输入搜索

在焦点 - 国家 国家

跨国公司如何利用发展中国家的财富来预算

超过11.5百万份文件在巴拿马文件中泄露,其中披露了精心设计的逃税计划。
超过11.5百万份文件在巴拿马文件中泄露,其中披露了精心设计的逃税计划。 (图片:FNPI,Flickr)

避税天堂是“全球体系的核心,它允许大公司和富人避免支付其公平份额,剥夺政府,富人和穷人提供重要公共服务所需的资源,并解决不断加剧的不平等问题。”

美国国家税务局(IRS)在2017将亚马逊公司(Amazon.com Inc.)提交法院审理转让定价差异。 在2005和2006,这家跨国科技公司向卢森堡的避税天堂转移了255百万美元的特许权使用费,但根据美国国税局,这些特许权使用费应该达到3.5十亿美元。 这种转让定价调整将使亚马逊的联邦纳税额增加超过 的美元1亿元。 即使对于美国这个拥有良好(虽然都在减弱)基础设施的国家来说,联邦税收中的大量现金损失也是巨大的。 以密歇根州弗林特的水危机为例 - 如果该城市的估计成本为 55 百万加元 为了更换管道是准确的,那么亚马逊的纳税可以使100,000居民免于铅中毒18次。

当出口国遭受税收大幅减少时,供水并不是唯一的基础设施问题。 教育,医院,电信和道路也在下降。 而在发展中国家 - 那些承受最严重的转移和贸易错误定价的国家 - 这种基础设施往往从未正确建造。 相反,急需的现金是坐在避税天堂。

这位匿名举报人在2015中泄露了我们现在称为“巴拿马文件”的11.5百万份文件。 宣言 “收入不平等”是他们揭示避税天堂创造的金融滥用程度的动机。 举报人关注的一个主要问题是避税天堂在地球表面“转移” - 巴拿马论文中引用了214,000离岸实体。 巴拿马文件发布后,“转移”肯定会继续 - 仅仅两年之后,a 美国PIRG研究 发现73百分之百的财富500公司经营9,755避税天堂子公司。 避税天堂的问题并非在一夜之间形成; 事实上,举报人在他的2006中呼应美国乐施会前总裁Raymond C. Offenheiser 避税天堂的描述 作为“全球体系的核心,允许大公司和富裕人士避免支付其公平份额,剥夺政府,富人和穷人提供重要公共服务所需的资源,并解决不断加剧的不平等问题。”

避税天堂是地缘政治的 恶梦和转移定价是一个合法的会计技巧,以赚钱进入避税天堂。

转移错误定价避税

跨国公司有各种各样的避税游戏:转移错误定价,滥用转让定价,贸易误报,基础侵蚀和利润转移(BEPS)以及重新开票 - 它们都属于贸易错误定价的范畴,或者在国际层面故意伪造交易,并且是使旧的殖民关系继续生产的过程。 可以说,这种欺骗性做法的多重性是其无处不在的证据,但“盗窃”也可以取代任何这些头衔。

错误或重新开票的短期目标各不相同。 在某些情况下,预期的结果是避免资本控制(新兴市场常用的策略) 减少 快速现金流出)。 在其他情况下,错误发票的动机是要求税收优惠或避免缴税。 一般来说,该计划是这样的:将利润从高税收国家转移到低税收国家或避税天堂,同时确保将大部分费用分配给高税收国家。

在2015,全球金融诚信(GFI)发布了一份 研究 显示,在2013中,由于贸易错误定价,每年从发展中国家偷走每年大约10亿美元的1.1万亿美元。 如果你想知道为什么发展中国家的发展似乎相当缓慢,这就是答案的重要部分。 每天在应纳税收入中损失的3亿美元引发了一个问题:“公司实践”只是合法盗窃吗?

