输入搜索

反战

在蒂勒森演讲后,公平媒体发动战争偏见,在叙利亚发生更多战争

企业媒体支持战争偏见

FAIR的一项分析发现,去年1月国务卿雷克斯蒂勒森在斯坦福大学的演讲中发表的文章中存在明确的公司媒体支持战争偏见。

根据一个 报告中的公平和准确性报告 (FAIR),继去年1月美国国务卿雷克斯蒂勒森在斯坦福大学发表演讲,承诺在叙利亚发生更多战争之后,一份明确的企业媒体支持战争的偏见存在于 蒂勒森的评论。

蒂勒森在讲话中宣称,美国打算无限期地在叙利亚保留军队。 蒂勒森保持美国军事存在的原因是消除美国声称叙利亚拥有的大规模杀伤性武器,削弱伊朗在该地区的影响力,帮助难民,打击伊斯兰国,以及建立一个稳定的后阿萨德领导层。

根据FAIR的报告,企业媒体大幅报道美国在叙利亚的军事存在违反了国际法。 事实上,美国非法占领一个外国并企图强制改变政权,而忽略了叙利亚的自治权。

FAIR关于媒体对Tillerson演讲的回应报告突出了企业媒体的战争偏见

正如FAIR的报告所发现的那样,尽管美国违反了许多国际法,但各种着名的企业媒体出版物都赞扬了蒂勒森的言论。 FAIR的报告给出了以下企业媒体支持战争偏见的例子。

“新闻周刊”

FAIR发现“新闻周刊”(1/19/18来自大西洋理事会的弗雷德里克霍夫(Frederic Hof)发表了一篇文章,称托勒森的讲话“是美国应对叙利亚危机的一个重大改进。” 该文章的结论是,“蒂勒森先生所阐述的内容远远超过反映美国价值观和维护美国利益的政策的起点。”

“华盛顿邮报”

“蒂勒森直言不讳地承认特朗普总统和奥巴马总统试图躲避的真相:”在叙利亚维持军事和外交存在,帮助结束冲突,协助叙利亚,这对我们的国防至关重要。人。 。 。 为了实现新的政治未来,“华盛顿邮报报道。

大西洋

大西洋上个月出版了一篇由Kori Schake撰写的文章,他谈到了蒂勒森的讲话,认为这既“明智又奇特”。 这是明智的,因为它描述了叙利亚可怕的战争历史,明确表明美国有兴趣继续参与,即使伊斯兰国被击败,并概述了符合这些利益的政策。 奇怪的是,所概述的政策需要更多的美国参与程度,而不是本届政府的证据 - 或者是在昨天的演讲中承诺 - 才能成功。“

CNN和Buzzfeed

根据公平竞争,蒂勒森的讲话记录在案 美国有线电视新闻网 (1/18/18),而 Buzzfeed(1/18/18)选择不提及美国在叙利亚的存在缺乏法律依据。

FAIR如何报道蒂勒森的演讲

与企业媒体对蒂勒森演讲的处理形成鲜明对比, FAIR的报告认为 蒂勒森提倡的是粗心和危险的,因为它主张以更多的冲突结束冲突。

除了指出美国在叙利亚的存在是非法的,FAIR指出,通过继续叙利亚的战争,美国正在创造更多的难民。 此外,美国不仅占领了外国,而且非法推动政权更迭,加剧了与伊朗和俄罗斯的紧张关系。

正如FAIR简明扼要地说:

“媒体不仅没有解决蒂勒森政策中隐含的暴力问题,他们声称反对并将其视为叙利亚和平计划。 这些文章没有解释美国领导的政权改变战争将如何实现这一目标,而不是 多年的战争和奴隶市场 这样的政策带给了利比亚,或者 五百万到一百万平民丧生 在伊拉克。“

经过多年的战争,叙利亚政府在美国军队占领他们的土地并向反政府军提供援助的同时,不会放弃和幸福地坐下来。

蒂勒森所说明的是一项制定更多战斗,更多难民的计划,并有可能加剧美国与叙利亚盟友,即真主党,俄罗斯和伊朗之间的紧张关系。

企业媒体的战争偏见在这一点上清晰而响亮。

相关新闻:

企业媒体报道伊朗抗议活动与抗议照片不在伊朗

迪士尼潜在的21st世纪福克斯并购继续引发媒体整合的趋势

亲爱的美国:世界并不像媒体所做的那样充满乐趣

尽管存在大规模人类灾难,MSNBC也门覆盖范围仍然不存在

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

An analysis by FAIR found that a clear corporate media pro-war bias existed in articles that reported on Secretary of State Rex Tillerson’s speech at Stanford University last January.

