اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد الشرق الأوسط

الأسلحة النووية وبرنامج إيران لتخصيب اليورانيوم: تم الرد على أسئلة 4

أعلن وزراء الخارجية ومسؤولون آخرون من دول P5 + 1 والاتحاد الأوروبي وإيران في الوقت الذي أعلنوا فيه عن إطار اتفاق شامل بشأن البرنامج النووي الإيراني. هيلونغ وو من الصين ولوران فابيوس من فرنسا وفرانك فالتر شتاينماير من ألمانيا وفديريكا موغيريني من الاتحاد الأوروبي وجواد ظريف من إيران ومسؤول مجهول من روسيا وفيليب هاموند من المملكة المتحدة وجون كيري من الولايات المتحدة قاعة "Forum Rolex" التابعة لمركز EPFL التعليمي ، Écublens-Lausanne ، سويسرا في 2 April 2015.
أعلن وزراء الخارجية ومسؤولون آخرون من دول P5 + 1 والاتحاد الأوروبي وإيران في الوقت الذي أعلنوا فيه عن إطار اتفاق شامل بشأن البرنامج النووي الإيراني. هيلونغ وو من الصين ولوران فابيوس من فرنسا وفرانك فالتر شتاينماير من ألمانيا وفديريكا موغيريني من الاتحاد الأوروبي وجواد ظريف من إيران ومسؤول مجهول من روسيا وفيليب هاموند من المملكة المتحدة وجون كيري من الولايات المتحدة قاعة "Forum Rolex" التابعة لمركز EPFL التعليمي ، Écublens-Lausanne ، سويسرا في 2 April 2015. (الصورة: وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية)

ملاحظة المحرر: إيران لديها خرقت الحد من تخصيب اليورانيوم التي تم فرضها في اتفاق 2015 تقييد أنشطتها النووية. وبموجب الاتفاق ، رفعت الولايات المتحدة وخمس قوى عالمية أخرى العقوبات الاقتصادية التي فرضتها لمنع إيران من تطوير أسلحة نووية. لكن الرئيس ترامب إزالة الولايات المتحدة من الصفقة في و2018 فرض العقوبات.

يوضح مايلز بومبر ، وهو زميل أقدم في معهد ميدلبري للدراسات الدولية في مونتيري ، أدناه ماهية تخصيب اليورانيوم ولماذا هو أساسي لبرامج الطاقة النووية السلمية وبناء الأسلحة النووية.

1. ما هو تخصيب اليورانيوم؟

يمكن لليورانيوم تشغيل محطات الطاقة النووية والقنابل النووية لأن بعض نظائرها أو أشكالها الذرية الانشطارية: ذراتهم يمكن تقسيمها بسهولة لإطلاق الطاقة.

يحتوي اليورانيوم المنضب حديثًا على أكثر من 99٪ من نظير يسمى اليورانيوم 238 ، وهو غير انشطاري ، بالإضافة إلى جزء ضئيل من اليورانيوم 235 ، وهو انشطاري. التخصيب هو عملية صناعية لزيادة نسبة U-235. وعادة ما يتم ذلك عن طريق تمرير غاز اليورانيوم من خلال أجهزة تسمى أجهزة الطرد المركزي ، والتي تدور بسرعة عالية. تنقل هذه العملية U-235 ، وهي أفتح من U-238.

تعمل محطات الطاقة النووية التجارية على وقود يورانيوم منخفض التخصيب ، والذي يحتوي على 3-5٪ U-235. يمكن للمعالجة الإضافية إنتاج يورانيوم عالي التخصيب ، والذي يحتوي على أكثر من 20٪ U-235.

يناقش الزعماء الإيرانيون المعتدلون والمحافظون ما إذا كانوا سيتبعون الأسلحة النووية منذ ثورة 1979 في البلاد.

