预见到中国闲置增长的负面影响。 中国是印度尼西亚的主要贸易伙伴 印度尼西亚对中国的出口占该群岛总出口的15百分比,主要是煤炭。 但Pardede补充说,印度尼西亚向中国的煤炭运输量下降,因为后者需要生态友好型煤炭。

由于分析师预测今年增长放缓将持续,因此几个新兴市场可能会受到中国整个2018经济危机的影响。 泰国,台湾,马来西亚和缅甸的制造业在2018的第四季度也有所减弱。

智能手机制造商Apple有 由于贸易战,削减了2019的收入和销售预测。 这家科技巨头将2018的销售目标从84亿美元降至89亿美元,降至93亿美元。

中国是苹果的第三大市场, 该公司最近一个财政年度的销售额为52亿美元。 在宣布预测修订后,苹果股价大幅下挫10百分比,亏损超过55亿。

华盛顿取消与中国的贸易会议

白宫取消了与中国的会谈,该会议本应于1月21至1月25举行,讨论正在进行的与贸易争端有关的谈判。 如 CNBC报道 周三,取消是由于对知识产权法规的分歧。

白宫经济顾问 拉里·库德洛否认会议被取消,说到目前为止还没有开会。 不过,CNBC消息人士表示,电话可能会进行谈判。 然而,推迟一对一会议可能预示着达成协议以解决贸易问题仍然还有很长的路要走。

据报道,中国提出增加从美国进口六年的进口产品,当双方在1月初谈判时,进口产品的总价值为1万亿。

“我会把谈判描述为一般朝着正确的方向前进。 上周,中国提出降低关税的无花果,并同意2024进口数万亿美元的美国货物,“摩根大通全球经济学家Joseph Lupton表示, 说过.

尽管有关税,中国的乐观情绪

尽管面临压力,中国官员仍然乐观地认为,由于中国有能力和信心,经济将“正常”增长。 “中国有很大的宏观政策支持空间,”国家统计局局长聂继哲, 说过.

截至12月底,中国的失业率为4.9%,高于上个月的2018%。 在整个4.8中,政府记录了有 13.61新增就业机会,超出了政府的年度预测。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

China/US Trade War Slows China’s Economy to 28 Year Low

graphic of United states and China with hands pointing fingers at each other
China's economy slowed to a 28-year low, at least in part to the US-China trade war during 2018. (Image via PxHere)

China’s economic growth slowed to 6.4 percent in the fourth quarter of 2018 compared to the same period in the previous year, the slowest pace in the past 28 years as the impact of the trade battle with the US endures.

China, the world’s second-largest economy, grew 6.6 percent in 2018 marking the country’s slowest economic growth in almost three decades. The slowdown is attributed to both decreased domestic demand and the trade war with the U.S.

China’s statistics bureau data showed that the economy has suffered the most stagnant expansion since 1990. In the third quarter of 2018, the mainland’s economy dropped slightly from 1.7 percent to 1.6 percent on quarter-on-quarter.

China’s recorded fixed asset investment growth expanded at 5.9 percent throughout 2018, below analysts’ estimate of 6 percent and the slowest since 1996.

China’s economy has lost its growth momentum amid efforts to control its high debt level due to weakening domestic demand and the increase in US-imposed tariffs. Such conditions have triggered concerns about the global economy given China contributed almost one-third to global growth in the past decade.

The US/Chinese Trade War’s Effect

A trade war between the US and China saw Washington applying numerous import tariffs on Chinese goods with Beijing responding in kind. The tariff battle continued until November 2018, but then both countries agreed to a 90-day truce to last from December until March 2019.

The trade war broke out after the US accused China of conducting unfair trade practices and forcing the world’s tech firms to open their businesses in China to transfer their technology to get business permits.

Signs of sluggish growth were evident in November 2018 based on reports on retail and industrial output released by China’s statistical agency. Industrial profit expanded 5.4 percent in November 2018, a bit lower than the Reuters’ analysts’ estimate of 5.9 percent. Sales in the retail sector went up only 8.1 percent, the weakest rate since 2003, down from 8.6 percent in the previous month.

China’s car sales also slumped 13.9 percent in November 2018, the worst fall since 2012, the country’s automotive industry association reported.

China’s Slow Growth Affects Several Asian Countries

Global weakening growth is expected to hurt Japan. According to a Reuters poll, Japan will face a risk of recession in the upcoming fiscal year (April 2019-April 2020).

Japan has felt an indirect impact of the trade dispute. The country’s exports fell in November 2018 due to declining shipments to the US and China, as the latest data revealed. In December 2018 Japan’s exports shrank 3.8 percent from a year earlier.

Indonesia should anticipate a negative impact of China’s idle growth as Josua Pardede, an economist at PermataBank, explained. China is Indonesia’s primary trading partner, and Indonesia’s exports to China account for 15 percent of the archipelago’s total export, mostly coal. But Indonesia’s coal shipments to China have declined as the latter demands eco-friendly types of coal, Pardede added.

Several emerging markets will likely suffer from China’s economic meltdown throughout 2018 as analysts predicted the slowing growth will continue this year. The manufacturing industry in Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia and Myanmar also weakened in the fourth quarter of 2018.

Smartphone maker Apple has slashed its revenue and sales forecasts for 2019  due to the trade war. The tech giant lowered the sales target for 2018 to $84 billion from between $89 billion and $93 billion.

China is Apple’s third largest market, with $52 billion in sales in the company’s most recent fiscal year. After announcing the forecast revision, Apple’s shares plummeted drastically 10 percent, with losses of more than $55 billion.

Washington Cancels Trade Meeting with China

The White House canceled a meeting with China, which was supposed to take place Jan. 21 to Jan. 25 to discuss ongoing negotiations related to the trade dispute. As CNBC reported Wednesday, the cancellation was due to disagreements on regulations on intellectual property.

The White House economic advisor Larry Kudlow denied the meeting was canceled, saying there had been no meeting so far. However, a CNBC source said negotiations might be possible on the phone. Yet, the postponement of a one-on-one meeting may signal that reaching an agreement to solve the trade issue will still be a long way off.

It is reported that China offered to boost its imports from the US for six years with a combined value of imported products worth $1 trillion when both sides negotiated in early January.

“I would kind of characterize negotiations as generally moving in the right direction. Last week, China offered a fig leaf in lowering tariff rates and agreed to import a trillion dollars of US goods by 2024,” Joseph Lupton, global economist at J.P. Morgan, said.

China’s Case for Optimism Despite Tariffs

Despite the pressure, Chinese officials still voiced optimism that the economy will grow “normally” since China has capacity and confidence. “China has ample room for macro policy support,” Ning Jizhe, head of the National Bureau of Statistics, said.

China’s unemployment rate stood at 4.9 percent at the end of December 2018, up from 4.8 percent in the previous month. Throughout 2018 the government recorded that there were 13.61 million new job opportunities, exceeding the administration’s annual forecast.

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.