输入搜索

国家

Dems新优惠包括$ 5十亿美元用于边境'智能墙'

当选总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和美国众议院议长南希·佩洛西在华盛顿特区举行的58th总统就职典礼上为一张照片微笑,1月20,2017。
当选总统唐纳德·J·特朗普和美国众议院议长南希·佩洛西在华盛顿特区举行的58th总统就职典礼上为一张照片微笑,1月20,2017。 (图片来自美国空军)

民主党有一项新协议,可能会引诱特朗普总统。

根据多份报告,众议院民主党人正在起草新的提议,让共和党人和特朗普总统重新回到谈判桌上,找到解决僵局的办法,这种僵局导致政府历史上最长时间的关闭。

民主党人的提议预计将于周四晚宣布,其中包括接近特朗普要求的5亿美元资金,但资金专用于“边境安全”,而不是实体墙。

House Majority Whip James Clyburn(DS.C.)宣布民主党人愿意为边境安全措施提供资金但不会在周三进行隔离。

“利用总统摆在桌面上的数字,如果他的5.7十亿美元是关于边境安全的,那么我们就会看到自己满足了这个要求,只做了我喜欢用智能墙做的事情,” Clyburn告诉记者 民主党党团会议结束后。 “这些是我们将要提出的事物类型。”

虽然民主党愿意为增加边境安全提供资金的确切原因尚不清楚,但可能的预算拨款可能是增加人员配置,改善过境点和无人机的技术。

据希尔说的报告,众议员 John Yarmuth 众议院预算委员会主席(D-Ky。)表示,如果有证据表明民主党可以提高安全性,那么民主党人可以在某些地方建立障碍甚至可能存在障碍。

“如果我们开放政府,我们就会接受任何形式的谈判,”他说道,当被问及是否包括建筑墙的谈判时,回答是肯定的。

联邦政府现在已经关闭了33天,而800,000联邦工人则无薪支付。 关闭的主要原因是民主党与特朗普及其共和党之间就美墨边境的实际边界墙资金问题发生争执。

民主党和共和党都努力重新开放部分政府,而特朗普继续进行谈判,拒绝签署任何不包括边界墙资金的立法。

周末,特朗普提出暂时延长对DACA移民的保护,以换取边境墙资金。 保护措施将延长三年,但民主党拒绝了这一提议。

在参议院就两项反对的资金法案投票后,众议院领袖南希佩洛西预计将于周四晚宣布民主党新的要约。 第一次投票将是特朗普提出的向DACA移民提供临时法律保护的提议,以换取为边界墙提供的5.7亿美元资金。 如果投票失败,参议院将投票支持民主党通过2月8向政府提供资金的提议。 投票预计都不会通过。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 罗德米勒 一月年23月2019日

    如果没有建造至少120英里的墙,特朗普总统就不会这样做。 如果他没有得到一堵墙或某种物理障碍,他就会否决任何前进的东西。

    我认为佩洛西想要宣布特朗普总统不给国会发表讲话只是为了向他表明她是真正的BOSS。 当政府关闭的责任转交给她和舒默参议员时,这会对她产生适得其反的影响,因为他们都向公众明确表示他们不喜欢特朗普总统并愿意牺牲安全这个国家(在我看来)只是因为他们对他的个人仇恨。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Dems New Offer To Include $5 Billion for Border ‘Smart Wall’

President-elect Donald J. Trump and U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi smile for a photo during the 58th Presidential Inauguration in Washington, D.C., Jan. 20, 2017.
President-elect Donald J. Trump and U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi smile for a photo during the 58th Presidential Inauguration in Washington, D.C., Jan. 20, 2017. (Photo via US Air Force)

The Democratic Party has a new deal that just might entice President Trump.

According to multiple reports, House Democrats are drafting a new offer to bring Republicans and President Trump back to the table and find a solution to the impasse that has lead to the longest government shutdown in history.

The Democrats’ offer is expected to be announced Thursday night and include close to the $5 billion in funding that Trump is demanding but with the funds earmarked for “border security” and not a physical wall.

House Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-S.C.) announced Democrats’ willingness to fund border security measures but not a wall on Wednesday.

“Using the figure that the president has put on the table, if his $5.7 billion is about border security then we see ourselves fulfilling that request, only doing what I like to call using a smart wall,” Clyburn told reporters after a Democratic caucus meeting. “These are the types of things that we are going to be putting forward.”

While what exactly Democrats are willing to fund to increase border security is unclear possible budget allocations could be for increased staffing, improved technology at border crossings and drones.

According to The Hill‘s report, Rep. John Yarmuth (D-Ky.), the chairman of the House budget committee, indicated that Democrats were open to building barriers and potentially even walls in some places provided there was evidence to show it would increase security.

“If we open the government, we’re open to any kind of negotiation,” he said, answering in the affirmative when asked if that included talks over building a wall.

The federal government has been shut down now for 33 days, leaving over 800,000 federal workers without pay. The shutdown resulted largely from a dispute between Democrats and Trump and his Republican party over funding for a physical border wall on the US-Mexico border.

Efforts were made by both the Democratic and Republican parties to reopen parts of the government while negotiations continued by Trump refused to sign any legislation that did not include funding for a border wall.

Over the weekend, Trump offered to temporarily extend protections for DACA immigrants in exchange for border wall funding. The protections would have been extended three years, but the Democrats refused the offer.

House leader Nancy Pelosi is expected to announce the Democrats new offer Thursday night after the Senate votes on two opposing funding bills. The first vote will be on Trump’s offer to offer temporary legal protections to DACA immigrants in exchange for $5.7 billion in funding for the border wall. If the vote fails, the Senate will then vote on the Democrats proposal to fund the government through February 8. Neither vote is expected to pass.

 

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Rod Miller January 23, 2019

    President Trump will not go for it without the construction of at least 120 miles of wall. If he doesn’t get a wall, or some sort of physical barrier, he’ll veto anything that comes forward.

    I think Pelosi wants to disinvite President Trump from giving the State of the Union speech just to show him that she is the actual BOSS. It’s going to backfire on her when the blame for the government shut down gets switched over to her and Senator Schumer, considering that they both have made it clear to the public that they don’t like President Trump and are willing to sacrifice the safety of this nation (in my opinion) simply because of their personal hatred towards him.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *