اكتب للبحث

البيئة

EPA يتجاهل العلماء في حظر الأسبستوس

مهجور بناء الاسبستوس الكامل. (الصورة: ويل فيشر)
مهجور بناء الاسبستوس الكامل. (الصورة: ويل فيشر)

"من غير المسبوق حقًا أن يفشل الزعماء السياسيون في الانتباه إلى أي من العلماء في المكاتب الإقليمية أو المقرات".

نيو يورك تايمز تقريرا الأربعاء كشف مسؤولو وكالة حماية البيئة عن تجاهل توصيات علماءهم عند إصدار قاعدة تقيد استخدام الأسبستوس ولكنها لا تحظره.

الأسبستوس هو معدن يستخدم في البناء لمقاومته للحرارة وقوة الألياف ، ولكنه ثبت أنه مُسرطن وأصبح محظورًا الآن في معظم البلدان الصناعية. منظمة الصحة العالمية الولايات"جميع أنواع الأسبستوس تسبب سرطان الرئة, ورم الظهارة المتوسطة، وسرطان الحنجرة والمبيض ، وتليف الرئتين (تليف الرئتين) ، و "الآثار القديمة" لتلوث الأسبستوس يمكن أن تستمر لسنوات ، وفقا لخبراء الوكالة.

تُظهر المذكرات الداخلية التي كشفت عنها صحيفة نيويورك تايمز توجيهًا مباشرًا لحظر المادة الكيميائية مباشرة:

"بدلاً من السماح (حتى مع القيود) بأي استخدامات جديدة للأسبستوس ، ينبغي على وكالة حماية البيئة أن تسعى إلى حظر جميع الاستخدامات الجديدة للأسبست لأن الضرر الشديد الناجم عن هذه المادة الكيميائية يفوق أي فائدة - ولأن هناك بدائل كافية للأسبستوس."

يستمر الحكم في اتجاه تحرير البيئة تحت إدارة ترامب. مع جماعات ضغط الوقود الأحفوري السابقة على رأس وكالة حماية البيئة ووزارة الداخلية ، وكذلك موظفو DowDuPont السابقون في وزارة الزراعة بالولايات المتحدة (USDA) ، يشعر النقاد بالقلق من أن أرباح الشركات يتم منحها الأولوية للصحة العامة.

"من غير المسبوق حقًا أن يفشل الزعماء السياسيون في الانتباه إلى أي من العلماء في المكاتب الإقليمية أو في المقر الرئيسي ،" قال بيتسي سوذرلاندالمدير السابق للعلوم والتكنولوجيا في قسم EPA المسؤول عن المياه.

وكالة حماية البيئة قد أضعفت مؤخرا اللوائح ل تلوث المياه الجوفية النظيفة من المواد الكيميائية السامة ، تقلص الحظر على مادة كيميائية قاتلة في المتعريات الطلاء ، و رفض فرض حظر على الكلوربيريفوس، المبيدات الحشرية التي لديها تم ربطها لتلف في الدماغ عند الأطفال. يوم الأربعاء ، تحدت كاليفورنيا ترامب EPA عن طريق حظر الكلوربيريفوس، حفز غضب DowDuPont.

وفقًا للمتحدث باسم DowDuPont Gregg Schmidt ، فإن الشركة تقوم الآن "بتقييم جميع الخيارات للطعن" في حظر كاليفورنيا ، بحجة أن التخلص من الكلوربيريفوس "سيزيل أداة مهمة للمزارعين ويقوض النظام الفعال للغاية لتنظيم المبيدات الحشرية التي كانت موجودة في الاتحاد المستوى وفي ولاية كاليفورنيا منذ عقود ".

الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة داو أندرو ليفريس تبرعت مليون دولار لصندوق تنصيب الرئيس ترامب ، واختير لقيادة مستشار الرئيس للتصنيع قبل ذلك حل بعد استقالة العديد من الأعضاء احتجاجًا على رد الرئيس ترامب الصريح على العنف العنصري في شارلوتسفيل.

يتم تعيين العديد من موظفي DowDuPont في مناصب عليا في حكومة الرئيس ، مثل جماعات الضغط السابقة في داو تيد ماكينيوكيل وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية للتجارة ، كين ايسلي، رئيس الخدمات الزراعية الخارجية ، وسكوت هتشينز ، نائب وكيل وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

EPA Disregards Own Scientists On Asbestos Ban

Derelict building full of asbestos. (Photo: Will Fisher)
Derelict building full of asbestos. (Photo: Will Fisher)

“It’s really unprecedented for political leaders to fail to pay attention to any of the scientists in either regional offices or headquarters.”

The New York Times released a report Wednesday revealing EPA officials disregarded the recommendations of their own scientists when issuing a rule that restricts Asbestos use but does not ban it.

Asbestos is a mineral used in construction for its heat-resistance and fiber strength, but it has been proven to be carcinogenic and is now banned in most industrialized countries. The World Health Organization states, “all types of asbestos cause lung cancer, mesothelioma, cancer of the larynx and ovary, and asbestosis (fibrosis of the lungs),” and the “legacy effects” of asbestos contamination can last for years, according to agency experts.

The internal memos revealed by the New York Times show direct guidance to outright ban the chemical:

“Rather than allow for (even with restrictions) any new uses for asbestos, EPA should seek to ban all new uses of asbestos because the extreme harm from this chemical substance outweighs any benefit—and because there are adequate alternatives to asbestos.”

The ruling continues a trend of environmental deregulation under the Trump administration. With former fossil fuel lobbyists at the head of the Environmental Protection Agency and Department of the Interior, as well as former DowDuPont employees in the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), critics are concerned corporate profits are being prioritized above the public health.

“It’s really unprecedented for political leaders to fail to pay attention to any of the scientists in either regional offices or headquarters,” said Betsy Southerland, former director of science and technology in the EPA department responsible for water.

The EPA has also recently weakened regulations to clean groundwater pollution from toxic chemicals, diminished a ban on a deadly chemical in paint strippers, and rejected a ban on chlorpyrifos, a pesticide that has been linked to brain damage in children. On Wednesday, California defied the Trump EPA by banning chlorpyrifos, spurring the ire of DowDuPont.

According to DowDuPont spokesman Gregg Schmidt, the company is now “evaluating all options to challenge” California’s ban, arguing that eliminating chlorpyrifos would “remove an important tool for farmers and undermines the highly effective system for regulating pesticides that has been in place at the federal level and in the state of California for decades.”

Dow CEO Andrew Liveris donated a million dollars to President Trump’s inauguration fund, and was chosen to lead the president’s manufacturing counsel before it was disbanded after several members resigned in protest of President Trump’s equivocal response to racist violence in Charlottesville.

Several DowDuPont employees are assigned to high positions in the president’s cabinet, such as former Dow lobbyist Ted McKinney, the USDA undersecretary for trade, Ken Isley, the head of the Foreign Agricultural Service, and Scott Hutchins, a deputy undersecretary at the USDA.

 

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.