اكتب للبحث

أخبار الأقران

الذهاب بعد "الفريق" على مسؤوليتك الخاصة

إلهان عمر
ملحوظة لنانسي بيلوسي: إلهان عمر لديه متابع ليس فقط على تويتر ولا يقتصر على أربعة أشخاص. (الصورة الائتمان: لوري شال / فليكر / CC BY-SA 2.0)
(يتم تقديم جميع مقالات Peer News بواسطة قراء Citizen Truth ولا تعكس آراء CT. Peer News هي مزيج من الرأي والتعليقات والأخبار. تتم مراجعة المقالات ويجب أن تتوافق مع الإرشادات الأساسية ولكن CT لا تضمن دقة البيانات قدمت أو الحجج المقدمة. نحن فخورون لتبادل قصصك ، مشاركة لك هنا.)

أرسلها مرة أخرى! أرسلها مرة أخرى!

كان هذا هو المشهد في المسيرة الأخيرة التي قام بها دونالد ترامب في جرينفيل بولاية نورث كارولينا ، وهو دليل على أنه في كل مرة نعتقد أن ترامب والحزب الجمهوري قد وصلا إلى الحضيض ، هناك مستوى منخفض جديد يمكن أن نغرق فيه. كان هتافات الجمهور رداً على تصريحات الرئيس بشأن إلهان عمر ، والتي وصفت خطأً ممثل الولاية الأولى من ولاية مينيسوتا بأنه معاد للسامية ، شخص "ينظر باستمرار بازدراء على الأمريكي المجتهد".

كما انتقد ترامب زميلته طالبة رشيدة طالب ، مثل عمر ، وهو مسلم ، باعتباره "ليس شخصاً يحب بلدنا" ، وانتقد في الإسكندرية Ocasio-Cortez (في النهاية وصفها فقط "كورتيز" لأنه قرر أن يقول "Ocasio-Cortez" هو أيضا الكثير من العمل) لرعاية "الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة" ولإبلاغها بشكل صحيح أن "معسكرات الاعتقال" على حدودنا الجنوبية التي تحتجز المهاجرين المحتجزين تقدم ظروفًا غير إنسانية وغير مستوفية للسخرية ، وآيانا بريسلي ("هل هي مرتبطة بألفيس بأي شكل من الأشكال؟") من المفترض أن نقول إن "الأشخاص الذين لديهم نفس لون البشرة يحتاجون جميعًا إلى التفكير في الأمر" وربطها بطريقة أو بأخرى بالعنف الذي يرتكبه بعض المناهضين للفاشية (الذي يتضاءل بالمقارنة مع الأعمال الوحشية التي يرتكبها المتفوقون البيض ، ولكن أيا كان).

إن هجمات ترامب على النواب أوكاسيو كورتيز وعمر وبريسلي وطالب وسط معاناته من منافسي 2020 المحتملين للانتخابات بما في ذلك "سليبي" جو بايدن ، وإليزابيث "بوكاهونتاس" وارين ، وبيت بوتيجيج ، وبيرن ساندرز. إنه يصور هؤلاء القادمين الجدد إلى الكونغرس كقادة للحزب الديمقراطي ، وبالتالي يحاول أن يدفع مؤيديه إلى التركيز عليهم ، ومثلهم ، وإثنياتهم ، ودياناتهم ، وهوياتهم كنساء أقوياء ، وصريحين ، ويرفضونهم وغيرهم من الديمقراطيين كدالة. الاشتراك في النظرة المعادية لليبرالية والعنصرية والجنسية وكراهية الأجانب للحياة.

كما يريد ترامب ، فإن هؤلاء المنتقدين له هم وجه حزب يكره أمريكا وكل ما تمثله ، وإذا لم يعجبهم ذلك ، فيجب عليهم المغادرة أو ، بشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، "العودة للمساعدة في حل المشكلة تمامًا" كما قام ترامب بتغريد أن "أعضاء الكونغرس الديمقراطيين التقدميين ... (" تقدمية "في الاقتباسات ، كما لو كانوا يشككون في مدى اهتمامهم بالتقدم بالفعل) جاءوا أصلاً من بلدان تعتبر حكوماتها كاملة والكارثة الكلية ".

التعليقات العامة لترامب ، كالمعتاد ، مليئة بعدم الدقة والأكاذيب المتعمدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الأشياء المشينة ضد النساء الأربع المذكورة أعلاه مرهقة للغاية وتعكس خطابًا خطيرًا وخطيرًا.

أولاً ، أولاً ، هناك مسألة وصف هؤلاء النساء على أنه "أصلي" من بلد آخر ، كما لو لم يكن أميركيات حقًا. ولد Ocasio-Cortez في برونكس وهو من أصل بورتوريكو. بريسلي سوداء ولدت في سينسيناتي ، ونشأت في شيكاغو ، وانتقلت في النهاية إلى ماساتشوستس. ولد طالب في ديترويت ، ابنة المهاجرين الفلسطينيين. عمر هي الوحيدة من بين الأربعة الذين ولدوا خارج الولايات المتحدة ، وهم في الأصل من الصومال ، لكن أسرتها طلبت حق اللجوء وحصلت عليه في 1995 وأصبحت مواطنة أمريكية في 2000. هؤلاء النساء جميعهن مواطنات أميركيات وتم انتخابهن حسب الأصول لمناصبهن في الكونغرس من قبل ناخبيهن. والإشارة إليهم بأي صفة أخرى هو الانخراط في التعصب غير المقيد.

حسنًا ، هذا ما لم تسأل الجمهوريين أو الرئيس نفسه. تشرد ترامب الأولي "العودة" الموجه إلى AOC et al. أشعل الغضب الدولي والإدانة. في أعقاب ذلك ، كانت علامات التجزئة #RacistInChief و # TrumpIsARacist تتجه على Twitter وتستمر في استخدامها كجزء من المحادثة التي تلت ذلك حول اعتداءه الكلامي على اللجنة الرباعية للكونغرس الأولى. طوال الوقت ، دافع معظم أعضاء الحزب الجمهوري عن ترامب ضد المزاعم بأنه عنصري. ليس لديه عظمة عنصرية في جسده! إنه يقول ما يفكر فيه الكثير من الناس! فيما يتعلق بالنقطة الأخيرة ، فإن القول إن الأميركيين العاديين يتفقون مع بري. ترامب يعني أنه ليس عنصريًا هو مغالطة منطقية. الشعبية ليست مؤشرا على الاستقامة الأخلاقية.

على الجانب الديمقراطي ، وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإن صوت هاوس على 240 لصالح 187 لإدانة استخدام ترامب للغة العنصرية. سجل جميع الديمقراطيين في مجلس النواب تصويت "آي". انضم إليهم المستقلون حديثًا جوستين أماش ، وكذلك فعل الجمهوريون براين فيتزباتريك من ولاية بنسلفانيا وفريد ​​أبتون من ميشيغان وسوزان بروكس من إنديانا وويل هيرد من تكساس. بالطبع ، كانت نانسي بيلوسي سريعة في تحديد أن هذا كان تصويتًا لإدانة تعليقات ترامب باعتبارها عنصرية ، وليس الرجل نفسه. سيكون من غير الواضح على ما يبدو توجيه مثل هذه الاتهامات ضده. أو تحميله المسؤولية بأي طريقة مجدية. (ولكن دعنا نتعامل مع 2020 عندما خسرنا في 2016 ، أليس كذلك؟)

عند الحديث عن رئيسة مجلس النواب ، يجدر التأكيد على أن ملاحظاتها الساخرة حول بريسلي ، وطالب ، وعمر ، وأوكاسيو كورتيز هي التي ساعدت في أن تؤدي المجموعة إلى تلقي لقبها غير الرسمي: "الفريق". نشرت كورتيز أ صورة من أربعة منهم معا مع التسمية التوضيحية المكونة من كلمة واحدة "Squad" على Instagram. تم استدعاء هذا اللقب مرة أخرى من قبل مورين دود في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز في بلدها الملف الشخصي في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر على بيلوسي، الذي انتقد فيه الزعيم الديمقراطي تصويته ضد نسخة مجلس النواب من مشروع قانون الطوارئ على تمويل الحدود ، قائلاً: "كل هؤلاء الناس لديهم جمهورهم أيا كان وعالمهم على تويتر. ولكن لم يكن لديهم أي التالية. إنهم أربعة أشخاص وهذا هو عدد الأصوات التي حصلوا عليها. "

