اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا

إثيوبيا تزرع أشجارًا رائعة من طراز 350 مليون في يوم واحد

التين-أكسوم مكان تجمع شجرة (أكسوم) - إثيوبيا التاريخ 2 قد 2013 ، 03: 03. آدم جونز من كيلونا ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، كندا

مع استمرار تقلص الغابات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بدأت جهود إعادة التحريج تكتسب زخماً.

"في يوم حطم هذا الأسبوع ، في حديقة غوليلي النباتية في أديس أبابا ، أطلقت إثيوبيا حملة تاريخية لتربية الأشجار. تمت زراعة أكثر من 350 مليون شجرة في خطوة طموحة لمواجهة آثار إزالة الغابات وتغير المناخ ، " وذكرت منظمة البيئة التابعة للأمم المتحدة بعد الحدث التاريخي.

"هذا الحدث جزء من مبادرة التراث الأخضر لرئيس الوزراء الإثيوبي أبي أحمد. كان يهدف إلى زراعة 200 مليون شجرة في يوم واحد في مواقع 1,000 في جميع أنحاء البلاد. هنأ رئيس الوزراء أحمد البلاد ليس فقط لتحقيق هدف تراثها الأخضر الجماعي بل تجاوزه أيضًا ".

أهمية المبادرة

قالت جولييت بياو كودينوكبو ، مديرة بيئة الأمم المتحدةمكتب افريقيا. وتابعت قائلة "إن إفريقيا لديها ما تحتاجه لقيادة هذه الدفعة العالمية وبما أنها القارة الأكثر تضرراً والضعيفة ، يجب أن يكون التخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ على رأس الأولويات في الأيام المقبلة. نحن في الأمم المتحدة للبيئة نأخذ زمام المبادرة في المساعدة في بناء القدرات للدول والشعوب لتطبيق أنفسهم على استراتيجيات التحريج وتخفيف آثار تغير المناخ. "
مع استمرار تقلص الغابات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بدأت جهود إعادة التحريج تكتسب زخماً. "إن هدفنا للاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية 50 ليوم الأرض في 2020 هو زرع 7.8 مليار شجرة ، واحدة لكل شخص على وجه الأرض" ، قال شبكة يوم الأرض (EDN) تتمثل مهمتها في "تنويع وتثقيف وتنشيط الحركة البيئية في جميع أنحاء العالم."
EDN تواصل"إن إزالة الغابات هي السبب الرئيسي الثاني للاحتباس الحراري وتنتج حوالي 24٪ من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية. يقول العالم إن إزالة الغابات في الغابات الاستوائية المطيرة تضيف ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى الغلاف الجوي أكثر من مجموع جميع السيارات والشاحنات على طرق العالم. في بعض البلدان ، مثل البرازيل وإندونيسيا ، تشكل إزالة الغابات وتدهورها معًا المصدر الرئيسي لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الوطنية. "

عكس تغير المناخ

هناك تقنيات الهندسة الجيولوجية في الوجود والتي يمكن أن تساعد على عكس الآثار الضارة لتغير المناخ. تفاصيل الإدارة الوطنية للملاحة الجوية والفضاء (ناسا) كيف لعب التأثير البشري دور مهم في تغير المناخ.

"اتجاه الاحترار الحالي له أهمية خاصة لأن أغلبه (على الأرجح أكبر من 95 بالمائة) هو نتيجة النشاط البشري منذ منتصف القرن 20th والمضي قدماً بمعدل لم يسبق له مثيل على مدى عقود إلى آلاف السنين" واصلت ناسا. "لقد تم توضيح طبيعة حبس ثاني أكسيد الكربون والغازات الأخرى في منتصف القرن 19th. إن قدرتها على التأثير في نقل طاقة الأشعة تحت الحمراء عبر الغلاف الجوي هي الأساس العلمي للعديد من الأجهزة التي تنقلها ناسا. ليس هناك شك في أن ارتفاع مستويات غازات الدفيئة يجب أن يتسبب في ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض رداً على ذلك. "

