输入搜索

欧洲

欧洲国家批准对罗姆人的迫害

在警察清理了他们居住的罗姆人区后,2005的罗姆妇女照顾他们的孩子。 (照片:Giorgio,flickr)
在警察清理了他们居住的罗姆人区后,2005的罗姆妇女照顾他们的孩子。 (照片:Giorgio,flickr)

这是关于欧洲罗姆人的三部分系列的第一部分。 罗姆人,通常被称为“吉普赛人”,虽然这个词通常被认为是贬义的,但却面临着广泛的,经常受到国家批准的歧视。 在这里阅读第二部分。

作为欧洲最大的少数民族,罗姆人继续遭受边缘化和歧视。

由于反移民和民族主义团体在整个欧洲,美洲和亚洲部分地区获得权力和一定程度的合法性,这是欧洲最脆弱和经常被遗忘的少数群体之一,罗姆人继续受到文化偏见,国家支持歧视和经济不平等。

谁是罗姆人?

罗马女孩在普里兹伦,科索沃。 (照片:Charles Fred)

罗马女孩在普里兹伦,科索沃。 (照片:Charles Fred)

欧洲的罗姆人通常被称为“吉普赛人”或其他当地人,但这是一个贬义词,源于错误地认为罗马文化来自埃及。 事实上,罗马文化来自印度次大陆的西部,虽然它们可能不像其他一些少数民族那样可见,但实际上罗姆人是 欧洲最大的少数民族, 据欧洲联盟基本人权机构称。 该机构估计10和12之间的罗姆人居住在欧洲。

罗马社区可以说比欧洲任何其他群体都更多地暴行,种族主义和偏见,但很多人要么不知道这种情况,要么选择忽视这种情况。 针对罗姆人的种族主义是欧洲最后一种“可接受”的偏见形式之一,在教室,商业午餐会上,甚至从左翼和右翼的既定政治家的口中听到对罗姆人的辱骂,这种情况并不少见。

与人权组织欧洲罗姆人权利中心合作的乔纳森·李解释说 公民真相,“很难找到反吉普赛主义的起源,因为它与我们一起在欧洲,在我们的社会中成长。 对罗姆人的歧视不仅仅是种族主义; 当我们把反吉普赛主义作为一个概念来谈论时,它是欧洲的一个基本组成部分,它与欧洲文明一起成长。 它的惊人,系统的深度使它与众不同。“

李还讨论了由于根深蒂固的歧视制度,罗姆人无法获得基本服务和整体生活质量下降的问题。

“它是 获得清洁水的机会不平等, 至 安全的住房。 这是地理上的 罗姆人的种族隔离 来自非罗马人。 彻底地 预期寿命。 极端 失业。 可怕的水平 婴儿死亡率。 你最终会对警察,司法,政府,社会关怀系统,移民当局和医疗服务机构产生偏见。 这是欧洲集体心理中的基本条件,将其视为“吉普赛人”,因此在基本层面上,比我们少。“

罗马人的历史

从德国Asperg,1940驱逐罗姆人(照片由Rassenhygienische Forschungsstelle拍摄)

罗姆人自14世纪初抵达欧洲以来,面临着强烈的迫害和偏见。 他们在16世纪被禁止进入神圣罗马帝国,并且由于这项法令,任何帝国公民都被允许并被鼓励谋杀他们遇到的任何罗马人。

在大屠杀期间,罗姆人社区的目标或多或少与犹太社区相同,纳粹对罗姆人的种族灭绝 留下近四分之一的欧洲罗姆人死亡。 然而,在关于大屠杀的现代讨论中,这个事实几乎总是被遗忘或者只是顺便提及。

罗马人的刻板印象通常与描绘其他遭受歧视的群体一样:他们被描绘成小偷,毒贩和罪犯。 欧洲主流社会对罗马文化的描述方式与吉姆·克劳时代以及现在某种程度上黑人美国人的待遇方式非常类似。 这些虚假的种族刻板印象对两个社区都有极其危险的后果。 执法部门针对的是罗姆人,并要求他们对未犯下的罪行负责,并且警察将他们作为受害者。

假新闻和仇恨犯罪针对法国的罗姆人

罗马区,Aytos,保加利亚在2008。

罗马区,Aytos,保加利亚在2008。 (照片:Ali Eminov)

在法国,激进的新闻媒体和社交媒体报道最近一直在散布谎言,指责罗马男子绑架法国儿童。 这导致了许多出于种族动机的攻击,发生在巴黎郊区的罗姆人。 这种情况已经变得如此糟糕了 法国警方敦促公众不要传播这种错误信息.