منذ ذلك الحين وبصورة خاصة بعد الهجمات الشخصية التي قام بها ترامب ، زاد استخدام لقب Squad بشكل كبير. الاستخدام الواسع النطاق لهذا المصطلح لا يخلو من بعض الارتداد ، بالتأكيد. قد يرى البعض أنه مناسب أو مهين أو متحيز جنسياً. من ناحية أخرى ، قد يُنظر إليها على أنها حصرية مقصودة من جانب الممثلين.

ومع ذلك ، أوضحت هذه الأعضاء الأربعة في الكونغرس أن "فرقتهم" تشمل ، على حد تعبير النائب بريسلي ، "أي شخص ملتزم بخلق عالم أكثر إنصافًا وعدلاً". وهذا ، ردًا على قطعة من البصل، ومن الواضح أن بيل باسكريل الثمانيني ، ممثل حي بلدي. (الدعائم ، بيل ، الدعائم.) بهذا التعريف ، قد تعتبر أنت أو أنا أعضاء. إنه مفهوم ذو جاذبية شعبية حقيقية.

لم يحظ خطاب ترامب القاسي بموافقة كبيرة من أكثر مؤيديه المتحمسين وأشد المدافعين عنه في الكابيتول هيل وفي وسائل الإعلام. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن محاولته المزعومة أنه شجب أغنية "أرسلها مرة أخرى!" أثناء الحدث كانت خاطئة بشكل حقيقي ، مما دفعه لمزيد من اللوم لمحاولته إلقاء الضوء على الجميع.

بالنسبة للمتحدثة بيلوسي ، فإن استخفافها بتأثير فرقة The Squad كقطعة واحدة في سلسلة طويلة من الانتقاد وإقالة الديمقراطيين التقدميين قد أكسبها حقها في الاحترام بعيدًا عن نظرها ، بشكل ملحوظ من اليساريين وغيرهم ممن ظلوا ينتقدون قيادتها للبيت بقيادة ديمقراطية. إذا لم يكن هناك شيء آخر ، فإن رفضها لهؤلاء النساء الملونات والفشل في الدفاع عنهن إلا عندما يصفه الرئيس هو البصريات السيئة لحزب يدرس تنوعه بين نقاط قوته. في الواقع ، كما يعتقد Ocasio-Cortez ، فإن هذا النمط من السلوك من جانب بيلوسي لا يتطرق إلى معاملة ضارة وغير مسبوقة للفرقة - وهي ليس وحده في هذا التقييم.

من خلال كل الإهانات ، ألقيت تهديدات بالقتل وتشويه السمعة والأكاذيب على هؤلاء النساء ، ولم يتردد التزامهن بمبادئهن وتصميمهن. وبالتالي ، فإن نجومهم مشرقة فقط. تحدثت النائبة عمر ، التي استقبلت استقبال الأبطال عندما عادت إلى وطنها الأم ، عن انتقادات ترامب اللاذعة الموجهة إليها ، بتحد واعدا ليكون "كابوس" لقد جعلها الرئيس بها. لم يكن راتبها يمثل تهديدًا ، ولكنه تحذير: العبث مع فرقة Squad واستعد للعيش مع العواقب.


التعليقات التي أدلى بها دونالد ترامب تشويه سمعة أعضاء الفريق ورفضه هتافات هتافات الحاضرين التي تستهدف إيلهان عمر تتحدث عن مجلدات عن الرئيس والحالة الراهنة للحزب الجمهوري. كان الإمتناع الشائع عن أولئك الذين يدفعون مقابل الحضور و / أو المهنيين في المجال السياسي (وبالتالي من المفترض أن يكون لديهم قدر ضئيل من التمييز بصرف النظر عن مؤمن ترامب) كما تم جمعه من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. واحدة من أكثر مشاهد المخيفة التي شهدوها من أي وقت مضى في عالم السياسة. شعر الكثير من هؤلاء الأشخاص أنفسهم بشعور من الفزع ، مما يشير إلى أن ترامب كان يبذل قصارى جهده لقتل النائب عمر. أعلن المتفرجون الآخرون أنهم بدأوا افهم كيف يمكن أن تحدث الفظائع التي ارتكبت في ألمانيا النازية من غاية الحدث.

