输入搜索

环境

路易斯安那州法院通过湿地确定有争议的管道

Melinda Tillies住在路易斯安那州的Youngsville。 在2017购买了她的梦想之家之后,Energy Transfer Partners正在连根拔起她的家,建造了Bayou Bridge Pipeline项目,这是Dakota Access Pipeline的最后一部分。
Melinda Tillies住在路易斯安那州的Youngsville。 在2017购买了她的梦想之家之后,Energy Transfer Partners正在连根拔起她的家,建造了Bayou Bridge Pipeline项目,这是Dakota Access Pipeline的最后一部分。 (通过YouTube截图)

Dakota Access Pipeline的所有者刚赢得了一项有争议的法院批准,即通过路易斯安那州保护的湿地建造另一条管道。

路易斯安那州的一个上诉法院裁定,该州的自然资源部在发布通过脆弱湿地建设管道的许可证方面是正确的,尽管居民担心环境和健康的影响。

该裁决于周三以4-1判决作出,有利于Bayou Bridge Pipeline项目,该项目将建在一个被称为“癌症胡同”的地区。由于炼油厂和化工厂数量众多,该地区被称为癌症胡同。加上当地居民的健康状况不佳。

唯一的反对法官马克·约翰逊(Marc Johnson)写道,国家机构根据路易斯安那州宪法规定的责任要求尽可能保持健康和环境,但相反“它重视”经济利益和对环境影响的最小考虑。野生动物和栖息地...... [和]几乎没有考虑到管道所经过的地区对人类生活的影响, 正如法院新闻报道的那样.

这起诉讼首先由爱人人道主义企业,海湾恢复网络,Atchafalaya Basinkeeper,Bold Louisiana和两名当地居民在圣詹姆斯教区的2017提交。

该诉讼声称,自然资源部在发放管道建设许可证方面不正确,因为它将穿越受保护的湿地,并且当地区在紧急情况下没有疏散路线。 该诉讼还指出了可能发生化学品泄漏的紧急情况。

圣詹姆斯教区的地区法院法官Alvin Turner同意原告的意见,并于去年4月裁定管道建设许可证违反了州法律。 特纳下令管道建设停止,等待上诉判决。

特纳在他的裁决中发现,自然资源部(DNR)没有对石油和天然气公司适用国家规定的指导方针,并同意DNR应该在泄漏的情况下要求撤离计划。

然而,上诉法院不同意。 大多数意见都支持该管道,并表示DNR在颁发施工许可证之前对该项目进行了充分的审查。

评委们发现,DNR“系统地考虑了所有相关信息,包括使用情况,使用地点和使用情况,以及平衡其相对重要的公共利益和不利影响。”

上诉法院还同意DNR决定在没有撤离计划的情况下签发许可证,并且疏散计划是当地政府的责任,而不是管道公司的责任。 他们还同意“记录中没有迹象表明拟议的管道将改变现有的疏散路线。”

但约翰逊法官在他的异议中表示不同意,他说“在将管道放置在已经被化学设施淹没的地区时,分析并未考虑公众的整体福利。”

约翰逊还表示,路易斯安那州宪法要求国家的自然资源,包括空气和水,应得到保护,并“尽可能地补充,并与人民的健康,安全和福利保持一致”。

Bayou Bridge Pipeline由Energy Transfer Partners(ETP)拥有,该公司还建造并拥有备受争议的Dakota Access Pipeline。

Bayou Pipeline将跨越162里程,每天在11路易斯安那州教区和700水体上运送近50万加仑的油,并将成为连接Dakota Access Pipeline的最后一条腿。

*早期版本错误地将Bayou Bridge Pipeline的所有者称为Entergy Transfer Partners,正确的名称是Energy Transfer Partners。 Citizen Truth对这个错误感到遗憾。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 库尔特 一月年31月2019日

    鸡的土地。 和石油公司的家!

    回复
    1. 劳伦冯伯纳斯 一月年31月2019日

      大眼仔?

