输入搜索

公司文化

即将成为公主梅根马克尔传记讨论种族身份和偏见

梅根马克尔传记

梅根马克尔传记这听起来好像是好莱坞电影中的一部分:一个女孩长大后成为一名演员......然后她遇到了一位王子,并订婚嫁给了他。 但是这个已经不可能的美国女演员梅根马克尔的故事还有更多,她下个月将与哈里王子结婚吗?

马克可能会放弃好莱坞加入这个着名的英国王室,但她在美国成长为混血儿的斗争远非罕见。

你可以在一本名为“Meghan:好莱坞公主”的新梅根马克尔传记中找到更多信息,作者安德鲁莫顿,他也写了着名的哈里王子已故母亲戴安娜斯宾塞的传记,“戴安娜:她的真实故事

哈利的未来新娘梅根马克尔曾出演电视节目“西装”七个季节以及电影 记住我 可怕的老板.

不可否认的是,这本新书还详细介绍了这位36岁的她与她遇到的种族身份和偏见的斗争,与在加利福尼亚州洛杉矶的非裔美国人母亲和白人父亲一起成长。

“有一次,[一群所谓的'卑鄙女孩''宣布他们正在开办一个”白人女孩“俱乐部并要求梅根加入。 '你在跟我开玩笑吗?' 作者 梅根对她的同学们的简洁回应。

“他们之后非常安静,”莫顿写道。

马克尔一直都是 声音的 关于她过去与种族和偏见的斗争。 她的母亲是来自佐治亚州的非洲奴隶的后裔,她的父亲来自荷兰,英国和爱尔兰定居者。

有一次在学校,Markle被要求填写一份调查问卷,但比赛的唯一选择是黑人,白人,西班牙裔或亚洲人。 马克尔决定把盒子留空。 当她回家告诉她爸爸发生了什么事时,他告诉她她下次应该创建自己的盒子。

在2015中,Markle也是 执笔 她生活方式博客The Tig的一篇鼓舞人心的文章。 在她的帖子中,她想知道她的父母在他们还年轻时面临什么样的种族主义。

她回忆起她年轻时的一个灼热时刻 - 这在洛杉矶没有比1980更晚了:“我妈妈和我在好莱坞露天剧场离开了一场音乐会,一位女士称她为'N'字,因为她正在服用太长时间没有拉出停车位。 我记得我的皮肤感觉有多热。 它是如何烧焦我周围的空气的。“

梅根·马克尔(Meghan Markle)将加入英国君主制,他们总是会批评他们在日益现代化的民主社会中的相关性。 虽然这是一个有效的观点,但王室显然正在适应时代。 三十三岁的哈里王子和他的哥哥威廉王子已经上过公立学校,尽管他们的血统仍然相当平静,但他们已经并且将会嫁给非皇室或贵族背景的女性。

王室将永远吸引那些忠于古老传统的人,是的,盛况和环境。

哈里王子和梅根马克尔的婚礼将于5月19,2018在英国温莎城堡的圣乔治教堂举行。

维奥拉戴维斯承担了非洲裔美国女演员的薪酬差距

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Soon-to-be Princess Meghan Markle Biography Discusses Racial Identity & Prejudice

Meghan Markle Biography

Meghan Markle BiographyIt sounds like something right out of a Hollywood movie: a girl grows up to become an actress… then she meets a prince and is engaged to marry him. But is there more to this already improbable story of American actress Meghan Markle who is set to marry Prince Harry next month?

Markle may be giving up Hollywood to join the famed British royal family, but her struggles growing up biracial in the U.S. are far from uncommon.

You can find out more in a new Meghan Markle biography entitled “Meghan: A Hollywood Princess”, by author Andrew Morton, who also wrote the famed biography of Prince Harry’s late mother Diana Spencer, “Diana: Her True Story.” 

Harry’s bride-to-be Meghan Markle previously co-starred on the TV show “Suits” for seven seasons as well as the movies Remember Me and Horrible Bosses.

Unavoidably, the new book also details the thirty-six-year-old’s struggles with her racial identity and prejudices she encountered, growing up with an African-American mother and Caucasian father in Los Angeles, California.

“On one occasion, [a group of so-called ‘mean girls’] announced they were starting a ‘White Girls Only’ club and asked Meghan to join. ‘Are you kidding me?’ the author quoted Meghan’s succinct response to her fellow pupils.

“They went very quiet after that,” Morton wrote.

Markle has been vocal about her struggles with race and prejudice in the past. Her mother is descended from African slaves from the state of Georgia, and her father is from Dutch, English, and Irish settlers.

Once while in school, Markle was asked to fill out a questionnaire, but the only options for the race were black, white, Hispanic or Asian. Markle decided to leave the box blank. When she went home and told her dad about what happened, he told her that she should just create her own box next time.

In 2015, Markle also penned an inspirational essay on her lifestyle blog The Tig. In her post, she wondered what kind of racism her parents faced when they were still younger.

She recalled a searing moment from her youth—which was no further back than the 1980s, in Los Angeles: “My mom and I were leaving a concert at The Hollywood Bowl, and a woman called her the ‘N’ word because she was taking too long to pull out of the parking spot. I remember how hot my skin felt. How it scorched the air around me.”

There will always be detractors to the British monarchy that Meghan Markle is joining, questioning their relevance in an increasingly modern, democratic society. Although that is a valid point, the royal family is clearly adapting with the times. Thirty-three-year-old Prince Harry and his older brother Prince William have attended public schools, embraced relatively quiet lives in spite of their lineage, and both have and will wed women who are not from royal or aristocratic backgrounds.

The royal family will always appeal to people who are fans of age-old tradition and yes, pomp and circumstance.

The wedding of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle will take place on May 19, 2018 at St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle in England.

 

Viola Davis Takes On The Pay Gap For African American Actresses

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.