输入搜索

国家

难民安置办公室悄悄删除整个工作人员目录网页

接听电话的女人的剪影
图像的形象

(阳光基金会)难民重新安置办公室可能在去年10月至12月期间从其网站上删除了其工作人员名录。 这一变化发生在特朗普政府的政治风暴之前 边境的家庭分离政策 并指责该办公室在争议期间未能与公众透明地沟通。

Web Integrity Project的最新版本 报告 记录整个页面的删除,其中包含来自网站的员工联系信息 难民重新安置办公室 (ORR),卫生和人类服务部(HHS)内的办公室,负责管理难民,庇护者和新移民的其他特定群体的健康和福祉。

删除 “联系ORR”页面,可通过互联网档案馆访问 Wayback机器,列出了22主要ORR员工的个人联系信息,如电子邮件地址和电话号码,包括ORR主管Scott Lloyd的电子邮件地址。 各个ORR部门(如难民援助部门(DRA),难民健康和儿童服务部门)的领导联系信息也被删除,代表全国各个DRA地区的员工的信息也被删除。 ORR网站上的任何地方都不再提供此删除的联系信息。

由Internet Archive的Wayback Machine捕获的ORR员工目录网页的一部分快照 11-2017-XNUMX.

那些寻求联系办公室总部的人现在只能找到有关更新的ORR的一般联系信息 “关于”页面,包括ORR的母公司,儿童和家庭管理局(ACF)的一般媒体查询电子邮件地址,“一般查询”的电话号码,“无人陪伴的外国儿童父母热线”号码,以及ORR的邮寄地址。 此信息虽然新添加到“关于”页面,但之前已在删除的“联系ORR”页面上提供。 HHS有一个 部门范围的员工目录,虽然它不提供直接搜索ORR员工的能力。 在ORR中工作的个人,如 劳埃德主任,目录中没有任何ORR标识,并且通常没有标题列出,使信息难以访问。

最近,ORR因其在特朗普政府中的作用受到了负面关注 “零容忍”移民政策。 公众的强烈抗议集中在该机构的沟通不畅,该机构一直受到困扰 资源不足,缺乏在危机背景下工作的经验.

许多媒体成员对HHS不愿回答有关政策的问题表示失望。 6月,哥伦比亚广播公司的大卫贝格诺在Vox的 今天,解释他说:“我们几天来一直试图接触健康与人类服务部门,而且我们无法让他们把相关人员带到我们面前......这是一次冗长的采访来回答我们的问题。”

那些寻找与家人失散的孩子以及代表他们的辩护律师和律师,也对ORR无法通过HHS建立的沟通渠道及时提供答案表示失望。

海关和边境巡逻队发布了一份题为“家庭的下一步,“最后于6月发布,建议家庭在某些情况下联系ORR家长热线。 然而,该热线的持续时间较长,往往没有信息,根据a 拦截报道。 该 德州民权项目已经采访了数百名与孩子分开的父母,他们告诉Intercept,“当试图找到这些孩子时,法律顾问发现政府代表在披露他们打电话询问有关时,经常故意挂断他们。父母在边境与儿童分开的位置 华盛顿邮报也报道 在移民律师尝试联系ORR之后,与父母热线的问题只是听到录制的消息,“我们正在经历高通话量。 请继续留在下一个可用的个案经理。“

当呼叫者能够接通案件管理员时, NBC新闻报道 ORR不会发布有关儿童的信息,以保护他们,除非呼叫者提供的信息与ORR的档案相符。 如果信息匹配,则可以通知呼叫者个人是否在庇护所中,但是他们被告知ORR将不得不呼叫他们以使他们直接联系。

对此感到沮丧 无人陪伴的外国儿童门户网站另一种寻找失散儿童信息的方法同样突出。 据路透社报道 关于门户网站的问题,该网站无法处理已收到的用户流量。 “零容忍”政策给门户带来了额外的压力,该门户最初旨在追踪无人陪伴的边境儿童,但现在被用来追踪数千名与家人和监护人分离的儿童。 其他技术问题也困扰着门户网站,包括有限的搜索功能,数据可靠性问题,登录问题以及有限的案例管理功能。

虽然ORR从其网站上删除了联邦级别的员工联系信息,但仍然可以在线查看监督ORR资助的州级计划的协调员的联系资源。 这些州协调员的电子邮件地址和电话号码可以在 “ORR资助计划主要联系人”网页。 在地方一级为难民提供服务的伙伴组织的联系信息也可以逐州获得 “州计划目录”网页.

