输入搜索

公司文化 TRENDING文化

十一人在加利福尼亚州被收费$ 50百万特许学校欺诈

密尔沃基公立学校教师和支持者在密尔沃基外面的纠察队
密尔沃基公立学校教师和支持者在密尔沃基外面的纠察队。 (照片:Charles Edward Miller)

A3及其附属企业以欺诈手段向83特许学校开出至少100万美元的发票,至少1000万美元用于个人银行账户。

加利福尼亚州纽波特海滩的一家名为A3 Education的公司是位于加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥县的一个价值100万美元的特许学校欺诈计划的中心。 该公司董事长肖恩·麦克马纳斯(Sean McManus)和总裁杰森·施罗克(Jason Schrock)以及其他九人被指控阴谋,个人使用没有法律授权的公共资金,重大盗窃和财务利益冲突。

McManus,Schrock和他们的同谋获得公共资金,当学生当时没有实际接受特许学校服务时,错误地为参加特许学校的学生申请并获得资金, 根据周三提交的起诉书.

据法院新闻报道,A3获得了50百万美元的公共资金,用于在加利福尼亚州开设19特许学校,并获得另外的200百万美元公共资金用于未来的资助。

据称,麦克马纳斯和施罗克将进入小型公立学区,并说服他们授权建立在线特许学校,以获得该地区额外的公共资金。

McManus和Schrock合作的学校包括Valiant学院,CA STEAM,加州Uplift,加州体育科学院,加州Vanguard Fresno,大学预科和加州预科。

然后,A3将与包括麦克马纳斯和施罗克在内的多家公司签订包机学校合同,包括A3 Education,A3 Consulting,Global Consulting Services和Mad Dog Marketing。 学区获得的公共资金将通过A3的中介公司流入,最终流入McManus和Schrock自己的慈善信托和个人银行账户

根据起诉书,A3及其附属企业从83特许学校开出至少$ 13百万,并且至少有8.18百万美元进入个人银行账户,其中包括澳大利亚的一些账户,据信麦克马纳斯现在已经逍遥法外。

该计划大约招收了特许学校的40,000学生,其中许多学生都没有意识到他们就读于特许学校。 该计划的一部分涉及支付体育组织的学生成绩单和伪造的特许学校入学文件,以伪造暑期学校的入学率。

然而, 正如“洛杉矶时报”所写, 起诉书称,“孩子们没有被分配到拥有国家要求的专业证书的教师。 根据起诉书,一些同谋者声称,学生们也没有与学校联系,也没有在夏季提供教育服务。

McManus和Schrock的一些共同被告包括Valiant Acadamey的员工,这是一所表现不佳的特许学校,Dehesa学区的主管,授权Valiant的几所特许学校,以及为McManus提供后台服务的Mountain Empire Unified主管。施罗克。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 安娜贝尔史密斯 六月11,2019

    HI,学院在最后一段拼写错误。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE TRENDING-CULTURE

Eleven Charged in California $50 Million Charter School Fraud

Milwaukee Public School Teachers and Supporters Picket Outside Milwaukee Pub
Milwaukee Public School Teachers and Supporters Picket Outside Milwaukee Pub. (Photo: Charles Edward Miller)

A3 and its affiliated businesses fraudulently invoiced at least $83 million from 13 charter schools and at least $8.18 million went into personal bank accounts.

A Newport Beach, California firm called A3 Education is at the center of a $50 million charter school fraud scheme in San Diego County, CA. The firm’s chairman Sean McManus, and president, Jason Schrock, plus nine others were charged with conspiracy, personal use of public money without legal authority, grand theft and financial conflict of interest.

McManus, Schrock and their co-conspirators obtained public funds by falsely claiming and obtaining funding for students attending charter schools when the students were not actually receiving charter school services at the time, according to the indictment filed on Wednesday.

According to Courthouse News, A3 had obtained $50 million in public funds to open 19 charter schools across California and secured another $200 million in public funds for future funding.

McManus and Schrock would allegedly approach small public school districts and convince them to authorize the establishment of online charter schools which would earn the district additional public funds.

The schools McManus and Schrock worked with included Valiant Academy, CA STEAM, Uplift California, California Academy of Sports Science, California Vanguard Fresno, University Prep and California Prep.

A3 would then contract with the charter schools using multiple companies owned by McManus and Schrock including A3 Education, A3 Consulting, Global Consulting Services and Mad Dog Marketing. The public funds obtained by the school districts would be funneled through A3’s intermediary companies and ultimately into McManus and Schrock’s own charitable trust and personal bank accounts

According to the indictment, A3 and its affiliated businesses invoiced at least $83 million from 13 charter schools and at least $8.18 million went into personal bank accounts, including some accounts in Australia where McManus is now believed to be at large.

The scheme enrolled approximately 40,000 students in the charter schools, many of whom were unaware they were enrolled in a charter school. Part of the scheme involved paying athletic organizations for student report cards and falsified charter school enrollment documents to falsify enrollment at summer schools.

However, as the LA Times wrote, “the children were not assigned to teachers who have state-required professional certificates, the indictment said. And the students also were not in contact with the schools, nor were they provided with educational services during the summer months, as some of the co-conspirators claimed, according to the indictment.”

Some of McManus and Schrock’s co-defendants include employees at Valiant Acadamey, a poor-performing charter school, the superintendent of Dehesa School District which authorized several charter schools in Valiant, and a Mountain Empire Unified superintendent who performed back-office services for McManus and Schrock.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Anabelle Smith June 11, 2019

    HI, Academy is misspelled in the last paragraph.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.