اكتب للبحث

البيئة

تقرير جديد للأمم المتحدة يقول إن الاحتباس الحراري يتجاوز حدود اتفاق باريس

تقول مسودة تقرير من اللجنة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) التابعة للأمم المتحدة إن العالم يسير على الطريق الصحيح لتجاوز حدود الاحتباس الحراري التي حددتها اتفاقية باريس 2015.

طلبت اتفاقية باريس ، الموقعة من قِبل دول 200 تقريبًا ، من الموقعين على الالتزام بهدف الحد من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري إلى أقل من ارتفاع 2 ° C فوق أوقات ما قبل الصناعة مع "متابعة الجهود" لتحقيق هدف 1.5 ° الأشد ، كما ذكرت رويترز.

حصلت رويترز على نسخة حصرية من مسودة التقرير التي ذكرت أن درجات الحرارة قد ارتفعت بالفعل 1 ° C وترتفع حوالي 0.2 ° C منذ عقد. "إذا استمرت الانبعاثات بمعدلها الحالي ، فإن الاحترار الناجم عن النشاط البشري سيتجاوز 1.5 ° C بحوالي 2040" ، وفقًا للتقرير.

كان التقرير جزءًا من اتفاقية باريس وطلب قادة العالم. في عهد الرئيس ترامب ، انسحبت الولايات المتحدة من اتفاقية باريس في 2017 ، والتي يقول البعض إنها أضعفت الاتفاقية بالفعل. لقد تحول ترامب نحو سياسات صناعة الوقود الأحفوري الأكثر خيبة أمل لبيئيين.

وفقًا لتقرير IPCC ، لا يزال من الممكن السيطرة على الاحترار العالمي إذا كانت الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم على استعداد لاتخاذ خطوات "سريعة وبعيدة المدى" لتحقيق هدف زيادة 1.5 ° C المحدد في اتفاقية باريس 2015.

تحذيرات مشؤومة ، لكن أمل

بالإضافة إلى التداعيات البيئية للاحتباس الحراري ، علق التقرير على التأثير الاقتصادي المحتمل لارتفاع درجات الحرارة. وقال التقرير "من المتوقع أن يكون النمو الاقتصادي أقل عند ارتفاع درجة حرارة 2 ° C مقارنة بـ 1.5 ° بالنسبة للعديد من البلدان المتقدمة والنامية". من المتوقع أن يكون هذا نتيجة لكوارث بيئية مثل الفيضانات والجفاف. ومن بين الشواغل الأخرى المذكورة العاصفة والأمواج الحارة وأمراض المحاصيل والمجاعة وانتشار المرض وأكثر من ذلك.

تم توضيح بعض الأمل في التقرير ، حيث قدم توصيات بشأن طرق مكافحة تغير المناخ. بعض التوصيات شملت -

  • الحد من الانبعاثات الصناعية
  • خفض انبعاثات الدفيئة
  • القضاء على الوقود الأحفوري للحصول على الطاقة
  • اعتماد مصادر بديلة للطاقة مثل طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية والطاقة المائية المتجددة
  • زرع غابات واسعة لجني ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو
  • الهندسة الجيولوجية ، أو استكشاف طرق لتقليل شدة الشمس عن طريق حقن الجسيمات في الجو.

وفقًا لرويترز ، ادعى المشروع: "الطاقات المتجددة ، مثل طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية والطاقة الكهرومائية ، يجب أن ترتفع بنسبة 60 في المئة من مستويات 2020 بواسطة 2050 لتبقى دون 1.5 ° C" بينما تنخفض الطاقة الأولية من الفحم بمقدار الثلثين " ".

التقرير الذي حصلت عليه رويترز عبارة عن مراجعة لتقرير سابق لـ IPCC. أخذ التقرير المحدث في الاعتبار تعليقات 25,000 من خبراء البيئة ومجموعة واسعة من المؤلفات العلمية.

من المقرر أن يتم نشر المسودة النهائية لتقرير الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ في أكتوبر في كوريا الجنوبية بعد أن قامت الحكومات الرائدة بمراجعة واعتماد الوثيقة النهائية.

غوناس ، المجموعة الإثنية المحاصرة بسبب تغير المناخ

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

0 تعليق

  1. غيل لاديلا أغسطس 10، 2018

    الأكاذيب

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

New UN Report Says Global Warming to Exceed Paris Agreement Limits

A draft of a report from the United Nations’ Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (I.P.C.C.) says the world is on course to exceed the global warming limits set by the 2015 Paris Agreement.

The Paris Agreement, signed by almost 200 nations, had asked signatories to commit to a goal of limiting global warming to well below a rise of 2°C above pre-industrial times while “pursuing efforts” for the tougher 1.5° goal, as Reuters reported.

Reuters obtained an exclusive copy of the draft report which stated that temperatures are already up 1°C and rising about 0.2°C a decade. “If emissions continue at their present rate, human-induced warming will exceed 1.5°C by around 2040,” according to the report.

The report was part of the Paris Agreement and requested by world leaders. Under President Trump, the U.S. pulled out of the Paris Agreement in 2017, which some say has effectively weakened the agreement. Trump has turned towards more pro-fossil fuel industry policies, to the disappointment of environmentalists.

According to the I.P.C.C. report, global warming can still be controlled if governments around the world are willing to take “rapid and far-reaching” steps to achieve the lesser than 1.5°C increase goal set in the 2015 Paris Agreement.

Ominous Warnings, But Hope

In addition to the environmental repercussions of global warming, the report commented on the potential economic impact of rising temperatures. “Economic growth is projected to be lower at 2°C warming than at 1.5° for many developed and developing countries,” the report said. This is projected to be a result of environmental disasters like floods and droughts. Other concerns mentioned included storm surges, heat waves, crop disease, famine, the spreading of disease and more.

Some hope was outlined in the report, as it gave recommendations for ways to combat climate change.  Some of the recommendations included –

  • Reducing industrial emissions
  • Cutting down on greenhouse emissions
  • Eliminating fossil fuels for energy
  • Adopting alternative energy sources such as wind, solar and hydro renewable energies
  • Planting vast forests to harvest carbon-dioxide from the atmosphere
  • Geoengineering, or exploring ways to reduce the intensity of the sun by injecting particles into the atmosphere.

According to Reuters, the draft claimed: “renewable energies, such as wind, solar and hydropower, would have to surge by 60 percent from 2020 levels by 2050 to stay below 1.5°C ‘while primary energy from coal decreases by two-thirds’”.

The report obtained by Reuters is a revision of an earlier I.P.C.C. report. The updated report took into consideration over 25,000 comments from environmental experts and a wider range of scientific literature.

The final draft of the I.P.C.C. report is scheduled for publication in October in South Korea after leading governments have revised and approved the final document.

Gunas, The Ethnic Group Cornered By Climate Change

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

0 Comment

  1. Gail Ladella August 10, 2018

    Lies

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.