输入搜索

亚太

朝鲜在上周末测试了导弹,美国有各种各样的反应

“是的,让我们打破这个。 这是一个有几个不同受众的消息。“

据朝鲜中央通讯社(朝鲜中央通讯社)周日晚报道,据报道,朝鲜总统金正恩(Kim Jong-Un)监督了东海多个火箭发射器的“打击演习”。

国家新闻机构补充说,演习的目的是测试“国防部队的大口径远程多管火箭发射器和战术制导武器”的性能。

据韩国庆南大学远东研究所(IFE)研究军事专家Kim Dong-yub称,路透社报道说,朝中社发布的照片​​“显示,射击的战术制导武器可能是短程的地对地弹道导弹”。 “。

虽然导弹发射将违反联合国安理会决议,但发射似乎并未涉及使用远程弹道导弹,路透社称美国认为这是一种更直接的威胁。

“令我感到清醒的是,出乎意料的是,有一张短距离地对地弹道导弹的照片,也被称为北方版的伊斯坎德尔,”IFE的金告诉路透社。

此次测试是在Jong-Un于4月25和26在莫斯科会见俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京之后进行的。 在会议期间,Jong-Un强调,在开始取消所有核计划之前,他需要获得制裁救济的保障。

共产党国家最后一次发射导弹试验的时间是11月2017。 当时,平壤声称其Hwasong-15洲际弹道(ICBM)发射成功.

金想要什么?

一些分析人士称,在去年2月与越南河内总统唐纳德特朗普谈判破裂后,朝鲜军事行动是为了增加对华盛顿特区的压力。

“这表达了朝鲜对与美国陷入僵局的谈判感到沮丧的表现。 如果在僵局中没有突破,那么它可以回到以前的对抗模式,“韩国防务与安全论坛的高级研究员杨,, 告诉爱尔兰时报.

威尔逊中心政策专家让·李(Jean Lee)回应了英国的声明,称导弹测试是Jong-Un想要谈论的标志。

“是的,让我们打破这个。 这是一个包含多个不同受众的消息。 首先,请记住,就所有人而言,特朗普总统从河内的谈判中走了出来。 所以金正恩正在做的事情是他变得不耐烦了。 他很沮丧。 他希望加快恢复谈判的步伐。 所以这是一个提醒,“ 李告诉NPR.

其他人认为,朝鲜的考验也是对持续的韩美军事演习的抗议。 去年4月,平壤在Jong-Un和普京在莫斯科会晤期间谴责了这次演习。

美国对朝鲜导弹试验的反应

美国总统唐纳德特朗普淡化朝鲜试验的重要性,称平壤不会做任何可能损害与美国关系的事情。

“在这个非常有趣的世界中,任何事情都是可能的,但我相信金正恩完全意识到朝鲜的巨大经济潜力,并且不会干涉或结束它。 他也知道我和他在一起并且不想违背他对我的承诺。 交易将会发生!“ 特朗普啾啾.

美国国务卿迈克庞培也淡化了导弹试验,但提到朝鲜导弹试验暂停只关注洲际导弹系统。

“暂停的重点是非常集中于洲际导弹系统,这些系统肯定会对美国构成威胁,” 庞培说 福克斯新闻'克里斯华莱士。

一些分析师对美国的回应持批评态度,并担心庞培的声明有可能让朝鲜成为另一个更具挑衅性的考验。 该测试还意味着Jong-Un违背了对特朗普的承诺,不会测试任何类型的导弹。

“即使美国政府内部接受导弹测试禁令只是狭隘地适用于洲际弹道导弹,正如金已公开声明的那样,不要这样说,”朝鲜麻省理工学院核计划专家Vipin Narang表示, 告诉Vox。 “至少坚持使用'远程导弹'的模糊语言来掩盖威胁我们在该地区的部队和盟友的武器。

米德尔伯里研究所的另一位朝鲜分析师和东亚防扩散计划主任杰弗里·刘易斯在一则推文中补充说:“韩国人没有参与Pompeo的'测试你想要的任何东西,只要它不能到达我'标准。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

North Korea Tested Missiles Last Weekend, US Has Mixed Reactions

“Yeah, let’s break this down. This is a message that has several different audiences.”

North Korean President Kim Jong-Un reportedly supervised a “strike drill” for multiple rocket launchers in the East Sea, according to a Korean Central News Agency (KCNA) report on Sunday night.

The state news agency added that the purpose of the exercise was to test the performance of “large-caliber long-range multiple rocket launchers and tactical guided weapons by defense units.”

Reuters reported that photographs released by KCNA “showed the tactical guided weapons fired could be short-range, ground-to-ground ballistic missiles, according to Kim Dong-yub, a military expert at Korea’s Kyungnam University’s Institute of Far Eastern (IFE)Studies.”

While the missile launch would be in violation of U.N. Security Council Resolutions, the launch did not seem to involve the use of long-range ballistic missile which Reuters said the U.S. has deemed as a more direct threat.

“What was sobering for me was that unexpectedly, there was a photo of short-range, ground-to-ground ballistic missile, otherwise known as the North’s version of Iskander,” IFE’s Kim told Reuters.

The test came after Jong-Un met with Russian president Vladimir Putin in Moscow on April 25 and 26. During the meeting, Jong-Un stressed that he needed a guarantee of sanctions relief before it would start to dismantle all nuclear programs.

The last time the communist state launched a missile test was in November 2017. At that time, Pyongyang claimed its Hwasong-15 intercontinental ballistic (ICBM) launch was a success.

What Does Kim Want?

Some analysts claimed that the North Korean military exercise was an effort to increase pressure on Washington D.C. following the collapse of talks with President Donald Trump in Hanoi, Vietnam, last February.

“It is an expression of the North’s frustration over stalled talks with the United States. It is a message that it could return to the previous confrontational mode if there is no breakthrough in the stalemate,” Yang Uk, a senior research fellow at the Korea Defence and Security Forum, told the Irish Times.

Jean Lee, the Wilson Center’s policy expert, echoed Uk’s statement, saying that the missile test was a sign that Jong-Un wants to talk.

“Yeah, let’s break this down. This is a message that has several different audiences. First and foremost, remember that it was President Trump who walked away from that negotiation Hanoi, by all accounts. And so what Kim Jong Un is doing is he’s getting impatient. He’s frustrated. He wants to accelerate the pace of getting back to that negotiation. And so this is a reminder,” Lee told NPR.

Others suggested that North Korea’s test was also a protest over continued joint South Korea-U.S. military exercises. Pyongyang condemned the exercises during the meeting between Jong-Un and Putin in Moscow last April.

US Reaction to North Korea Missile Test

U.S. President Donald Trump downplayed the significance of the North Korean test by saying Pyongyang would not do anything that could harm ties with the U.S.

“Anything in this very interesting world is possible, but I believe that Kim Jong Un fully realizes the great economic potential of North Korea, & will do nothing to interfere or end it. He also knows that I am with him & does not want to break his promise to me. Deal will happen!” Trump tweeted.

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo also downplayed the missile test but by referring to how the North Korean missile test moratorium only focused on intercontinental missile systems.

“The moratorium was focused, very focused, on intercontinental missile systems, the ones that threaten the United States for sure,” Pompeo told Fox News’ Chris Wallace.

Some analysts were critical of the the U.S. response and worried that Pompeo’s statement risked giving North Korea the green light to another more provocative test. The test also means that Jong-Un has broken a commitment with Trump to not test any types of missiles.

“Even if internally the U.S. administration accepted that the missile-testing moratorium applied only narrowly to ICBMs, as Kim has publicly stated, don’t say it,” Vipin Narang, an expert on North Korea’s nuclear program at MIT, told Vox. “At least stick with the vague language of ‘long-range missiles’ to cover the weapons that threaten our forces and allies in the region.

Jeffrey Lewis, another North Korean analyst and Director of the East Asia Nonproliferation Program at the Middlebury Institute added in a tweet, “The South Koreans aren’t on board with Pompeo’s ‘test anything you want as long as it can’t reach me’ standard.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.