输入搜索

国家

ICE袭击集中于西班牙裔工人赢得歧视诉讼的公司

美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)官员。 (照片:US ICE)
美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)官员。 (照片:US ICE)

“工人们声称监管人员触摸和/或对西班牙裔女性雇员发表了性暗示性评论,打击了西班牙裔雇员,并指控其中许多人 工作中正常的日常活动,例如使用浴室,请假或要求转移工作。“

美国历史上最大的单州ICE突袭行动于周三在密西西比州的六个家禽工厂进行,导致680人被扣留。 超过300 后来发布了,如孕妇和单亲父母,通知后来出现在移民法官面前。

袭击发生在学年的第一天,让孩子们从学校回来后受到精神创伤,发现父母已被带走。 学校没有在突袭前通知学校。

“孩子们完成了上学的第一天,没有父母今晚回家,” 报道 雅康 杰克逊自由新闻。 “婴儿和幼儿仍然在托儿所,没有监护人来接他们。 一个孩子徒劳地在工作场所停车场寻找失踪的父母。“

Raids遵循$ 3.75百万歧视诉讼

记者Mike Elk 他指出,袭击事件可能是针对西班牙裔工人的,他们去年赢得了针对袭击事件的家禽生产商之一科赫食品公司(Koch Foods)的100万美元歧视解决方案。

在此 Clarion Ledger 详细介绍了去年在密西西比州杰克逊达成和解后西班牙裔劳工的不满情绪:

“工人和平等就业机会委员会指称科赫使西班牙裔雇员和女雇员陷入敌对的工作环境,并根据其种族/民族血统和性别进行不同的待遇,然后对那些抱怨的人进行报复。

这些工人声称,主管们对西班牙裔女性员工提出了触摸和/或做出性暗示性评论,打击了西班牙裔雇员,并向其中的许多人收取了正常日常工作费用,例如使用浴室,请假或要求转移工作。 此外,一类西班牙裔雇员在投诉后会以解雇和其他不利行为的形式受到报复。“

针对活动家劳工的袭击模式

迈克埃尔克 据报道,其他ICE袭击事件,如俄亥俄州的一次袭击和田纳西州的另一次袭击,都发生了对工人条件和罚款的投诉。

杰克逊市长Chokwe Antar Lumumba告诉我:“我认为,如果我们按照迄今为止我们所看到的案例进行案例研究,那么它似乎是对工人的一种惩罚措施。” democracynow。 “这里似乎已经建立了一种模式。”

至少有两家被袭击的工厂在联合食品和商业工人(UFCW)工会下工会。 UFCW发言人亚伯拉罕怀特 表示关切 这次突袭被用来吓唬移民工人在非人道条件下自满。

怀特说:“这个国家的工人太害怕维护他们的权利并报告工资被盗,危险的工作条件和其他工作场所问题。” “我们现在必须采取行动,结束这种危险的恐惧气氛”

“这些工会在那里存在的事实可能是美国政府选择以这些工厂为目标的另一个原因,”L。Patricia Ice告诉他们 democracynow。 “因为很明显,公司和其他公司想要在密西西比州摆脱工会,而且真正在全国各地。”

“许多移民权利倡导者推测,在他们的设施因工人虐待被调查后,工人成为袭击的目标,”写道 麋鹿.

'西班牙裔项目'“

安吉拉·斯图塞斯(Angela Stuesse),北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校的文化人类学家,着有“抓住生活:拉丁美洲,种族和南方工作”的作者。 已研究过 如何养禽业 故意招募 拉丁美洲移民在1990的廉价劳动力。

Stuesse 解释了密西西比州Morton的一家家禽工厂如何在后来参与3.75百万美元歧视解决方案的同一家工厂 - 寻找迈阿密的移民劳工来颠覆一个新的工会化的,主要是非洲裔美国人的劳动力,这种劳动力正在为更好的工人条件而战。

在1994中,鸡肉工厂开始正式配音西班牙裔项目通过填充一个满是移民的灰狗巴士并将他们带到密西西比州工作。 其他家禽植物也参与了该计划,数千名来自佛罗里达州,德克萨斯州和其他州的移民在几年内在密西西比州的工厂工作。

一家工厂向任何招聘新工人至少三个月的员工支付600,鼓励移民邀请来自本国的人到密西西比州工作。 如 Stuesse报道一位秘鲁移民在他的家乡阿雷基帕的报纸上宣传这个机会。

“今天来自阿雷基帕的农学家,工程师,图书管理员和心理学家正在密西西比家禽中工作,” Stuesse.

“当我到密西西比的家禽社区与新西兰农业部密西西比家禽工人中心一起工作时,该国25万家禽工人中有一半以上是移民,其中大多数是在南方,”Stuesse写道 “华盛顿邮报”.

“A 制图 家禽生产和拉丁裔人口增长表明,家禽一直是该地区人口转变的主要推动力。 在密西西比州,它是 雅康 推动力,使一些家禽城镇的拉丁裔人口增加超过1000的1990%。“

科赫食品

科赫食品,谁 后来获得了 这家开办西班牙裔项目的公司是美国最大的家禽供应商之一,向沃尔玛和汉堡王出售鸡肉产品。

Koch Foods的首席执行官Joseph Grendys估计是 价值$ 3.3十亿。 Grendys和其他负责雇用无证工人的公司官员没有受到指控。

Koch Foods与堪萨斯州的科氏工业公司(Koch Industries)没有任何关系,此前曾支付过费用 $ 536,046罚款 违反移民法2010。

科赫食品宣布它会 举办招聘会 周一,许多工人在袭击中被拘留。

“在接下来的听证会上,这些人不太可能在未来几个月内工作,” Clarion Ledger 报告。

埃尔帕索射击

随着星期三的突袭行动,特朗普总统在埃尔帕索安慰了针对西班牙裔美国人的大规模枪击事件的受害者。 在进行大屠杀之前,射击者发布了一份反移民宣言,他将西班牙裔移民称为“入侵”。

该宣言反映了特朗普总统的言论,因为他的竞选活动将移民称为“入侵” 超过2,000 Facebook广告 仅今年一年。

据美联社报道,枪手告诉当局他专门针对墨西哥人 美联社.

埃尔帕索的八名住院受害者都拒绝见到总统。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

ICE Raids Focused On Company Whose Hispanic Workers Won Discrimination Lawsuit

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Officers. (Photo: U.S. ICE)
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Officers. (Photo: U.S. ICE)

“The workers alleged that supervisors touched and/or made sexually suggestive comments to female Hispanic employees, hit Hispanic employees and charged many of them money for normal everyday activities at work, such as using bathrooms, taking leave or requesting job transfers.”

The largest single-state ICE raid in US history was carried out in six Mississippi poultry plants on Wednesday, resulting in the detainment of 680 people. Over 300 were later released, such as pregnant women and single parents, with notices to later appear before immigration judges.

The raids took place on the first day of the school year, leaving children traumatized after returning from school to find their parents had been taken away. Schools were not notified in advance of the raids.

“Children finished their first day of school with no parents to go home to tonight,” reported the Jackson Free Press. “Babies and toddlers remained at daycare with no guardian to pick them up. A child vainly searched a workplace parking lot for missing parents.”

Raids Follow $3.75 Million Discrimination Lawsuit

Journalist Mike Elk notes that the raids may have specifically targeted hispanic workers who won a $3.75 million discrimination settlement last year against Koch Foods, one of the poultry producers involved in the raid.

The Clarion Ledger detailed the grievances of hispanic laborers after the settlement was reached in Jackson, Mississippi, last year:

“The workers and EEOC alleged Koch subjected Hispanic employees and female employees to a hostile work environment and disparate treatment based on their race/national origin and sex, and then retaliated against those who complained.

The workers alleged that supervisors touched and/or made sexually suggestive comments to female Hispanic employees, hit Hispanic employees and charged many of them money for normal everyday activities at work, such as using bathrooms, taking leave or requesting job transfers. Further, a class of Hispanic employees was subject to retaliation in the form of discharge and other adverse actions after complaining.”

A Pattern Of Raids Targeting Activist Laborers

Mike Elk reports that other ICE raids, such as one in Ohio and another in Tennessee, have followed complaints of worker conditions and fines.

“I think that if we follow the case studies of what we’ve seen so far, then it appears to be a punitive of measure against the workers,” Jackson mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba told DemocracyNow. “There appears to be a pattern that has been established here.”

At least two of the raided plants were unionized under the United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) union. UFCW spokesperson Abraham White expressed concern that the raids are being used to terrify immigrant workers into complacency with inhumane conditions.

“Workers across this country are too scared to stand up for their rights and to report wage theft, dangerous work conditions, and other workplace issues,” said White. “We must act now to end this dangerous climate of fear”

“The fact that those unions have a presence there was probably another reason why the United States government chose to target those plants,” L. Patricia Ice told DemocracyNow. “Because it is clear that the corporations and others want to get rid of unions here in Mississippi, and really across the nation.”

“Many immigrants rights advocates have speculated that workers are targeted for raids after their facilities get investigated for worker abuse,” wrote Elk.

The ‘Hispanic Project'”

Angela Stuesse, a cultural anthropologist at UNC Chapel Hill and the author of “Scratching Out a Living: Latinos, Race, and Work in the Deep South,” has researched how the poultry industry purposefully recruited Latin American immigrants for cheap labor in the 1990’s.

Stuesse explains how a poultry plant in Morton, Mississippi- the same plant that would later be involved in the $3.75 million discrimination settlement- sought out immigrant labor in Miami to subvert a newly unionized, predominantly African American labor force that was fighting for better worker conditions.

In 1994, the chicken plant began what it would officially dub ‘The Hispanic Project‘ by filling a Greyhound Bus full of immigrants and bringing them to Mississippi to work. Other poultry plants caught on to the scheme, bringing thousands of immigrants from Florida, Texas, and other states to work in the Mississippi plants within years.

One plant offered to pay $600 to any employee who recruited a new worker for a minimum of three months, incentivizing immigrants to invite people from their home countries to work in Mississippi. As Stuesse reported, one Peruvian immigrant advertised the opportunity in his hometown of Arequipa’s newspaper.

“Today agronomists, engineers, librarians, and psychologists from Arequipa are working in Mississippi poultry,” wrote Stuesse.

“By the time I arrived to work in Mississippi’s poultry communities alongside the Mississippi Poultry Workers’ Center in 2002, over half of the country’s quarter-million poultry workers were immigrants, most of them in the South,” wrote Stuesse for the Washington Post.

“A mapping of poultry production and Latino population growth shows that poultry has been a major driving force of a demographic transformation in the region. In Mississippi, it was the driving force, increasing the Latino population in some poultry towns by over 1000 percent in the 1990s.”

Koch Foods

Koch Foods, who later acquired the company that started the Hispanic Project, is one of the largest poultry suppliers in the United States, selling chicken products to Walmart and Burger King.

Koch Foods’ CEO, Joseph Grendys, is estimated to be worth $3.3 billion. Grendys and other company officials responsible for hiring undocumented workers have not been charged.

Koch Foods, which is not affiliated with Kansas-based Koch Industries, previously paid a $536,046 fine for violating immigration laws in February 2010.

Koch Foods announced it would host a job fair on Monday after many of its workers were detained in the raids.

“It’s unlikely those people will be able to work in the coming months as they await hearings,” Clarion Ledger reports.

El Paso Shooting

As the raids were being carried out on Wednesday, President Trump was in El Paso to comfort victims of a mass shooting that targeted hispanics. The shooter posted an anti-immigrant manifesto before carrying out the massacre, in which he referred to hispanic immigration as an “invasion.”

The manifesto mirrored President Trump’s rhetoric, as his campaign has referred to immigration as an “invasion” in over 2,000 Facebook ads this year alone.

The shooter told authorities he was specifically targeting Mexicans, according to the Associated Press.

The eight hospitalized victims in El Paso all declined to see the president.

 

 

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.