输入搜索

欧洲

特朗普 - 普京峰会的五个小贴士

特朗普普京赫尔辛基
特朗普,普京赫尔辛基会议通过Wikimedia Commons

7月16,唐纳德特朗普总统和俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔普京在芬兰首都赫尔辛基举行会谈。 此次会议之前,起诉12俄罗斯间谍干预2016美国总统大选。 俄罗斯人被指控侵入属于民主党全国委员会和民主党总统候选人希拉里克林顿的电子邮件。

在峰会召开之前,特朗普和俄罗斯在Twitter上进行了友好交流。 “我们与俄罗斯的关系从来没有因为美国多年的愚蠢和愚蠢而现在更加糟糕,而现在,”崎岖的女巫狩猎!“他在推特上说道。

俄罗斯外交部发回推文:“我们同意。”

上周的会议是第一次涉及两位总统的峰会。 此前,他们在7月20德国汉堡举行的G-2017峰会和5个月后的越南APEC峰会上进行了简短的会谈。

鉴于对俄罗斯参与2016选举的持续调查以及普京与特朗普之间关系的不明确性,会议被视为美俄关系的一个定义点。 以下是最令人期待的峰会之一的五个要点:

特朗普在家里贴上叛徒的标签

在赫尔辛基,特朗普表示俄罗斯不是美国的敌人,亿万富翁拒绝指责莫斯科干预2016大选。 特朗普的声明引起了共和党和民主党众多知名政客的强烈批评。

共和党参议员约翰麦凯恩称特朗普 - 普京会议为“悲剧性的错误“和共和党众议院发言人保罗瑞恩说特朗普”必须明白俄罗斯不是我们的盟友。“前中央情报局局长约翰布伦南称特朗普在峰会上的行动”叛逆“。

国家情报总监丹·科茨(Dan Coats)两年前发表声明,解释俄罗斯在美国大选中所扮演的角色,以此回击特朗普对俄罗斯的立场。

“情报界的作用是为总统和政策制定者提供最好的信息和基于事实的评估。 在我们对俄罗斯干预2016选举的评估以及他们为破坏我们的民主而不断进行的普遍努力所做的评估中,我们已经清楚了,我们将继续提供无懈可击的客观情报,以支持我们的国家安全,“ 外套说.

前副总统乔拜登抨击特朗普蔑视总统办公室并捍卫该国头号敌人,而不是美国人的利益。

“今天,我们的总统有机会对抗一个攻击 - 并继续攻击 - 我们的民主和盟友的对手。 他本可以为美国的利益和价值观而奋斗。 他选择不这样做,“ 拜登说。 “今天的新闻发布会低于总统办公室的尊严。”

俄罗斯媒体奥特莱斯赞扬峰会成功举办

俄罗斯媒体组织将赫尔辛基峰会视为向前迈出的重要一步。 根据金融邮报,“俄罗斯主要对克里姆林宫友好的电视网络,网站和报纸将特朗普描绘成一个政治特立独行者,他被自己的同胞视为不公平的目标。”

在新闻发布会上,俄罗斯记者还抨击了美国媒体,他们只专注于指控俄罗斯干预2016的美国大选,帮助特朗普上台。

“普京向全世界证实他没有干涉选举,” Olga Skabeyeva说 来自Rossiya-1电视台。

俄罗斯外交部长谢尔盖拉夫罗夫称这次会议的结果“比超级好”。

混合的国际反应

这次峰会得到了华盛顿盟友的不同反响。 德国小报Bild打来电话 会议“太弱,太顺从 - 一种耻辱。”据a 由YouGov进行的调查 在峰会前夕发布的64德国人调查显示,特朗普对世界安全的危害比普京更大,而16百分比的受访者表示普京面临更大的危险。 而56百分比表示,普京是比特朗普更有能力的领导者,而百分之五的人说特朗普更有能力。

德国外交部长表示,此次峰会表明德国需要与欧洲更紧密地联系。 “为了维持与美国的伙伴关系,我们必须重新调整它,” Heiko Maas说。 “第一个明确的后果只能是我们需要在欧洲更紧密地调整自己。”

英国报纸“太阳报”讽刺地将特朗普描述为“普京的贵宾犬”。法国庆祝其国家足球队赢得2018世界杯的成功 将峰会描述为普京赢得的足球比赛。

虽然波兰总理马特乌斯·莫拉维茨基表示峰会没有许多人担心的那么糟糕。 由于乌克兰东部的战争,特朗普没有就俄罗斯对莫斯科实施的制裁作出任何让步。

“我看看最近的事态发展,包括赫尔辛基,可能是我们邻国的一位总统(普京)向美国总统施加压力,要求让步。 但我没有看到任何让步,无论是关于克里米亚的吞并还是乌克兰的战争。 事先没有出现过假设可能出现的声音 - 美国的让步 - 都没有实现。 所以我不知道他(特朗普)在哪里作出了任何重大让步,“ 莫拉维茨说.

这个前共产主义国家也是欧盟(EU)和北约的成员。 波兰敦促北约成员增加国防开支,特别是在俄罗斯在2014从乌克兰强行吞并克里米亚半岛之后。

以色列福利

特朗普声称两国都致力于保护以色列,这次会议对以色列来说是双赢的。 王牌 普京说 是以色列的“信徒”,是以色列总理本雅明内塔尼亚胡的坚定支持者

“我们得出了很多好结论。 以色列的一个非常好的结论。 非常强大的东西,“ 特朗普告诉福克斯新闻并补充说叙利亚的某些事情必须与以色列的安全有关。

普京赞同这一说法 通过说 “戈兰高地的局势必须恢复到1974协议之后的状态,该协议规定了以色列和叙利亚之间部队脱离接触的条件。”普京补充说,这将“恢复戈兰高地的安静,带来更多叙利亚和以色列之间的和平关系,也为以色列国提供安全保障。“

以色列总理内塔尼亚胡赞扬并感谢两位领导人支持犹太国家安全的言论。

什么都没有变化 叙利亚

特朗普建议对叙利亚采取联合办法,尽管近年来似乎与叙利亚战争相对立。 “多年来,我们的军队比我们的政治领导人更好。 我们也在叙利亚相处,“ 他说.

峰会重申了这一点 俄罗斯在叙利亚的地位更为突出但普京和特朗普没有具体解释在峰会结束后叙利亚接下来要做些什么。

“到目前为止赫尔辛基的讨论还没有为我提供新的指导,”他说 美国陆军将军Joseph Votel作为中央司令部负责人,他负责监督中东的美国军事力量。

下一步是什么?

回到家乡后,特朗普对俄罗斯采取了更为强硬的立场,并称他在赫尔辛基“错过了”。 他还 声称他告诉普京 面对面地离开美国大选说:“我让他知道我们不能拥有这个。 特朗普说,我们不会拥有它,而这就是它的方式。

特朗普上周三还提醒批评者,美国仍在制裁俄罗斯并驱逐俄罗斯外交官,同时声称没有其他总统像俄罗斯那样强硬。

上周四,由Sens.Marco Rubio(R-Fla。)和Chris Van Hollen(D-Md。)赞助的新法案获得了8个赞助商。 该法案旨在对俄罗斯或任何其他经营政治广告或制造假新闻以干扰美国选举的国家实施经济制裁。

尽管他在家中面临批评,特朗普表示他将在今年晚些时候邀请普京进入白宫。

白宫新闻秘书莎拉桑德斯说,特朗普今年秋天正在推动普京的访问。 “特朗普总统要求(国家安全顾问约翰博尔顿)在秋季邀请普京总统访问华盛顿,这些讨论已在进行中,” 桑德斯说.

特朗普上周四在Twitter上宣布了他对第二次会议的渴望。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. 琳达贝德纳兹 July 23, 2018

    我从中得到了什么......
    特朗普喜欢独裁者
    特朗普讨厌我们的盟友
    特朗普需要去!

    回复
  2. 芭芭拉·迪恩 July 23, 2018

    感谢您与我们分享此信息

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Five Takeaways From the Trump-Putin Summit

Trump Putin Helsinki
Trump, Putin Helsinki Conference via Wikimedia Commons

On July 16, President Donald Trump and his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin held talks in Helsinki, the capital of Finland. The meeting was preceded by an indictment against 12 Russian spies for meddling in the 2016 U.S. presidential election. The Russians were accused of hacking into emails belonging to the Democratic National Committee and the Democratic presidential nominee, Hillary Clinton.

Prior to the summit Trump and Russia shared a friendly exchange on Twitter. “Our relationship with Russia has NEVER been worse thanks to many years of U.S. foolishness and stupidity and now, the Rigged Witch Hunt!” he said on Twitter.

The Russian Foreign Ministry tweeted back: “We agree.”

Last week’s meeting was the first summit involving both presidents. Previously, both met and had a short conversation at the G-20 Summit in Hamburg, Germany in July 2017 and the APEC Summit in Vietnam five months later.

In light of the ongoing investigation into Russia’s involvement in the 2016 election and the unclear nature of the relationship between Putin and Trump, the meeting was seen as a defining point for U.S. – Russia relations. Here are five takeaways from one of the most anticipated summits:

Trump Labeled a Traitor at Home

In Helsinki, Trump said that Russia is not an enemy to the U.S and the billionaire refused to accuse Moscow of meddling in the 2016 election. Trump’s statement sparked fierce criticism from many high-profile politicians, from both the Republican and the Democrats.

Republican Senator John McCain called the Trump-Putin meeting a “tragic mistake,” and Republican House speaker Paul Ryan said Trump “must appreciate that Russia is not our ally.” Former CIA Director John Brennan called Trump’s actions at the summit “treasonous.”

Director of National Intelligence Dan Coats hit back at Trump’s stance on Russia by releasing a statement explaining Russia’s role in the U.S election two years ago.

“The role of the Intelligence Community is to provide the best information and fact-based assessments possible for the President and policymakers. We have been clear in our assessments of Russian meddling in the 2016 election and their ongoing, pervasive efforts to undermine our democracy, and we will continue to provide unvarnished and objective intelligence in support of our national security,” Coats stated.