2. كيف يرتبط تخصيب اليورانيوم بصنع أسلحة نووية؟

يتم استخدام نفس التكنولوجيا لتخصيب اليورانيوم إما للطاقة النووية أو للأسلحة النووية. تحتوي الأسلحة النووية عادةً على يورانيوم مخصب إلى 80٪ U-235 أو أكثر ، والذي يعرف باسم اليورانيوم المستخدم في صنع الأسلحة.

يمكن أيضًا تشغيل الأسلحة النووية بالبلوتونيوم ، لكن إيران ستحتاج إلى تشعيع وقود اليورانيوم في مفاعلها النووي أراك وبناء منشأة إضافية لفصل البلوتونيوم عن الوقود المستهلك إلى خذ هذا الطريق. في الوقت الحالي ، يمثل عمل اليورانيوم خطرا أكثر إلحاحا.

كل من الطاقة النووية والأسلحة النووية تعتمد على الطاقة النووية سلسلة ردود الفعل لإطلاق الطاقة ، ولكن بطرق مختلفة. تستخدم محطة الطاقة النووية التجارية وقود يورانيوم منخفض التخصيب وعناصر تصميم مختلفة لتوليد سلسلة تفاعلات نووية بطيئة تنتج تيارًا ثابتًا من الطاقة. في سلاح نووي ، تحشد المتفجرات العالية المصممة خصيصًا ما يكفي من اليورانيوم أو البلوتونيوم المستخدم في صنع الأسلحة لإنتاج سلسلة من ردود الفعل السريعة للغاية التي تولد انفجارًا.

ينطوي إنتاج سلاح نووي على أكثر من صنع يورانيوم عالي التخصيب أو البلوتونيوم ، لكن الخبراء يعتبرون ذلك عمومًا الخطوة الأكثر استهلاكا للوقت. إنها أيضًا المرحلة الأكثر بروزًا بالنسبة للغرباء ، لذلك فهي مؤشر مهم على تقدم البلد.

بناء K-33 في موقع Oak Ridge في Tennessee يورانيوم مخصب للأسلحة النووية الأمريكية من 1954-1985. تم هدم المصنع في 2012.
DOE

3. ما مدى صالح إيران في تخصيب اليورانيوم؟

لقد استمر العمل الإيراني في تخصيب اليورانيوم بشكل مناسب ، ولكن الآن يعتقد الخبراء عمومًا أنه إذا خرجت عن الصفقة النووية ، فيمكن أن تنتج ما يكفي من اليورانيوم عالي التخصيب لصنع سلاح نووي.

بدأت هذه الجهود في أواخر 1980s ، بينما كانت إيران منخرطة في حرب دموية مع العراق. تم توفير أجهزة الطرد المركزي الأولى والتصاميم من قبل عبد القدير خان ، العالم النووي الباكستاني الذي ركض شبكة السوق السوداء للتكنولوجيات النووية من 1970s خلال أوائل 2000s. كانت هذه الآلات سيئة النوعية ، وكثيراً ما كانت نماذج مستعملة وكثيراً ما تعطلت. وقيل إن الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل نفذتا عمليات التجسس ، بما في ذلك الهجمات الإلكترونية، لتعطيل قدرة إيران على التخصيب.

لا تزال إيران تواجه مشاكل فنية في الإنتاج أجهزة الطرد المركزي أكثر تقدما. ومع ذلك ، فقد حسنت أدائها بما فيه الكفاية في السنوات التي سبقت إبرام صفقة 2015 التي يعتقد المراقبون على نطاق واسع أن إيران يمكن أن تنتج مواد كافية لبرنامج الأسلحة النووية. تضع اتفاقية 2015 قيودًا على أنشطة البحث والتطوير الإيرانية للحد من التقدم ، لكن إيران كانت كذلك اختبار الحدود القانونية لهذه القيود.