巴黎警察局最近在推特上写道:“有关用面包车绑架儿童的谣言完全没有根据。 没有绑架被证明。 不要分享这些虚假信息,不要煽动暴力。“假新闻和滥用社交媒体是一个日益增长的社会关注点,这些谎言的目标通常是少数群体,然后由于以下原因被迫面对言语和身体虐待。偏执的人散布谎言。

与欧洲许多国家一样,法国几个世纪以来一直参与虐待罗姆人。 路易十四是17th和18世纪初的法国国王,他颁布法令 所有罗姆人都被征召强迫劳动,所有罗姆妇女都被强迫绝育。

最近,尼古拉·萨科齐(Nicolas Sarkozy)政府在担任总统期间驱逐了数万名来自法国的罗姆人,这一措施遭到欧洲罗姆人权利中心等许多人权组织的强烈批评。 欧盟法律禁止出于种族动机的大规模驱逐行为,但法国多年来因种族原因驱逐罗姆人家庭。 在开始驱逐程序之前,法国移民官员也未能对每个案件进行单独审查 违反欧盟法律法规。

Lee讨论了欧盟官员不愿对法国这样的国家提起法律诉讼的问题,他说:“德国,英国,法国和意大利四大国家似乎有一条规则,而其他国家则更是如此。工会。”

8月5,2010泄露的内部备忘录,以及当时的内政部长Brice Hortefeux的工作人员签署的提醒,法国移民官员提醒说:“必须在三个月内撤离三百个营地或非法定居点; 罗姆人营地是一个优先事项。 每个部门的首要[州代表]都要开始系统地拆除非法营地,特别是罗姆人营地。“ 备忘录还表明这个计划是“具体目标” 萨科齐总统提出要求。

人们常常认为,在西欧和大多数发达民主国家,这种制度化的种族仇恨几乎不存在,但这远非如此。 法国在完全抛弃过去之前还有很长的路要走,不幸的是,许多其他欧洲国家也需要优先解决这些问题。

意大利和'罗马问题'

法国不是唯一一个从事出于种族动机的大规模驱逐出境的欧洲国家。 意大利极右翼内政部长马泰奥·萨尔维尼(Matteo Salvini)在去年宣布计划将所有非意大利罗姆人驱逐出该国后,发起特别人口普查,以确定哪些罗姆人可以留在意大利。 他声称这最终会成功 “回答罗姆人问题,” 这让人联想到大屠杀的令人不安的相关性,大屠杀在纳粹德国被称为“犹太人问题的最终解决方案”。

不幸的是,萨尔维尼的法西斯倾向并不止于此。 他还公开称赞前意大利独裁者贝尼托·墨索里尼,他的领导风格与已故法西斯强人和希特勒盟友的领导风格有许多令人不安的相似之处。 由于极右翼的政治观点继续在意大利公众中越来越受欢迎,对于生活在意大利的罗姆人来说,未来的悲惨看法并不乐观。

民族主义者的热情激起了对罗姆人的种族歧视

在沃里克郡(Grandborough Fields Road)的Grandborough Fields的2009拍摄的Romani旅行车(Grandborough Fields Road是旅游人士的热门景点)

Gypsy旅行车,Grandborough Fields(英国)Grandbourough Fields Road西侧的宽阔边缘是旅游人士的热门景点。 这种传统的船顶生活车非常罕见 - 通常,使用这个地方的旅行者住在现代铝制大篷车里。 在拍摄照片的那天,没有任何马匹在边缘吃草的迹象,但是在船顶面包车后面的平板拖车表明它已经到达机动车辆后面。 (照片:By Andy F,CC BY-SA 2.0,https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php ?curid = 13976544)

