输入搜索

国家

加州公平获得高质量教学

在计算机上学习的女孩
(图片来源)

Dorin Shen是高级产品策略师 帆布,开放式在线学习管理系统(LMS),使教学和学习更容易。 通过开放,可用,基于云的技术,Canvas可以轻松集成教师需要和学生想要的内容,工具和服务。 作为最有用的, 可定制,适应性强,可靠的学习平台(想想99.9%正常运行时间),Canvas的使用方式比其他任何LMS都要多.

(By Dorin Shen)加州是一个独特的州。 我们在许多不同的社会正义领域拥有丰富的思想领导力。 我们以创新能力而闻名,而且我们也拥有美国最多样化的人群之一。 在公共教育中,公平获得高质量的教学是(而且应该)至关重要的。 我们知道,良好的公共教育可以使个人摆脱贫困,并与各种其他福利相关联,如更好的健康,更高的工作成果,甚至更长的寿命。 我特别关心加利福尼亚,因为这是我的家乡,因为我认为我们有机会在教育平等方面领导全国。 这就是为什么在加利福尼亚为学生提供公平获得高质量教学的使命至关重要。

加州一直是教育平等的开拓者。 在1947中,Mendez v.Westminster是第一起提交审判的案件,认为教育机会不应该取决于你的居住地。 法官在那 案件 发现“美国公共教育体系中最重要的必要条件是社会平等。”布朗诉教育委员会对1954的裁决更为熟悉,遵循了门德斯案中的先例,并导致国家政策变化以支持公平和机会。所有。 鉴于历史,我们可能期望加利福尼亚现在在教育成果方面领先全国,但在我们的方式中也存在更大的障碍。

研究表明,来自社会经济地位较低(SES)家庭的儿童的学习技能比较高SES群体的同龄人慢(Morgan,Farkas,Hillemeier和Maczuga,2009)。 根据 美国社区调查,40美国有学龄儿童(6-17)家庭的百分比,家庭收入低于50,000。 一个 UCLA研究 发现 与较富裕的高中相比,低收入家庭学生的高中每年失去近两周的学习时间。 加利福尼亚州 K-12等级的公立学校学生超过六百万,这是所有美国公立学校学生的12百分比。 几乎60百分比来自低收入家庭。

较慢的学习速度并不是穷人成长的唯一教育缺点。 大致 三分之一 这个低收入群体在家里没有高速互联网。 低SES学生将进入就业市场,获得高薪工作成功所需的技能较少。 数字鸿沟是真实的。

此外, 每五个学生中就有一个 在加利福尼亚州是一名英语学习者。 这是1.3百万学生。 这意味着美国每十个英语学习者中就有三个在加利福尼亚州上学! 此外,加州学生来自家庭,他们的口语不仅仅是65不同的母语。 这些统计数据并没有描绘出加利福尼亚州的全貌,但它们确实有助于传达迫切需要为学生提供公平获得高质量教学的机会。

在K-12中有一种非常独特和高贵的东西:我们希望每个学生都能获得一张金票 - 通过教育改善他们的生活。 我们不希望这是基于运气或他们居住的地方。 在教育方面,我们希望平衡竞争环境。 并不是说教育真正意义何在? 平整比赛场地。 为我们的学生提供将来茁壮成长所需的技能和知识。 我们必须帮助在学校创造一个空间,学生可以在这里获得内容,教学和个性化学习。 与同伴一起反思和协作的机会创造了一个竞争环境,在这里可以安全地尝试新事物,尝试并从失败和成功中学习。 这使学生拥有了他们的学习历程。

公平是教育者做他们所做的事情的原因。 这对学生来说是一项专业和社会责任。 我对教育工作者有同样的义务,因为我为一家建立教育软件的公司工作。 我想帮助建立空间,让每个教育工作者都拥有所需的工具,为每个学生提供公平的高质量教学机会,而不仅仅是在加利福尼亚,而是在所有地方。

