输入搜索

公司文化

来自“哭泣游戏”导演的新女性惊悚电影伴随着曲折

新电影 葛丽泰 是一部追踪者惊悚片,由哭泣游戏导演和吸血鬼专访导演全女主角。

新电影 葛丽泰 作为一部潜行者电影,它是一个熟悉的领域,但它的性别扭曲真正具有革命性吗? 明星ChloëGraceMoretz和作家兼导演Neil Jordan都认为这种扭曲很多。 在本月开幕的电影中,一名缠扰者瞄准了一名年轻女子(Moretz's Frances),并随着故事的发展而越来越具有威胁性。

但正如Moretz解释的那样,这部电影偏离了典型的流派:不仅是名义上的缠扰者是女性,而且她是一位年长的女性 - 由65岁的女性扮演 奥斯卡提名人伊莎贝尔·赫珀特。

此外,电影中的第三位导演,法国最好的朋友埃里卡(Maika Monroe),也是女性。 没有主要的男性角色。

格雷塔有一个旧的情节,但有不同的铸造

“我当然喜欢这部电影的想法,我很喜欢它的回归 基本本能 or 致命的吸引力,“Moretz(Kick-Ass,Carrie) 告诉 雅虎娱乐 在电影的洛杉矶新闻日。 “但它通过铸造伊莎贝尔·赫珀特而不是安东尼·霍普金斯来颠覆这种类型的比喻。”

“这是三位掌舵的女性,他们拍摄了我们所见过和喜爱过的令人兴奋的故事 出去 并且它通过铸造一个完全不同的镜头和视角来颠覆这种类型,“Moretz解释道。 “而且我认为这是一个我不想错过的机会。”

葛丽塔 主任解释情节

导演尼尔乔丹是一位爱尔兰电影制片人,因其广受好评的电影而闻名 哭泣的游戏 访问吸血鬼。 以前从未指挥真正的惊悚片,乔丹在Ray Wright的早期剧本之后签署了导演兼合作者。

“这是我以前从未接触过的一种类型,我从未想过会这样,”他说。 “它穿过了我熟悉的领域,也许对观众来说也很熟悉 - 也许有点过于熟悉了。 但在它的中心,我有可能构建这个黑暗的童话故事。

“从这位老练的女性身上创造一个怪物的绝对有趣的可能性。 通常,在这些潜行者电影中,入侵性威胁是一个人,“他补充道。

如何 葛丽泰 与其他类似电影比较?

明星和导演的评估是否正确? 雅虎娱乐确实与另一位女性主导的追踪者惊悚片1992进行了比较 单身白领女性。 在2006中也有更类似的情节 丑闻笔记这涉及一位年长的女人(朱迪丹奇),他对一位年轻的同事(凯特布兰切特)有所了解。 这部备受赞誉的影片继续获得四项奥斯卡提名,其中包括两位女演员的演出。

虽然对于一部以更多女性角色为特色的电影来说,这是值得赞扬的,但是一些观察家可能认为赞扬一部以反对行为为中心的电影是可疑的,仅仅因为它是一个女人。

雅虎娱乐留言板上的一条评论说:“通常情况下,这是一个男人......” 啧啧,句子的最后一部分听起来没有性别歧视或任何东西。 此外,社会正义战士群体将为女性缠扰者提供免费通行证,因为她不是异性恋男性。“

是否 葛丽泰 性别代表问题?

然而,有些人可能会认为这只是一部电影而且电影只是一种逃避 - 不要被认真对待。 最近 争议 例如,去年在#metoo时代出现了一首政治上不正确的节日歌曲“Baby,It's Cold Outside”的歌词。 为了回应这种愤怒,许多人表达了烦恼,声称这是一首无害的歌曲,充其量只是调情,或者仅仅是其文化时代的产物。 经典假日电影也是如此, 红鼻子驯鹿鲁道夫,指责其促进歧视和欺凌。

随着代表性和问责制开始在我们的文化中转移,分支到电影等媒介,我们只需要实时学习。 就像生活中的一切一样,进步也不能免受争议和不确定性的影响。

葛丽泰 在2018九月的多伦多国际电影节上举行了全球首映。 它是由Focus Features于美国3月1,2019发布的。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

New Female Thriller Movie From Director of ‘The Crying Game’ Comes With a Twist

The new film Greta is a stalker thriller with an all-female lead cast from the director of The Crying Game and Interview With the Vampire.

