输入搜索

国家

奥克兰教师争取更高薪酬,更多教师和护士

在洛杉矶和丹佛的老师罢工之后,奥克兰老师现在是最新的选择,要求更好的教育氛围。

奥克兰的老师星期五早上进入了罢工的第二天。 教师,辅导员和护士要求更多的薪水,更多的教师和护理人员,以及减少班级规模 - 要求与洛杉矶,芝加哥和其他地区的学区早期教师罢工不同。

奥克兰教师工会与他们的同情者一起于周四下午举行集会,以满足他们的要求。 第二天的谈判定于周五早上在9 AM的一个秘密地点举行。

除了护士和学校辅导员也参加罢工之外,教师并不是唯一提出要求的人; 许多学生同意并支持老师的要求。

一位奥克兰学生谈到他为什么和他的老师一起走纠察线。 (图片来自YouTube)

抗议教师表示,他们越来越难以在社区中取得领先,特别是在东奥克兰这样的社区。 在东奥克兰的Reach学院工作的老师和招聘人员,Emily Rasmussen 告诉法院新闻 让新老师在附近的学校工作已成为一项艰巨的任务。

拉斯穆森在Reach度过了八年之后,对该地区的教育工作者和学生所面临的困难有所了解。 据她介绍,社区优质公共教育面临的挑战包括:

  • 教师的薪水微薄
  • 在奥克兰生活费用高
  • 班级人数众多
  • 预算削减教育
  • 缺乏护理人员

考虑到上述问题,拉斯穆森表示,学生们将面临后果,并且会因缺乏经验的年轻教师轮流不断变化而受苦。

“我们的学生,100有资格获得免费午餐,受到缺乏高素质教师的不成比例的影响,”Rasmussen说。

支付差距,邻里暴力和预算削减是问题的一部分

拉斯穆森向法院新闻评论说,富裕社区的学校并没有像贫困地区那样受到预算削减的严重影响,因为富裕地区的PTA资金规模很大。 当2016-2017发生预算冻结时,她回忆起Reach Academy缺纸,而较富裕的学校则利用数十万美元的PTA资金来弥补不足。

这种差异还激励教师将贫困社区的学校留在较富裕的社区,在那里他们可以获得更多收入,并减少教学挑战。 较富裕的学校每个教室的学生人数较少,所有员工的工作条件都较好。

如果奥克兰教育协会和奥克兰联合学区之间的谈判没有破裂,那么周四开始的罢工就不会发生。 教育协会是奥克兰3,000教师和护士的联盟。

工会的要求是要求12三年内加薪百分比以及小班和更多的护士和心理健康服务提供者。 奥克兰学区表示,他们只能支付7的百分比,并表示有计划在面临财务问题时削减预算减少21百万。

如果预算减少了21百万美元,如该区早些时候宣布的那样,可能导致教师裁员,增加班级规模和更加困难的教学环境。 该区的所有22学生已经只有36,000护士,兼职护士Ozella Faison-Burns告诉Courthouse News。 45中有2001护士。 Faison-Burns在Castlemont和东奥克兰的两所小学之间穿梭。

只有合格的护士才能给加利福尼亚州的学生注射胰岛素,学生必须等待护士到达 - 无论多长时间 - 当他们患有胰岛素危机时。 一名学生说 在周四下午的集会上,她的教育被缩短了,因为她的老师必须工作两份工作才能过上体面的生活,班级规模太大,老师也在不断变化。

教师和护士工会周五回到了与地区官员的谈判桌上,但教师将继续在学校外进行纠察,直到达成有利于所有各方的协议。 罢工估计会影响36,000学生和奥克兰公立学校的所有86。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Oakland Teachers Strike for Higher Pay, More Teachers and Nurses

After teacher strikes in Los Angeles and Denver, Oakland teachers are now the latest to take to the picket lines to demand a better educational atmosphere.

Teachers in Oakland entered their second day of a strike Friday morning. Teachers, counselors and nurses are asking for more pay, more teachers and nursing staff, and reduced class size – demands not unlike earlier teacher strikes at school districts in Los Angeles, Chicago and other parts of the nation.

Together with their sympathizers, the Oakland teachers union held a rally on Thursday afternoon to drive home their demands. A second day of negotiations was scheduled for 9 AM Friday morning at an undisclosed location.

Teachers are not alone in making demands, in addition to nurses and school counselors also going on strike; many students are agreeing with and supporting their teachers’ demands.

An Oakland student talks about why he joined his teachers in walking the picket line. (Photo via YouTube)

The protesting teachers said it has become harder for them to get ahead in the community, especially in neighborhoods like East Oakland. A teacher and recruiter working at Reach Academy in East Oakland, Emily Rasmussen told Courthouse News that getting new teachers to work at schools in the neighborhood has become an uphill task.

Having spent eight years at Reach, Rasmussen is privy to the difficulties confronting educators and students in the region. According to her, the challenges facing quality public education in the neighborhood include:

  • Meager pay for teachers
  • High costs of living in Oakland
  • Large class size
  • Budget cuts for education
  • Lack of nursing staff

Given the above problems, Rasmussen said students are left with the consequences and suffer through a constantly changing rotation of inexperienced young teachers.

“Our students, who 100 percent qualify for free lunch, are disproportionately impacted by a lack of high-quality teachers,” Rasmussen said.

Pay Disparity, Neighborhood Violence and Budget Cuts Are Part of the Problem

Rasmussen commented to Courthouse News that schools in affluent neighborhoods are not as severely impacted by budget cuts as those in poor areas because wealthier districts have significantly sized PTA funds. When a budget freeze occurred in 2016-2017, she recalled that Reach Academy ran out of paper while wealthier schools utilized hundreds of thousands of dollars of PTA funds to make up for the shortfall.

This disparity also incentivizes teachers to leave schools in poor neighborhoods for richer neighborhoods, where they can earn more and have fewer challenges to teaching. Wealthier schools have fewer students per classroom and better work conditions for all staffs.

The strike that started on Thursday wouldn’t have occurred if negotiations between the Oakland Education Association and the Oakland Unified School District had not broken down. The education association is the union for the 3,000 teachers and nurses in Oakland.

The union demands is asking for a 12 percent pay increase over three years as well as smaller classes and more nurses and mental health providers. The Oakland school district has said they are only able to pay 7 percent more, stating there are plans to cut the budget by $21 million in the face of financial problems.

If the budget is cut by $21 million, as earlier announced by the district, it could result in teacher layoffs, increased class size and an even more difficult teaching environment. There are already only 22 nurses for the entire 36,000 students in the district, part-time nurse Ozella Faison-Burns told Courthouse News. There were 45 nurses in 2001. Faison-Burns shuttles between Castlemont and two elementary schools in East Oakland.

Only qualified nurses can give insulin shots to students in California, and students must wait for nurses to arrive – however long it takes – when they have an insulin crisis. One student said at a Thursday afternoon rally that her education was being shortchanged because her teachers have to work two jobs to make a decent living, class sizes are too big and her teachers are constantly changing.

The teachers and nurses union goes are back at the negotiating table with district officials on Friday, but teachers will continue to picket outside schools until a favorable agreement is reached for all parties. The strike is estimated to impact 36,000 students and all 86 of Oakland’s public schools.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.