إن الانقسامات القليلة في القرار حول اللغة العنصرية لترامب جانبا ، تقاعس الجمهوريين وصمتهم على هذه الجبهة تجعل المرء يتساءل عن الخط الذي يمكن تجاوزه والذي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى تدخل جوهري من جانبهم. على سبيل المثال ، من الواضح أن ليندسي جراهام ، الناقد لمرة واحدة لترامب ، قد أصبح رجلاً متفرغًا ، وعكس اتجاه الرئيس بعد يطلق عليه "متعصب عرق السباق" في 2015.

كما دافع ميتش ماكونيل عن ترامب ضد المزاعم بأنه عنصري الرئيس "على شيء" في ادعاءاته بأن هؤلاء النساء يريدون "تحويلنا إلى بلد اشتراكي" ، يتهرب من الأسئلة حول جوقة "أرسلها مرة أخرى!" في الليالي السابقة. وقال ميت رومني ، بطريقة ميت رومني الحقيقية ، ترامب "عبرت خط" ولكن ليس عنصري. ماركو روبيو. تيد كروز. بول ريان، أين كان هذا التشابه في العمود الفقري عندما كنت رئيس مجلس النواب؟ أين هو ضمير هؤلاء الرجال الذين اعتقد بعضهم أن بإمكانهم تمثيل البلد بأكمله؟ أم كان كل ذلك بمثابة خدعة كبيرة ، حيلة بدافع الانتهازية السياسية؟ هل يمكن أن يسأل نفسه عن ترامب والحزب الجمهوري ككل؟

خشية أن نعطي الديمقراطيين الكثير من الفضل ، أو عجز القيادة أو عدم استعدادها لكبح المعتدلين العازمين على معارضة "أقصى اليسار" أو الدفاع عن الفريق ضد الاتهامات التي لا أساس لها من معاداة السامية ، مما يزيد من تشجيع ترامب وعناصره التمكينية. بقدر ما يتعلق الأمر "Racist-in-Chief" ، قد يكون كذلك موسم مفتوح على النواب Tlaib و Ocasio-Cortez و Pressley و Omar. أعني هذا من حيث أنه لن يقول أي شيء يريده دون خوف من الانتقام ، لكن بالعودة إلى حالات تهديدات بالقتل المبلغ عنها وحتى مؤامرة لقتل عمر ، لا يحتاج إلى سحب الزناد. وضع هدف على ظهورهم يكفي. يتحمل الحزب الديمقراطي بعض الذنب هنا فيما عدا التوقيع على قرار مجلس النواب بلا أسنان ينصح الرئيس لنشره الكراهية من منبره المتنمر.

قبح بريس. إن تصريحات ترامب ، سواء كانت صرف الانتباه عن رعب معسكرات الاعتقال على الحدود أو فساد جيفري إبشتاين أو تداعيات تقرير مولر ، تدفع فكرة أن ممثلي الطرفين الرئيسيين عاجلاً أم آجلاً يحتاجون إلى اتخاذ موقف. يجب على الجمهوريين أن يقرروا عند أي نقطة يكون للنفعية السياسية حدودها ، والنظر في ما إذا كانوا قد تنازلوا عن السيطرة الكاملة على حزبهم على الفاشية ، ومواجهة ما يعنيه هذا الترتيب من أجل البقاء طويل الأجل للحزب الجمهوري. يتعين على الديمقراطيين مواجهة احتمال أن يستغرق انتظار 2020 وقتًا طويلاً ، ناهيك عن أن الإشارة إلى شيء ما - أي شيء - تشير إلى قاعدتهم بأن قضيتهم تستحق القتال من أجلها. ليس فقط أن يكون القطعي ، ولكن مستقبل هذه الأحزاب ومفهوم الديمقراطية الأمريكية باعتبارها مصدر قلق قد يعتمد عليها فقط.

