输入搜索

环境

自80以来,君主人口损失达到2005%

帝王蝶
帝王蝶(公共领域的图像)

虽然在过去,君主人口的波动可以通过诸如寒冷冬季等因素来解释,但现在有证据表明存在人为因素对君主人口构成下行压力。

(除了农药帝王蝶正处于数十年来令人震惊的人口衰退之中,自2005以来,这一研究迅速加速,研究 由国际科学家团队和佛罗里达大学出版 上个月表明。 根据研究人员精心收集的数据,在墨西哥繁殖地出现之后进入佛罗里达州中部的君主在过去的十五年中已经下降了80%。 这与养蜂人大致相同 开始看到管理蜜蜂的急剧下降 群落。 研究人员指出,工业发展和农药使用增加是加速这一标志性物种衰退的因素。

“一个广泛的模式是,在美国种植的玉米和大豆产品的95百分比是抗草甘膦的Roundup Ready作物,”纽约汉密尔顿学院的研究合着者Earnest Williams博士表示。 新闻稿。 “这具有国家影响力。 真正需要的是原生植被和没有杀虫剂的花蜜来源。 它不仅适用于君主,也适用于所有传粉者。“

从1985开始,着名的君主专家林肯·布劳尔博士及其团队在佛罗里达州盖恩斯维尔以南的一个无农药牛牧场监测了君主种群。 毛虫是在乳草上观察到的,这是变态前君主食物的主要来源,而成年君主的数量也记录了37年,跨越了研究人员对140君主世代的影响。

根据这些数据,科学家们发现,君主们及时离开墨西哥,以便在佛罗里达州中部的最佳生长阶段到达乳草。 对于君主而言,时机至关重要,仅仅几周的偏差就可能导致君主错失为其后代生存提供合适条件的机会。

研究人员指出,这对他们来说至关重要。 “佛罗里达州是东海岸大部分地区重新殖民化的中心地带,”佛罗里达自然历史博物馆的合着者Jaret Daniels博士说。 “如果这些人口数量很少,那么北方人口将达到相似的丰度水平。”

最近直接来自墨西哥君主越冬地的报道为该物种描绘了一幅非常严峻的画面。 去年,君主人口是 15%低于前一年。 西方君主在加利福尼亚州沿海的森林中越冬,受到同样的下降,科学家们表示有一个 在86年内50%灭绝的几率,在75中几乎有20%的机会。

目前的研究与世界野生动物基金会提供的数据密切配合,世界野生动物基金会跟踪墨西哥的越冬场地,并记录了自80s以来类似的1990%下降。 虽然在过去,君主人口的波动可以通过诸如寒冷冬季等因素来解释,但现在有证据表明存在人为因素对君主人口构成下行压力。

研究人员指出了许多因素,消除栖息地是导致衰退的主要驱动力。 工业发展,无论是带状商场和计划社区还是密集的单一农场,都会导致该物种所需的乳草流失。 农田不仅经常取代君主栖息地,而且已经使用的大部分田地都在种植基因工程作物,旨在耐受反复的除草剂喷洒。 虽然农作物不受类似化学物质的影响 草甘膦(围捕), 2,4-D麦草畏, 乳草经常被淘汰 由于除草剂施用后的漂移和径流,来自田间边缘和其他近农场区域。

与蜜蜂衰退有关的系统性化学物质也被证明会伤害君主。 两项研究, 一个在2015 另一个在2016中,已将新烟碱类暴露于君主幼虫的死亡。 这些化学物质也难以进入君主栖息地。 一旦施用,通过喷雾,或更常见的, 通过涂层种子这些化学物质会漂移或流入乳草生长的区域。 虽然杀虫剂不会杀死乳草,但它们可以进入乳草植物,污染它。 通过毒害植物,君主毛虫以其主要食物来源为食是致命的。

科学家们最后指出了一种非本地乳草属植物,热带马利筋的不幸繁殖(马利筋属curassavica),它可以将寄生虫传播给毫无戒心的君主。 该品种在商店出售,经常种植其颜色和生长季节,但研究人员指出,这些特性可能导致君主在错误的时间繁殖,对错误的马利筋种类。

虽然作者建议佛罗里达州居民种植沼泽乳草(马利筋属植物),或蝴蝶草(马利筋),他们注意到这种方法的局限性。 丹尼尔斯博士说:“这并不像说,'我们种植乳草,而君主将会得救”。 “我们应该将此视为生态问题。 任何有机体和任何系统都有很多复杂性。“

主要作者布罗尔博士是世界着名的研究人员,领导了几十年长期研究君主数十年,他在这项研究发布后不久就去世了,这是他最后发表的着作。 “我们能做的最好的事情就是继续他的使命,继续学习并努力保护君主,”丹尼尔斯博士谈到了布劳尔博士的遗产。 “我认为他会为这一使命感到自豪。”

君主面临着复杂的现代力量 - 发展,化学杀虫剂,气候变化,伐木以及栖息地破坏,疾病和污染的其他来源。 为了解决危机,倡导者需要在多个方面开展工作。 通过仅购买有机物来帮助限制农业中基因改造的增长。 同时在您的家庭和社区中采取行动。 看到 用传粉者管理景观 生物多样性的篱笆。 有关保护君主和其他传粉媒介的其他步骤,请参阅Beyond Pesticides' 蜜蜂保护网页.