消耗税基,使贫困永久化

转让定价 - 跨国企业之间或之内交易的商品定价 - 是一种法律实践,也是跨境和公司内部交易的关键特征。 联合国倾向于使用更广泛的“贸易定价”来解决这一做法,并将其定义为“正常事件 多国企业(MNEs)的运营情况。“因为”事件“这个词引起了人们的关注,所以不应该被忽视。 转让定价最具破坏性的后果之一是,国际交易现在受跨国公司集团“关联企业”的共同利益所制约。 也就是说,市场力量不再控制交易,因为在转让定价的允许下,全球贸易的比例越来越高(这包括商品和服务,资本和无形商品或知识产权的国际转移)现在作为内部发生附属实体之间的做法。

从理论上讲,内部转移定价应遵循公平交易原则。 这一原则遵循这样一种观点,即转让价格应该被控制和记录,好像内部交易发生在独立实体之间,或者是“公平交易”。但就像美国国税局针对亚马逊网站的案例所显示的那样,证明公平交易的长度并不那么简单。 因此,虽然“手臂长度原则”非常适合写入(巴西上市 作为唯一没有提及公平原则的国内立法或法规的国家,即使经济合作与发展组织(经合组织)和联合国的研究也认识到这一原则很难实施。

经济合作与发展组织(OECD)和G20国家首次起草“无法忽视公司滥用转让定价的难易程度”BEPS行动计划“在2013中,作为更广泛努力的一部分,以提高税务管理部门的透明度,以评估转让定价。 基本的侵蚀和利润转移在很大程度上破坏了任何税收制度的完整性。 但是,为个人纳税人和政府创建的直接“伤害”BEPS只是实施2013行动计划动机的一部分。 另一个激励因素是企业面临的风险增加,包括MNE在其有效税率被视为“太低”的情况下的风险,因为它会阻碍,在本地,“公平竞争”的公司仅在那些公司运作国内市场。 由于后一种动机,该计划应该预期的承诺很少,因为它始终关注为跨国公司带来的风险。

除了潜在的声誉风险,公司战略性地定价交易或转移利润的动机是避免税收或关税。 激励是保护财富。 虽然没有单一的方法来避免纳税和会费,但有一个必要的组成部分:避税天堂子公司。

创建财富政治庇护网络的艺术

避税天堂子公司作为现金渠道运输应税利润,其目标是降低或者,如果您是亚马逊公司,则完全避免纳税。 但是,一家公司在避税天堂的子公司需要经济实惠才能获得现金保障。 以亚马逊在卢森堡使用的Goldcrest方法为例。 它将其美国母公司持有的知识产权(或无形资产)转移到其子公司亚马逊力士(Amazon Lux)。 该子公司随后在国际销售中免税收取特许权使用费。 同样,谷歌和宜家决定利用其在荷兰的子公司进行“走向荷兰”的举动。

“Swiss Sidestep”是另一种税收游戏,而不是版税,“管理服务费”是关键因素。 通过向欧洲避税天堂的姊妹公司支付增值服务费,公司可以通过将利润转换为费用来“支持”纳税。 当然,当然,公司可以在毛里求斯岛上获得隐私和保护 - 通过“毛里求斯机动”,一个人可以将现金发送到毛里求斯以避免所得税,然后将其带回 - 无需追查 - 是“外国投资”。

构成现金跨境合法流动的这些虚构叙述中的每一个都有一个共同的主题:财富保护,因此也就是贫困生产。

转移定价的殖民统一

事实并非某些行业比其他行业更容易转移错误定价,甚至发达国家也不会受到这种操纵性商业行为的影响 - 美国国税局针对亚马逊的案例就是一个很好的例子。 但是,发展中国家更容易受到转移错误定价的影响。 假设一家公司从巴布亚新几内亚(PNG)提取2兆吨(MT)钴,然后以每公斤2美元的价格出口1 MT(或5百万公斤),但是通过毛里求斯进口到加拿大或荷兰 - 同样的2钴钴价格为10美元。 PNG的结果是5万美元的税收损失。 即使只有5百分比的税率与这些适度和富有想象力的数字,PNG的250,000损失也很重要。