4. كيف يحد اتفاق إيران من أنشطة إيران؟

يحد الاتفاق من كمية اليورانيوم التي تستطيع إيران تخصيبها وإلى أي مستوى. ويحدد أيضًا مقدار اليورانيوم المخصب الذي يمكن لإيران تخزينه ، وعدد أنواع الطرد المركزي التي يمكن أن تستخدمها ، وأنواعها أنشطة البحث والتطوير التي يمكن أن تجري.

تم تصميم كل هذه الحدود لمنع العلماء الإيرانيين من جمع ما يكفي من اليورانيوم عالي التخصيب لصنع سلاح نووي - من 10 إلى 30 كيلوغرام تقريبًا (من 22 إلى 65 جنيه) ، اعتمادًا على تصميم الجهاز وتطور وخبرة صانعي القنابل - في ظل سنة. ويعتبر هذا التأخير فترة كافية لإعطاء المجتمع الدولي الوقت للرد إذا قررت إيران امتلاك أسلحة نووية.

كما يقيد الاتفاق أبحاث فصل البلوتونيوم في إيران ، ويتطلب ذلك قبوله الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية عمليات التفتيش للتأكد من أنها لا تستخدم الأنشطة النووية السلمية كغطاء لإنتاج الأسلحة.

بموجب الاتفاقية ، كان من المقرر أن تبدأ القيود على أنشطة التخصيب الإيرانية في 2026 وتنتهي إلى حد كبير في 2031 ، على الرغم من أن المراقبة الدولية ستستمر بعد ذلك.


مايلز أ. بومبر، زميل أقدم ، مركز جيمس مارتن لدراسات حظر الانتشار النووي ، ميدلبري

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
زائر رد

تقوم Citizen Truth بإعادة نشر المقالات بإذن من مجموعة متنوعة من المواقع الإخبارية ومنظمات الدعوة ومجموعات المراقبة. نختار المقالات التي نعتقد أنها ستكون مفيدة ومفيدة لقرائنا. تحتوي المقالات المختارة أحيانًا على مزيج من الرأي والأخبار ، وأية آراء من هذا القبيل هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR MIDDLE EAST

Nuclear Weapons and Iran’s Uranium Enrichment Program: 4 Questions Answered

The ministers of foreign affairs and other officials from the P5+1 countries, the European Union and Iran while announcing the framework of a Comprehensive agreement on the Iranian nuclear programme. Hailong Wu of China, Laurent Fabius of France, Frank-Walter Steinmeier of Germany, Federica Mogherini of the European Union, Javad Zarif of Iran, an unidentified official of Russia, Philip Hammond of the United Kingdom and John Kerry of the United States in the "Forum Rolex" auditorium of the EPFL Learning Centre, Écublens-Lausanne, Switzerland on 2 April 2015.
The ministers of foreign affairs and other officials from the P5+1 countries, the European Union and Iran while announcing the framework of a Comprehensive agreement on the Iranian nuclear programme. Hailong Wu of China, Laurent Fabius of France, Frank-Walter Steinmeier of Germany, Federica Mogherini of the European Union, Javad Zarif of Iran, an unidentified official of Russia, Philip Hammond of the United Kingdom and John Kerry of the United States in the "Forum Rolex" auditorium of the EPFL Learning Centre, Écublens-Lausanne, Switzerland on 2 April 2015. (Photo: U.S. Department of State)

Editor’s note: Iran has breached a limit on enriching uranium that was imposed in a 2015 agreement restricting its nuclear activities. Under the deal, the United States and five other world powers lifted economic sanctions they had imposed to prevent Iran from developing nuclear weapons. But President Trump removed the U.S. from the deal in 2018 and reimposed sanctions.

Miles Pomper, a senior fellow at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey, explains below what uranium enrichment is and why it is central to both peaceful nuclear energy programs and building nuclear weapons.

1. What is uranium enrichment?

Uranium can fuel nuclear power plants and nuclear bombs because some of its isotopes, or atomic forms, are fissile: Their atoms can be easily split to release energy.

