اكتب للبحث

البيئة

تظهر الوثائق أن البيت الأبيض حاول إيقاف شهادة علوم المناخ

الدكتور رود شونوفر ، مكتب الجغرافيا والشؤون العالمية ، مكتب الاستخبارات والبحوث بوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ، يدلي بشهادته يوم الأربعاء ، يونيو 5 ، 2019 في لجنة مجلس النواب الدائمة للاستخبارات التي عقدت جلسة استماع مفتوحة حول تداعيات تغير المناخ على الأمن القومي. (الصورة: يوتيوب)
الدكتور رود شونوفر ، مكتب الجغرافيا والشؤون العالمية ، مكتب الاستخبارات والبحوث بوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ، يدلي بشهادته يوم الأربعاء ، يونيو 5 ، 2019 في لجنة مجلس النواب الدائمة للاستخبارات التي عقدت جلسة استماع مفتوحة حول تداعيات تغير المناخ على الأمن القومي. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

"هذا مثل تجميع لوحة من" المتشككين في الجاذبية "الذين يصرون على أنه من الآمن القفز من المباني الشاهقة ، إلا في هذه الحالة يريدون اصطحابنا جميعًا معهم."

حاول البيت الأبيض منع مسؤول مخابرات كبير في وزارة الخارجية من الإدلاء بشهادته حول مخاطر التغير المناخي أمام لجنة المخابرات في الأسبوع الماضي ، وفقًا لرسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي كشفت عنها واشنطن بوست و نيويورك تايمز.

وفي النهاية ، سُمح للمسؤول بوزارة الخارجية ، الدكتور رود شونوفر ، بالمثول أمام اللجنة ، لكن مُنع من تقديم شهادة مكتوبة للسجل ، وهي خطوة وصفها النقاد بأنها غير عادية ومثيرة للقلق للغاية.

وقال نورمان ج. أورنستاين ، الباحث المقيم في معهد أميركان إنتربرايز المحافظ ، لـ "لم أسمع قط عن الحقائق الأساسية التي يتم حذفها من الشهادة أو حجبها من الشهادة". نيويورك تايمز.

رفض مسؤولو إدارة ترامب شهادة الدكتور شونوفر لأن العلم الذي قدمته لم "يستمتع" بآراء البيت الأبيض ، وفقًا لمصدر قابله واشنطن بوست. كتب مجلس الأمن القومي تعليقات مستهجنة على شهادة المسؤول بوزارة الخارجية ، وحث مكتب الشؤون التشريعية شونوفر على إزالة خمس صفحات من العلوم في التقرير. على الرغم من أن الأساس العلمي للشهادة جاء من الأبحاث التي استعرضها النظراء من قبل كبار علماء الحكومة ، إلا أن المسؤولين في ترامب قالوا "إن إجماع الأدب الذي تمت مراجعته من قِبل النظراء لا علاقة له بالحقيقة".

وليام هابر، وهو مدير كبير لمجلس إدارة الأمن القومي ترامب الذي مرة واحدة قال "إن شيطنة ثاني أكسيد الكربون يشبه تمامًا شيطنة اليهود في عهد هتلر" يلاحظ على شهادة الدكتور شونوفر، وفقا لل نيويورك تايمز. السعادة هي أيضا القوة الدافعة وراء محاولة إنشاء لوحة البيت الابيض تهدف إلى التشكيك في علوم المناخ ، والتي أدانها مسؤولو الأمن القومي.

وقال خطاب "من الخطورة أن يكون تحليل الأمن القومي مطابقا للسياسة" موقع من قبل مسؤولي الأمن القومي السابقين 58 في المعارضة لوحة البيت الأبيض السعيدة. "تتمثل مهمة مسؤولينا في ضمان استعدادنا للتهديدات الحالية وحالات الطوارئ المستقبلية. لا يمكننا أن نفعل ذلك إذا تم تقويض الدراسات العلمية التي تبلغ تقييمات تهديدنا. "

وانتقد علماء المناخ الآخرون ، مثل كيت مارفل من وكالة ناسا ، محاولة هابر لقلب آلاف الدراسات العلمية. وقال مارفل: "هذا مثل تجميع لوحة من" المشككين بالجاذبية "الذين يصرون على أنه من الآمن القفز من المباني الشاهقة ، إلا في هذه الحالة يريدون اصطحابنا جميعًا معهم". أكسيوس.