本文中所有未归属的职位和意见均为Beyond Pesticides。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

While in the past fluctuations in Monarch populations could be explained by factors such as a cold winter, the evidence is now clear that there are human factors putting downward pressure on monarch populations.

(Beyond Pesticides) Monarch butterflies are in the midst of a staggering decades-long population decline that has rapidly accelerated since 2005, research published by an international team of scientists and the University of Florida last month indicates. According to data meticulously collected by researchers, monarchs making their way to central Florida after emerging from their breeding grounds in Mexico have declined by 80% over the last decade and a half. This is roughly the same time frame at which beekeepers began to see precipitous declines in managed honey bee colonies. Researchers point to industrial development and increasing pesticide use as factors that have accelerated the decline of this iconic species.

“A broad pattern is that 95 percent of corn and soybean products grown in the U.S. are Roundup Ready crops that resist glyphosate,” said study coauthor Earnest Williams, PhD, of New York’s Hamilton College in a press release. “That has a national impact. What’s really needed are patches of native vegetation and nectar sources without pesticides. It’s not just for monarchs but all pollinators.”

Beginning in 1985, renowned monarch expert Lincoln Brower, PhD and his team monitored monarch populations at a pesticide-free cattle pasture south of Gainesville, FL. Caterpillars were observed on milkweed, the main source of food for monarchs before metamorphosis, and the numbers of adult monarchs were also recorded for 37 years, spanning what researchers indicate are over 140 monarch generations.

Based on these data, scientists found that monarchs leave Mexico just in time to reach milkweed at its optimal growth stage in central Florida. The timing is critical for monarchs, a deviation of just a couple weeks could result in monarchs missing the opportunity to provide the right conditions for their offspring to survive.

And as researchers indicate, it is critical for them to do so. “Florida is kind of a staging ground for the recolonization of much of the East Coast,” said co-author Jaret Daniels, PhD of the Florida Museum of Natural History. “If these populations are low, then the northern populations are going to be at a similar abundance level.”

Recent reports directly from the monarch overwintering grounds in Mexico paint a very grim picture for the species. Last year monarch populations were 15% lower than the year before. Western monarchs, which overwinter in coastal California forests, are subject to the same declines, with scientists indicating that there is an 86% chance of extinction within 50 years, and nearly 75% chance within 20.

The current research aligns closely with data presented by the World Wildlife Fund, which tracked the Mexican overwintering grounds and recorded a similar 80% decline since the 1990s. While in the past fluctuations in Monarch populations could be explained by factors such as a cold winter, the evidence is now clear that there are human factors putting downward pressure on monarch populations.

Researchers are pointing at a number of factors, with habitat elimination being the primary driving force behind the decline. Industrial development, whether in the form of strip malls and planned communities or intensive monoculture farm fields, contributes to a loss of milkweed that the species requires. Not only are farm fields often displacing monarch habitat, a majority of fields already in use are planting genetically engineered crops designed to tolerate repeated herbicide spraying. While crops are left untouched from the use of chemicals like glyphosate(Roundup), 2,4-D, and dicambamilkweed is often eliminated from field margins and other near-farm areas due to drift and run-off after herbicide applications.

The class of systemic chemicals linked to the decline of bees has also been shown to harm monarchs. Two studies, one in 2015 and another in 2016, have linked neonicotinoid exposure to the death of monarch larvae. It’s not difficult for these chemicals to make their way into monarch habitat either. Once applied, either through spray, or more commonly, through coated seeds, these chemicals either drift or run off into areas where milkweed is growing. While the insecticides don’t kill milkweed, they can make their way into the milkweed plant, contaminating it. By poisoning the plant, it becomes deadly for monarch caterpillars to feed on its primary food source.

Scientists point last to the unfortunate proliferation of a non-native milkweed species, tropical milkweed (Asclepias curassavica), which can spread parasites to unsuspecting monarchs. The variety is sold in stores and often planted for its color and long growing season, but researchers indicate these properties could lead to monarchs breeding at the wrong time, on the wrong species of milkweed.

While the authors suggest Florida residents plant swamp milkweed (Asclepias incarnata), or butterflyweed (Asclepias tuberosa), they note limitations in that approach. “It’s not as simple as saying, ‘we plant milkweed and the monarch will be saved,’” said Dr. Daniels. “We should think of this as an ecological issue. There are a lot of complexities to any organism and any system.”

Lead author Dr. Brower, a world renown researcher who led the decades long-study Monarchs for decades, died shortly after the release of this research, his final published work. “The best thing we can do is to continue his mission and continue to study and work to conserve the monarch,” Dr. Daniels said of Dr. Brower’s legacy. “I think he would be proud of that mission.”

The monarch is up against complex modern forces – development, chemical pesticides, climate change, logging, and other sources of habitat destruction, disease, and contamination. In order to solve the crisis, advocates need to work on multiple fronts. Help limit the growth of genetic modification in agriculture by purchasing only organic. Also take action in your home and community. See Managing Landscapes with Pollinators in Mind and Hedgerows for Biodiversity. For additional steps you can take to protect monarchs and other pollinators, see Beyond Pesticides’ Bee Protective webpage.

All unattributed positions and opinions in this piece are those of Beyond Pesticides.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.