According to a report by Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting (FAIR), after U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson gave a speech at Stanford University last January promising more war in Syria, a clear corporate media pro-war bias existed in reports on Tillerson’s comments.

In the speech, Tillerson declared that the United States intends to keep military troops in Syria indefinitely. Tillerson’s reasons for maintaining an American military presence were to eliminate weapons of mass destruction which the U.S. claims Syria has, to diminish Iranian influence in the region, to help refugees, to combat ISIS, and to establish a stable post-Assad leadership.

According to FAIR’s report, corporate media failed drastically to report that the U.S. military presence in Syria is in violation of international law. The U.S. is in fact, illegally occupying a foreign country and attempting to force regime change all while ignoring Syria’s right to self-governance.

FAIR’s Report On Media’s Response To Tillerson’s Speech Highlights Corporate Media Pro-war Bias

As FAIR’s report found, various well-known corporate media publications praised Tillerson for his remarks despite the fact that the U.S. is breaking numerous international laws. FAIR’s report gave the below examples of the corporate media pro-war bias.

Newsweek

FAIR found that “Newsweek (1/19/18) ran an article from the Atlantic Council’s Frederic Hof that called Tillerson’s speech ‘a major improvement in the American approach to the crisis in Syria.’ The piece concluded that “what Mr. Tillerson has articulated is more than good enough as a starting point for a policy reflecting American values and upholding American interests.”

Washington Post

“Tillerson bluntly recognized a truth that both President Trump and President Barack Obama attempted to dodge: that “it is crucial to our national defense to maintain a military and diplomatic presence in Syria, to help bring an end to that conflict, and assist the Syrian people . . . to achieve a new political future,” The Washington Post reported.

The Atlantic

The Atlantic published a piece by Kori Schake last month, who said of Tillerson’s speech that it was “both sensible and fanciful. It was sensible in that it gave a history of Syria’s grisly war, stated clearly America’s interest in continued involvement even as ISIS is defeated, and outlined policies consistent with those interests. It was fanciful in that the policies outlined would require a much greater measure of American involvement than has been in evidence by this administration—or were committed in yesterday’s speech—to succeed.”

CNN And Buzzfeed

According to FAIR, accounts of Tillerson’s speech on CNN (1/18/18) and Buzzfeed(1/18/18) opted not to make any reference to the absence of a legal basis to the U.S presence in Syria.

How FAIR Reported Tillerson’s Speech

In a stark contrast to corporate media’s handling of Tillerson’s speech, FAIR’s report argued that what Tillerson promoted was careless and dangerous as it advocated ending a conflict with more conflict.

In addition to pointing out that the U.S. presence in Syria was illegal, FAIR pointed out that by continuing the war in Syria, the U.S. was creating more refugees. Additionally, not only was the U.S. occupying a foreign country but they were illegally promoting a regime change and increasing tensions with Iran and Russia.

As FAIR succinctly stated:

“Not only are media outlets failing to address the violence implicit in Tillerson’s policy, they are claiming the opposite and treating it as a plan for peace in Syria. These articles do not explain how a US-led regime change war will achieve that, instead of the years of war and slave markets such policies brought to Libya, or the half million to a million civilians killed in Iraq.”

After years of war, the Syrian government is not going to give in and sit happily by while U.S. forces occupy their land and provide aid to anti-government forces.

What Tillerson illustrates is a plan that creates more fighting, more refugees and will likely serve to increase tensions between the U.S. and Syria’s allies, namely, Hezbollah, Russia and Iran.

The corporate media pro-war bias came out clear and loud on this one.

 

Related:

Corporate Media Covered Iran Protests With Protest Photos Not In Iran

Disney’s Potential 21st Century Fox Merger Continues Troubling Trend of Media Consolidation

Dear America: The World’s Not Quite as F*cked as the Media Makes it Out to Be

MSNBC Yemen Coverage Non-Existent Despite Large-Scale Human Catastrophe

Comments

Join Our List

Subscribe to our mailing list and get all the news corporate media won't give you.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.