从历史上看,加利福尼亚州是许多事物中的第一个,是社会正义的倡导者,也是上个世纪许多最伟大创新的发源地。 让我们继续建立在加州教育公平的基础上。 我们的创业创新可以再次引领整个国家,因为在教育公平竞争中没有终点线。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Equitable Access to High-Quality Instruction in California

girl learning on a computer
(Image via Pixabay)

Dorin Shen is Senior Product Strategist for Canvas, the open online learning management system (LMS) that makes teaching and learning easier. Through open, usable, cloud-based technologies, Canvas enables easy integration of the content, tools, and services that teachers need and students want. As the most usable, customizable, adaptable, and reliable learning platform (think 99.9% uptime), Canvas is used in more ways by more users than any other LMS.

(By Dorin Shen) California is a unique state. We have a rich history of thought leadership in a lot of different social justice areas. We’re known for our ability to innovate and we also have one of the most diverse populations in the US. In public education, equitable access to high-quality instruction is (and should be) vitally important. We know that a great public education lifts individuals out of poverty and is linked to a wide variety of other benefits like better health, increased job outcomes, and even longer lives. I care about California specifically because it’s my home state and because I see an opportunity for us to lead the nation in educational equality. This is why the mission of providing students with equitable access to high-quality instruction is crucial in California.

California has led the way as a trailblazer for educational equality. In 1947, Mendez v. Westminster was the first case brought to trial arguing that educational opportunity shouldn’t be dependent on where you live. The judge in that case found “A paramount requisite in the American system of public education is social equality.” The more familiar Brown v. Board of Education ruling in 1954 followed the precedent set in the Mendez case and led to national policy changes in support of equity and opportunities for all. Given that history, we might expect California to now be leading the nation in educational outcomes, but there are also larger obstacles in our way.

Research shows that children from low socioeconomic status (SES) families develop academic skills slower than their peers from higher SES groups (Morgan, Farkas, Hillemeier, & Maczuga, 2009). According to the American Community Survey, 40 percent of US families with school-age children (ages 6-17) have household incomes below $50,000. A UCLA study found that high schools with students from low-income households lose almost two weeks of learning time every year, compared to more affluent high schools. California has more than six million public school students in grades K-12–that’s 12 percent of all US public school students. And almost 60 percent of them are from low-income households.

A slower pace for learning isn’t the only educational downside of growing up poor. Roughly one-third of this low-income group does not have high-speed internet at home. Low SES students will enter the job market with fewer of the necessary skills to be successful in higher-wage jobs. The digital divide is real.

Additionally, one out of every five students in California is an English language learner. That’s 1.3 million students. That means three out of every ten English language learners in the US go to school in California! Also, California students come from families speaking more than 65 different home languages. These stats do not paint the whole picture of California, but they do help convey the desperate need of providing students with equitable access to high-quality instruction.

There’s a thing that’s profoundly unique and noble in K-12: we want every student to get a golden ticket – a shot at improving their lives through education. We don’t want this to be based on luck, or where they live. When it comes to education, we want to level the playing field. And isn’t that what education is really all about? Leveling the playing field. Equipping our students with the skills and knowledge needed to thrive in the future. We must help to create a space in school where students have equity and access to content, instruction, and personalized learning. Opportunities to reflect and collaborate with peers create a playing field where it’s safe to try new things, experiment, and learn from failure as well as success. This gives students ownership of their learning journey.

Equity is the reason educators do what they do. It’s a professional and social obligation to their students. I have that same obligation to educators because I work for a company that builds educational software. I want to help build space where every educator has the tools they need to provide every student with equitable access to high-quality instruction, and not just in California, but everywhere.

Historically, California has been the first in many things, a champion for social justice, and the home of many of the greatest innovations in the last century. Let’s continue to build on the foundation of equity in education in California. Our entrepreneurial innovation can once again lead the way for the entire nation because there’s no finish line in the race for equity in education.

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.