东欧是非洲大陆罗姆人口人口最多的国家,但在贫困,腐败和极端民族主义等问题困扰的地区,这一庞大的人口面临着可怕的压迫,往往是为政府工作或至少与政府合作的群体批准。

匈牙利罗姆人的情况特别严峻,因为该国极右翼运动最近的权力和人气大幅增加。 这个国家的总理ViktorOrbán, 他称移民为“毒药”并利用他的权力在匈牙利的塞尔维亚边境建立一个巨大的围栏。 围栏建成后,他祝贺自己,声称“阻止了移民入侵“他已经成为世界上极右翼煽动者的宠儿,将海洋LePen和Geert Wilders列为他的崇拜者之一,并对外国白人至上主义运动如此吸引人,新纳粹分子和其他仇恨团体呼吁 大规模迁移到匈牙利,一个“种族纯洁”的国家。

然而,最近被欧洲人民党暂停的奥尔邦Fidesz党的右翼信息与匈牙利极权政党Jobbik的言论形成鲜明对比。 该党在Tiszavasvari镇特别强大,在那里 街头巡逻的非警察“宪兵”的目标是针对罗姆人打击犯罪。 这些宪兵在名称和战术上与Csendorseg有着令人毛骨悚然的相似之处,Csendorseg是一个负责在大屠杀期间驱逐无数罗姆人和犹太人的国家团体。

反罗马人的看法

一个拥有特兰西瓦尼亚根源的匈牙利人更喜欢对他所在国家的罗姆人的困境保持匿名,他想要了解更多关于在匈牙利引起如此反罗马仇恨的刻板印象和偏见。 他告诉公民真相,他认为这个问题是一个“双头怪物”,而且“匈牙利政府的做法存在问题,但吉普赛人为自己和他人带来了同样多的问题。”

他透露,大多数匈牙利人认为“罗马人不上学,他们抢劫和偷窃,他们从不工作,他们所拥有的任何东西,无论是抢劫,偷窃,还是通过欺骗获得。 “根据他的说法,大多数匈牙利人对罗马文化的唯一正面形象是罗马儿童在一辆大篷车前跳舞时的陈规定型田园风光,他们弹吉他和他们的母亲做饭。

他认为匈牙利人对罗姆人的大多数仇恨都是恐惧的结果。 他甚至说,“如果我晚上走在街上,我想要遇到的最后一个人就是吉普赛人。”然而,即使他承认,罗姆人与犯罪活动的关系也是几代人的贫困的结果。让人们别无选择,只能从事犯罪和其他反社会行为,这样他们就可以养活自己和家人。 “这是一个恶性循环。 缺乏机会导致犯罪行为。 除了犯罪之外,他们还会做什么呢?“

无论原因如何,匈牙利人对罗姆人的看法似乎非常消极。 “许多匈牙利人认为吉普赛人类似于老鼠,蟑螂或鸽子,这是一种携带疾病的害虫。”

这种对罗姆人与动物和昆虫的比较是很多人提出来的,并且让人想起历史上其他点被人们视为非人类,导致谋杀和种族灭绝的令人不寒而栗的回忆。 匈牙利和其他欧洲国家的许多罗姆人也是无证移民,这是许多匈牙利人迅速做出的一点。

这位匿名消息人士称,罗姆人“是一群不想同化的人,不想说这种语言,也不想改善自己。 他们利用老人,病人和弱者。 孩子们基本上就像动物一样,没有正确与错误的感觉。 任何出生在罗马家庭的人都会因自己的文化而失望。“