Former Vice President Joe Biden slammed Trump for disgracing the presidential office and defending the country’s number one enemy, not Americans’ interests.

“Today our President had the chance to confront an adversary who has attacked — and continues to attack — our democracy and our allies. He could have stood up for American interests and values. He chose not to,” Biden said. “Today’s press conference was beneath the dignity of the Office of the President.”

Russian Media Outlets Hailed the Summit a “Success”

Russian media organizations saw the Helsinki Summit as a major step forward. According to the Financial Post, “Russia’s largely Kremlin-friendly TV networks, websites and newspapers portrayed Trump as a political maverick who is being unfairly targeted by his own compatriots.”

In the press conference, Russian journalists also slammed American’s media outlets who only focused on alleged Russia’s intervention in the U.S election in 2016 that helped Trump to take office.

“Putin confirmed the world that he did not interfere in the election,” said Olga Skabeyeva from Rossiya-1 TV station.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov called the meeting’s outcome was “better than super.”

Mixed International Reactions

The summit drew mixed reactions from Washington’s allies. The German tabloid Bild called the meeting “too weak, too submissive-a disgrace.” According to a survey conducted by YouGov released on the eve of the summit, 64 percent of Germans surveyed said Trump was a bigger danger to world security than Putin, whereas, 16 percent of respondents said Putin was a bigger danger. And 56 percent said Putin was a more competent leader than Trump, whereas five percent said Trump was more competent.

Germany’s Minister of Foreign Affairs said the summit was a sign that Germany needed to more closely align with Europe. “To maintain our partnership with the USA we must readjust it,” Heiko Maas said. “The first clear consequence can only be that we need to align ourselves even more closely in Europe.”

The English paper The Sun sarcastically described Trump as “Putin’s poodle.” France, who celebrated the success of its national soccer team in winning the 2018 World Cup described the summit as a soccer match which was won by Putin.

While Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki said the summit was not as bad as many had feared. Trump did not give any concessions to Russia relating to sanctions imposed on Moscow due to the war in Eastern Ukraine.

“I look at the latest developments, including Helsinki, where it might have been that one president of our neighboring country (Putin) was pressuring the U.S. president for concessions. But I have not seen any concessions, neither as regards the annexation of Crimea nor the war in Ukraine. None of the voices that were appearing beforehand as hypothetically possible – concessions by the United States – have materialized. So I don’t see where he (Trump) has made any significant concessions,” Morawiecki said.

The ex-communist state is also a member of the European Union (EU) and NATO. Poland has urged NATO members to boost their defense spending, especially after Russia forcibly annexed the Crimea Peninsula from Ukraine in 2014.

Israel Benefits

The meeting came off as a win-win for Israel, as Trump claimed both countries were committed to protecting Israel. Trump said Putin was a “believer in Israel” and a strong supporter of Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu

“We came to a lot of good conclusions. A really good conclusion for Israel. Something very strong,” Trump told Fox News, adding that certain things to do in Syria must have things to do with the safety of Israel.

Putin echoed the statement by saying “the situation on the Golan Heights must be restored to what it was after the 1974 agreement, which set out the terms for the disengagement of forces between Israel and Syria.” Putin added this would “restore quiet to the Golan Height, bring a more peaceful relationship between Syria and Israel, and also provide security to the state of Israel.”

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu praised and thanked both leaders for their remarks in supporting the Jewish state’s security.

Nothing Changes in Syria

Trump suggested a joint approach to Syria, despite appearing to be on opposite sides of the Syrian war in recent years. “Our militaries have gotten along better than our political leaders for a number of years. And we get along in Syria too,” he stated.

The summit reaffirmed Russia’s more prominent role in Syria, but Putin and Trump did not specifically explain what to do next in Syria to reporters after the summit.

“No new guidance for me as a result of the Helsinki discussions as of yet,” said U.S. Army General Joseph Votel, who as the head of Central Command oversees U.S. military forces in the Middle East.

What’s Next?

Returning home, Trump took a tougher stance on Russia and said he”misspoke” in Helsinki. He also claimed he told Putin face-to-face to stay out of U.S. elections saying, “I let him know we can’t have this. We’re not going to have it, and that’s the way it’s going to be,” said Trump.

Trump also reminded critics last Wednesday that the U.S. is still sanctioning Russia and had expelled Russian diplomats, while claiming no other President has been as tough as he has on Russia.

A new bill sponsored by Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) gained eight more sponsors last Thursday. The bill seeks to automatically impose economic sanctions on Russia or any other country that runs political ads or creates fake news to interfere with U.S. elections.

Despite the criticism he is facing at home, Trump said he would invite Putin to the White House later this year.

White House Press Secretary Sarah Sanders said Trump was pushing for a Putin visit this fall. “President Trump asked (national security adviser John Bolton) to invite President Putin to Washington in the fall and those discussions are already underway,” said Sanders.

Trump announced his eagerness for the second meeting on Twitter last Thursday.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

0 Comment

  1. Linda Bednarz July 23, 2018

    What I got from it…
    Trump loves dictators
    Trump hates our allies
    Trump needs to go!

    Reply
  2. Barbara Dean July 23, 2018

    Thanks for sharing this with us post with us

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.