The new film Greta treads familiar territory as a stalker film, but is its gender twist truly revolutionary? Both star Chloë Grace Moretz and writer-director Neil Jordan think the twist is plenty. In the film, opening this month, a stalker targets a young woman (Moretz’s Frances) and grows more increasingly threatening as the story goes on.

But as Moretz explains, this film deviates from typical genre fare: not only is the titular stalker a female, but she’s an older woman—played by 65-year-old Elle Oscar nominee Isabelle Huppert.

Additionally, the third lead in the film, Frances’ best friend Erica (Maika Monroe), is also female. There are no major male characters.

Greta Has an Old Plot but with Different Casting

“I, of course, loved the idea of the film, I loved how it harkened back to Basic Instinct or Fatal Attraction,” Moretz (Kick-Ass, Carrie) told Yahoo Entertainment at the film’s Los Angeles press day. “But it subverts the tropes of the genre by casting Isabelle Huppert instead of Anthony Hopkins.”

“It was three women at the helm that took an attainable, exciting story we have all seen and loved—as Get Out did—and it subverts the genre by casting a completely different lens and perspective,” Moretz explained. “And I think that was an opportunity which I didn’t want to miss.”

Greta’s Director Explains the Plot

Director Neil Jordan is an Irish filmmaker best known for such acclaimed films as The Crying Game and Interview with the Vampire. Never directing a bona fide thriller before, Jordan signed on as director and co-writer after an early script by Ray Wright.

“It’s a genre I’ve never approached before, I never thought I would,” he said. “It moved through territory that was familiar to me, perhaps familiar to audiences as well—maybe a little bit over-familiar. But at the center of it there was the possibility for me of constructing this dark fairy tale.

“There was the absolutely intriguing possibility of creating a monster out of this sophisticated female. Normally, in these stalker movies the invasive threat is a man,” he added.

How Does Greta Compare with Other Similar Films?

Are the star and director correct in their assessment? Yahoo Entertainment did draw comparisons to another female-led stalker thriller, 1992’s Single White Female. There was also a more similar plot in 2006’s Notes on a Scandal, that involved an older woman (Judi Dench) who obsesses over a much younger colleague (Cate Blanchett). The acclaimed film went on to be nominated for four Oscars, including for acting from the two actresses.

Although it’s commendable for a film to feature more female characters, some observers may think it’s dubious to praise a movie that centers on antagonistic behavior, simply because it’s a woman.

One comment on the message boards of Yahoo Entertainment said: “’Normally it’s a man….’ Gee, the last part of the sentence doesn’t sound sexist or anything. Also the social justice warrior crowd will give a female stalker a free pass since she isn’t a heterosexual male.”

Does Greta Matter for Gender Representation?

However, some may argue that it’s just a film and that movies are simply an escape—not to be taken so seriously. Recent controversies sprouted up last year involving the decidedly politically incorrect lyrics of holiday song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” in the age of #metoo, for instance. In response to that outrage, many people expressed annoyance, claiming it was a harmless song that was flirtatious at best or simply a product of its cultural era at worst. The same occurred with the classic holiday film, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, with charges of its promoting discrimination and bullying.

As representation and accountability start to shift in our culture, branching out to mediums such as film, we will simply have to learn in real time. Progress, like everything in life, is not immune to controversy and uncertainty.

Greta held its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2018. It was released on March 1, 2019, in the United States by Focus Features.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.