كما اقترح سابقًا ، لا تساوي الشعبية الاستقامة الأخلاقية ولا تترجم بالضرورة إلى الأصوات أو غيرها من أشكال المشاركة السياسية. بالنسبة للديمقراطيين والجمهوريين على حد سواء ، مع ذلك ، فإن ملاحقة الفريق غير مستحسن. في مواجهة الشدائد ، تعتبر هؤلاء النساء مصدر إلهام فخور للمشاركين السياسيين الآخرين مثلهن. إن التقليل من شأنهم ومؤيديهم هو التقليل من القوة التي يتمتع بها الأشخاص العاديون الذين يتجمعون على المستوى الشعبي عندما يدركوا تمامًا. في النهاية ، يمكن أن يكون هناك خطأ في الحساب.

جوزيف مانجانو

قام جوزيف مانجانو بالتدوين لأكثر من 10 سنوات بأشكال مختلفة. اعتقل مرة واحدة في Xanga كمحرر وكاتب. تخرج مع درجة البكالوريوس في علم النفس من جامعة روتجرز ، وماجستير في المحاسبة من جامعة ويليام باترسون. يقيم في شمال نيوجيرسي ، ولم يضخ الغاز إلا مرة واحدة. عندما لا يكتب ، يستمتع بكونه جزءًا من الثنائي الصخري الصوتي الذي لا يلعب أبدًا أي عروض أو يشاهد الألعاب الرياضية ويطارد بوكيمون. يمكن الوصول إليه عند [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو على تويتر علىJFMangano.

    1

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

Go After ‘The Squad’ at Your Own Risk

Ilhan Omar
Note to Nancy Pelosi: Ilhan Omar has a following that is neither solely on Twitter nor limited to four people. (Photo Credit: Lorie Shaull/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

SEND HER BACK! SEND HER BACK!

This was the scene at Donald Trump’s recent rally in Greenville, North Carolina, evidence that every time we think Trump and the GOP have hit rock bottom, there is a new low to which to sink. The audience’s chant was in response to the president’s remarks on Ilhan Omar, which wrongly characterized the first-term representative from the state of Minnesota as an anti-Semite, someone who “looks down with contempt on the hardworking American.”

Trump also criticized fellow freshman Rashida Tlaib, like Omar, a Muslim, as “not somebody that loves our country,” lashed out at Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (eventually just calling her “Cortez” because he decided saying “Ocasio-Cortez” is too much work) for sponsoring the Green New Deal and for correctly reporting that the “concentration camps” at our southern border holding detained migrants offer substandard, inhumane conditions, and ridiculed Ayanna Pressley (“Is she related in any way to Elvis?”) for supposedly saying that “people with the same skin color all need to think the same” and somehow connecting her to violence committed by some anti-fascists (which pales in comparison to atrocities committed by white supremacists, but whatever).

Trump’s attacks on Reps. Ocasio-Cortez, Omar, Pressley, and Tlaib amid his jabs at potential 2020 election rivals including “Sleepy” Joe Biden, Elizabeth “Pocahontas” Warren, Pete Buttigieg, and Bernie Sanders are no accident. He’s painting these newcomers to Congress as leaders of the Democratic Party, thereby trying to get his supporters to fixate on them, their ideals, their ethnicities, their religions, their identities as strong, outspoken women, and reject them and other Democrats as a function of subscribing to an anti-liberal, racist, sexist, xenophobic outlook on life.

As Trump would have it, these critics of his are the face of a party that hates America and everything it stands for, and if they don’t like it, they should leave or, more specifically, “go back and help fix the totally broken and crime-infested places from which they came.” Trump also tweeted that these “Progressive Democrat Congresswomen… (“progressive” in quotes, as if to doubt how interested in progress they really are) originally came from countries whose governments are a complete and total catastrophe.”

