输入搜索

分析

民意调查:2019面临世界面临的最大威胁,美国提升名单

(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

网络犯罪,伊斯兰国,气候变化,国际国家之间的紧张关系都是皮尤民意调查的首选,这些民意调查显示我们在新西兰国立大学面临的最大威胁。

根据一个 调查 皮尤中心于二月11发布,13调查的26国家表示气候变化是他们最关心的问题。 八个国家认为ISIS是对其国家安全的最大威胁,四个国家的人民表示,网络攻击是他们国家面临的最大威胁的首选。

自2013以来,全球对气候变化的关注急剧增加,当时皮尤中心在56国家中发现23百分比的中位数表示,全球气候变化对他们的国家构成了重大威胁。 这个数字由67攀升至2018%。 然而,2018数据显示,在所有受访威胁中,对美国权力和影响力的关注在2013和2018之间增长最多。

越来越多的不信任和对美国的恐惧

对20百分比的受访者表示担心美国的影响力,其中美国的权力和影响力是2013的主要威胁,38的2017百分比和45的2018百分比,表明五年内20百分点增加。

令人惊讶的是,德国人认为美国对其国家构成威胁的人数增幅最大。 在2013中,只有19百分比的德国人表示美国是一个威胁,但是2018的这个数字上升到了49%。 法国的增幅第二大; 从20的2013百分比到49的2018百分比,将美国视为对其国家的威胁。

在墨西哥,对美国电力的担忧从64的38百分比急剧上升到2013百分比。 造成这种增长的原因很难说,但特朗普关于墨西哥的政策可能会增加美国作为威胁的看法。 特朗普一直推动建立边界墙的计划,并将非法越境描绘为国家危机,这一事件引发了联邦政府的关闭。

一项单独的研究 表明德国人比他们信任美国更信任中国。 在接受调查的德国人中,只有42百分比看到中国比美国更值得信赖,而只有23.1百分比信任华盛顿而不是北京。 该调查由研究机构Civey和非营利组织Atlantik-Brucke(大西洋大桥)进行,旨在促进美国和德国之间更好的关系。

华盛顿退出多个国际协议和组织,例如2015伊朗协议,巴黎气候协议以及与伊朗的1955 Amity,仅举几例,可能有助于削弱全球对美国的信任。

什么威胁美国?

自冷战结束以来,美国更加关注全球变暖和恐怖主义的威胁,但近年来,俄罗斯和中国(以及伊朗和朝鲜)更加关注美国的国家威胁评估。

中国是世界第二大经济体,尽管与美国发生2018贸易战,导致该国自1990以来经济增长率最低,但其仅有的规模和增长潜力与世界上最大的人口一起对美国构成了持续的经济威胁。

中国不断发展的技术也引发了对美国的安全担忧中国电信巨头华为正在开发5G技术(新一代无线技术),这引发了人们对5G技术可以用来监视美国人的担忧。 美国情报界不止一次敦促美国和美国政府避免使用华为产品,因为他们害怕潜在的中国间谍活动。

华盛顿去年12月华盛顿要求逮捕华为首席财务官孟万洲 许多人认为美国害怕中国人从事间谍活动 尽管官方指控违反制裁。

多项民意调查显示,美国人认为中国在经济上或军事上都是一种威胁。 针对美国国家安全威胁的皮尤民意调查显示,同时 只有29%的美国受访者担心中国的军队, 58百分比担心中国经济。 另一个58百分比担心中国网络攻击,51百分比关注就业和贸易,62百分比引用中国持有的美国债务, 在此 国家利益写道。 最近盖洛普民意调查还报道称,90百分比将美国上市的中国经济实力列为威胁。

俄罗斯被列入对美国的威胁名单,因为它涉嫌干涉帮助特朗普上台的2016美国总统大选。 在美国和俄罗斯退出“中程核力量条约”(INF)之后,国际社会现在也担心冷战的新版本。 INF是冷战时期的条约,禁止部署500和5,500公里范围的核武库,并有效地使欧洲不受俄罗斯和美国导弹的覆盖。

由于美国指责俄罗斯违反该条约,但俄罗斯指责美国没有证据并制造俄罗斯的违规行为以退出条约并开发远程导弹,因此INF条约破裂。 俄罗斯正在开发一种新的导弹系统,以响应美国退出INF条约并响应美国发展新型导弹。