贸易和转移错误定价对发展中国家的影响不仅仅是货币。 还有一系列道德效应。 例如,在假设的巴布亚新几内亚情景中,这种操纵性商业行为引起的一个明显的担忧是,巴布亚新几内亚人民在某种程度上不了解自己资源的价值。

因此,贸易错误定价会使人们与自己的地方疏远,并且类似于工人与其产品的异化。 必须提出一个红旗,以确定价格差异的心理影响,这些差异表明钴在某种程度上在巴布亚新几内亚境内的价值低于加拿大或比利时。

这两个问题的组合或交叉 - 这些货币和道德效应 - 证明了贸易和转移(错误)定价,跨国公司的症结 - 是持续的殖民宿醉的症状。 解药? 制定严格和可执行的法规,使一个国家的经济主权不以牺牲另一个国家的资源主权为代价。


这篇文章是由 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Tanya Rawal-Jindia

Tanya Rawal-Jindia是Tricontinental的研究员:社会研究所。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 12, 2019

    Plutocracy =贪婪= myoopia =“衰落”。

    回复
  2. 拉里斯托特 July 14, 2019

    “发展中国家”是现代写作中流行的委婉语之一。 似乎有一种暗示,即一些改善的状况即将到来。

    真? 我们怎么知道它们何时变得“发达”? 森林砍伐完成后? 当公民可以自由地投票选择“他们选择”的富豪。 每个人都有智能手机+某人的反导弹+核武器+少数亿万富翁+贫困和无家可归=“发达”?

    进化是一个真正普遍的原则,进化总是涉及灭绝 - 恒星死亡,物种不复存在。 我们人类喜欢把自己想象成无限宇宙中的某种恒星。 我想这会让黑猩猩成为一颗矮星。 黑猩猩和人类都将加入死星和灭绝物种的行列; 这是时间问题,而不是问题。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

In Focus-National NATIONAL

How Multinationals Pad Their Budgets With the Wealth of Developing Countries

Over 11.5 million documents were leaked in the Panama Papers which revealed elaborate schemes of tax evasion.
Over 11.5 million documents were leaked in the Panama Papers which revealed elaborate schemes of tax evasion. (Photo: FNPI, Flickr)

Tax havens are “the core of a global system that allows large corporations and wealthy individuals to avoid paying their fair share, depriving governments, rich and poor, of the resources they need to provide vital public services and tackle rising inequality.”

Amazon.com Inc. was brought to court by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in 2017 for transfer pricing discrepancies. In 2005 and 2006, the multinational tech company transferred $255 million in royalty payments to its tax haven in Luxembourg, but according to the IRS these royalty payments should have amounted to $3.5 billion. This transfer pricing adjustment would have increased Amazon’s federal tax payments by more than $1 billion. Even for the U.S., a country with decent (although waning) infrastructure, the loss of this much cash in federal tax revenue is substantial. Take for instance the water crisis in Flint, Michigan—if the city’s estimated costs of $55 million to replace the pipes are accurate, then Amazon’s tax payments could have saved the 100,000 residents from lead poisoning 18 times over.

Water supply is not the only infrastructural problem that arises when export countries suffer from a dramatic loss of tax revenue. Education, hospitals, telecommunications, and roads also decline. And in developing countries—the countries that endure the most severe backlashes of transfer and trade mispricing—this infrastructure is often never properly constructed in the first place. The much-needed cash is, instead, sitting in a tax haven.

