输入搜索

公司文化

奥普拉主持电视面板与现实生活中央公园五

中央公园五的Yusef Salaam  - 在特洛伊戴维斯的集会上发言。 联合广场,纽约市。
中央公园五的Yusef Salaam - 在特洛伊戴维斯的集会上发言。 联合广场,纽约市。 可能2009。(照片:Thomas Good)

奥普拉温弗瑞亮相 当他们看到我们,中央公园五号的故事,在Netflix和OWN上播出。

新的Netflix戏剧迷你剧 当他们看到我们时, 上个月发布,很快引起了全国的关注和好评。 现在,这位流媒体巨头还将播出一个特别节目,其中以奥普拉·温弗瑞为例,采访被称为“中央公园五号”的现实被告人。

描写五个年轻黑人男子的臭名昭着的案件 被错误定罪 在1989春天曼哈顿着名公园发生的野蛮强奸案中,Ava DuVernay执导了该系列剧,其中包括诸如Felicity Huffman,Joshua Jackson和John Leguizamo等大牌明星。

考虑到美国目前的政治和社会气氛 - 警察和公民的种族貌相 - 这部电影引起了观众的共鸣。 演员LeVar Burton 被称为 迷你剧“对你理解美国至关重要[as] “伯顿是明星 在1977,另一个关于非洲奴隶在美国的经历的开创性的迷你剧。

检察官琳达·费尔斯坦(Linda Fairstein)甚至领导了对中央公园五号的错误起诉 丢失 她的书籍交易(作为一名犯罪小说家),因为迷你剧的播出引起的反弹。

特朗普总统本人,作为一名私人公民,一直都是 审查 在迷你剧的影响中,着名的推动了1989中的种族主义叙事,关于哈莱姆的男孩们在中央公园“走路”的暴力和鲁莽行为。 他甚至在整篇报纸广告中提倡死刑作为对被控青少年的惩罚。

新的后续特别节目将以奥普拉为主导的两个深度访谈:首先是演员 当他们看到你其中包括Niecy Nash,Jharrel Jerome,Michael K. Williams,Joshua Jackson,Asante Blackk,Caleel Harris,Ethan Herisse,Jovan Adepo,Chris Chalk,Freddy Miyares和Justin Cunningham,以及执行制片人Jane Rosenthal和Berry Welsh。 第二次采访将由导演DuVernay和被称为“中央公园五”的五名无罪男子组成:Antron McCray,Kevin Richardson,Yusef Salaam,Raymond Santana和Korey Wise。

这将是温弗瑞第一次采访这些男人,现在是他们在40中期。 经过十多年的监禁,这五名男子在2002被释放,因为DNA证据证明他们对Trisha Meil​​i的攻击不负责任。

与Netflix一起,Winfrey的有线电视频道OWN也将播出特别节目 奥普拉温弗瑞现在看到我们在两种格式的12 pm ET / PT上首映六月10。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Oprah Hosts Televised Panel With Real-Life Central Park Five

Yusef Salaam of the Central Park Five - speaking at a rally for Troy Davis. Union Square, New York City.
Yusef Salaam of the Central Park Five - speaking at a rally for Troy Davis. Union Square, New York City. May 2009.(Photo: Thomas Good)

Oprah Winfrey highlights When They See Us, the story of the Central Park Five, with airings on Netflix and OWN.

The new Netflix drama miniseries When They See Us, released last month, quickly drew national attention and praise. Now the streaming giant will also air a special show featuring Oprah Winfrey interviewing the real-life accused men dubbed the “Central Park Five.”

Portraying the notorious case when five young black men were wrongly convicted of a brutal rape that took place in Manhattan’s famous park in the spring of 1989, Ava DuVernay directed the series, and it includes big stars such as Felicity Huffman, Joshua Jackson and John Leguizamo.

Considering the current political and social climate in the U.S.—with racial profiling from police and citizens alike—the film struck a chord with audiences. Actor LeVar Burton called the miniseries “as essential to your understanding of America [as] Roots!” Burton was the star of Roots in 1977, another groundbreaking miniseries about the African slave experience in America.

The prosecutor, Linda Fairstein, who led the wrongful prosecution of the Central Park Five, even lost her book deal (as a crime novelist) due to the backlash resulting from the airing of the miniseries.

President Trump himself, as a private citizen, has been scrutinized in the fallout of the miniseries, for famously pushing a racist narrative in 1989 about the violence and recklessness of boys from Harlem “wilding” their way through Central Park. He even advocated in full page newspaper ads for the death penalty as punishment for the accused teens.

The new followup special will feature two Oprah-led in-depth interviews: first with the cast of When They See Us, including Niecy Nash, Jharrel Jerome, Michael K. Williams, Joshua Jackson, Asante Blackk, Caleel Harris, Ethan Herisse, Jovan Adepo, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares and Justin Cunningham, as well as executive producers Jane Rosenthal and Berry Welsh. The second interview will be with director DuVernay and the five exonerated men known as the “Central Park Five”: Antron McCray, Kevin Richardson, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana and Korey Wise.

This will be the first time Winfrey has interviewed these men, now in their mid-40s. The five men were freed in 2002 after more than a decade behind bars when DNA evidence proved they were not responsible for the attack on Trisha Meili.

Along with Netflix, Winfrey’s cable channel OWN will also air the special entitled Oprah Winfrey Presents When They See Us Now, premiering June 12 at 10 p.m. ET/PT on both formats.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.