اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS البيئة

شركات النفط الكبرى متهمة بإلقاء النفايات السامة بطريقة غير مشروعة

طبل الزيت الأحمر في العشب
(الصورة عبر Pixabay)

يكشف التحقيق أن شركات النفط الكبرى تقوم بإلقاء نفايات سامة بطريقة غير قانونية في باتاغونيا.

تتهم شركات النفط في فاكا مويرتا ، وهي واحدة من أكبر احتياطيات النفط والغاز في العالم ، بإلقاء النفط الصناعي والنفايات السامة بصورة غير قانونية في أحواض النفايات المفتوحة ، كما كشف ذلك في تحقيق أجرته غرينبيس أندينو مؤخرًا.

من المسؤول عن إلقاء النفط والنفايات السمية؟

قامت شركات مثل توتال وشل بإلقاء آلاف الأطنان من النفايات في مواقع التخلص غير القانونية التي تديرها منشأة محلية لمعالجة النفايات تعرف باسم Treater SA ومن العملاء المحليين الآخرين لـ Treater هم Pan American Energy (إحدى الشركات التابعة لشركة BP) و ExxonMobil و YPF (المملوكة لشركة الولاية).

الناطق الرسمي باسم حملة السلام والطاقة في غرينبيس أندينو قال بول هورسمان"الطريقة التي تعمل بها شركات النفط هذه هي تخريب بيئي خالص وتوضح مدى قلة سيطرة السلطات المحلية حقًا. قد تكون التربة المليئة بالنفط والهواء الملوث عملًا كالمعتاد لشركات مثل Shell و Total ، ولكن لا يمكن لحكومة الأرجنتين أن تستمر في وضع أرباح صناعة النفط قبل صحة مجتمعاتها. مع تحذير علماء المناخ من أن العالم أمام 12 سنوات فقط لخفض استخدام الوقود الأحفوري بنسبة 50 ، فمن الجنون أن ننفق مليارات الدولارات لتكسير باتاغونيا إلى غياهب النسيان. "

كيف سيؤثر إلقاء النفايات السامة على المدن المحلية؟

أخذ الباحثون من منظمة السلام الأخضر أندينو عينات من التربة والحمأة من مناطق مختلفة في أنيلو ونيوكين ، وكذلك من موقع النفايات في تيدر. كشفت العينات عن كميات خطيرة من المركبات العضوية المتطايرة والمواد الكيميائية الهيدروكربونية. تبعد مياه الشرب والحقول الزراعية في أنيلو ما يزيد قليلاً عن ثلاثة أميال عن مواقع التخلص غير القانونية.

توسعت إحدى مناطق النفايات من أقل بقليل من 15 إلى أكثر من 33 فدان في أقل من عامين. لسوء الحظ ، لا تتم معالجة أي من النفايات السامة بطريقة تتوافق مع قوانين المقاطعات أو القوانين الوطنية.

تحتوي الاحتياطيات في فاكا مويرتا على ما يقرب من آبار تكسير 830 ، ينتج كل منها ما بين 21,000 و 30,000 قدم مكعبة من النفايات شهريًا. يمر جزء كبير من النفايات السامة عبر المدن والحقول الزراعية وحتى مصادر مياه الشرب في الطريق إلى مرافق المعالجة ، مما يشكل خطراً صحياً هائلاً على المجتمعات المحلية.

رد شركتين

كتبت غرين بيس أندينو إلى Treater SA's والمديرين التنفيذيين لشركات النفط المتورطين في ديسمبر 7 ، وطلب منهم التعليق على النتائج. اعتبارًا من ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، رفضت شركة 30 Total العمل بشكل غير قانوني ولكنها طلبت عقد اجتماع مع Greenpeace ، وقد أقرت Shell بعلاقة مع Treater ولكنها تدعي أن السلطات "تشرف على عملياتها". ولم تقم الشركات الأخرى بالرد.

قدم اتحاد مابوتشي في نيوكين شكوى جنائية في أكتوبر الماضي ، مطالباً مكتب المدعي العام بالتحقيق في المسؤولية الجنائية المحتملة.

وقال هيكتور خورخي نويل ، منسق منطقة Xawvn Ko في اتحاد مابوتشي في نيوكوين ،، "نحن ندين شركة Treater Neuquén SA ، المسؤولة عن التلوث البيئي بالنفايات الخطرة ، بسبب نقص معالجة نفايات صناعة النفط والتخلص منها. من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم مساءلة سلطات الدولة ومديري شركات النفط الذين سمحوا بذلك ، وأن يتم احترام حقنا في بيئة صحية ".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ليجانا شيري

تخرجت ليجانا بدرجة في اللغة الإنجليزية من كلية بنساكولا المسيحية. بعد تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية في المدرسة الثانوية لمدة خمس سنوات ، قررت متابعة حلمها في الكتابة والتحرير. عندما لا تعمل ، تستمتع بالسفر مع زوجها ، وقضاء بعض الوقت مع كلابها ، وشرب الكثير من القهوة.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS ENVIRONMENT In Focus-Environment

Major Oil Companies Accused of Illegally Dumping Toxic Waste

A red oil drum in grass
(Image via Pixabay)

An investigation discloses major oil companies are illegally dumping toxic waste in Patagonia.

Oil companies in Vaca Muerta, one of the largest reserves of oil and gas in the world, are accused of illegally dumping industrial oil and toxic waste in open waste ponds, as revealed in a recent investigation by Greenpeace Andino.

Who Is Responsible for Dumping the Oil and Toxic Waste?

Companies such as Total and Shell have dumped thousands of tons of waste into illegal dumping sites operated by a local waste treatment facility known as Treater S.A. Other local clients of Treater are Pan American Energy (a subsidiary of BP), ExxonMobil and YPF (owned by the state).

Spokesperson for Greenpeace Andino’s climate and energy campaign Paul Horsman said, “The way these oil companies operate is pure environmental vandalism and demonstrates how little control local authorities truly have. Oil-soaked soils and polluted air may be business as usual for companies like Shell and Total, but the government of Argentina cannot afford to continue putting oil industry profits before the health of its communities. With climate scientists warning that the world has just 12 years to cut fossil fuel use by 50 percent, it is madness to spend billions of dollars fracking Patagonia into oblivion.”

How Will the Dumping of Toxic Waste Affect Local Cities?

Researchers for Greenpeace Andino took soil and sludge samples from various areas in Añelo and Neuquén, as well as from the Treater waste site. The samples revealed hazardous amounts of volatile organic compounds and hydrocarbon chemicals. The drinking water and agricultural fields in Añelo are just over three miles away from the illegal dump sites.

One of the waste areas has expanded from just under 15 acres to more than 33 acres in less than two years. Unfortunately, none of the toxic waste is being treated in such a way that conforms with provincial or national laws.

Reserves in Vaca Muerta contain approximately 830 fracking wells, each of which produces between 21,000 and 30,000 cubic feet of waste per month. Much of the toxic waste passes through cities, agricultural fields and even sources for drinking water on the way to the treatment facilities, posing an enormous health hazard to local communities.

Two Companies Respond

Greenpeace Andino wrote to Treater S.A.’s and the implicated oil companies’ CEOs on Dec. 7, asking them to comment on the findings. As of Dec. 30 Total denied operating illegally but has solicited a meeting with Greenpeace, and Shell has acknowledged a relationship with Treater but claims the authorities have “oversight of its operations.” The other companies have yet to respond.

The Mapuche Confederation of Neuquén filed a criminal complaint last October, asking the Public Prosecutor’s Office to investigate possible criminal liability.

Héctor Jorge Nawel, coordinator for the Xawvn Ko area of the Mapuche Confederation of Neuquén, said, “We denounce the company Treater Neuquén S.A., responsible for environmental contamination with hazardous waste, for deficient treatment and disposal of the oil industry’s waste. It is critical that the state authorities and oil company executives who allowed this happen be held accountable, and that our right to a healthy environment be respected.”

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.