输入搜索

国家

丹佛是教师罢工织机的最新教育战场

教师们在丹佛抗议游行。
教师们在丹佛抗议游行。 (通过YouTube截图)

丹佛教师工会拒绝了另一个人 在最近的谈判期间,大都会学区提出的建议。

在全国教师工资最低的情况之一,丹佛课堂教师协会(DCTA)的科罗拉多州教师的93百分比投票决定在1月22罢工,此前14工会和地区之间的辩论和谈判未经解决而结束。

联盟纠察

在1月30,2019投票结果后,教师们在1月22,2019,科罗拉多州丹佛市的州议会大厦上市,争取更高的工资。 地区谈判代表要求州长Jared Polis和州劳工部门进行干预。 照片由维多利亚共同体的©O'Dea提供,CC BY-SA 4.0

为什么丹佛教师会引人注目?

争议的中心是详细说明分配给该地区教师的年度预算以及是否通过基本工资或奖金分配工资增长的合同。

学区提出了奖学金和奖励制度,奖学金给予学生高分,或在高贫困学校工作的教师。 根据学区的说法,这些奖金将有助于确保教师留在遭受转机影响最大的学校。

与此同时,DCTA认为,该地区预算的教育者薪酬部分应该高出8.5百万美元,并且应该通过增加基本工资来更均匀地达到教师。 教育工作者表示抗议通过学区薪酬体系ProComp向教师提供奖金的不可预测性,并认为加薪对他们的长期收入潜力更有利。

在工会投票于1月22投票之后,地区代表正式要求科罗拉多州劳工和就业部进行干预。 虽然州长贾里德波利斯考虑了这种干预,但教师不能合法罢工。

工会的回应是要求州劳工官员不参与决策过程。

“虽然货币问题仍然没有得到解决,但工资计划背后的哲学差异正在阻止各方多达几个月就新的赔偿计划达成协议,”DCTA 在向法院提出的请愿书中。

虽然州长波利斯无法对正在审查的预算作出任何决定,但他可以要求第三方集团进行调解。 在1月29三方代表召开电话会议后,该区接受了工会提出的重启谈判的会议日期。

我们愿意以诚意努力来达成交易,“联盟执行主任Pam Shamburg说。

但是,在1月31会议后不到两个小时,工会代表站起来离开了大楼,拒绝了该地区提出的新协议,该协议下降了数百万美元。

“他们今晚没有提出建议,“领导工会谈判代表罗伯古尔德告诉人群聚集观看。 “他们带来了一个小小的借条。”

监督苏珊娜科尔多瓦(Susana Cordova)又向教育工作者提供了额外的3百万美元补偿金,以及两年的增长承诺,以适应蓬勃发展的丹佛市的生活成本。 总而言之,该地区在未来三年内还提供了额外的50万美元。

你今天提出的报价 是你无法听取我们教育工作者的一个例子,“古尔德在谈判期间告诉科尔多瓦区。 “从今天开始,你别无选择,只能倾听。”

根据教育新闻组织的报道,有超过100的人参加 Chalkbeat,大多数人都持有支持教师提高薪酬要求的迹象。 许多人都穿着红色,这种阴影在过去一年的大部分时间里都在课堂教师中引起了与教育有关的抗议,因为#RedForEd的口号得到了普及。

大约有5,600教师为该州最大的丹佛公立学校工作。 根据国家教育协会的数据,在科罗拉多州,教师在46,155中的平均成绩为2016。 这把他们放在了 46 在全国范围内为教师工资,在43的亚利桑那州之后。

工党运动,教师罢工遍布全国

去年五月亚利桑那州的教师举行了一场纪念性的罢工,当时整个州都参加了为期五天的徒步旅行。 他们通过协商增加了19的工资增长百分比,这意味着仅仅一年就可以获得约300百万美元。

去年春天,西弗吉尼亚州和俄克拉荷马州也引起了全国媒体对他们的教师罢工的关注,似乎劳工抗议活动正在获得动力。 在2019的第一个月,全国已有两次教师工会罢工。

在全国第二大的洛杉矶公立学校,为期六天的罢工促成了支持人员的增加,并为数千名教师提供资金。 洛杉矶地区和教师工会在1月22达成的协议包括6加薪百分比。

美国教师联合会主席Randi Weingarten和国家教育协会主席LilyEskelsenGarcía庆祝在洛杉矶举行的谈判,通过跨越全国支持弗吉尼亚州的一天罢工,教师在国会大厦游行1月28。 Weingarten和García集体代表了近5百万的教育工作者,并在过去的一年里出现在地区和他们的老师之间的许多对抗中。

我们在去年的罢工和罢工中看到的是一个劳动运动,正在学习如何再次成为一个运动,“Randi Weingarten说 月31,2019 #UnionStronghttps://t.co/uJ4AV09MTm.

DCTA尚未宣布其下一步计划,并且州长Polis将在2月11宣布该州是否将正式干预。

根据Chalkbeat的说法,丹佛公立学校正在为未来几周的教师罢工准备一个预防性替代教师队伍。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Denver is the Latest Education Battleground as Teacher Strike Looms

Teachers march in protest in Denver.
Teachers march in protest in Denver. (Screenshot via YouTube)

The Denver teachers union rejected another proposal from the metropolitan school district during the latest negotiation.

With one of the lowest teacher salaries in the nation, 93 percent of Colorado teachers in the Denver Classroom Teachers Association (DCTA) voted to strike on Jan. 22, after 14 months of debate and negotiation between the union and district ended without resolve. 

Union picketing

Teachers rally for higher pay on Jan. 30, 2019, at the State Capitol in Denver, Colorado, following a vote on Jan. 22, 2019, to strike. The district negotiators asked Governor Jared Polis and the state labor department to intervene. Photo courtesy of © O’Dea at Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0

Why are Denver Teachers Striking?

At the center of the dispute is the contract that details the annual budget allotted to teachers in the district and whether to distribute the salary increases through base pay or bonuses. 

The district has proposed a system of bonuses and incentives awarded to teachers whose students receive high test scores or who work at high-poverty schools. The bonuses, according to the district, would help ensure teacher retention in the schools that suffer the most from turn-over.

Meanwhile, the DCTA argues that the educator compensation portion of the district’s budget should be $8.5 million higher and should reach the teachers more evenly through increases in their base salary. Educators have voiced protest against the unpredictability of the bonuses proposed to reach teachers through the district’s pay system, ProComp, and argue that a salary increase would be better for their long-term earning potential.

Following the union’s vote to strike on Jan. 22, district representatives formally requested intervention from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment. While Gov. Jared Polis considered this intervention, the teachers can’t legally strike. 

The union responded by requesting that the state labor officials remain uninvolved in the decision-making process.

“While the monetary issue remains unresolved, the philosophical difference behind the salary schedules is preventing the parties, as it has for many months, from reaching agreement on a new compensation scheme,” DCTA wrote in its petition to the courts.

While Gov. Polis could not impose any decision upon the budget under review, he could demand mediation by a third-party group. After a conference call between representatives of the three parties on Jan. 29, the district accepted a meeting date proposed by the union to restart negotiations. 

We are willing to come to the table in a good faith effort to get a deal done,” Union Executive Director Pam Shamburg said.

But less than two hours into Jan. 31 meeting union representatives stood up and left the building, rejecting the new compromise the district proposed, which fell several million dollars short of their demands.

“They didn’t bring a proposal tonight,” lead union negotiator Rob Gould told the crowd gathered to watch. “They brought a small IOU.”

Superintendent Susana Cordova presented an additional $3 million to be distributed into educator compensation, along with a two-year commitment for increases adjusted to the cost-of-living in the booming city of Denver. Altogether, the district offered an additional $50 million over the next three years.

The offer you have brought today is an example of your inability to listen to our educators,” Gould told Cordova’s district during negotiations. “From this day forward, you will have no choice but to listen.”

There were more than 100 gathered in attendance, according to reports from education news organization Chalkbeat, and the majority held signs that supported the teachers’ demands for higher pay. Many wore red, the shade that has colored education-related protests among classroom teachers for much of the past year as the slogan #RedForEd popularized.

There are roughly 5,600 teachers working for Denver Public Schools, the largest district in the state. In Colorado teachers made an average of $46,155 in 2016, according to the National Education Association. This placed them at 46th in the nation for teacher wages, behind the state of Arizona at 43.

Labor Movement, Teacher Strikes Spread Across the Country

Teachers in Arizona held a monumental strike last May when the entire state participated in walking out for a five-day duration. They negotiated a 19 percent pay increase, which translates to roughly $300 million in just one year. 

West Virginia and Oklahoma also drew national media attention for their teacher strikes last spring, and it seems that the labor protests are gaining momentum. In the first month of 2019 there have already been two teacher union strikes in the nation.

In the Los Angeles public schools, the second-largest district in the nation, a six-day strike brokered the increase of support staff and fund the thousands of teachers. The agreement reached on Jan. 22 between the Los Angeles district and teachers union included a 6 percent salary increase.

Randi Weingarten, president of the American Federation of Teachers, and Lily Eskelsen García, president of the National Education Association, celebrated the negotiation reached in Los Angeles by crossing the nation to support a single-day strike in Virginia, where teachers marched on the Capitol Jan. 28.  Weingarten and García collectively represent nearly 5 million educators and have been present for many of the confrontations between districts and their teachers in the past year.

What we’re seeing in the last year of strikes and walkouts is a labor movement that is learning how to become a movement again,” said Randi Weingarten  Jan. 31, 2019  #UnionStronghttps://t.co/uJ4AV09MTm.

DCTA has not announced its plans for its next steps, and Governor Polis has until Feb. 11 to announce whether the state will officially intervene.

According to Chalkbeat, Denver Public Schools are preparing a precautionary substitute teacher pool in the case of teacher walkouts in future weeks.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.