سئل الرئيس ترامب مؤخرًا عن موقفه من تغير المناخ بعد أن حث الأمير تشارلز الرئيس على إعادة النظر في موقفه خلال زيارته للمملكة المتحدة لاحقًا ، وتحدث ترامب إلى صباح الخير بريطانيا بيرس مورغان عن حديثه مع الأمير.

"ما يريده حقًا وما يشعر به حقًا هو المستقبل" ترامب قال الأمير تشارلز. إنه يريد التأكد من أن الأجيال المقبلة لديها مناخ جيد المناخ ، بدلاً من وقوع كارثة. وأنا أتفق."

سأل مورغان مباشرة: "هل تؤمن بتغير المناخ؟"

"أعتقد أن هناك تغييرا في الطقس ، وأعتقد أنه يغير الاتجاهين" ، قال ترامب. "لا تنس ، لقد كان يطلق عليه الاحترار العالمي ، لم يكن ذلك ناجحًا ، ثم أطلق عليه تغير المناخ. الآن يسمى بالفعل الطقس القاسي ، لأنه مع الطقس القاسي لا يمكنك تفويتها ".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Documents Show White House Tried To Stop Climate Science Testimony

Dr. Rod Schoonover, Office of Geography and Global Affairs, State Department Bureau of Intelligence and Research testifying Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence which convened an open hearing about the national security implications of climate change. (Photo: YouTube)
Dr. Rod Schoonover, Office of Geography and Global Affairs, State Department Bureau of Intelligence and Research testifying Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence which convened an open hearing about the national security implications of climate change. (Photo: YouTube)

“This is like assembling a panel of ‘gravity skeptics’ who insist it’s safe to jump off tall buildings, except in this case they want to take us all with them.”

The White House tried to block a State Department senior intelligence official from testifying about the dangers of climate change to the House Intelligence Committee last week, according to emails uncovered by the Washington Post and New York Times.

The state department official, Dr. Rod Schoonover, was ultimately allowed to appear before the committee but was forbidden from providing written testimony for the record, a move critics described as highly unusual and alarming.

“I have never heard of basic facts being deleted from or blocked from testimony,” Norman J. Ornstein, a resident scholar at the conservative American Enterprise Institute, told the NYT.

Trump administration officials rejected Dr. Schoonover’s testimony because the science it provided did not “jibe” with the White House’s views, according to a source interviewed by the Washington Post. The National Security Council wrote disparaging comments on the state department official’s testimony, and the Office of Legislative Affairs urged Schoonover to remove five pages of science in the report. Although the testimony’s scientific foundation came from peer-reviewed research by top government scientists, the Trump officials said, “a consensus of peer-reviewed literature has nothing to do with the truth.”

William Happer, a Trump administration National Security Council senior director who once said the “demonization of carbon dioxide is just like the demonization of the Jews under Hitler,” wrote the notes on Dr. Schoonover’s testimony, according to the New York Times. Happer is also the driving force behind an effort to establish a White House panel aimed at disputing climate science, which has been condemned by national security officials.

“It is dangerous to have national security analysis conform to politics,” said a letter signed by 58 former national security officials in opposition to Happer’s White House panel. “Our officials’ job is to ensure that we are prepared for current threats and future contingencies. We cannot do that if the scientific studies that inform our threat assessments are undermined.”

Other climate scientists, such as NASA’s Kate Marvel, slammed Happer’s attempt to overturn thousands of scientific studies. “This is like assembling a panel of ‘gravity skeptics’ who insist it’s safe to jump off tall buildings, except in this case they want to take us all with them,” Marvel told Axios.

President Trump was most recently asked about his climate change position after Prince Charles urged the president to reconsider his stance during his visit to the U.K. Later, Trump spoke to Good Morning Britain’s Piers Morgan about his conversation with the prince.

“What he really wants and what he really feels warmly about is the future,” Trump said of Prince Charles. “He wants to make sure future generations have climate that is good climate, as opposed to a disaster. And I agree.”

Morgan asked directly: “Do you believe in climate change?”

“I believe that there’s a change in weather, and I think it changes both ways,” Trump said. “Don’t forget, it used to be called global warming, that wasn’t working, then it was called climate change. Now it’s actually called extreme weather, because with extreme weather you can’t miss.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.