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Louisiana Court Okays Controversial Pipeline Through Wetlands

Melinda Tillies lives in Youngsville, Louisiana. After purchasing her dream home in 2017, Energy Transfer Partners is uprooting her home with the construction of the Bayou Bridge Pipeline project, the last section of the Dakota Access Pipeline.
Melinda Tillies lives in Youngsville, Louisiana. After purchasing her dream home in 2017, Energy Transfer Partners is uprooting her home with the construction of the Bayou Bridge Pipeline project, the last section of the Dakota Access Pipeline. (Screenshot via YouTube)

The owners of the Dakota Access Pipeline just won a controversial court approval to construct another pipeline through Louisiana protected wetlands.

An appeals court in Louisiana ruled that the state’s Department of Natural Resources was correct in issuing a permit for the construction of a pipeline through fragile wetlands and despite residents concerns over the environmental and health repercussions.

The ruling came Wednesday in a 4-1 verdict in favor of the Bayou Bridge Pipeline project which is to be built in an area known as “cancer alley.” The area is known as cancer alley because of the high number of refineries and chemical plants plus the poor health of local residents.

The lone dissenting judge, Marc Johnson, wrote that the state agency’s responsibilities under the Louisiana Constitution require preserving health and the environment as much as possible, but that it instead “gave significant consideration to the economic benefits and minimal consideration to the environmental effects on the wildlife and habitats … [and] virtually no consideration to the impact on the human lives” in the area traversed by the pipeline, as Courthouse News reported.

The lawsuit was first filed in 2017 in St. James parish by the Humanitarian Enterprise of Loving People, Gulf Restoration Network, Atchafalaya Basinkeeper, Bold Louisiana and two local residents.

The lawsuit claimed the Department of Natural Resources was incorrect in issuing a permit for the pipeline’s construction because it will cross protected wetlands and the local area has no evacuation route in case of an emergency. The lawsuit also argued an emergency like a chemical spill was likely.

District Court Judge Alvin Turner in St. James Parish agreed with the plaintiffs and ruled last April that the permit for the pipeline’s construction violated state law. Turner ordered the pipeline construction halted, pending the appeals verdict.

Turner found in his ruling that the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) did not apply state-mandated guidelines on oil and gas companies and agreed that the DNR should have required an evacuation plan in case of a spill.

The appeals court, however, disagreed. The majority opinion ruled in favor of the pipeline and stated that the DNR sufficiently vetted the project prior to issuing the construction permit.

The judges found that the DNR “conducted a systematic consideration of all pertinent information regarding the use, the site and the impacts of the use and a balancing of their relative significant public benefits with adverse impacts.”

The appeals court also agreed with the DNR’s decision to issue the permit without an evacuation plan in place and clamed an evacuation plan was the local government’s responsibility and not the pipeline company’s. They also agreed “there is no indication in the record that the proposed pipeline will change existing evacuation routes.”

But Judge Johnson in his dissent disagreed, saying “the analysis does not consider the overall welfare of the public when placing the pipeline in an area already inundated with chemical facilities.”

Johnson also said the Louisiana Constitution requires that natural resources of the state, including air and water, shall be protected and “replenished insofar as possible and consistent with the health, safety, and welfare of the people.”

The Bayou Bridge Pipeline is owned by Energy Transfer Partners (ETP), which also built and owns the controversial Dakota Access Pipeline.

The Bayou Pipeline will span 162 miles and carry almost half a million gallons of oil a day across 11 Louisiana parishes and 700 bodies of water and will be the final leg connecting the Dakota Access Pipeline.

*An earlier version incorrectly referred to the owner of the Bayou Bridge Pipeline as Entergy Transfer Partners, the correct name is Energy Transfer Partners. Citizen Truth regrets the error.
Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Kurt January 31, 2019

    The land of the chicken. And the home of the oil company!

    Reply
    1. Lauren von Bernuth January 31, 2019

      Popeyes?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *