输入搜索

美洲 TRENDING美洲地区

新的美国 - 危地马拉联合计划阻止移民网大爆炸

SanSebastián,Huehuetenango,危地马拉,居民排队接受医疗和牙科护理May 20,2019参加Beyond the Horizo​​n 2019期间的医疗准备培训。 危地马拉公共卫生部,美国部队,佛罗里达国际大学非政府组织,危地马拉社会服务部和危地马拉部队在超越地平线3,700医疗准备培训演习中为超过2019圣塞瓦斯蒂安居民提供医疗,牙科和药物护理服务5月20-24,2019。 “超越地平线”是一项年度演习,旨在建立伙伴国家民事和军事应对重大灾害的能力,通过这次演习建立和维持的关系表明美国和区域合作伙伴能够在整个中央地区进行和执行救灾活动。美国。 (中士克里斯蒂娜M.迪翁的美国陆军照片)
SanSebastián,Huehuetenango,危地马拉,居民排队接受医疗和牙科护理May 20,2019参加Beyond the Horizo​​n 2019期间的医疗准备培训。 危地马拉公共卫生部,美国部队,佛罗里达国际大学非政府组织,危地马拉社会服务部和危地马拉部队在超越地平线3,700医疗准备培训演习中为超过2019圣塞瓦斯蒂安居民提供医疗,牙科和药物护理服务5月20-24,2019。 “超越地平线”是一项年度演习,旨在建立伙伴国家民事和军事应对重大灾害的能力,通过这次演习建立和维持的关系表明美国和区域合作伙伴能够在整个中央地区进行和执行救灾活动。美国。 (中士克里斯蒂娜M.迪翁的美国陆军照片)

美国国土安全部正在帮助阻止从危地马拉移民。

在解决移民问题的新努力中,美国正在向危地马拉派遣更多的国土安全人员,他们将协助国家警察制止人口走私活动。 这些走私者在从中美洲到美国南部边境的家庭移民路径中发挥着重要作用。

美国 - 危地马拉倡议将如何运作

美国国土安全部代理主任Kevin McAleenan本周访问危地马拉城期间宣布了合作协议。 该协议涉及至少二十几名调查人员和情报人员,他们将向危地马拉移民当局提供咨询并协助起诉走私集团。

根据美国国土安全部的一份媒体声明,其他合作领域包括增加危地马拉边境的安全,以阻止非正常移民的流动,同时确保适当的准备,以提高两国识别和更好地了解其根本原因的能力。

危地马拉Huehuetenango省3%的人口在过去7个月内离开该国, 据国土安全部官员说。

走私地区危地马拉

危地马拉北部的Huehuetenango部门去年经历了大量的移民趋势。

美国与危地马拉的合作带来走私胸围

作为这种合作的一个例子,危地马拉当局周三宣布,他们在危地马拉城逮捕了九名走私行动成员。 在被指控的头目Linda Fausta Merida-Lopez之后被称为Merida组织的人口贩运集团的这一半身像是美国和危地马拉官员共同努力的第一个成功故事。

梅里达运营的资产为10百万美元。 根据美联社的报道,他们在危地马拉边境进入墨西哥的走私服务据称每人收取11,000 $ 12,000和未成年人$ 3,500。

梅里达行动每年从危地马拉及其中美洲邻国以及远在索马里和巴基斯坦的个人偷运大约800人。

墨西哥遭受移民积压太多

一旦进入墨西哥,现在有许多移民 在恰帕斯州Tapachula的积压工作中遇到了,他们必须等待墨西哥移民局的出境签证。 他们需要这种签证才能合法地通过国家到达北部边境点。

在与美国接壤的边境地区,移民要么加入候补名单要求庇护,要么支付走私团体指挥他们,在那里边境巡逻人员可以逮捕他们。 如果与孩子一起旅行,许多人在拘留期间花费不到一周的时间,并在海关处理其庇护申请时被释放。

“你必须通过危地马拉来,所以如果我们能够在危地马拉与洪都拉斯的边界上创造一个更加强大的边境安全局势,危地马拉与萨尔瓦多的边界......这将破坏这一周期,” McAleenan说.

美国国土安全部代理Kevin McAleenan。 CBP摄影:Glenn Fawcett

走私者通过危地马拉社区传播关于庇护程序和移民法的错误信息。 目前,许多人被告知美国将在明年接受家庭,因为人口贩运团体试图建立紧迫性并增加其客户。

危地马拉欢迎美国军队

美国和危地马拉之间的讨论已经持续了数月,以建立这种合作努力。 在美国众议员维森特·冈萨雷斯(德克萨斯州)和危地马拉驻美国驻伊美利亚大使曼努埃尔·埃斯皮纳会晤后,冈萨雷斯写信给特朗普总统报告危地马拉官员欢迎美国军队和援助。

“危地马拉总统吉米莫拉莱斯表示,他欢迎在危地马拉北部边境引进美军,”冈萨雷斯在4月16写的一封信中写道。 “华盛顿邮报”。 “如果你想在美墨边境看到更少的担忧,我强烈建议你认真考虑莫拉莱斯总统的提议。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS TRENDING-AMERICAS

New Joint US-Guatemala Program to Stem Migration Nets Big Bust

San Sebastián, Huehuetenango, Guatemala, residents stand in line to receive medical and dental care May 20, 2019 at a medical readiness training exercise during Beyond the Horizon 2019. Guatemala Ministry of Public Health, U.S. Forces, Florida International University non-governmental organization, Guatemala Ministry of Social Services and Guatemalan forces provided medical, dental and pharmaceutical care to more than 3,700 San Sebastián residents at the Beyond the Horizon 2019 medical readiness training exercise May 20-24, 2019. Beyond the Horizon is an annual exercise designed to build partner nation capacity for civil and military response to major disasters and the relationships built and sustained through this exercise demonstrate the ability of the U.S., and regional partners, to access and execute disaster relief activities throughout Central America. (U.S. Army photo by Sgt. Christina M. Dion)
San Sebastián, Huehuetenango, Guatemala, residents stand in line to receive medical and dental care May 20, 2019 at a medical readiness training exercise during Beyond the Horizon 2019. Guatemala Ministry of Public Health, U.S. Forces, Florida International University non-governmental organization, Guatemala Ministry of Social Services and Guatemalan forces provided medical, dental and pharmaceutical care to more than 3,700 San Sebastián residents at the Beyond the Horizon 2019 medical readiness training exercise May 20-24, 2019. Beyond the Horizon is an annual exercise designed to build partner nation capacity for civil and military response to major disasters and the relationships built and sustained through this exercise demonstrate the ability of the U.S., and regional partners, to access and execute disaster relief activities throughout Central America. (U.S. Army photo by Sgt. Christina M. Dion)

The U.S. Homeland Security Department is helping to stem migration from Guatemala.

In a new effort to tackle immigration issues, the United States is sending additional homeland security agents to Guatemala, where they will assist the national police to inhibit human smuggling operations. These smugglers play a major role in the path of family migration from Central America to the U.S. southern border.

How the US-Guatemala Initiative Will Work

Acting Director of the Department of Homeland Security Kevin McAleenan announced the cooperation agreement during his visit to Guatemala City this week. The agreement involves at least two dozen investigators and intelligence personnel who will advise the Guatemalan migration authorities and assist in the prosecution of smuggling rings.

“Other areas of cooperation include increasing the security of the Guatemalan border to stem the flow of irregular migration while ensuring proper preparation to improve the ability of both countries to identify and better understand their root causes,” according to a DHS media statement.

Three percent of the population in the Huehuetenango department of Guatemala have left the country in the past seven months, according to DHS officials.

Smuggling region guatemala

The Huehuetenango Department of Northern Guatemala has experienced large emigration trends in the last year.

US-Guatemala Cooperation Brings Smuggling Bust

As an example of this cooperation, on Wednesday, Guatemalan authorities announced they’d arrested nine members of a smuggling operation in Guatemala City. This bust of the human-trafficking group, dubbed the Merida organization after the alleged ringleader Linda Fausta Merida-Lopez, was the first success story from this joint effort of U.S. and Guatemalan officers.

The Merida operation had assets of $10 million. For their smuggling services across the Guatemalan border into Mexico, they allegedly charged $11,000 to $12,000 per adult and $3,500 for minors, according to the Associated Press.

The Merida operation has smuggled roughly 800 individuals per year from Guatemala and their Central American neighbors, as well as individuals from as far away as Somalia and Pakistan.

Mexico Suffers Immigration Backlog Too

Once delivered into Mexico, many migrants are now met by a backlog in Tapachula, Chiapas, where they must wait for an exit visa from Mexican immigration authorities. They need this visa in order to legally move through the country to northern border points. 

On the border with the U.S., migrants either join wait lists to request asylum or pay smuggling groups to direct them across, where Border Patrol agents may apprehend them. If traveling with a child, many spend less than a week in detention and are released while customs processes their asylum requests.

“You’ve got to come through Guatemala, so if we can create a border security situation that’s more robust on the Guatemalan border with Honduras, the Guatemalan border with El Salvador…that’s going to disrupt this cycle,” McAleenan said.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security acting directing Kevin McAleenan. CBP Photo by Glenn Fawcett

Smugglers spread misinformation through Guatemalan communities about the asylum process and migration laws. Currently, many are told that the U.S. will accept families for just the next year, as an attempt by the human trafficking groups to build urgency and increase their clientele.

Guatemala Welcomes US Troops

Discussions between the U.S. and Guatemala have lasted for months to build up to this collaborative effort. After a meeting between U.S. Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-Texas) and Guatemala’s ambassador to the United States Manuel Espina, Gonzalez wrote to President Trump to report that Guatemalan officials would welcome U.S. troops and assistance.

“Guatemalan president Jimmy Morales has indicated that he would welcome the introduction of U.S. troops on Guatemala’s northern border,” Gonzalez wrote April 16, in a letter obtained by the Washington Post. “If you want to see fewer apprehensions at the U.S.-Mexico border, I would strongly encourage you to seriously consider President Morales’ offer.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.