尽管该消息来源主要表达了对匈牙利罗姆人的文化偏见,但他似乎认为有一种方法可以改善匈牙利人和罗姆人的情况。

当被问及政府对罗姆人的立场时,他回答说:“情况不是压迫,而是完全被忽视的情况。 没有努力承认罗姆人甚至从政治立场出现。 政府认为吉普赛人并不关心他们。“

他继续说,“罗姆儿童需要像其他匈牙利儿童那样拥有尽可能多的机会和资源。 你需要在学校里鼓励他们,你需要尽可能地包容他们。“然后他补充说,”想要更好的自己的吉普赛人需要得到支持,这样他们才能成为他们社区的榜样。 这将开始消除嵌入式偏见。“

对罗姆人的敌意是许多欧洲国家文化结构的一部分。 然而,通过教育和知情,接受公众,也许情况可以扭转,冲突可以变得和谐。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Europe’s State-Sanctioned Persecution of Roma People

Roma women in 2005 care for their children after the police clear out a Roma quarter where they live. (Photo: Giorgio, flickr)
Roma women in 2005 care for their children after the police clear out a Roma quarter where they live. (Photo: Giorgio, flickr)

The largest minority in Europe, the Roma, continue to endure marginalizing and discrimination.

As anti-immigrant and nationalistic groups gain power and a degree of legitimacy across Europe, the Americas and parts of Asia, one of Europe’s most vulnerable and often forgotten minority groups, the Roma people, continue to be subjected to cultural prejudice, state-sponsored discrimination and economic inequality.

Who are the Roma People?

Roma girl in Prizren, Kosovo. (Photo: Charles Fred)

Roma girl in Prizren, Kosovo. (Photo: Charles Fred)

Roma people in Europe are commonly referred to as “gypsies” or another local equivalent, but this is a derogatory term that stems from the mistaken belief that Roma culture comes from Egypt. In fact, the Roma culture comes from the western part of the Indian subcontinent, and although they might not be as visible as some other minority groups, Roma are actually the largest ethnic minority in Europe, according to the European Union Agency for Fundamental Human Rights. This agency estimates that between 10 and 12 million Roma live in Europe.

Roma communities have arguably dealt with more atrocities, racism and prejudice than any other group in Europe, but many people are either unaware of this circumstance or choose to ignore the situation. Racism against the Roma is one of the last “acceptable” forms of bigotry in Europe, and it is not uncommon to hear slurs against the Roma in classrooms, business luncheons and even from the mouths of established politicians on both the left and the right.

Jonathan Lee, who works with the human rights organization European Roma Rights Centre, explained to Citizen Truth, “It’s hard to find the origins of anti-gypsyism because it is something that has grown with us in Europe, inside our societies. Discrimination against Roma is not just racism; when we talk about anti-gypsyism as a concept, it is a fundamental component of Europe, which has grown alongside European civilization. It’s the staggering, systematic depth of it that sets it apart.”

Lee also discussed the lack of access to basic services and overall lower quality of life that Roma individuals must face due to deeply entrenched systems of discrimination.

“It is the unequal access to clean water, to safe housing. It is the geographical segregation of Roma from non-Roma. The drastically lower life expectancy. The extreme unemployment. The horrific level of infant mortality. You end up with institutional prejudices in the police, judiciary, government, social care system, immigration authorities and health services. It is the fundamental condition in the collective European psyche that sees them as ‘gypsies,’ and therefore on a basic level, less than us.”

History of Roma People

Deportation of Roma from Asperg, Germany, 1940 (photograph by the Rassenhygienische Forschungsstelle)

Roma have faced intense persecution and prejudice since they first arrived in Europe during the 14th century. They were banned from the Holy Roman Empire during the 16th century, and as a result of this edict, any citizen of the Empire was allowed and encouraged to murder any Roma individual they encountered.

During the Holocaust, Roma communities were targeted to more or less the same extent as Jewish communities, and the Nazi genocide against the Roma people left nearly a quarter of Europe’s Roma population dead. However, in modern discussions about the Holocaust this fact is almost always either forgotten or only mentioned in passing.

Roma are normally stereotyped in the same way that other groups who face discrimination are portrayed: They’re depicted as thieves, drug dealers and criminals. The way that mainstream European society characterizes Roma culture is eerily similar to the way black Americans were treated during the Jim Crow era and to some extent now. These false racial stereotypes have extremely dangerous consequences for both communities. Law enforcement target the Roma and hold them accountable for crimes they didn’t commit, and vigilantes victimize them.