مع الحركات الضخمة مثل تلك الموجودة في إثيوبيا ، من الممكن أن تبدأ البشرية في عكس الضرر الذي تسببت فيه على البيئة. ومع ذلك ، مع مغادرة الولايات المتحدة لاتفاقيات باريس بشأن المناخ ، سوف يتطلب الأمر تغيير الإرادة السياسية في الولايات المتحدة ودول أخرى من أجل التغيير.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
والتر ييتس

Walter Yeates هو صحفي وروائي وكاتب سيناريو يعمل في Standing Rock مع قدامى المحاربين العسكريين و First People في ديسمبر 2016. يغطي مجموعة من المواضيع في Citizen Truth وهو مفتوح للحصول على نصائح واقتراحات. تويتر: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall أو www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

2 تعليقات

  1. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 5، 2019

    لطيف جدًا .. الآن ، ماذا عن إطعام إثيوبيا> 110M؟

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA

Ethiopia Plants a Remarkable 350 Million Trees in One Day

Fig Tree-Gathering Place-Axum (Aksum)- Ethiopia Date 2 May 2013, 03:03. Adam Jones from Kelowna, BC, Canada

As forests around the world continue to shrink, reforestation efforts have begun gaining momentum.

“In a record-breaking day this week, at the Gulele Botanical Garden in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia launched an [sic] historic tree planting campaign. Over 350 million trees were planted in an ambitious move to counter the effects of deforestation and climate change,” reported the United Nations (U.N.) Environment organization after the historic event.

“The event is part of Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed’s Green Legacy Initiative. It aimed at planting 200 million trees in a single day in 1,000 sites across the country. Prime Minister Ahmed congratulated the country for not only meeting its collective Green Legacy goal but also exceeding it,” the report continued.

Significance of the Initiative

“Afforestation is the most effective climate change solution to date and with the new record set by Ethiopia, other African nations should move with speed and challenge the status quo,” said Juliette Biao Koudenoukpo, Director of UN Environment’s Africa Office. She continued, “Africa has what it takes to spearhead this global push and as the most affected and vulnerable continent, climate change mitigation must be the topmost priority in the coming days. We at UN Environment are taking the lead in helping to build capacity for nations and people to apply themselves to afforestation and climate change mitigation strategies.”
As forests around the world continue to shrink, reforestation efforts have begun gaining momentum. “Our goal for the 50th anniversary of Earth Day in 2020 is to plant 7.8 billion trees, one for every person on earth,” said the Earth Day Network (EDN) whose mission is to “diversify, educate, and activate the environmental movement worldwide.”
EDN continues, “Deforestation is the second leading cause of global warming and produces about 24% of global greenhouse gas emissions. Scientist say that deforestation in tropical rainforests adds more carbon dioxide to the atmosphere than the sum total of all the cars and trucks on the world’s roads. In some countries, such as Brazil and Indonesia, deforestation and forest degradation together are by far the main source of national greenhouse gas emissions.”

Reversing Climate Change

There are geoengineering techniques in existence which could help reverse the harmful effects of climate change. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) details how human influence has played a significant role in climate change.

“The current warming trend is of particular significance because most of it is extremely likely (greater than 95 percent probability) to be the result of human activity since the mid-20th century and proceeding at a rate that is unprecedented over decades to millennia,” NASA continued. “The heat-trapping nature of carbon dioxide and other gases was demonstrated in the mid-19th century. Their ability to affect the transfer of infrared energy through the atmosphere is the scientific basis of many instruments flown by NASA. There is no question that increased levels of greenhouse gases must cause the Earth to warm in response.”

With massive movements like those in Ethiopia, it’s possible that humanity can start reversing the harm they have caused on the environment. However, with the United States leaving the Paris Climate Accords, it will take a change of political will in the U.S. and other nations for change to take place.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry Stout August 5, 2019

    Very nice.. Now, what about feeding Ethiopia’s >110M people?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.