ORR没有提供预先通知或解释为什么他们从他们的网站上删除了他们的员工目录。 未能提供通知可能会违反 减少文书工作法,这要求各机构“在启动,大幅修改或终止重要的信息传播产品时提供充分的通知”。

为了回应WIP的评论请求,HHS发言人建议删除ORR员工目录网页与其他ACF办事处网站的更改一致,并表示,“该网站已作为整体ACF更新的一部分进行了重组,旨在吸引个人对电子邮件邮箱和定期监控的电话号码提出疑问。“

然而,HHS发言人的声明与其他ACF办公室网站上目前提供的信息不一致。 社区服务办公室确实会继续列出联邦一级的员工联系信息 “OCS领导目录”页面,其中包括7月2017上最后一次审核的电子邮件地址和电话号码,以及两个ACF 儿童保育办公室 美国原住民管理局 继续在其网站上提供有关今年上次审核的联邦级别员工联系信息的页面。

无论是作为媒体的联络点还是为孤立的家庭成员提供服务,这些家庭都在拼命寻找并相互联系,联邦机构必须提供一个易于使用且可靠的渠道来联系机构官员。 取消联系信息,特别是当它已经在线提供时,不仅会损害公众与政府互动的能力,还会损害公众的信任。

本文中所有未归属的职位和意见均为阳光基金会的职位和意见。

事实核查:非法移民统计

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

3评论

  1. Janice Iannaccone 八月16,2018

    那不方便!!! 不!!!

    回复
  2. 帕特里夏·马森 八月22,2018

    他们可能知道的太多了。 共和党的罪犯是下一个。

    回复
  3. 汤米李霍洛威 八月22,2018

    典型的共和党文明!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Office of Refugee Resettlement Quietly Removes Entire Staff Directory Webpage

silhouette of woman answering a phone call
Image via Pixabay

(Sunlight Foundation) The Office of Refugee Resettlement removed its staff directory from its website, likely between October and December of last year. The change came just before the political firestorm over the Trump administration’s family separation policy at the border and accusations that the office has failed to communicate transparently with the public during the controversy.

The Web Integrity Project’s latest report documents the takedown of an entire page containing staff contact information from the website of the Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR), the office within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) that is responsible for managing the health and well-being of refugees, asylees, and other specific groups of newly arrived immigrants.

The removed “Contact ORR” page, accessible through the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine, listed individual contact information, such as email addresses and phone numbers, for 22 key ORR employees, including an email address for ORR Director Scott Lloyd. Contact information for the leadership of various ORR divisions, like the Divisions of Refugee Assistance (DRA), Refugee Health, and Children’s Services, was also removed, as was information for employees representing each of the DRA regions across the country. This removed contact information is no longer available anywhere on the ORR website.

Screenshot 1.1 croppedSnapshot of a portion of ORR’s staff directory webpage captured by the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine on October 11, 2017

Those seeking to contact the office headquarters are, instead, now only able to find general contact information on an updated ORR “About” page, including a general media inquiry email address for ORR’s parent agency, the Administration for Children and Families (ACF), a phone number for “general inquiries,” the “Unaccompanied Alien Children Parent Hotline” number, and ORR’s mailing address. This information, although newly added to the “About” page, was all previously available on the removed “Contact ORR” page. HHS has a department-wide employee directory, although it doesn’t provide the ability to search for ORR employees directly. Individuals working within ORR, like Director Lloyd, don’t have any ORR-designation within the directory and are often listed without a title, making information difficult to access.

ORR has recently received negative attention for its role in the Trump administration’s “zero-tolerance” immigration policy. Much of the public outcry has centered around poor communication by the agency, which has been plagued by insufficient resources and a lack of experience working in crisis contexts.

Many members of the media have expressed frustration with HHS’s unwillingness to respond to their questions regarding the policy. In June, CBS’s David Begnaud, on Vox’s Today, Explained, stated, “We’ve been trying to reach Health and Human Services for days now, and we can’t get them to put someone on camera who can give us … a lengthy interview to answer our questions.”

Those searching for children separated from their families, and the advocates and lawyers who represent them, have also expressed frustration with ORR’s inability to provide them with timely answers through the channels of communication that have been established by HHS.

Customs and Border Patrol issued a document titled “Next Steps for Families,” last published in June, that advised families to contact the ORR Parent Hotline in certain circumstances. The hotline, however, has long holding times and is often uninformative, according to a report by The Intercept. The Texas Civil Rights Project, which has interviewed hundreds of parents who have had children separated from them, told the Intercept that, “when trying to locate these children, legal counsel found that government representatives often deliberately hung up on them after they disclosed that they were calling to inquire about the location of a parent separated from a child at the border.” The Washington Post also reported issues with the Parent Hotline after an immigration lawyer tried contacting ORR only to hear a recorded message stating, “We are experiencing high call volume. Please stay on the line for the next available case manager.”

When callers have been able to get through to case managers, NBC News has reported that ORR won’t release information on children, in order to protect them, unless callers provide information that matches what ORR has on file. If the information does match, callers may be informed if an individual is in a shelter, but they are then told that ORR will have to call them back to put them in direct contact.

Frustration with the Unaccompanied Alien Children Portal, another means for finding information on separated children, is just as prominent. Reuters reported on problems with the portal, which has not been able to handle the volume of user traffic that it has received. The “zero-tolerance” policy has created an additional strain on the portal, which was originally designed to track children who arrived at the border unaccompanied but is now being used to track thousands of children who have been separated from their families and guardians. Other technical issues plague the portal as well, including limited search functionality, data reliability concerns, login issues, and limited case management functionality.

While ORR removed individual federal-level employee contact information from its website, contact resources for coordinators who oversee ORR-funded state-level programs are still available online. These state coordinators’ email addresses and phone numbers can be found on the “ORR Funded Programs Key Contacts” webpage. Contact information for partner organizations providing services to refugees at the local level is also available on a state-by-state basis on the “State Program Directory” webpage.

ORR did not provide advance notice or explanation for why they removed their staff directory from their website. This failure to provide notice may violate the Paperwork Reduction Act, which requires agencies to “provide adequate notice when initiating, substantially modifying, or terminating significant information dissemination products.”

In response to WIP’s request for comment, an HHS spokesperson suggested that the ORR staff directory webpage removal was consistent with changes to the websites of other ACF offices and said, “the website was reorganized as part of an overall ACF update, designed to get individuals with questions to email mailboxes and phone numbers that are regularly monitored.”

The HHS spokesperson’s claim, however, isn’t consistent with information that is currently available on other ACF offices’ websites. The Office of Community Services does continue to list individual federal-level employee contact information on an “OCS Leadership Directory” page, which includes email addresses and phone numbers last reviewed in July 2017, and both of ACF’s Office of Child Care and Administration for Native Americans continue to have pages with individual federal-level employee contact information that was last reviewed this year available on their websites.

Whether as a point of contact for the media or to serve members of separated families that are desperately trying to find out about and contact one another, it is important that federal agencies provide an easy-to-use and reliable conduit for contacting agency officials. Taking down contact information, especially when it’s already readily available online, not only harms the public’s capacity to interact with our government but undermines the public’s trust as well.

All unattributed positions and opinions in this piece are those of the Sunlight Foundation.

 

Fact Check: Illegal Immigration Statistics

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

You Might also Like

3 Comments

  1. Janice Iannaccone August 16, 2018

    Well isn’t that convenient!!! NOT!!!

    Reply
  2. Patricia Masson August 22, 2018

    They probably know too much. Republican criminals are next.

    Reply
  3. Tommy Lee Holloway August 22, 2018

    Typical Republican civility !

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *