输入搜索

美洲 国家

国会议员营地隔夜冷冻以帮助寻求庇护者

边境墙计划
美国政府通过Flickr:南德克萨斯州边境围栏线和远程监控摄像机拍摄于9月24,2013。

在12月16周期间,加利福尼亚州议员NanetteBarragán和Jimmy Gomez在蒂华纳 - 圣地亚哥边境寒冷地露营,以帮助洪都拉斯移民安全通过美国。

国会议员在39岁的Maria Meza和她的五个孩子在边境美国一侧的Otay Mesa入口附近度过了一个寒冷的温度。 美国国会议员被要求观察,因为梅扎和她的孩子们为避难所献上了自己。

美国众议院/沙龙华莱士[公共领域],通过Wikimedia Commons

Nanette Barragan,美国众议院/沙龙华莱士[公共领域],通过Wikimedia Commons

巴拉甘在一篇文章中说道 专访 现在民主!: “在我们的情况下,你有海关和边境保护官员坐在那里,允许三岁和四岁的孩子在玛丽亚的情况下等待数小时,九小时 - 在冰冷的水泥上。 他们无处可吃。 他们甚至无法起身去洗手间,因为如果他们离开这片美国土地,墨西哥移民官员和警察就在等待他们的墨西哥线上。“

虽然Meza和她的家人在被允许请求庇护之前不得不等待9个小时,但据报道,其他家庭在被允许越过美国入境口岸之前的21时间内等待寒冷。

国会议员目睹了一些海关和边境保护局(CBP)代理人的冷漠态度。 “所以,看到一些军官和CBP对移民的无视,只是看到和听到的令人不安。 我们甚至有一位CBP官员正在大声谈论移民是多么可怕,他们是如何犯罪的。 所以,如果他们有这种态度,他们真的不会重视人的生命和尊严,“ 巴拉甘说 现在民主!

Barragán继续确认还有一些优秀的CBP代理人:“现在,让我告诉你,有很好的CBP代理人。 我代表一个入境口岸。 但是有坏苹果,这是一个真正的问题。 因此,我们希望确保对发生的事情进行调查。“

本月早些时候,Meza和她的孩子们在他们逃离美国边境巡逻队发射的催泪瓦斯时被拍到了相互照相的照片。

据报道,梅扎说 事件:[翻译]“好吧,我感到难过,害怕,想哭。 就在那时我抓住了我的女儿并开始跑步。 那一刻,我以为我会因为气体而和他们一起死去。 我们跑了,我们陷入了泥泞中,挣扎着站起来。 一个年轻人伸出手,把我拉到我脚边。 我没想到。 我们从未想过他们会在有孩子的地方发射这些炸弹。 因为有很多孩子,不仅仅是我的孩子。 那里的母亲有更多的孩子。 他们也开始跑步,就像我一样。“

美国众议院摄影办公室[公共领域],通过Wikimedia Commons

美国众议院摄影办公室[公共领域],通过Wikimedia Commons

所有寻求庇护者都必须通过“可信的恐惧”面谈,他们必须在被迫返回本国的情况下表现出对迫害的恐惧。 梅扎说,她担心如果她留在洪都拉斯,她的孩子要么被帮派招募,要么被杀害。

“她的兄弟被一名贩毒者杀害,然后她的一个大孩子被一个贩毒团伙招募......这就是她决定逃往美国的原因。 这就是她离开的原因,“ 戈麦斯说 “新闻周刊” 在电话采访中。

在漫长而寒冷的夜晚,国会议员戈麦斯和巴拉甘与梅扎及其子女一同住在一起,让他们放心。 他们会定期与CBP代理商交谈,询问有关Meza及其家人何时可以出庭赎罪的最新消息。 Barragán在等待的时候甚至开始和Meza的孩子一起唱歌。

目前正在处理Meza的庇护。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 生疏 一月年8月2019日

    先照顾好自己,我们付钱给你。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

During the week of Dec. 16, Californian Congressmembers Nanette Barragán and Jimmy Gomez camped out in the cold at the Tijuana-San Diego border to help facilitate the safe passage of Honduran immigrants into the US.

The Congress members spent a night outside in freezing cold temperatures with 39-year-old Maria Meza and her five children near the Otay Mesa port of entry on the US side of the border. The Congress members were asked to observe as Meza, along with her children, presented herself for asylum.

U.S. House of Reps./Sharon Wallace [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Nanette Barragan, U.S. House of Reps./Sharon Wallace [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Barragán said in an interview with Democracy Now!: “In our situation you had Customs and Border Protection officers sitting right there, allowing three- and four-year-old children waiting hours on end—in Maria’s case, nine hours—in the cold on the cement. They could go nowhere to eat. They couldn’t even get up to go to the bathroom, because if they left this little patch of US soil, Mexican immigration officials and police were on the Mexico line just waiting for them.”

Although Meza and her family had to wait for nine hours before they were allowed to request asylum, there are reports of other families waiting in the cold for as long as 21 hours before they were allowed to cross the US port of entry.

The Congress members witnessed an attitude of apathy from some of the Customs and Border Protection (CBP) agents. “And so, to see the disregard that some of the officers and CBP had for migrants was just disturbing to see and hear. We even had a CBP officer who was talking out loud about how terrible migrants were, how they were coming to commit crime. And so, if they have this attitude, they really aren’t going to have any regard for human life and their dignity,” Barragán told Democracy Now!

Barragán went on to affirm that there are also some good CBP agents: “Now, let me tell you, there are good CBP agents. I represent a port of entry. But there are bad apples, and that’s a real issue. So we want to make sure that there is an investigation on what happens.”

Earlier in the month, Meza and her children were photographed clinging to each other while they fled tear gas fired by US Border Patrol agents.

Meza reportedly said of the incident: [translated] “Well, I felt sad, scared and wanting to cry. That’s when I grabbed my daughters and started running. At that moment, I thought I was going to die with them because of the gas. We ran, and we fell into the mud and struggled to get up amidst the gas. A young man gave me his hand and pulled me up to my feet. I wasn’t expecting it. We never thought they were going to fire these bombs where there were children. Because there were lots of children, not just mine. There were more children with mothers there. They also started running, too, just like me.”

US House Office of Photography [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

US House Office of Photography [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

All asylum seekers must pass a “credible fear” interview in which they must demonstrate their fear of persecution in the event they are forced to return to their home countries. Meza said she feared her children would either be recruited by gangs or killed if she stayed in Honduras.

“Her brother was killed by a drug trafficker, and then one of her older children was recruited in a drug gang…and that’s why she decided to flee to the US. That’s why she left,” Gomez told Newsweek in a phone interview.

Throughout the long, cold night, Congressmembers Gomez and Barragán stayed with Meza and her children, reassuring them. Periodically, they would talk to the CBP agents, asking for updates on when Meza and her family could present themselves for asylum. Barragán even began to sing with Meza’s children while they waited.

Meza’s asylum is currently being processed.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.