اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS البيئة

كوستاريكا تحطم الرقم القياسي ، وتستغرق أيام 300 باستخدام الطاقة المتجددة وحدها

بركان ، كوستاريكا. (الصورة عبر Pixabay)

بينما تكافح الدول الغربية للتقدم وإيجاد أرضية مشتركة بشأن تغير المناخ ، تحطّم كوستاريكا بهدوء الأرقام القياسية للطاقة المتجددة.

حطمت دولة كوستاريكا الواقعة في أمريكا الوسطى سجلها في مجال الطاقة المتجددة من خلال تشغيلها لأيام 300 على مصادر الطاقة الكهربائية الخضراء وحدها. حطمت الدولة سجل 2015 السابق الخاص بها باستخدام الطاقة المتجددة فقط لأيام 299.

المعهد الكوستاريكي للكهرباء أيضًا كشف أن البلاد حققت 201 أيام متتالية أخرى من الطاقة المتجددة بدءا من مايو 1 ، 2018. يأتي نجاح كوستاريكا في الوقت الذي تكافح فيه الدول الغربية الأكثر تقدماً حول قضايا تغير المناخ وانسحاب الولايات المتحدة من اتفاقية باريس المناخية.

تولد كوستاريكا 78 في المئة من الكهرباء من مصادر المياه ، مع طاقة الرياح والطاقة الحرارية الأرضية التي تساهم 10 في المئة أخرى من الكهرباء في البلاد. تضيف الطاقة الشمسية والكتلة الحيوية معًا 1 من الكهرباء إلى شبكة البلاد.

منشأة للطاقة الكهرومائية في كوستاريكا. (الصورة عبر Pixabay)

منشأة للطاقة الكهرومائية في كوستاريكا. (الصورة عبر Pixabay)

يوضح نجاح كوستاريكا أنه من الممكن لأي دولة تشغيل شبكتها الكهربائية بالكامل على مصادر الطاقة المتجددة دون استخدام الفحم أو الغاز إذا كانت ملتزمة بهذا الجهد. في حين أن متطلبات كوستاريكا الكهربائية قد لا تكون مماثلة للولايات المتحدة أو غيرها من البلدان المتقدمة للغاية ، يمكن تكرار نجاحها في أماكن أخرى.

أكدت الدكتورة مونيكا أرايا ، مستشارة الطاقة النظيفة في كوستاريكا ، أن أيام 300 من الطاقة المتجددة لا توفر سوى الكهرباء. واصلت السيارات والتدفئة المنزلية تعمل على الغاز والفحم. بشكل عام ، لا يزال البلد يستمد حوالي 70 من استهلاك الطاقة من النفط.

صراع الدول الغربية لتحقيق أهداف الطاقة المتجددة

تستخدم الولايات المتحدة الفحم والغاز الطبيعي لثلثي احتياجاتها من الطاقة. في 2016 ، استخدمت البلاد الطاقة المتجددة لتوليد 15 في المئة من طاقتها ، وزاد هذا إلى 18 في المئة في 2017. ومع ذلك ، في ظل إدارة ترامب ، انسحبت الولايات المتحدة من اتفاقية باريس لتغير المناخ المبرمة في 2017 من قبل دول 195 في باريس ، فرنسا - مما أدى فعليا إلى تحرير المقاطعة من أي التزامات دولية للطاقة البديلة.

تحاول إدارة ترامب إلغاء خطة أوباما للطاقة النظيفة ، والتي تتطلب من الولايات خفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتركز إلى حد كبير على خفض الانبعاثات من محطات توليد الطاقة التي تعمل بحرق الفحم. من المحتمل أن تستغرق عملية الإلغاء عامين وقد يتم الطعن في المحاكم.

في فرنسا ، حاول الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون معالجة التغير المناخي عن طريق زيادة الضريبة على وقود الديزل التي أشعلت الاحتجاجات في جميع أنحاء البلاد. سعت الاحتجاجات ، المعروفة باسم "حركة سترة الصفراء" ، إلى إلغاء زيادة ضريبة وقود الديزل ولكنها أصبحت أيضًا احتجاجًا على ارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة في البلاد.

أوقفت ماكرون الضريبة في النهاية ووعدت بزيادة الحد الأدنى للأجور بمقدار 100 € شهريًا ، لكنها رفضت أيضًا فرض ضريبة على الأثرياء.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، تسير كوستاريكا بهدوء إلى الأمام نحو هدفها المتمثل في أن تصبح ثاني بلد محايد للكربون في العالم (كانت بوتان الأولى) بواسطة 2021.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

While Western countries struggle to progress and find common ground on climate change, Costa Rica is quietly breaking records for renewable energy.

The Central American country of Costa Rica has broken its own renewable energy record by running for 300 days on green electric energy sources alone. The country broke its previous 2015 record of using only renewable energy for 299 days.

The Costa Rican Institute of Electricity also revealed that the country has achieved another 201 consecutive days of renewable energy starting from May 1, 2018. Costa Rica’s success comes as more developed western nations struggle over climate change issues and the United States’ withdrawal from the landmark Paris climate agreement.

Costa Rica generates 78 percent of its electricity from water sources, with wind and geothermal energy contributing another 10 percent of the country’s electricity. Solar energy and biomass together add 1 percent of electricity to the country’s grid.

Hydropower facility in Costa Rica. (Image via Pixabay)

Hydropower facility in Costa Rica. (Image via Pixabay)

Costa Rica’s success goes to show it is possible for a country to run its entire electrical grid on renewable energy sources without using coal or gas if they are committed to the effort. While Costa Rica’s electrical demands may not be comparable to the United States or other highly developed countries, its success could be replicated in elsewhere.

Dr. Monica Araya, the clean energy adviser for Costa Rica, emphasized that the 300 days of renewable energy only supplied power for electricity. Vehicles and home heating continued to run on gas and coal. Overall the country still derives about 70 percent of its energy consumption from oil.

Western Nations Struggle to Meet Renewable Energy Goals

The U.S. uses coal and natural gas for two-thirds of its energy needs. In 2016, the country used renewable energy to generate 15 percent of its power, and this increased to 18 percent in 2017. However, under the Trump administration, the U.S. pulled out of the Paris Climate Change Agreement entered into in 2017 by 195 countries in Paris, France — effectively freeing the county of any international obligations to alternative energy.

The Trump administration is attempting to repeal Obama’s Clean Power Plan, which required states to reduce carbon dioxide emissions and largely focused on reducing emissions from coal-burning power plants. The repeal process will likely take two years to complete and may be challenged in courts.

In France, French President Emmanuel Macron attempted to address climate change by increasing a tax on diesel fuel which sparked protests across the country. The protests, known as the Yellow Vest Movement, sought to repeal the diesel fuel tax increase but also became a protest against the country’s rising cost of living.

Macron ultimately suspended the tax and promised to increase the minimum wage by €100 per month but also refused to reinstate a tax on the wealthy.

Meanwhile, Costa Rica quietly marches forward toward its goal of becoming the second carbon neutral country in the world (Bhutan was the first) by 2021.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.