اكتب للبحث

حضاره

فيلم جديد للإثارة من إخراج "لعبة البكاء" يأتي مع تطور

الفيلم الجديد غريتا هي قصة مطاردة تتميز برصاص كل النساء من إخراج The Crying Game و Interview With the Vampire.

الفيلم الجديد غريتا يدرس أراضي مألوفة كفيلم مطارد ، ولكن هل تطور الجنس فيه ثوري حقًا؟ يعتقد كل من النجم كلو غريس موريتز والكاتب والمخرج نيل جوردان أن هذا التطور كبير. في الفيلم ، الذي يتم افتتاحه هذا الشهر ، يستهدف مطارد امرأة شابة (فرانسيس موريتز) ويزداد تهديدها مع تقدم القصة.

ولكن كما يوضح موريتز ، فإن هذا الفيلم ينحرف عن الأجرة النوعية التقليدية: ليس فقط المطارد هو أنثى ، بل هي امرأة أكبر سناً — تلعبها فتاة عمرها 65 ايل مرشح الاوسكار ايزابيل هوبرت.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن الصدارة الثالثة في الفيلم ، أفضل صديق لفرانسيس إيريكا (Maika Monroe) ، هي أيضاً أنثى. لا توجد شخصيات رئيسية من الذكور.

غريتا لديه مؤامرة قديمة ولكن مع صب مختلفة

"بالطبع ، لقد أحببت فكرة الفيلم ، أحببت كيف عادت إلى الفيلم غريزة أساسية or جاذبية قاتلة، "موريتز (ركلة الحمار ، كاري) قال ياهو الترفيه في يوم الصحافة في لوس أنجلوس. "لكنه يفسد دروع هذا النوع عن طريق صب إيزابيل هوبرت بدلاً من أنتوني هوبكينز".

"لقد كانت هناك ثلاث نساء على رأس القصة التي حققت قصة مثيرة يمكن تحقيقها ورأيناها وأحببناها جميعًا اخرج لقد فعل ذلك — وهو يفسد هذا النوع من خلال إلقاء عدسة ومنظور مختلفين تمامًا ”. "وأعتقد أن هذه كانت فرصة لم أكن أريد تفويتها."

وغريتا مدير يشرح المؤامرة

المخرج نيل جوردان هو مخرج أفلام أيرلندي اشتهر بمثل هذه الأفلام المشهورة مثل لعبة البكاء و مقابلة مع مصاص دماء. لم يسبق إطلاق فيلم إثارة من النوايا الحسنة من قبل ، وقع الأردن كمخرج وكاتب مشارك بعد سيناريو مبكر من تأليف راي رايت.

قال: "إنه نوع لم أتعامل معه من قبل ، لم أكن أعتقد أنني سأفعل ذلك". "لقد تحركت عبر منطقة كانت مألوفة بالنسبة لي ، وربما مألوفة بالنسبة إلى الجماهير أيضًا - ربما أكثر من المعتاد قليلاً. ولكن في وسطها كان هناك احتمال بالنسبة لي لبناء هذه القصة الخيالية المظلمة.

"كانت هناك إمكانية مثيرة للاهتمام للغاية لإنشاء وحش من هذه الأنثى المتطورة. في العادة ، في هذه الأفلام التي تلاحقها ، يكون التهديد الغازي رجلًا ".

كيف غريتا مقارنة مع أفلام أخرى مماثلة؟

هل النجم والمخرج صحيحان في تقييمهما؟ قامت Yahoo Entertainment بإجراء مقارنات مع فيلم إثارة آخر عن مطاردة الإناث ، 1992 أنثى بيضاء واحدة. كان هناك أيضا مؤامرة أكثر مماثلة في 2006 ملاحظات على فضيحة، التي تشارك امرأة مسنة (جودي دنش) الذي يستحوذ على زميله الأصغر سنا (كيت بلانشيت). استمر ترشيح الفيلم المشهور لأربع جوائز أوسكار ، بما في ذلك التمثيل من الممثلتين.

على الرغم من أنه من الجدير بالثناء أن يعرض فيلم ما المزيد من الشخصيات النسائية ، فقد يعتقد بعض المراقبين أنه من المشكوك فيه أن يشيدوا بفيلم يركز على السلوك العدائي ، لأنه ببساطة امرأة.

قال أحد التعليقات على لوحات الرسائل في Yahoo Entertainment: "عادةً ما يكون رجل ..." جي ، الجزء الأخير من الجملة لا يبدو متحيزًا جنسيًا أو أي شيء. كما أن حشد محارب العدالة الاجتماعية سوف يمنح المرأة المطاردة تصريحًا مجانيًا لأنها ليست من جنسين مختلفين. "

لا غريتا مسألة التمثيل الجنساني؟

ومع ذلك ، قد يجادل البعض أنه مجرد فيلم وأن الأفلام هي مجرد هروب - لا يجب أن تؤخذ على محمل الجد. الأخيرة الخلافات انتشرت في العام الماضي تتضمن كلمات غير صحيحة من الناحية السياسية لأغنية العطلة "Baby، It's Cold Outside" في عصر #metoo ، على سبيل المثال. رداً على هذا الغضب ، أعرب الكثير من الناس عن انزعاجهم ، قائلين إنها كانت أغنية غير ضارة كانت في أفضل حالاتها أو مجرد نتاج لعصرها الثقافي في أسوأ الأحوال. حدث الشيء نفسه مع فيلم عطلة الكلاسيكية ، رودولف الاحمر الانف الرنة، مع تهم الترويج للتمييز والبلطجة.

عندما يبدأ التمثيل والمساءلة بالتحول في ثقافتنا ، متفرعين إلى وسائل مثل الفيلم ، سيتعين علينا ببساطة أن نتعلم في الوقت الفعلي. التقدم ، مثل كل شيء في الحياة ، ليس محصنًا من الجدل وعدم اليقين.

غريتا عقدت العرض العالمي الأول في مهرجان تورنتو السينمائي الدولي في سبتمبر 2018. تم إصداره في مارس 1 ، 2019 ، في الولايات المتحدة بواسطة Focus Features.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

New Female Thriller Movie From Director of ‘The Crying Game’ Comes With a Twist

The new film Greta is a stalker thriller with an all-female lead cast from the director of The Crying Game and Interview With the Vampire.

The new film Greta treads familiar territory as a stalker film, but is its gender twist truly revolutionary? Both star Chloë Grace Moretz and writer-director Neil Jordan think the twist is plenty. In the film, opening this month, a stalker targets a young woman (Moretz’s Frances) and grows more increasingly threatening as the story goes on.

But as Moretz explains, this film deviates from typical genre fare: not only is the titular stalker a female, but she’s an older woman—played by 65-year-old Elle Oscar nominee Isabelle Huppert.

Additionally, the third lead in the film, Frances’ best friend Erica (Maika Monroe), is also female. There are no major male characters.

Greta Has an Old Plot but with Different Casting

“I, of course, loved the idea of the film, I loved how it harkened back to Basic Instinct or Fatal Attraction,” Moretz (Kick-Ass, Carrie) told Yahoo Entertainment at the film’s Los Angeles press day. “But it subverts the tropes of the genre by casting Isabelle Huppert instead of Anthony Hopkins.”

“It was three women at the helm that took an attainable, exciting story we have all seen and loved—as Get Out did—and it subverts the genre by casting a completely different lens and perspective,” Moretz explained. “And I think that was an opportunity which I didn’t want to miss.”

Greta’s Director Explains the Plot

Director Neil Jordan is an Irish filmmaker best known for such acclaimed films as The Crying Game and Interview with the Vampire. Never directing a bona fide thriller before, Jordan signed on as director and co-writer after an early script by Ray Wright.

“It’s a genre I’ve never approached before, I never thought I would,” he said. “It moved through territory that was familiar to me, perhaps familiar to audiences as well—maybe a little bit over-familiar. But at the center of it there was the possibility for me of constructing this dark fairy tale.

“There was the absolutely intriguing possibility of creating a monster out of this sophisticated female. Normally, in these stalker movies the invasive threat is a man,” he added.

How Does Greta Compare with Other Similar Films?

Are the star and director correct in their assessment? Yahoo Entertainment did draw comparisons to another female-led stalker thriller, 1992’s Single White Female. There was also a more similar plot in 2006’s Notes on a Scandal, that involved an older woman (Judi Dench) who obsesses over a much younger colleague (Cate Blanchett). The acclaimed film went on to be nominated for four Oscars, including for acting from the two actresses.

Although it’s commendable for a film to feature more female characters, some observers may think it’s dubious to praise a movie that centers on antagonistic behavior, simply because it’s a woman.

One comment on the message boards of Yahoo Entertainment said: “’Normally it’s a man….’ Gee, the last part of the sentence doesn’t sound sexist or anything. Also the social justice warrior crowd will give a female stalker a free pass since she isn’t a heterosexual male.”

Does Greta Matter for Gender Representation?

However, some may argue that it’s just a film and that movies are simply an escape—not to be taken so seriously. Recent controversies sprouted up last year involving the decidedly politically incorrect lyrics of holiday song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” in the age of #metoo, for instance. In response to that outrage, many people expressed annoyance, claiming it was a harmless song that was flirtatious at best or simply a product of its cultural era at worst. The same occurred with the classic holiday film, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, with charges of its promoting discrimination and bullying.

As representation and accountability start to shift in our culture, branching out to mediums such as film, we will simply have to learn in real time. Progress, like everything in life, is not immune to controversy and uncertainty.

Greta held its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2018. It was released on March 1, 2019, in the United States by Focus Features.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.