اكتب للبحث

حضاره

سيرة الاميرة ميغان ماركل قريباً تناقش الهوية والتحيز العنصري

سيرة ميغان ماركل

سيرة ميغان ماركليبدو الأمر وكأنه شيء خارج فيلم هوليوود: فتاة تكبر لتصبح ممثلة ... ثم تلتقي بأمير وتعمل على الزواج منه. ولكن هل هناك ما هو أكثر من هذه القصة التي لا تُحتمل فعلاً للممثلة الأمريكية ميغان ماركل التي من المقرر أن تتزوج من الأمير هاري الشهر المقبل؟

ربما تتخلى ماركل عن هوليود للانضمام إلى العائلة المالكة البريطانية الشهيرة ، لكن معاناتها التي نشأت في سن المراهقة في الولايات المتحدة بعيدة عن أن تكون غير شائعة.

يمكنك العثور على المزيد في سيرة ميغان ماركل الجديدة بعنوان "ميغان: أميرة هوليود" للمؤلفة أندرو مورتون ، الذي كتب أيضًا السيرة الشهيرة لوالدة الأمير هاري الراحل ديانا سبنسر ، "ديانا: قصتها الحقيقية"".

شاركت ميغان ماركل ، عروس العروس في هاري ، سابقًا في برنامج تلفزيوني "الدعاوى" لمدة سبعة مواسم وكذلك الأفلام تذكرني و مدراء سيئين جدا.

لا مفر منه ، يفصل الكتاب الجديد أيضًا تفاصيل كفاح الفتاة البالغة من العمر ستة وثلاثين مع هويتها العنصرية والتحيزات التي واجهتها ، ونشأت مع أم أمريكية من أصل أفريقي وأب قوقازي في لوس أنجلوس ، كاليفورنيا.

"في إحدى المناسبات ، أعلنت [مجموعة من الفتيات اللاتي يُطلق عليهن اسم" الفتيات المتوسطات "] عن بدء نادي" للبنات الأبيض فقط "وطلبت من ميغان الانضمام. 'هل تمزح معي؟' المؤلف ونقلت استجابة ميغان مقتضبة لزملائها التلاميذ.

وكتب مورتون "لقد ذهبوا هادئين للغاية بعد ذلك".

كان ماركل صوتي حول صراعاتها مع العرق والتحامل في الماضي. تنحدر والدتها من العبيد الأفارقة من ولاية جورجيا ، والدها من المستوطنين الهولندية والإنجليزية والإيرلندية.

مرة واحدة في المدرسة ، طُلب من Markle ملء استبيان ، لكن الخيارات الوحيدة للسباق كانت سوداء أو بيضاء أو من أصل إسباني أو آسيوي. قرر Markle ترك المربع فارغًا. عندما عادت إلى المنزل وأبلغت والدها بما حدث ، أخبرها أنها يجب أن تنشئ صندوقها الخاص في المرة القادمة.

في 2015 ، Markle أيضا مكبوت مقال ملهم على مدونة أسلوب حياتها The Tig. في منصبها ، تساءلت عن نوع العنصرية التي واجهها والداها عندما كانا أصغر سناً.

استذكرت لحظة حرجة من شبابها - الذي لم يكن يعود إلى أبعد من 1980s ، في لوس أنجلوس: "كنت أنا وأمي نغادر حفل موسيقي في هوليوود باول ، وسمتها امرأة الكلمة" ن "لأنها كانت تأخذ طويل جدًا للانسحاب من مكان وقوف السيارات. أتذكر كيف شعرت بشرتي الساخنة. كيف احترق الهواء من حولي ".

سيكون هناك دائمًا منتقدون للملكية البريطانية ينضم إليهم ميغان ماركل ، ويشككون في أهميتها في مجتمع ديمقراطي متزايد الحداثة. على الرغم من أن هذه نقطة صحيحة ، فإن العائلة المالكة تتكيف بوضوح مع العصر. التحق الأمير هاري ، البالغ من العمر ثلاثة وثلاثون عامًا وشقيقه الأكبر الأمير ويليام ، بالمدارس العامة ، واحتضنا حياة هادئة نسبيًا على الرغم من نسبهما ، وكلاهما لهما وسيزوجان نساء ليسوا من خلفيات ملكية أو أرستقراطية.

سوف العائلة المالكة دائما نداء إلى الناس الذين هم من عشاق التقاليد القديمة ونعم ، أبهة والظرف.

سيقام حفل زفاف الأمير هاري وميغان ماركل في مايو 19 ، 2018 في كنيسة القديس جورج ، قلعة وندسور في إنجلترا.

فيولا ديفيس تأخذ على فجوة الأجور للممثلة الأمريكية الأفريقية

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

Soon-to-be Princess Meghan Markle Biography Discusses Racial Identity & Prejudice

Meghan Markle Biography

Meghan Markle BiographyIt sounds like something right out of a Hollywood movie: a girl grows up to become an actress… then she meets a prince and is engaged to marry him. But is there more to this already improbable story of American actress Meghan Markle who is set to marry Prince Harry next month?

Markle may be giving up Hollywood to join the famed British royal family, but her struggles growing up biracial in the U.S. are far from uncommon.

You can find out more in a new Meghan Markle biography entitled “Meghan: A Hollywood Princess”, by author Andrew Morton, who also wrote the famed biography of Prince Harry’s late mother Diana Spencer, “Diana: Her True Story.” 

Harry’s bride-to-be Meghan Markle previously co-starred on the TV show “Suits” for seven seasons as well as the movies Remember Me and Horrible Bosses.

Unavoidably, the new book also details the thirty-six-year-old’s struggles with her racial identity and prejudices she encountered, growing up with an African-American mother and Caucasian father in Los Angeles, California.

“On one occasion, [a group of so-called ‘mean girls’] announced they were starting a ‘White Girls Only’ club and asked Meghan to join. ‘Are you kidding me?’ the author quoted Meghan’s succinct response to her fellow pupils.

“They went very quiet after that,” Morton wrote.

Markle has been vocal about her struggles with race and prejudice in the past. Her mother is descended from African slaves from the state of Georgia, and her father is from Dutch, English, and Irish settlers.

Once while in school, Markle was asked to fill out a questionnaire, but the only options for the race were black, white, Hispanic or Asian. Markle decided to leave the box blank. When she went home and told her dad about what happened, he told her that she should just create her own box next time.

In 2015, Markle also penned an inspirational essay on her lifestyle blog The Tig. In her post, she wondered what kind of racism her parents faced when they were still younger.

She recalled a searing moment from her youth—which was no further back than the 1980s, in Los Angeles: “My mom and I were leaving a concert at The Hollywood Bowl, and a woman called her the ‘N’ word because she was taking too long to pull out of the parking spot. I remember how hot my skin felt. How it scorched the air around me.”

There will always be detractors to the British monarchy that Meghan Markle is joining, questioning their relevance in an increasingly modern, democratic society. Although that is a valid point, the royal family is clearly adapting with the times. Thirty-three-year-old Prince Harry and his older brother Prince William have attended public schools, embraced relatively quiet lives in spite of their lineage, and both have and will wed women who are not from royal or aristocratic backgrounds.

The royal family will always appeal to people who are fans of age-old tradition and yes, pomp and circumstance.

The wedding of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle will take place on May 19, 2018 at St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle in England.

 

Viola Davis Takes On The Pay Gap For African American Actresses

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.