The anonymous whistleblower who, in 2015, leaked the 11.5 million documents that we now know as the “Panama Papers” shared in a manifesto that “income inequality” was their motivation in revealing the levels of financial abuse that tax havens create. A key concern for the whistleblower is that tax havens are “metastasizing” across the earth’s surface—214,000 offshore entities are cited in the Panama Papers. The “metastasizing” certainly continued after the release of the Panama Papers—just two years later, a U.S. PIRG study found that 73 percent of the Fortune 500 companies operated 9,755 tax haven subsidiaries. The problem of tax havens did not form overnight; in fact, the whistleblower echoes Raymond C. Offenheiser, the former president of Oxfam America, in his 2006 description of tax havens as being “the core of a global system that allows large corporations and wealthy individuals to avoid paying their fair share, depriving governments, rich and poor, of the resources they need to provide vital public services and tackle rising inequality.”

Tax havens are a geopolitical nightmare, and transfer pricing is a legal accounting trick to get money into tax havens.

Tax Avoidance By Transfer Mispricing

There’s a wide range of these kinds of tax avoidance games played by multinationals: Transfer mispricing, abusive transfer pricing, trade misinvoicing, base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS), and re-invoicing—they all fall under the umbrella of trade mispricing, or the intentional falsification of transactions on an international level, and are the process that has allowed the old colonial relations of productions to continue. Arguably, the polynymity of this deceptive practice is evidence of its ubiquity, but “thievery” could just as well replace any of these titles.

The short-term goals for mis- or re-invoicing vary. In some cases the desired outcome is to dodge capital controls (a strategy commonly used in emerging markets to reduce rapid cash outflows). In other cases, the incentive for misinvoicing is to claim tax incentives or avoid paying duty. Generally, the scheme is this: shift profits out of high tax countries and into low tax countries, or tax havens, while ensuring that the majority of the expenses are assigned to high tax countries.

In 2015, Global Financial Integrity (GFI) published a study revealing that in 2013 an astounding US$1.1 trillion was stolen annually—or nearly $3 billion a day—from developing countries due to trade mispricing. If you wonder why developing countries seem rather slow to develop, here’s a big part of the answer. The head-spinning loss of $3 billion a day in taxable revenue begs the question: is “corporate practice” simply legal thievery?

Depleting the Tax Base, Perpetuating Poverty

Transfer pricing—the pricing of commodities traded between or within multinational enterprises—is a legal practice and a key feature of cross-border and intra-firm transactions. The United Nations prefers to use the broader phrase “trade pricing” in addressing this practice and defines it as a “normal incident of the operations of multinational enterprises (MNEs).” Because the word “incident” evokes concern, it should not go unnoticed. One of the most disruptive consequences of transfer pricing is that international transactions are now governed by the common interests of the “associated enterprises” of an MNE group. That is, market forces no longer control the transactions because with the allowance of transfer pricing, an increasing percentage of global trade (this includes the international transfer of goods and services, capital, and intangible goods, or intellectual property) now occurs as an internal practice between affiliated entities.

Theoretically, internal transfer pricing is supposed to follow the arm’s length principle. This principle follows the idea that transfer prices should be controlled and recorded as if internal trades were happening amongst independent entities, or at “arm’s length.” But like the IRS case against Amazon.com reveals, proving arm’s length is not so straightforward. So while the “arm’s length principle” is very much written into place (Brazil is listed as the only country without domestic legislation or regulation that makes reference to the arm’s length principle), even research from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the United Nations recognize that this principle is very much impossible to implement.

Unable to ignore the ease with which a company could engage in abusive transfer pricing, the OECD and the G20 countries first drafted the “BEPS Action Plan” in 2013 as part of a broader effort to enhance transparency for tax administrations to assess transfer pricing. At large, base erosion and profit shifting undermine the integrity of any tax system. But the direct “harm” BEPS created for individual taxpayers and governments was only part of the motivation for implementing the 2013 action plan. The other motivating factor was the added risk to businesses, including the risk to an MNE’s reputation in the event its effective tax rate was viewed as being “too low” as it would impede, locally, “fair competition” for corporations functioning only in those domestic markets. With this latter motivation, little promise ought to be expected from the plan as it maintains a focus on risks brought to MNEs.

