输入搜索

中东

以色列确认他们在2007轰炸了叙利亚的核反应堆

以色列承认在叙利亚轰炸核反应堆
CC路透社视频

以色列最终确认他们应对在新西兰国立大学爆炸叙利亚的一座可疑核反应堆负责。 许多人怀疑以色列入境是为了向伊朗发出警告。

以色列军方最终通过确认他们袭击了新西兰国立大学叙利亚的核反应堆,结束了一个保密的时代。 这一启示打破了犹太国家参与袭击事​​件长达十年的沉默。

从该国军方的释放透露 8架F-15战机对Deir ez-Zour地区部分建造的设施发动空袭,位于叙利亚首都大马士革西北的450公里处。

许多人认为以色列是在9月6,2007攻击的背后。 直到现在,以色列媒体才被禁止发布有关军方审查导致空袭的报道。

多年来,国际媒体报道了这一事件并报道了爆炸案,即使以色列在袭击中保持沉默。 一个 David Makovsky撰写的文章 在2012的纽约人中详细描述了袭击事件以及空袭前后的事件。

以色列空军司令阿米卡姆·诺尔金将军称这次袭击是正确的决定。 可疑的核场址位于伊斯兰国曾经拥有的地区。

在1981,以色列摧毁了伊拉克巴格达的另一座核反应堆。 2007袭击得到了美国的支持,美国怀疑朝鲜帮助叙利亚开发该工厂。

空袭后,叙利亚军方保持沉默。 巴沙尔·阿萨德总统唯一的声明是,以色列轰炸了一个不再使用的与军事有关的设施。

为什么以色列现在说实话?

目前尚不清楚为什么以色列最终决定在保持沉默十多年之后解除保密。

以色列总理本雅明·内塔尼亚胡 评论,“以色列的政策过去并且始终如一 - 以防止我们的敌人用核武器武装自己。”

来自特拉维夫大学的伊朗专家Uzi Rabi表示,以色列令人惊讶的披露向伊朗发出强烈警告,因为主要是什叶派国家扩大了在叙利亚的军事存在。

以色列和叙利亚在不扩散核武器组织(不扩散条约)

叙利亚是一个 在空袭之前签署“不扩散核武器条约”。 根据该协议,该国有权建造一座仅用于发电的工厂。 叙利亚还有义务向联合国核机构IAEA通报任何发展核项目的计划。

以色列尚未签署“不扩散核武器条约”; 据信犹太国家拥有核武器。 该国既不承认也不否认这一点。

世界是否采用双重标准?

A 泄露的电子邮件 从美国前国务卿科林鲍威尔到他的商业伙伴杰弗里利兹三月2015表示,以色列军方拥有200核武器,全部都针对伊朗。 在电子邮件对话中,两人都讨论了内塔尼亚胡就西方与伊朗首都德黑兰之间的核协议发出的警告。

在2015,伊朗领导人哈桑鲁哈尼抨击世界核大国,指责他们虚伪。 “他们告诉我们'我们不希望伊朗制造原子弹,'那些制造原子弹的人,”鲁哈尼 说过 在伊斯法罕的演讲中。

伊朗和联合国安理会五个常任理事国以及德国签署了一项具有里程碑意义的协议 联合综合行动计划, 更常见的是“伊朗核协议”,即7月2015在奥地利维也纳举行。

根据协议,伊朗同意拆除其中浓缩铀库存,将其低浓缩铀库存减少98%,并在13年减少约三分之二的气体离心机。

尽管特朗普自己的国务卿雷克斯蒂勒森(Rex Tillerson)声称伊朗遵守规定,特朗普总统有时暗示有可能找到伊朗不遵守协议。

现在特朗普总统上周刚刚选择约翰博尔顿取代人力资源麦克马斯特担任国家安全顾问,伊朗核协议似乎更加受到威胁。 约翰博尔顿被认为是雇用美国军事力量并被视为“战争鹰派”的热心支持者。 许多人认为特朗普选择博尔顿是因为他们都要求拆除或重新制定伊朗核协议。

如果西方真正渴望中东和平,许多人认为退出伊朗核协议,特别是在维持对以色列的强有力支持的同时,将使紧张局势升级,并与任何和平的努力背道而驰。

正如以核不扩散为重点的犁头基金会主席约瑟夫·西西奥内(Joseph Cirincione)所说:“如果西方希望让中东无核化,就不可能不关注以色列。”

相关新闻:

普京宣布俄罗斯拥有“无敌”核水下无人机,可以打击美国

约翰麦凯恩演唱炸弹炸弹伊朗时真的发生了什么?

