输入搜索

非洲 TRENDING-AFRICA

南非创纪录的银行欺诈行为在强化报告中公布

一家南非银行Venda Building Society的主席,利益相关者,员工和更多人在短短几年的时间里就承诺了100万新西兰元的欺诈行为。

一项调查揭示了南非历史上最令人震惊的银行欺诈案例。 在不到四年的时间里,文达建筑协会(VBS)银行毫不费力地偷走了20亿兰特(约合140百万美元)。 尽管毕马威担任世界领先的审计,税务和咨询服务公司之一,但几十名现已被耻辱的个人分享了现金,其中包括一位前毕马威合伙人,该银行使该银行陷入困境并迫使其受到监管。

前南非总统雅各布祖马涉嫌银行诈骗

VBS银行在1982成立,是一家完全由黑人拥有的金融机构。 在2018三月,南非储备银行(SARB)根据腐败和欺诈指控将其置于监管之下 在该国前总统雅各布祖马身上徘徊。 银行官员进行报复称,该银行正成为目标,因为其快速增长对大银行构成了威胁,更不用说它还完全是黑人所有。

SARB指控Terry Motau负责调查VBS的事务,并决定是否进行任何旨在欺骗客户的活动,其业务行为是否值得怀疑,以及其董事,股东是否存在任何不当行为,利益相关者,员工和其他人

在他的 报告,Motau说他对他的所有疑问都回答“是”感到震惊。

每个角落的腐败

该银行在遵循其“维持最高治理标准,地方赋权和道德规范”的既定价值观方面表现出不一致。

“VBS腐败,腐败到核心。 事实上,在任何一个权威职位上都没有一个人在某种程度上不是同谋,“莫图在他的报告中指出。

据透露,53人集体收到了大约140百万美元,该银行主席Tshifiwa Matodzi获得了约22百万美元的最大份额。

毕马威(KPMG)的合伙人西波马拉巴(Sipho Malaba)曾是VBS审计的个人主管,据透露,他已收到大约1千万美元的资金,以帮助掩盖银行的违规行为。

这一启示严重打击了毕马威作为世界四大审计公司之一的真实性。

VBS银行在南非的欺诈行为如何执行

为了使他们的罪行不受监视,肇事者采取了非常简单的措施,例如从未偿还的贷款。 该报告发现:

  • 最受剥削的方法是写汽车或房屋贷款。 然后,银行会对该贷款视而不见,等待收款人再次申请贷款,批准,再次视而不见,并且周期将继续。
  • 自65,000以来,每个收件人都以“每月至少$ 2015”“奖励”自己。 这些款项被糖衣涂成“无偿付款”而不是贿赂或偷来的钱。
  • Dudu Myeni基金会被透露为受益人。 在调查中,没有发现这样的实体存在,但是Motau推断它代表由Dudu Myeni主持的Jacob Zuma基金会。
  • 当毕马威发现并开始调查Sipho Malaba与VBS的欺诈交易时,他从银行获得了一封伪造的信件,在他继续收到“礼物”时将其免除了。

Motau建议对所有相关人员采取刑事诉讼,并将银行清盘。

当策展人的消息爆发时,惊慌失措的存款人已经排长队等待取消他们的积蓄。 向银行存入资金的市政当局也被迫大幅削减预算,此举将对其公民产生负面影响。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. Larry L. Cunningham 21-2018-XNUMX

    惊讶吗?

    回复
  2. 肖恩佩里 26-2018-XNUMX

    不知道这个部分是关于它关闭的部分因为它是黑色拥有的。 然后在列表回合5的主要原因,他们应该关闭,然后10更多的方式他们如何做到这一点。 听起来它只是需要在任何时候关闭

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Chairs, stakeholders, employees, and more of one South African bank, Venda Building Society, committed $2.4 million in fraud over the course of only a few years.

An investigation has revealed the most shocking instance of bank fraud in South African history. Two billion rand (about $140 million) was effortlessly stolen from Venda Building Society (VBS) Bank in less than four years. The cash was shared amongst a few dozen now disgraced individuals, including a former KPMG partner, who crippled the bank and forced it to go under curatorship – despite KPMG’s role as one of the world’s leading companies for auditing, tax, and advisory services.

Jacob Zuma, Former South African President Implicated in Bank Fraud

The VBS Bank was started in 1982 as a wholly black-owned financial institute. In March 2018, it was placed under curatorship by the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) after allegations of corruption and fraud, which had even roped in Jacob Zuma, the country’s former president. Bank officials retaliated saying the bank was being targeted because its fast growth was a threat to bigger banks, not to mention it was also fully black-owned.

Advocate Terry Motau was charged by SARB to investigate the affairs of VBS and to determine whether it carried out any activities with a deliberate intention of defrauding its customers, whether its business practices were questionable, and whether there were any misconducts by its directors, shareholders, stakeholders, staff and others.

In his report, Motau says he was shocked to have answered “yes” to all of his queries.

Corruption in Every Corner

The bank showed inconsistencies in following its stated values of “maintaining highest standards of governance, local empowerment and ethics.”

“VBS is corrupt and rotten to the core. Indeed, there is hardly a person in its employ in any position of authority who is not, in some way or other, complicit,” noted Motau in his report.

53 people were revealed to have collectively received about $140 million, with Tshifiwa Matodzi, the bank’s Chairperson, having received the largest share of about $22 million.

Sipho Malaba, a partner of KPMG, who had been the individual leading the audit of VBS, was revealed to have received about $2.3 million dollars to help cover up the bank’s irregularities.

This revelation has dealt a major blow to the authenticity of KPMG as one of the Big Four audit companies in the world.

How the  VBS Bank Fraud in South Africa was Executed

To keep their crimes acts under the radar, the perpetrators employed remarkably simple measures, such as loans which were then never paid back. The report found that:

  • The most exploited method was writing car or home loans. The bank would then turn a blind eye on that loan, wait for the recipient to make another loan application, approve, turn a blind eye again, and the cycle would continue.
  • Each of the recipients had been “rewarding” themselves with at least $65,000 per month since 2015. These monies were sugarcoated as “gratuitous payments” and not as bribes or stolen money.
  • A Dudu Myeni Foundation was revealed to be a beneficiary. Upon investigation, no such entity was found to be in existence but Motau deduced it to be representing the Jacob Zuma Foundation which is chaired by Dudu Myeni.
  • When KPMG discovered and started investigating Sipho Malaba’s fraudulent dealings with VBS, he acquired a fake letter from the bank which exonerated him as he continued to receive his “gifts.”

Motau recommends criminal action be taken against all those involved and the bank be wound up.

When news of the curatorship had broken out, panicked depositors had spent the night in long queues waiting to withdraw their savings. Municipals that had deposited their money with the bank have also been forced to drastically cut their budgets, a move that will negatively affect their citizens.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.