输入搜索

非洲

南非领导人Julius Malema在种族主义评论中向澳大利亚发起反击

Julius Malema

南非煽动性领导人朱利叶斯·马勒马(Julius Malema)抨击了澳大利亚内政部长彼得·达顿(Peter Dutton),他呼吁该国快速办理南非白人签证申请。

由于土地掠夺和暴力的“可怕情况”,南非白人农民“值得特别关注”, 彼得·达顿 说过。

最近在南非,有人呼吁 - 特别是来自Malema的政党,经济自由战士(EFF) - 没有补偿就没收白拥有的农地。 南非有种族问题的历史,因为该国的白人少数民族在种族隔离制度中利用了黑人多数,这种制度持续了1948-1994。

在Malema的Mpumalanga体育场与人群交谈时 说: “像澳大利亚这样的种族主义国家说......'EFF希望杀死白人农民 - 他们必须来澳大利亚。' 如果他们想去,他们必须去...他们必须留下拖拉机的钥匙,因为我们想要在土地上工作; 他们必须离开房屋的钥匙,因为我们想住在那些房子里......他们必须把他们没有带来的东西留给南非。“

马勒马还接着说,没有补偿征用土地的过程不会是暴力的:“我们不知道暴力; 我们知道谈判......最终,政策需要实施,因为我们的土地是我们的尊严。“

在种族隔离期间,许多黑人南非人被强行带离白人居住的土地,到目前为止,还有一块不成比例的大量土地仍然掌握在南非白人手中,仅占9百分比国民的人口。

没有补偿的土地再分配的批评者认为,在2000早期和中期白人农民被强行带离农场之后,最终导致粮食短缺的情况与津巴布韦的情况相似。

Dutton呼吁为白人南非人提供快速签证申请,但反应不一。

南非白人没有处于危险之中,虽然南非的农场谋杀案对该国来说是一个问题,但大多数袭击都不是出于种族动机。 南非是一个犯罪和暴力程度高的国家,不分种族。 在偏远的农村地区,这些简单的资金来源可能是农民。

从来没有针对南非白人的大规模暴力事件,但达顿已经呼吁加快他们的签证程序。 虽然联邦军是一个年轻的新贵政党,也是南非土地再分配的主要支持者,但联邦军从未提倡过暴力的土地再分配。

相反,EFF与现任政府(ANC)的主要反对党民主联盟(DA)结盟,并巧妙地施加越来越大的压力迫使议会解决这个问题。 在一个有点令人惊讶的举动中,非洲人国民大会支持联邦军改变南非宪法的举动,允许土地再分配而不予赔偿。

现在,土地再分配问题等待宪法审查委员会的报告,该委员会必须在今年8月30报告。

肯尼亚政府关闭媒体,因为反对党领袖在总统身上发誓

近期事件是否意味着非洲民主的成熟?

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

South African Leader Julius Malema Fires Back At Australia Over Racist Comment

Julius Malema

South African firebrand leader Julius Malema has slammed Australian Minister of Home Affairs Peter Dutton, who called for the country to fast-track visa applications for white South Africans.

White South African farmers “deserve special attention” from Australia due to the “horrific circumstances” of land seizures and violence, Peter Dutton said.

Recently in South Africa, there have been calls–particularly from Malema’s political party, the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)–to confiscate white-owned farm land without compensation. South Africa has a history of racial problems due to the white minority of the country exploiting the black majority during the system of Apartheid, which lasted from 1948-1994.

While speaking to a crowd at Mpumalanga Stadium, Malema said, “A racist country like Australia says…’EFF wants to kill white farmers – they must come to Australia.’ If they want to go, they must go…they must leave the keys of the tractors because we want to work the land; they must leave the keys of the houses, because we want to live in those houses…they must leave everything that they did not come with to South Africa.”

Malema also went on to say that the process of expropriating land without compensation will not be violent: “We don’t know violence; we know negotiation…ultimately, the policy needed to be implemented because our land is our dignity.”

During Apartheid, many black South Africans were forcibly removed from land which was given to the white population, and to this date, there is a disproportionately high amount of land which is still in the hands of white South Africans, who comprise a mere 9 percent of the nation’s population.

Critics of land redistribution without compensation feel that it could end up resulting in food shortages similar to what took place in Zimbabwe after white farmers were forcibly removed from farms during the early and mid 2000s.

The call made by Dutton to fast-track visa applications for white South Africans has been met with mixed responses.

White South Africans are not in danger, and while farm murders in South Africa are a problem for the country, the majority of the attacks are not racially motivated. South Africa is a country with high levels of crime and violence regardless of race. In remote rural areas, these easy sources of money are likely to be farmers.

There has never been large-scale violence against white South Africans, yet Dutton has called to expedite their visa process. While the EFF is a young upstart political party and the primary proponent of land redistribution in South Africa, the EFF never advocated for a violent redistribution of land.

Instead, the EFF formed an alliance with the current government’s (the ANC) main opposition party, the Democratic Alliance (DA), and tactfully applied mounting pressure to force parliament to address the issue. In a somewhat surprising move the ANC supported the EFF’s move to amend the South African constitution to allow land redistribution without compensation.

Now the issue of land redistribution awaits a report from a constitutional review committee which must report by August 30 of this year.

Kenya Government Shuts Down Media As Opposition Leader Swears Himself In As President

Do Recent Events Signal The Maturing of Democracy in Africa?

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.