Fake News and Hate Crimes Target the Roma in France

Roma quarter, Aytos, Bulgaria in 2008.

Roma quarter, Aytos, Bulgaria in 2008. (Photo: Ali Eminov)

In France radical news outlets and social media accounts have recently been spreading lies accusing Roma men in vans of kidnapping French children. This has led to numerous racially motivated attacks against Roma people occurring in the Paris suburbs. This situation has gotten so bad that the French police urged the public to stop spreading this misinformation.

The Paris Police Prefecture recently tweeted: “Rumors about kidnapping children with a van are completely unfounded. No abductions have been proven. Do not share this false information, do not incite violence.” Fake news and misuse of social media is a growing social concern, and the targets of these lies are often minority groups who are then forced to confront verbal and physical abuse as a result of bigoted individuals spreading falsehoods.

Like many countries in Europe, France has been involved in the mistreatment of Roma people for centuries. Louis XIV, who was the King of France during the late 17th and early 18th centuries, decreed that all Roma men be conscripted for forced labor and all Roma women be forcibly sterilized. 

More recently, Nicolas Sarkozy’s government expelled tens of thousands of Roma from France during his presidency, a measure that was met with intense criticism from many human rights organizations such as the European Roma Rights Center. European Union law prohibits racially motivated mass expulsions, yet France deported Roma families due to their ethnicity for several years. French immigration officials also failed to individually review each case before beginning the deportation process, which also violates European Union legal codes.

Lee discussed the reluctance of European Union officials to initiate legal proceedings against countries like France, stating, “Increasingly it seems as if there is one rule for the big four of Germany, the United Kingdom, France and Italy, and another for the rest of the union.”

A leaked internal memo dated August 5, 2010, and signed by the chief of staff for then interior minister Brice Hortefeux reminded French immigration officials that “Three hundred camps or illegal settlements must be evacuated within three months; Roma camps are a priority. It is down to the préfect [state representative] in each department to begin a systematic dismantling of the illegal camps, particularly those of the Roma.” The memo also indicated that this plan was a “specific objective” President Sarkozy laid out.

People often think that this type of institutionalized racial hatred is almost nonexistent in western Europe and most developed democracies, but this is far from the case. France still has a long way to go before it can fully leave its past behind, and unfortunately many other European nations also need to make addressing these issues a priority.

Italy and “The Roma Question”

France isn’t the only European country that has engaged in racially motivated mass deportations. Matteo Salvini, Italy’s far-right Minister of the Interior, provoked a massive outcry last year when he announced his plan to expel all non-Italian Roma from the country after initiating a special census to determine which Roma people would be allowed to stay in Italy. He claimed that this would finally “answer the Roma question,” which brings to mind disturbing correlations to the Holocaust, which was labelled the “final solution to the Jewish question” in Nazi Germany.

Unfortunately, Salvini’s fascist leanings don’t stop there. He has also publicly praised former Italian dictator Benito Mussolini and there are many disturbing similarities between his leadership style and those of the late fascist strongman and Hitler ally. As far-right political views continue to increase in popularity among the Italian public, the future sadly does not look bright for Roma living in Italy.

Nationalist Fervor Stokes Racial Discrimination of Roma People

A Romani wagon pictured in 2009 in Grandborough Fields in Warwickshire (Grandborough Fields Road is a popular spot for travelling people)

Gypsy wagon, Grandborough Fields (U.K.) The wide verge on the west side of Grandbourough Fields Road is a popular spot for travelling people. This traditional bowtop living van is quite uncommon – usually, the travellers who use this spot live in modern aluminium caravans. On the day the photo was taken there was no sign of any horses grazing the verge but a flatbed trailer behind the bowtop van suggests it arrived behind a motor vehicle. (Photo: By Andy F, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=13976544)

Eastern Europe has some of the highest populations of Roma people on the continent, but in an area troubled by issues such as poverty, corruption and extreme nationalism this huge population faces terrifying oppression, often by groups working for the government or at least operating with government approval.

The situation for the Roma population in Hungary is particularly dire, as the country’s far-right movement has recently enjoyed a huge surge in power and popularity. The country’s premier, Viktor Orbán, calls immigration “poison” and used his power to build a gigantic fence along Hungary’s Serbian border. Following the fence’s construction, he congratulated himself, claiming to have “stopped the migrant invasion.” He has become the darling of far-right demagogues worldwide, counting Marine LePen and Geert Wilders among his admirers and appealing so much to foreign white supremacist movements that neo-Nazis and other hate groups have called for a mass migration to Hungary, a “racially pure” country.

However, the right-wing message of Orbán’s Fidesz party, which was recently suspended from the European People’s Party, pales in comparison to the rhetoric of Jobbik, Hungary’s ultra-right political party. The party is particularly powerful in the town of Tiszavasvari, where non-police “gendarmes” patrol the streets with the goal of targeting Roma to suppress crime. These gendarmes bear an eerie similarity both in name and tactics to the Csendorseg, a national group responsible for the deportations of countless numbers of Roma and Jews during the Holocaust.

Anti-Roma Perceptions

A Hungarian with Transylvanian roots who prefers to remain anonymous about the plight of the Roma in his country wants to learn more about the stereotypes and prejudices that fuel so much anti-Roma hatred in Hungary. He told Citizen Truth he believes the problem is a “two-headed monster,” and that “there are problems with the Hungarian government’s approach, but the gypsies cause just as many problems for themselves and others.”

He disclosed that most Hungarians are of the opinion that “Roma people don’t go to school, they rob and steal, they don’t ever work, and anything that they have they’ve either robbed, stolen, or gotten by trickery.” According to him, the only positive image most Hungarians have of Roma culture is a stereotypical pastoral scene of Roma children in front of a caravan dancing around their father while he plays guitar and their mother cooks.

He believes that most of the hatred Hungarians feel toward the Roma is a result of fear. He even said, “If I’m walking down the street at night, the last person I want to run into is a gypsy.” However, even he admitted that the association of Roma with criminal activity was a result of generations of poverty that leaves people with little choice but to engage in crimes and other antisocial behaviors so they can feed themselves and their families. “It’s a vicious cycle. Lack of opportunities leads to criminal behavior. What else are they going to do but commit crimes?”

Regardless of the causes, it seems as if the average Hungarian’s opinion of Roma is very negative. “A lot of Hungarians view gypsies as similar to a rat, cockroach or pigeon, a disease-carrying pest.”

This comparison of Roma to animals and insects was something that was brought up a lot, and brings to mind chilling recollections of other points in history where certain groups were deemed subhuman, leading to murder and genocide. Many Roma in Hungary and other European countries are also undocumented immigrants, which is a point that many Hungarians are quick to make.

The anonymous source said that Roma are “a population of people who have no desire to assimilate, no desire to speak the language, no desire to better themselves. They take advantage of the elderly, the sick, and the weak. The kids are basically like animals, they have no sense of right and wrong. Anyone born into a Roma family is being let down by their own culture.”

Although the source mostly expressed culturally prejudiced opinions about the Roma in Hungary, he seemed to think there was a way to improve the situation for everybody, ethnic Hungarians and Roma alike.

When asked about the government’s stance on the Roma, he responded, “The situation is not one of oppression but rather one of complete neglect. There is no effort to admit that the Roma even exist from a political standpoint. The government believes that gypsies are not their concern.”

He continued by saying, “Roma children need to have as many opportunities and resources available to them as other Hungarian children do. You need to be encouraging them in school, you need to be as inclusive as possible.” He then added, “The gypsies who want to better themselves need to be supported so they can become examples to their communities. That will start to chip away at the embedded prejudice.”

Animosity toward the Roma is part of the fabric of many European countries’ cultures. However, with education and an informed, accepting public, perhaps the situation can be turned around, and conflict can become harmony.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.