输入搜索

国家

孤独的德克萨斯州议员阻止两党灾难救济法案

德克萨斯州共和党众议员奇普罗伊(Chip Roy)暂时封锁了19十亿美元灾难援助计划的快速通道。 (图片:YouTube)
德克萨斯州共和党众议员奇普罗伊(Chip Roy)暂时封锁了19十亿美元灾难援助计划的快速通道。 (图片:YouTube)

单一投票暂时阻止了自然灾害救济法案。

保守派众议员奇普罗伊(德克萨斯州)星期五的单一投票阻止了参议院85-8周四通过的两党自然救灾计划。 救援资金得到了唐纳德特朗普总统和双方领导层的广泛支持,但罗伊说他反对这项法案,因为这会增加国债,因为它缺乏美墨边境业务的资金。

许多立法者都认为罗伊对这项法案的意外拒绝 已经离开了小镇 对于阵亡将士纪念日的休息,这意味着救援资金可能会在另一个10日停滞不前。 由于假期,众议院绕过了该法案的正常投票程序,但这使该法案需要得到一致批准。

罗伊解释了他在众议院的决定:

“这是一笔价值19十亿美元的账单,当我们支付超过1000万美元的额外费用时 债务 每小时。 我们的国家足够强大,富有同情心,能够采取反应灵敏的财政方法,帮助那些在自然灾害中受伤的人们。 我们现在预计将继续让沼泽地 继续 抵制我们子孙后代的未来。“

救济法案中有什么?

这笔价值19.1十亿美元的救助基金将为波多黎各提供约900百万美元,波多黎各仍然受到5飓风玛丽亚的影响。 该法案经过数月的谈判,也将帮助美国社区在过去几年遭受野火,洪水和其他灾害的伤害。

“我不想再坚持下去了。 我完全支持它,“特朗普总统说。

由于受到2017创纪录洪水的困扰,德克萨斯州将成为该法案的主要接收者之一,尽管罗伊的区域没有受到影响。

民主党人对众议员罗伊表示失望,罗伊尚未决定下周二他是否会再次拒绝援助计划。 除了该法案缺乏边境资金以及增加债务的可能性之外,罗伊还引用该法案的快速通道作为异议的理由。

“这是一件糟糕的事情。 这将成为过去,“ 说过 规则委员会主席吉姆麦戈文(D-Mass。)。

“现在,在总统和参议院共和党人破坏和推迟救灾超过四个月之后,众议院共和党人决定自己进行破坏活动。 共和党阻挠的每一天都有更多的灾难发生,更多的灾难堆积起来,更多的家庭被冷落,“众议院议长南希佩洛西(加利福尼亚州立大学) 说过.

通常情况下,众议院需要通过立法的简单多数,但他们可以通过限制辩论和修改时间来换取三分之二的要求投票来加快这一过程。 当众议院从休会回来时,该法案可能会在下周通过。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Lone Texas Congressman Blocks Bipartisan Disaster Relief Bill

Chip Roy, a Texas Republican House member temporarily blocked the fast-track passage of a $19 billion disaster-aid plan. (Photo: YouTube)
Chip Roy, a Texas Republican House member temporarily blocked the fast-track passage of a $19 billion disaster-aid plan. (Photo: YouTube)

Natural disaster relief bill temporarily blocked by a single vote.

A single vote Friday by conservative Rep. Chip Roy (R-Texas) blocked a bipartisan natural disaster relief package that had passed Thursday in the Senate 85-8. The relief funding had widespread support from President Donald Trump and the leadership of both parties, but Roy said he opposed the bill because it would add to the national debt and because it lacks funding for U.S.-Mexico border operations.

Roy’s surprise rejection of the bill comes as many lawmakers already left town for the Memorial Day Recess, meaning the relief funding will likely be stalled for another 10 days. The House had bypassed the regular voting process for the bill because of the holiday, but that left the bill needing a unanimous approval.

Roy explained his decision on the House floor:

“This is a $19 billion bill that is not paid for when we’re racking up $100 million of debt per hour. Our nation is strong enough and compassionate enough to have a responsive and fiscally responsive approach to help people who are hurting in the wake of natural disasters. And we now are expected to continue to let the swamp continue to mortgage the future of our children and grandchildren.”

What Was in the Relief Bill?

The $19.1 billion dollar relief fund would have provided around $900 million for Puerto Rico, which is still suffering the effects of the Category 5 Hurricane Maria. The bill, which has been negotiated for months, would also have helped communities in the U.S. hurt by wildfires, flooding and other disasters over the past few years.

“I didn’t want to hold that up any longer. I totally support it,” said President Trump.

Texas would have been one of the bill’s major recipients since it was plagued by record floods in 2017, although Roy’s district was not affected.

Democrats expressed disappointment with Rep. Roy, who is undecided as to whether he will reject the aid package again next Tuesday. In addition to the bill’s lack of border funding and potential to add to the debt, Roy cited the bill’s fast-tracked passage as reason for dissent.

“This is a rotten thing to do. This is going to pass,” said Rules Committee Chairman Jim McGovern (D-Mass.).

“Now, after the President and Senate Republicans disrupted and delayed disaster relief for more than four months, House Republicans have decided to wage their own sabotage. Every day of Republican obstruction, more disasters have struck, more damage has piled up, and more families have been left in the cold,” House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) said.

Normally, the House needs a simple majority to pass legislation, but they can speed up the process by restricting debate and amendment time in exchange for a two-thirds requirement vote. It is possible the bill will pass next week when the House returns from recess.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.