Freshly mined uranium contains more than 99% of an isotope called uranium 238, which is not fissile, plus a tiny fraction of uranium 235, which is fissile. Enrichment is an industrial process to increase the proportion of U-235. It’s usually done by passing uranium gas through devices called centrifuges, which rotate at high speeds. This process sifts out U-235, which is lighter than U-238.

Commercial nuclear power plants run on low-enriched uranium fuel, which contains 3-5% U-235. Further processing can produce highly enriched uranium, which contains more than 20% U-235.

Moderate and conservative Iranian leaders have been debating whether to pursue nuclear weapons since the country’s 1979 revolution.

2. How is Enriching Uranium Connected to Making Nuclear Weapons?

The same technology is used to enrich uranium for either nuclear power or nuclear weapons. Nuclear weapons typically contain uranium enriched to 80% U-235 or more, which is known as weapon-grade uranium.

Nuclear weapons can also can be powered with plutonium, but Iran would need to irradiate uranium fuel in its Arak nuclear reactor and build an additional facility to separate plutonium from the spent fuel to take that route. Currently its uranium work poses a more immediate risk.

Both nuclear power and nuclear weapons rely on nuclear chain reactions to release energy, but in different ways. A commercial nuclear power plant uses low-enriched uranium fuel and various design elements to generate a slow nuclear chain reaction that produces a constant stream of energy. In a nuclear weapon, specially designed high explosives cram together enough weapon-grade uranium or plutonium to produce an extremely fast chain reaction that generates an explosion.

Producing a nuclear weapon involves more than making highly enriched uranium or plutonium, but experts generally view this as the most time-consuming step. It’s also the stage that is most visible to outsiders, so it is an important indicator of a country’s progress.

Building K-33 at the Oak Ridge site in Tennessee enriched uranium for U.S. nuclear weapons from 1954-1985. The plant was demolished in 2012.
DOE

3. How Good is Iran at Enriching Uranium?

Iran’s work on uranium enrichment has proceeded in fits and starts, but now experts generally believe that if it exits the nuclear deal, it could make enough highly enriched uranium for a nuclear weapon.

These efforts began in the late 1980s, while Iran was engaged in a bloody war with Iraq. The first centrifuges and designs were provided by Abdul Qadeer Khan, a Pakistani nuclear scientist who ran a black market network for nuclear technologies from the 1970s through the early 2000s. These machines were poor-quality, frequently secondhand models and often broke down. And the United States and Israel reportedly carried out espionage operations, including cyberattacks, to further disable Iran’s enrichment ability.

Iran continues to have technical problems in producing more advanced centrifuges. Nonetheless, it improved their performance sufficiently in the years leading up to the 2015 deal that observers widely believe Iran could produce enough material for a nuclear weapons program. The 2015 agreement deal set limits on Iran’s research and development activities to limit further progress, but Iran has been testing the legal boundaries of these restrictions.

4. How Does the Iran Deal Limit Iran’s Activities?

The agreement limits how much uranium Iran can enrich and to what level. It also specifies how much enriched uranium Iran can stockpile, how many and what types of centrifuges it can use, and what kinds of research and development activities it can conduct.

All of these limits are designed to prevent Iranian scientists from amassing enough highly enriched uranium for a nuclear weapon – roughly 10 to 30 kilograms (22 to 65 pounds), depending on the device’s design and the bomb-makers’ sophistication and experience – in under a year. That delay is seen as long enough to give the international community time to respond if Iran decided to go nuclear.

The agreement also restricts Iran’s plutonium separation research, and requires it to accept International Atomic Energy Agency inspections to ensure that it is not using peaceful nuclear activities as a cover to produce weapons.

Under the agreement, restrictions on Iran’s enrichment activities were scheduled to start easing in 2026 and largely end in 2031, although international monitoring would continue after that.


Miles A. Pomper, Senior Fellow, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Middlebury

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.