Trump’s public comments, as per the usual, are riddled with inaccuracies and intentional falsehoods. These particular diatribes against the four aforementioned women, however, are especially onerous and reflect egregious and dangerous rhetoric.

First things first, there’s the matter of labeling these women as “originally” from another country, as if they aren’t truly Americans. Ocasio-Cortez was born in the Bronx and is of Puerto Rican descent. Pressley is black and was born in Cincinnati, raised in Chicago, and eventually relocated to Massachusetts. Tlaib was born in Detroit, the daughter of Palestinian immigrants. Omar is the only one of the four born outside the United States, originally from Somalia, but her family sought and secured asylum in 1995 and she became a U.S. citizen in 2000. These women are all American citizens and were duly elected to their positions in Congress by their constituents. Referring to them in any other capacity is to engage in unadulterated bigotry.

Well, that is, unless you ask Republicans or the president himself. Trump’s initial “go back” rant directed at AOC et al. sparked international outrage and condemnation. In the aftermath, the hashtags #RacistInChief and #TrumpIsARacist were trending on Twitter and continue to be used as part of the ensuing conversation about his verbal assault on the first-term congressional quartet. All the while, most members of the GOP have defended Trump against claims he is a racist. He doesn’t have a racist bone in his body! He’s saying what many people are thinking! On the latter point, saying average Americans agree with Pres. Trump means that he’s not a racist is a logical fallacy. Popularity is not an indicator of moral rectitude.

On the Democratic side, meanwhile, the House voted 240 to 187 to condemn Trump’s use of racist language. All House Democrats recorded an “Aye” vote. Newly-minted independent Justin Amash joined them, as did Republicans Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania, Fred Upton of Michigan, Susan Brooks of Indiana, and Will Hurd of Texas. Of course, Nancy Pelosi was quick to specify that this was a vote to condemn Trump’s comments as racist, not the man himself. It would apparently be untoward to level such charges against him. Or to hold him accountable in any meaningful way. (But let’s bank on 2020 when we lost in 2016, right?)

Speaking of the Speaker of the House, it bears underscoring that it was her derisive remarks about Pressley, Tlaib, Omar, and Ocasio-Cortez which helped lead to the group receiving their unofficial nickname: “The Squad.” Back in November, Ocasio-Cortez posted a picture of the four of them together with the one-word caption “Squad” on Instagram. This moniker was invoked again by New York Times columnist Maureen Dowd in her profile earlier this month on Pelosi, in which the Democratic leader panned their vote against the House’s version of an emergency border funding bill, saying, “All these people have their public whatever and their Twitter world. But they didn’t have any following. They’re four people and that’s how many votes they got.”

Since then and notably following Trump’s personal attacks, the use of the Squad nickname has increased exponentially. The widespread employ of this term is not without some pushback, to be sure. Some might see it as appropriative, deprecating, or sexist. On the other hand, it might be conceived of as intentionally exclusive on the representatives’ part.

These four congresswomen, however, have clarified that their “squad” includes, as Rep. Pressley puts it, “any person committed to creating a more equitable and just world.” Which, in response to a piece by The Onion, evidently includes the octogenarian Bill Pascrell, my district’s representative. (Props, Bill, props.) By this definition, you or I might be considered members. It’s a concept with real grassroots appeal.

Trump’s harsh rhetoric hasn’t met with much approval outside his most ardent backers and his most shameless apologists on Capitol Hill and in the media. Moreover, his attempted claim that he denounced the “Send her back!” chant during the event is verifiably false, earning him further censure for trying to gaslight everyone.

As for Speaker Pelosi, her downplaying of The Squad’s influence as one segment in an ever-lengthening line of reprobation and dismissal of progressive Democrats has earned her scorn in her own right as out of touch, markedly from leftists and others who have remained critical of her steering of the Democratically-led House. If nothing else, her repudiation of these women of color and failure to come to their defense except when called out by the president is bad optics for a party that touts its diversity among its strengths. In fact, as Ocasio-Cortez believes, this pattern of behavior on Pelosi’s part doesn’t speak to some innocuous, unprejudiced treatment of The Squad—and she’s not alone in this assessment.