Setting potential reputation risks aside, the incentive for companies to strategically misprice trade or shift their profits is to avoid tax or duty payments. The incentive is to shield wealth. And while there is no single way to avoid tax payments and dues, there is one necessary component: tax haven subsidiaries.

The Art of Creating Political Asylum Networks for Wealth

Tax haven subsidiaries function as cash canals to transport taxable profits with the goal of lowering or, if you are Amazon Inc., entirely avoiding tax payments. But a company’s subsidiary in a tax haven requires financial sleights of hand to get the cash safe. Take for instance the Goldcrest method Amazon used in Luxembourg. It shifted its intellectual property rights (or intangibles) that were held by its U.S. parent company to its subsidiary, Amazon Lux. The subsidiary then collected royalties tax-free on international sales. Google and Ikea, similarly, decided to play the “Going Dutch” move, using their subsidiaries in the Netherlands.

The “Swiss Sidestep” is another tax play, and rather than royalty payments, “management service fees” are the key element. By paying a value-added service fee to a sister company in a European tax haven, a company can “side-step” tax payments by converting profits into fees. And, then, of course, there is the privacy and protection that a company gets on the island of Mauritius—with the “Mauritius Maneuver” a person can send their cash to Mauritius to avoid income tax and then bring it back—without a trace—as “foreign investment.”

Each of these fictional narratives that frame the legal movement of cash across borders has one theme in common: wealth protection and, therefore, poverty production.

The Colonial Undertones of Transfer Pricing

It is not the case that some industries are more prone than others to transfer mispricing, or even that developed countries are immune to this manipulative business practice—the IRS case against Amazon is a great example of this. But, it is the case that developing countries are more vulnerable to the impact of transfer mispricing. Suppose a company extracts 2 megatons (MT) of cobalt from Papua New Guinea (PNG) and then exports the 2 MT (or 1 million kilograms) at the price of US$5 per kilogram, but imports into Canada—by way of Mauritius or the Netherlands—the same 2 MT of cobalt at the price of US$10. The result for PNG is the loss of tax revenue on $5 million. Even at a mere 5 percent tax rate with these modest and imaginative figures, a loss of US$250,000 for PNG is significant.

The impact of trade and transfer mispricing on developing countries is not just monetary. There is a series of moral effects as well. In the hypothetical PNG scenario, for instance, one glaring concern that arises from this manipulative business practice is the implication that the people of PNG are somehow unaware of the value of their own resources.

Trade mispricing, then, alienates people from their own place, and in a manner similar to a worker’s alienation from their product. A red flag must be raised to the psychological impact of pricing discrepancies that suggest cobalt, somehow, has a lesser value within the borders of PNG than within, say, Canada or Belgium.

The combination, or the intersection, of these two matters—these monetary and moral effects—is evidence that trade and transfer (mis)pricing, the crux of an MNE—are symptoms of an ongoing colonial hangover. The antidote? Establish strict and enforceable regulations so that one nation’s economic sovereignty does not come at the expense of another nation’s resource sovereignty.


This article was produced by Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Tanya Rawal-Jindia

Tanya Rawal-Jindia is a researcher at Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry Stout July 12, 2019

    Plutocracy = greed = myoopia = “the decline and fall”.

    Reply
  2. Larry Stout July 14, 2019

    “Developing country” is one of the nice euphemisms that permeate modern writing. There seems to be an implication that some improved condition is in the offing.

    Really? How will we know when they have become “developed”? When deforestation is complete? When the citizens are free to vote for the plutocrat of “their choice”. Everyone has a smart phone + someone’s anti-missile missiles + nuclear weapons + a handful of billionaires + poverty & homelessness = “developed”?

    Evolution is a truly universal principle, and evolution always involves extinctions — stars die, species cease to exist. We humans are fond of thinking of ourselves metaphorically as some kind of star in the infinite cosmos. I guess that makes chimps a sort of dwarf star. Both chimps and humans will join the ranks of dead stars and extinct species; it’s a matter of when, not if.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.