输入搜索

同行新闻

牙买加的塑料袋禁令如何实施

西红柿在塑料袋里
(照片:)
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

塑料袋禁令于1月1st 2019上市,表明政府正在向可持续发展迈进。

在2019上,牙买加将过渡到对一次性塑料袋,吸管和泡沫聚苯乙烯的彻底禁令。 经过多年塑料袋的大量使用,这一里程碑来临,造成了风景和环境的灾难性影响。 从历史上看,牙买加是世界上人均一次性塑料最大的问题之一。

该禁令涵盖一次性塑料的制造,分销或进口,并包括使用“丑闻”袋 - 用于分发潜在可耻材料的不透明袋。

马修萨缪达

此举是在牙买加政府最年轻的成员之一多年的竞选活动之后举行的。 Matthew Samuda是金斯敦的终身居民,拥有创业背景和当地政府。 通过他在牙买加建立第一家全方位服务回收公司的基础,他能够确定问题的严重程度。

在他的商业投资之后,他被任命为32的议会上院,这使他成为政府中最年轻的参议员之一。 很快,他就国家如何管理废物做出了根本改变。

牙买加参议院

在2016的7月份,Samuda先生站在参议院面前,提议禁止进口50加仑以下的塑料袋,并严禁禁止使用发泡胶产品。 他承认存在一个普遍存在的问题,不仅仅是制造和分销不可生物降解的物品,而是公众的看法。

他前往提出一项动议,试图减少不含生物降解酶的塑料的生产。 与此同时,人们认识到岛上的废物问题不会通过单一行动解决,而是通过一系列改变公民和公众态度的政策来解决。

自那时以来的举措得到了整个政治领域的广泛支持,包括议会的反对派。 这有助于政府保持前瞻性,而不是用作政治足球。

牙买加的能量组合

在动议之后,政府作为一个整体支持它。 总理在一项具有里程碑意义的举动中表示,他致力于平衡经济增长,同时确保严格控制对环境保护不利的因素。

在首相的支持下,萨姆达先生有机会召集政府利益相关者机构努力寻求共同解决方案。 经过一段时间的强烈否定和对经济因素的审查,以及与受影响的各个行业的接触,政府已经推动了这些变化。

至关重要的是,总理在2018宣布能源组合政策会有所改变。 他表示,政府将努力实现50的可再生能源供应目标2030%,高于20%。目前的能源结构严重依赖石油,其进口量超过了出口商品的价值。

这意味着价格出现波动。 有人呼吁加大对可再生能源的投资,以打击该国对进口能源的依赖。 一些人建议对可再生能源生产商征收优惠关税,并对支持风能和太阳能的基础设施进行彻底改革。 甚至有人呼吁利用甘蔗生产中产生的能量,利用甘蔗生产的高能量副产品甘蔗渣。

禁令

塑料袋禁令于1月1st 2019上市,表明政府正在向可持续发展迈进。 环保组织,例如提出上述建议的环保组织,对此举表示欢迎。

禁令本身不仅涵盖小于24×24英寸的塑料袋,还包括塑料吸管和泡沫塑料。 政府部队表示,人们普遍努力推广可重复使用的运输袋,特别是当地企业生产的运输袋。

但是,对于用于维护公共卫生或食品安全标准的一次性塑料有豁免。 这些包括医疗设备和储存以及用于包装生肉和其他高风险食品的塑料。 聚苯乙烯泡沫塑料现在被广泛禁止,但有一个系统允许本地制造商申请豁免,直到2021。

行业回应

也许不出所料,对禁令提出的担忧来自制造业。 由于历史上依赖一次性塑料包装和分销商品,业内人士担心该措施对行业的经济影响。

然而,政府已经通过向行业提供资金来缓解这种转变来回应这种担忧。 人们认识到制造业需要时间来改变其方法,而且财务专门用于行业的“重组”。

相比之下,该禁令已被旅游业所预示。 牙买加以其阳光明媚的海滩和美丽的海洋生物而闻名,一次性塑料的影响既美观又环保。

出于这个原因,牙买加酒店和旅游协会以及该国的各种酒店集团正式支持此举。 例如,Sandals集团的酒店已将政策扩展到整个加勒比地区的所有酒店。

公众参与

禁令的一个主要因素是公众如何参与其中。 Matthew Samuda表示,这一变化需要公民的支持。 总体而言,人们对塑料对环境的影响有了更深入的了解,但打击塑料的实际情况往往使转型变得困难。

公众主要担心的是废物的安全处置。 已经被禁止使用的袋子广泛用于处理生活垃圾,许多人担心他们现在在这方面几乎没有选择。 该政策通过免除用于废物处理的袋子来解决这个问题。“

但是,牙买加政府非常重视有关环境参与的公共教育。 这不仅意味着在学校推出的计划,而且意味着一项关键的咨询政策,以确保广大公众了解情况的紧迫性。

标签:
Michael Dehoyos

Michael Dehoyos是一位内容营销人员和编辑,可以在两者中找到 AcademicBrits 博士王国。 他只喜欢协助公司制定营销战略概念,他的作品和思考也可以在 起源写作.

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

How Jamaica’s Plastic Bag Ban Has Been Implemented

tomatoes in plastic bags
(Photo: Pixabay)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

The plastic bag ban, which came into place on January 1st, 2019, shows that the government is making strident moves towards sustainability.

Over 2019, Jamaica will be making the transition to an outright ban on single-use plastic bags, straws, and styrofoam. The landmark comes after many years of high use of plastic bags, resulting in catastrophic effects of scenery and environment. Historically, Jamaica has had one of the biggest problems with single-use plastic per capita in the world.

The ban covers the manufacture, distribution or importation of single-use plastic, and includes the use of ‘scandal’ bags – opaque bags used in the distribution of potentially scandalous materials.

Matthew Samuda

The move comes after many years of campaigning from one of the Jamaican government’s youngest members. Matthew Samuda, a lifelong resident of Kingston, has a background in entrepreneurship, as well as local government. It was through his foundation of the first full-service recycling company in Jamaica that he has been able to identify the scale of the problem.

Following his business ventures, he was appointed to the Upper House of Parliament at just 32, which made him one of the youngest senators in government. Very quickly he made his case for radical change in how the country manages its waste.

Jamaican Senate

In July of 2016, Mr. Samuda stood before the Senate and proposed a ban on the importation of plastic bags below 50 gallons and an outright ban on styrofoam products. He acknowledged a widespread problem, not just in the manufacture and distribution of non-biodegradable items, but in the public perception.

He went forward to table a motion which sought to curtail the production of plastic which did not include biodegrading enzymes. Along with this was the recognition that the problem of waste on the island would not be solved by a single action but a series of policies to change civic and public attitudes.

The moves since then have received widespread support across the whole political spectrum, including the Parliamentary opposition. This has helped the government to maintain forward traction, rather than be used as a political football.

Jamaica’s Energy Mix

Following the motion, the government as a whole threw its weight behind it. In a landmark move, the Prime Minister stated his commitment to balancing economic growth whilst ensuring a rigorous control of elements detrimental to environmental protection.

With the Prime Minister’s support, Mr. Samuda was given the opportunity to rally government stakeholder agencies to work towards a common solution. Following a period of intense negation and scrutiny of economic factors, as well as engagement with the various industries affected, the government has pushed ahead with the changes.

Crucially, in 2018 the Prime Minister announced that there would be a change in Energy Mix policy. He stated that government would make efforts towards a renewable energy supply target of 50% by 2030, up from 20% The current energy mix is heavily dependent on oil, the import of which is 2010 exceeded the value of exported goods.

This has meant there has been price fluctuation. There have been calls for greater investment in renewable to combat the country’s reliance on imported energy sources. Some have suggested preferential tariffs for renewable energy producers, and a radical change in infrastructure to support wind and solar. There have even been calls to harness the energy created in sugar cane production, utilizing Bagasse, a high energy by-product of sugar cane production.”

The Ban

The plastic bag ban, which came into place on January 1st, 2019, shows that the government is making strident moves towards sustainability. Environmental groups, such as those who put forward the suggestions above, have welcomed the move.

The ban itself covers not just plastic bags smaller than 24×24 inches, but plastic straws and styrofoam. Governmental forces have stated that there is a widespread effort to promote reusable carrier bags, particularly those produced by local enterprises.

There are exemptions, however, on the single-use plastic which is used to maintain public health or food safety standards. These include medical equipment and storage as well as the plastic used to package raw meat and other high-risk food produce. Styrofoam is now widely prohibited, but there is a system in place which allows local manufacturers to apply for an exemption until 2021.

Industry Responses

Perhaps unsurprisingly, concerns raised about the ban have come from the Manufacturing industry. With a historic reliance on single-use plastic to package and distribute goods, individuals in the industry are worried about the economic impact of the measure on the industry.

However, the government has responded to the concern by making finances available to the industry to ease the transition. There is a recognition that the Manufacturing industry will need time to change its methods, and the finances are specifically dedicated to the ‘retooling’ of the industry.

In contrast, the ban has been heralded by the Tourism industry. Jamaica is known for its sunny beaches and beautiful marine life, and the impact of single-use plastic has been aesthetic as well as environmental.

For this reason, the Jamaica Hotel and Tourism Association, as well as various hotel groups in the country have formally supported the move. The Sandals group of hotels, for instance, have expanded the policy to all their hotels throughout the Caribbean.

Public Engagement

A major factor in the ban is how the public engages with it. Matthew Samuda has stated that the change has required the support of the citizens. Overall, there has been a greater understanding of the impact of plastic on the environment, but the practicalities of combatting it often make the transition difficult.

A major concern from the public has been the safe disposal of waste. The bags which have fallen under the ban have had widespread use in the disposal of domestic waste, and many worry that they will now have few options in this respect. This policy has accommodated the problem by exempting bags used for waste disposal.”

However, the Jamaican government has placed great importance on public education regarding environmental engagement. This has meant not just programs rolled out in schools but a critical consultation policy to ensure that the public at large understands the urgency of the situation.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.