Through all of the slurs, the death threats, the denigration, and the lies hurled at these women, their commitment to their principles and their resolve hasn’t wavered. Consequently, their stars are only shining brighter. Rep. Omar, who received a hero’s welcome when she returned to her home state, addressed Trump’s vitriolic barbs directed at her, defiantly promising to be the “nightmare” the president has made her out to be. Hers was not a threat, but a warning: mess with The Squad and prepare to live with the consequences.


The comments Donald Trump made denigrating the members of The Squad and his refusal to squelch the chants of his attendees aimed at Ilhan Omar speak volumes about the president and the current state of the GOP. A common refrain from those paid to be in attendance and/or professionals within the political sphere (and thus presumably with at least a modicum of discernment apart from Trump’s faithful) as gleaned from social media was that it was one of the most frightening sights they had ever witnessed in the world of politics. Many of those same people felt a sense of dread, suggesting Trump was doing his best to get Rep. Omar killed. Other onlookers professed they’re beginning to understand how the atrocities of Nazi Germany could’ve happened from the very tenor of the event.

The few defections on the resolution about Trump’s racist language aside, Republicans’ inaction and silence on this front make one wonder what line could be crossed that would result in substantive intercedence on their part. For example, Lindsey Graham, one-time Trump critic, has apparently become a full-time sycophant, reversing course on the president after calling him a “race-baiting bigot” in 2015.

Mitch McConnell likewise defended Trump against allegations he is a racist, saying the president is “on to something” in his claims that these women want “to turn us into a socialist country,” dodging questions about the “Send her back!” chorus of nights earlier. Mitt Romney, in true Mitt Romney fashion, said Trump “crossed a line” but isn’t a racist. Marco Rubio. Ted Cruz. Paul Ryan, where was this semblance of a spine when you were Speaker of the House? Where is the conscience of these men, some of whom thought they could represent the entire country? Or was it all a big con, a ploy motivated by political opportunism? Can the same be asked of Trump and the Republican Party at large?

Lest we give the Democrats too much credit, leadership’s inability or unwillingness to rein in moderates bent on opposing the “far left” or defend The Squad against baseless accusations of anti-Semitism further emboldens Trump and his enablers. As far as the “Racist-in-Chief” is concerned, it may as well as be open season on Reps. Tlaib, Ocasio-Cortez, Pressley, and Omar. I mean this in terms of his wont to say anything he wants without fear of reprisal, but returning to reported instances of death threats and even a planned plot to kill Omar, he doesn’t need to pull the trigger. Putting a target on their backs is enough. The Democratic Party bears some culpability here beyond signing onto a toothless House resolution admonishing the president for spreading hate from his bully pulpit.

The ugliness of Pres. Trump’s remarks, whether or not it’s a distraction from the horror of the concentration camps at the border or Jeffrey Epstein’s depravity or the implications of the Mueller report, drives home the notion that representatives of both major parties sooner or later need to take a stand. Republicans must decide at what point political expediency has its limits, consider whether they’ve ceded full control of their party to a fascist, and confront what this arrangement means for the long-term viability of the GOP. Democrats have to face the possibility that waiting for 2020 could take too long, not to mention that standing for something—anything—signals to their base that their cause is worth fighting for. Not merely to be hyperbolic, but the future of these parties and the concept of American democracy as a going concern might just depend on it.

As suggested earlier, popularity doesn’t equate to moral rectitude nor does it necessarily translate to votes or other forms of political engagement. For Democrats and Republicans alike, though, going after The Squad is ill-advised. In the face of adversity, these women are proud inspirations to other political entrants like them. To underestimate them and their supporters is to underestimate the power that everyday people coming together at the grassroots level possess when fully realized. In the end, it could be a costly miscalculation to make.

Joseph Mangano

Joseph Mangano has been blogging for over 10 years in various forms. He once interned for Xanga as an editor and writer. He graduated with a BA in Psychology from Rutgers University, and an MBA in Accounting from William Paterson University. He resides in northern New Jersey, and has only once pumped his own gas. When not writing, he enjoys being part of an acoustic rock duo that never actually plays any shows, watching sports, and chasing Pokémon. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter at @JFMangano.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.