在二月的11上,五角大楼也发布了一份报告 引发人们对中国和俄罗斯开发激光技术的努力表示担忧,这些激光技术可能使美国的卫星面临风险并威胁到美国的太空霸主地位。

另外,在二月初, 美国国防部高级官员发出警报 关于在阿根廷的一个中国人运行的空间站,说巴塔哥尼亚地区的一个新的深空站可能会射击美国和盟军

气候变化

去年12月在波兰举行气候谈判期间,联合国气候大会主席Patricia Espinosa, 说全球变暖的影响 “从来没有变得更糟”。

“这个现实告诉我们,我们需要做更多事情,” 墨西哥女外交官说。

在2019早期,当美国一些州由于极地涡旋(地球极点周围巨大的螺旋空气)现象冻结,温度达到零下60度时,澳大利亚在1月2019的温度最高。 根据澳大利亚气象厅的平均气温 1月份超过30度Celcius。 在澳大利亚的南部地区,今年1月份没有下雨,这是62年的第一次降雨。

一些专家试图将美国的极涡与气候变化联系起来。 Woords Hole研究中心的高级研究员Jennifer Francis指出,北极温暖与极地涡旋现象有关。

“自从我们的第一篇论文在2012上发表以来,已经有了相当多的证据证明了这一点,” 弗朗西斯说。

但布里斯托大学的威廉·塞维尔(William Seviour)说,融化的海冰与极地漩涡无关。

“只是因为我们看到极地涡旋越来越弱,海冰下降并不意味着一个人造成了另一个。 漩涡的趋势并不一致,“Seviour提到他在地球物理研究快报上发表的2017研究。

伊斯兰国

伊斯兰激进组织ISIS是基地组织的一个突破,目的是在叙利亚,伊拉克及其他地区建立一个名为哈里发的伊斯兰国家。

根据 美国有线电视新闻网,伊斯兰国在伊拉克和叙利亚的占地面积超过34,000平方英里,在2016结束时,ISIS控制的领土减少到23,320平方英里。

一些猜测说,美国帮助创建了oISIS和基地组织 globalresearch.ca写道。 据说ISIS被设计为控制富含石油的中东并解决伊朗影响的恐怖手段。

中央情报局(CIA)帮助创建了基地组织,以征服1980中的阿富汗苏联。 中情局对这个组织的极端主义者进行了培训,沙特为其提供了资助,前英国外交大臣已故罗宾库克说。

美国在2003的第二次入侵伊拉克诞生了伊斯兰国。 华盛顿结束了萨达姆侯赛因的世俗统治,并且发生了一场占主导地位的什叶派政府。 在什叶派政府统治下,逊尼派的人口失去了工作和政治影响力。

前国务卿希拉里克林顿承认 华盛顿帮助建立和资助ISIS。 她关于ISIS的声明在几个阿拉伯国家传播。

网络攻击:没有哪个国家是安全的,甚至美国也是如此

网络攻击可以定义为破坏计算机或数据系统的非法企图。 在据称俄罗斯干预美国总统大选以及受影响的个人数据泄露事件后,对网络攻击的担忧有所增加 全球Facebook的50百万用户,导致社交媒体巨头的价值下滑。

数据欺诈引发了欧盟(EU)制定新的数据保护法。 根据新规定,如果发现Facebook对用户的个人信息不负责任,Facebook有义务支付数十亿英镑的罚款。

数据泄露不仅仅针对Facebook。 誓言报道 3亿的雅虎账户受到2013数据盗窃的影响,这是有史以来最大的漏洞。

网络犯罪现在是一个全球问题,即使在美国和加拿大等发达国家也是如此。 根据Comparitech 7月份的一项调查,2018发布了ITgovernance,美国网络应用攻击的百分比最高(66%)导致网络犯罪成本最高($ 17.36百万)。

过去几年,网络犯罪的平均成本急剧上升。 埃森哲的数据显示,从2016到2017,网络犯罪的成本上升了22.7%和 与6相关的年度网络攻击相关损害可能会花费2021万亿美元。

俄罗斯是否应该归咎于网络犯罪?

印度尼西亚的网络机构和国家加密机构(BSSN)与Honeynet项目合作,揭示了整个12.9在印度尼西亚发生了201万次网络攻击,513,900来自恶意软件攻击。

21个传感器设备检测到了这些攻击。 有趣的是,2.6万次攻击来自俄罗斯。

但BSSN检测和威胁主管Sulistyo表示,这些传感器只检测到互联网协议(IP)的数量,这意味着黑客有可能在黑客中使用俄罗斯的IP地址。

除了俄罗斯,来自中国的攻击占1.9百万,以及来自美国的1.4百万。

7月,国家情报总监丹·科茨(2018)警告说,网络攻击的增加正在以惊人的程度上升。 他补充说,俄罗斯,朝鲜,中国和伊朗的目标是联邦政府,美国军方以及美国公司和教育机构。

“对俄罗斯人来说,最重要的是他们的意图。 他们有能力,但他们的意图是破坏我们的基本价值观,破坏民主,在我们和盟国之间创造楔子,“ 外套解释道.

高士的警告是在美国司法部起诉的同一天发出的 12俄罗斯军事情报人员 在2016投票期间窃取计算机网络和民主党人的电子邮件。

欧盟考虑对中国相关的网络攻击做出回应

欧洲联盟(欧盟)国家讨论了一项可能的联合应对措施,以应对来自中国的网络攻击,此前英国专家提出了一个名为Advanced Persistent Threat 10或APT 10的硬件和软件攻击的证据。

英国外交部和美国司法部 发表联合声明 12月2018称,APT 10代表中国政府“开展针对欧洲,亚洲和美国的知识产权和敏感商业数据的恶意网络活动”

2018的Comparitech调查显示 中国负责拒绝服务(DoS)攻击率(29.56%),其恶意软件感染率达到49%。

然而,网络攻击和网络安全仍然是一种普遍存在的威胁。

LabMD的创始人兼首席执行官Michael Daugherty评论了企业面临的情况:“您的组织将受到攻击。 这不是“如果”,而是“何时”。 唯一的问题是,您的组织将如何处理它? 您的组织,而不是您的CISO或安全部门。 我这样说是因为世界已经发生变化,网络安全不是一个人的工作。 网络安全必须是企业文化。“

美国政府也对即将举行的2020选举及其对黑客的脆弱性表示担忧。

“虽然已经解决了许多建议,但关于1,000尚未实施。 在解决这些缺点之前,联邦机构的信息和系统将越来越容易受到存在的大量与网络相关的威胁的影响,“ 美国政府问责局在一份声明中表示.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS

Poll: Top Threats Facing the World in 2019, US Moving Up The List

(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Cybercrime, ISIS, climate change, tense relations between international countries all top the list of a Pew poll on the greatest threats facing us in 2019.

According to a survey released on February 11 by the Pew Center, 13 out of 26 countries surveyed said climate change is their biggest concern. Eight countries saw ISIS as the greatest threat to their national security, and people in four nations said cyberattacks topped their list of greatest threats to their country.

Global concern about climate change has increased sharply since 2013 when the Pew Center found a median of 56 percent across 23 countries surveyed said global climate change was a major threat to their country. That number climbed to 67 percent by 2018. However, the 2018 data revealed that of all the threats surveyed, concern for U.S. power and influence grew the most between 2013 and 2018.

Increasing Distrust and Fear of US

Fear of U.S. influence has risen from 20 percent of respondents citing U.S. power and influence as a major threat in 2013 to 38 percent in 2017 and 45 percent in 2018, representing an increase of 20 percentage points in five years.

Surprisingly, Germany showed the greatest increase in the number of people perceiving the U.S. as a threat to their country. In 2013, only 19 percent of Germans said the U.S. was a threat but by 2018 that number had risen to 49 percent. France saw the second greatest increase; from 20 percent in 2013 to 49 percent in 2018 viewing the U.S. as a threat to their country.

In Mexico, concern regarding U.S. power has skyrocketed to 64 percent from 38 percent in 2013. What is causing the increase is hard to tell, but Trump’s policies regarding Mexico are likely increasing the perception of the U.S. as a threat. Trump has consistently pushed a plan to build a border wall and painted illegal border crossings as a national crisis, a drive that triggered a federal government shutdown.

A separate study showed that Germans trusted China more than they trust the U.S. Just over 42 percent of Germans surveyed saw China as more trustworthy than the U.S, while only 23.1 percent trusted Washington over Beijing. The poll was conducted by the research agency Civey and the non-profit Atlantik-Brucke (Atlantic Bridge) which promotes better relations between the U.S. and Germany.

Washington’s withdrawals from several international agreements and organizations, such as the 2015 Iran deal, the Paris climate accord, and the 1955 Amity with Iran, to name a few, have likely helped to erode global trust in the U.S.

What Threatens the US?

The U.S. has focused more on the threat of global warming and terrorism since the Cold War ended, but in recent years, Russia and China (as well as Iran and North Korea) have become a greater focus on U.S. national threat assessments.

China is the world’s second-largest economy and despite a 2018 trade war with the U.S. that lead to the country’s lowest rates of economic growth since 1990, its mere size and potential for growth with the world’s largest population is a consistent economic threat to the U.S.

China’s growing technology also raises security concerns for the U.S. The Chinese telecommunications giant Huawei is now developing 5G technology (a new generation of wireless technology) which has triggered fears that the 5G technology can be used to spy on Americans. The U.S. intelligence community has more than once urged Americans and the U.S. government to avoid using Huawei products for fear of potential Chinese spying.

The arrest of Huawei’s CFO Meng Wanzhou in Canada at Washington’s request last December is attributed by many to America’s fear of Chinese spying despite the official charge of sanctions violations.

Multiple polls showed that Americans viewed China as a threat either economically or militarily. A Pew poll on threats to U.S. national security showed that while only 29 percent of American respondents worried about China’s military, 58 percent feared China’s economy. Another 58 percent had concerns about Chinese cyberattacks, 51 percent focused on jobs and trade and 62 percent cited China’s holdings of U.S. debt, as The National Interest wrote. A recent Gallup poll also reported that 90 percent of American’s listed China’s economic power as a threat.

Russia is on the list of perceived threats to the U.S. due to its alleged interference in the 2016 U.S. presidential election that helped Trump to take office. The international community is also now worried about a new version of the Cold War after both the U.S. and Russia quit the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty (INF). The INF was a Cold War-era treaty that prohibited the deployment of nuclear arsenals with ranges of 500 and 5,500 kilometers and effectively kept Europe from being covered with Russian and U.S. missiles.

The INF Treaty fell apart as the U.S. accused Russia of violating the treaty but Russia accused the U.S. of having no evidence and fabricating Russia’s non-compliance in order to exit the treaty and develop long-range missiles. Russia is now developing a new missile system in response to the U.S. withdrawal from the INF treaty and in response to U.S. development of new missiles.

On February 11, the Pentagon also released a report raising concerns about China and Russia’s efforts to develop laser technologies that could put U.S. satellites at risk and threaten U.S. space dominance.

Additionally, in early February, senior U.S. defense officials raised alarm about a Chinese-run space station in Argentina, saying that a new deep space station in the Patagonia region could potentially shoot U.S. and allied

Climate Change

During the climate talks in Poland last December, the head of U.N. Climate Convention, Patricia Espinosa, said that the impact of global warming had “never been worse.”

“This reality is telling us that we need to do much more,” the Mexican female diplomat stated.

In early 2019, when some U.S. states froze due to the phenomenon called the polar vortex (a huge spiraling air surrounding the Earth’s pole) with temperatures reaching minus 60 degrees, Australia saw its highest temperature in January 2019. According to Australia’s Meteorological Agency, the average temperature in January exceeded 30 degrees Celcius. In Australia’s southern region, there was no rain throughout January this year, a first in 62 years.

Some experts tried to link the polar vortex in the U.S. with climate change. Jennifer Francis, a senior researcher at the Woords Hole Research Centre, cited the warmer Arctic is related to the polar vortex phenomenon.

“There’s a fair bit of evidence [for this] that’s been building up since our first paper came out in 2012,”  Francis said.

But William Seviour from the University of Bristol snubbed the statement by saying the melting sea ice has nothing to do with the polar vortex.

“Just because we see the polar vortex getting weaker and sea ice declining doesn’t mean that one’s causing the other. The trend in the vortex is not consistent,” Seviour referred to his 2017 study published in Geophysical Research Letters.

ISIS

The Islamic militant group ISIS was a breakaway of Al-Qaeda, aimed at creating an Islamic state called a caliphate across Syria, Iraq and beyond.

According to CNN, ISIS dominated more than 34,000 square miles in Iraq and Syria, and at the end of 2016, ISIS-controlled territory diminished to 23,320 square miles.

Some speculations said that the U.S. helped to create oISIS as well as Al-Qaeda, as globalresearch.ca wrote. It is said that the ISIS was designed as a terror instrument to control the oil-rich Middle East and tackle Iran’s influence.

The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) helped create Al-Qaeda to conquer the Soviet Union in Afghanistan in the 1980s. The CIA trained the organization’s extremists, and Saudi financed it, former British Foreign Secretary the late Robin Cook stated.

The second U.S. invasion of Iraq in 2003 gave birth to ISIS. Washington ended Saddam Hussein’s secular rule, and a predominantly Shiite administration took place. Under the Shiite government, Sunni’s population lost their jobs and political influence.

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton admitted that Washington helped establish and fund ISIS. Her statement about ISIS circulated in several Arab countries.

Cyber Attacks: No Countries Are Safe, Even the US

Cyber attacks can be defined as an illegal attempt to destroy a computer or data system. Concerns about cyber attacks increased after the alleged Russian intervention in the U.S. presidential election and a personal data breach that affected 50 million users of Facebook worldwide, causing the social media giant’s value to slip.

The data fraud triggered the European Union (E.U.) to enact a new law on data protection. Under the new regulation, Facebook is obliged to pay billions of pounds in fines if it is found to have been irresponsible with its users’ personal information.

Data breaches do not only target Facebook. Oath reported that 3 billion of Yahoo accounts were affected by 2013 data theft, the biggest breach of all time.

Cybercrime is now a global problem, even in developed countries such as the U.S. and Canada. According to a survey by Comparitech in July 2018 published on ITgovernance, the U.S. had the highest percentage of web application attacks (66 percent) that caused the highest cost of cyber crime ($17.36 million).

An average cost of cybercrime has increased dramatically in the past few years. The data from Accenture showed that from 2016 to 2017, the cost of cybercrime jumped 22.7 percent and the annual cyberattack-related damage may cost $6 trillion by 2021.

Is Russia to Blame for Cybercrime?

Indonesia’s Cyber Body and National Encryption Agency (BSSN) cooperated with the Honeynet Project, revealing that there were 12.9 million cyberattacks in Indonesia throughout 201, with 513,900 coming from malware attacks.

Twenty-one sensor devices detected those attacks. Interestingly, 2.6 million attacks came from Russia.

But the BSSN Director of Detection and Threat Sulistyo said that those sensors only detected the numbers of Internet Protocols (IPs), meaning that it is possible for hackers to use Russian IP addresses in hacking.

Besides Russia, attacks from China accounted for 1.9 million, as well as 1.4 million from America.

In July 2018, the Director of  National Intelligence, Dan Coats, warned that the increase in cyberattacks was rising at an alarming level. He added that Russia, North Korea, China, and Iran were targeting the federal government, the U.S military, as well as U.S companies and educational institutions.

“What’s serious about the Russians is their intent. They have capabilities, but it’s their intent to undermine our basic values, undermine democracy, create wedges between us and our allies,” Coats explained.

Coats’ warning came on the same day that the U.S Department of Justice indicted 12 Russian military intelligence agents for hacking computer networks and emails of Democrats during the 2016 ballot.

EU Considers a Response to China-Related Cyberattacks

Countries in the European Union (E.U.) discussed a possible joint response to tackle cyberattacks allegedly from China after U.K. experts presented evidence of both hardware and software attacks from a group called Advanced Persistent Threat 10, or APT 10.

The U.K. Foreign Office and the U.S. Department of Justice issued a joint statement in December 2018 saying that APT 10 acted on behalf of the Chinese government “to carry out a malicious cyber campaign targeting intellectual property and sensitive commercial data in Europe, Asia, and the U.S.”

The Comparitech survey in 2018 showed that China was responsible for the highest rate of denial-of-service (DoS) attacks (29.56 percent), and its rate for malware infections reached 49 percent.

 However, cyberattacks and cybersecurity remain a pervasive threat.

Michael Daugherty, Founder and CEO of LabMD, commented on the situation businesses face: “Your organization is going to get attacked. It’s not ‘if,’ but ‘when.’ The only question is, how will your organization handle it? Your organization, not your CISO or security department. I say that because the world has changed and cybersecurity is not one person’s job. Cybersecurity must be the corporate culture.”

The United States government has also issued concerns about the upcoming 2020 election and its vulnerability to hackers.

“Although many recommendations have been addressed, about 1,000 have not yet been implemented. Until these shortcomings are addressed, federal agencies’ information and systems will be increasingly susceptible to the multitude of cyber-related threats that exist,” said the US Government Accountability Office in a statement.

 

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.