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

4评论

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Israel Confirms They Bombed A Nuclear Reactor in Syria in 2007

Israel Admits Bombing Nuclear Reactor In Syria
CC Reuters Video

Israel has finally confirmed that they were responsible for the bombing of a suspected nuclear reactor in Syria in 2007. Many suspect the Israel admission is a meant to send a warning to Iran.

 

The Israel military finally ended an era of secrecy by confirming they attacked a nuclear reactor in Syria in 2007. The revelation broke a decade-long silence over the Jewish state’s involvement in the attack.

The release from the country’s military revealed eight F-15 warplanes launched airstrikes against the partially-constructed facility in the Deir ez-Zour region, 450 kilometers northwest of Syria’s capital Damascus.

Many people had believed that Israel was behind the Sept. 6, 2007 attack. Israeli media was banned until now from publishing the story about the airstrike due to censorship from the military.

International media outlets picked up the story over the years and reported the bombing even as Israel remained quiet on the attack. An article written by David Makovsky in The New Yorker in 2012 described the attack in detail as well as the events leading up to and after the airstrike.

Israel’s Air Force Commander Mayor General Amikam Norkin hailed the attack as the right decision. The suspected nuclear site was located in a once ISIS-held region.

In 1981, Israel had destroyed another nuclear reactor in Baghdad, Iraq. The 2007 attack gained support from the U.S., who suspected that North Korea helped Syria to develop the plant.

The Syrian military remained silent after the airstrike. President Bashar Al-Assad’s only statement was that Israel bombed a military-related facility which was no longer being used.

Why is Israel telling the truth now?

It is still not clear why exactly Israel has finally decided to lift the secrecy after keeping it quiet for over a decade.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu commented, “Israel’s policy was and remains consistent–to prevent our enemies from arming themselves with nuclear weapons.”

Iran expert Uzi Rabi from Tel Aviv University said that Israel’s surprising disclosure sends a strong warning to Iran, as the predominantly Shia country has expanded its military presence in Syria.

Israel and Syria in the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)

Syria was a signatory to the NPT before the airstrike. Under the agreement, the country has rights to build a plant only to generate electricity. Syria is also obliged to inform the U.N. nuclear body IAEA of any plans to develop a nuclear project.

Israel has yet to sign the NPT; the Jewish state is believed to have nuclear weapons. The country neither admits nor denies this.

Is the world applying a double standard?

A leaked email from former U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell to his business partner Jeffrey Leeds in March 2015 said that the Israeli military had 200 nuclear weapons, all targeted to Iran. In the email conversation, both discussed the warning issued by Netanyahu on a nuclear agreement between the west and Tehran, Iran’s capital.

In 2015, Iranian leader Hassan Rouhani blasted the world’s nuclear powers, accusing them of being hypocritical. “They tell us ‘we don’t want Iran to make atomic bombs,’ you who have made atomic bombs,” Rouhani said in his speech in Isfahan.

Iran and the five permanent members of the U.N. Security Council, plus Germany, signed a landmark agreement known as The Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action, more commonly known as the “Iran Nuclear Deal,” in July 2015 in Vienna, Austria.

Under the deal, Iran agreed to dismantle its stockpile of medium-enriched uranium, reduce its stockpile of low-enriched uranium by 98 percent, and slash about two-thirds of its gas centrifuges for 13 years.

President Trump has at times hinted at the possibility of finding Iran out of compliance with the deal despite Trump’s own Secretary of State, Rex Tillerson, stating that Iran was in compliance.

Now with President Trump’s selecting John Bolton just last week to replace H.R. McMaster as his national security advisor the Iran nuclear deal seems even more threatened. John Bolton is well regarded as an ardent proponent of employing U.S. military might and considered a “war hawk”. Many presume Trump chose Bolton because they both call for the dismantling or re-working of the Iran nuclear deal.

If the West truly desires peace in the Middle East, many think backing out of the Iran nuclear deal, especially while maintaing strong support for Israel, will escalate tension and run counter to any peace making attempts.

As Joseph Cirincione, president of the nuclear nonproliferation-focused Ploughshares Fund said, “If the West wants to make the Middle East nuclear-free, it is impossible not to focus on Israel.”

 

Related:

Putin Announces Russia Has “Invincible” Nuclear Underwater Drone, Can Strike U.S.

 

What Really Happened When John McCain Sang Bomb Bomb Bomb Iran?

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

4 Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.