输入搜索

公司文化 TRENDING文化

艾伦·佩奇揭露好莱坞如何迫使她留在“衣橱里”

Ellen Page在加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥的圣地亚哥会议中心举行的2013圣地亚哥动漫展国际会议上发表了题为“X战警:未来的日子”的演讲。
Ellen Page在加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥的圣地亚哥会议中心举行的2013圣地亚哥动漫展国际会议上发表了题为“X战警:未来的日子”的演讲。 (图片来自Gage Skidmore)

根据艾伦·佩奇最近的一次采访,尽管许多人认为好莱坞是一个自由主义的圣地,但作为一名LGBTQ演员或女演员出演并不总是受欢迎。

Ellen Page被公认为LGBTQ社区的高调女演员和代言人 - 但她最近的旅程并不容易在一个仍在努力争取同性恋的行业。

这位32岁的奥斯卡提名女演员(2007的演员) 朱诺)最近告诉 PorterEdit 她受到好莱坞高管的压力,要求在她的职业生涯开始时对她的性行为保持沉默,直到她的心理健康受到严重影响。

这是一个已经有着名的LGBTQ明星的时代,例如Ellen Degeneres和Neil Patrick Harris,他们定期为流行文化画面并广泛接受。

“当我开始成名时,我被业内人士清楚地告知:'人们无法知道你是同性恋',”Page告诉该出版物。 “在许多情况下,我受到压力迫使他们总是穿着礼服和高跟鞋参加活动和拍摄照片。”

这位女演员现在幸福地与24岁的舞蹈家和编舞家艾玛·波特纳结婚,直到2014才出现在好莱坞,距离她在电影中扮演的角色大约七年后 朱诺.

但是那段时间以后佩奇的猜测极具破坏性,特别是考虑到她自己的私人自我发现的复杂性。

“我是20,我刚刚与一个女人坠入爱河,我仍然在浏览我自己的东西,而人们正在写文章标题:'艾伦佩奇的性倾向。' 我在每个收银台,每个加油站都看到一本小报杂志,封面上有我的照片,还有一个问题:'Ellen Page同性恋吗?'“Page回忆起PorterEdit。 “这对我的心理健康非常不利。”

当她只是18时,这位女演员是 驱赶出局 在她的设定 X战警:最后战役 导演布雷特拉特纳,这增加了她在好莱坞的亲密女人的残酷经历。 尽管她承认今天业内人士已经做得更好,但她保证还有很多需要改变的地方。

“我记得我早期的20,并且真的相信我不可能出来。 但是,随着时间的推移,更多的代表性,心灵和思想都发生了变化,“Page告诉PorterEdit。 “这种情况发生得不够快,而且还没有发生,特别是对于社区中最边缘化的人来说。 但事情变得更好。“

现在,Page正在尽自己的一份力量,通过开展代表LGBTQ社区的项目来改善事情 - 例如她即将推出的Netflix有限公司 城市的故事,她以前的电影 Freeheld 和她的副歌秀“Gaycation”。

“我感到有责任感,”佩奇说。 “我希望能够以任何方式提供帮助,而且我想制作酷儿内容。”

事实上,即使对于那些不是同性恋或对电影业知识渊博的观察者来说,公开的同性恋可能会被视为对佩奇领域的损害,这一点令人遗憾也不足为奇。 毕竟,明星,电影制作人,代理商以及参与娱乐业的每个人都不能否认商业诉求的压力。 人们只能想象得到冒犯大部分人群的恐惧,他们对同性恋仍然保持警惕或不同情,以及这会如何影响财务回报。 尽管好莱坞经常被视为一个自由主义的圣地,但具有讽刺意味的是,它依赖于大众吸引力的行业 - 包括那些尚未支持好莱坞LGBTQ代表的人。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE TRENDING-CULTURE

Ellen Page Reveals How Hollywood Pressured Her to Stay ‘In the Closet’

Ellen Page speaking at the 2013 San Diego Comic Con International, for "X-Men: Days of Future Past", at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California.
Ellen Page speaking at the 2013 San Diego Comic Con International, for "X-Men: Days of Future Past", at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California. (Photo via Gage Skidmore)

Although many consider Hollywood a liberal mecca, coming out as an LGBTQ actor or actress is still not always welcome, according to a recent interview Ellen Page gave.

Ellen Page is recognized as a high-profile actress and voice for the LGBTQ community—but her relatively recent journey there was not easy in an industry that still grapples with homosexuality.

The 32-year-old Oscar-nominated actress (for 2007’s Juno) recently told PorterEdit that she was pressured by Hollywood execs to stay quiet about her sexuality throughout the beginning of her career, to the point where her mental health was gravely impacted.

This was in an age where there were already prominent LGBTQ stars such as Ellen Degeneres and Neil Patrick Harris, who were gracing the screens of popular culture regularly and accepted by wide audiences.

“I was distinctly told, by people in the industry, when I started to become known: ‘People cannot know you’re gay,’” Page told the publication. “And I was pressured—forced, in many cases—to always wear dresses and heels for events and photo shoots.”

The actress, who is now happily married to 24-year-old dancer and choreographer Emma Portner, didn’t come out in Hollywood until 2014, nearly seven years after she rose to prominence for her role in the movie Juno.

But the speculation that followed Page throughout that time was extremely destructive, especially considering the complications of her own private self-discovery.

“I was 20, I had just fallen in love for the first time with a woman, and I was still navigating my own stuff, while people were writing articles headlined: ‘Ellen Page’s sexuality sweepstake.’ There was a tabloid magazine that I saw at every checkout, in every gas station, with a picture of me on the cover, and the question: ‘Is Ellen Page gay?’” Page recalled to PorterEdit. “It was very detrimental to my mental health.”

When she was just 18, the actress was outed on set by her X-Men: The Last Stand director Brett Ratner, which added to her cruel experiences as a closeted woman in Hollywood. Although she admits that it has gotten better for people in the industry to come out today, she assures that there’s still a lot that needs to change.

“I remember being in my early 20s and really believing it was impossible for me to come out. But, over time, with more representation, hearts and minds have been changed,” Page told PorterEdit. “It doesn’t happen quickly enough and it hasn’t happened enough, particularly for the most marginalized in the community. But things have got better.”

Now, Page is doing her part in order to make things better by working on projects that represent the LGBTQ community—such as her upcoming Netflix limited Tales of the City, her previous film Freeheld and her Viceland show “Gaycation”.

“I feel a sense of responsibility,” Page said. “I want to be able to help in any way I can, and I want to make queer content.”

Indeed, even for observers who are not gay or knowledgeable of the film industry, it’s sadly unsurprising that being openly gay could be seen as a detriment in Page’s field. After all, stars, filmmakers, agents, and everyone involved in the entertainment industry cannot deny the pressure for commercial appeal. One can only imagine the fears of offending large segments of the population that are still wary or unsympathetic towards homosexuality, and how that would compromise financial returns. Although Hollywood is often viewed as a liberal mecca, the irony is that it’s an industry that relies on mass appeal—including to those who are are not yet supportive of LGBTQ representation in Hollywood.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.