输入搜索

公司文化

Paramount Pictures因其缺乏代表性而受到拉丁裔集团的抗议

派拉蒙影业入口的图象在好莱坞。
抗议者在好莱坞的派拉蒙电影公司外面会面,抗议该公司在电影中缺乏拉美裔。 图像的形象。

周六,两家拉丁裔民权组织在洛杉矶的派拉蒙影业公司举行了一场抗议活动,以引起人们对其电影中缺乏拉丁裔表现的关注。

领导者 全国西班牙裔媒体联盟 (NHMC)和国家拉丁美洲媒体委员会(NLMC)将他们的工作重点放在派拉蒙上,引用南加州大学(USC)及其安纳伯格包容性倡议的统计数据 - 他们自己的研究显示,派拉蒙电影中拉丁美洲人的数量最少。

两个组织都在上周二在帕萨迪纳举行了会议,讨论这个问题 拉丁美洲观众的感情调查 并公布了针对派拉蒙的计划行动清单。

这种缺乏代表性的人也遍布好莱坞。 根据USC上个月公布的报告,在从100到11的2007年期间,顶级2017电影中不到7%的演讲角色是拉丁裔。

基于他们从2012到2017的电影工作室研究 - 和 加州大学洛杉矶分校最新的好莱坞多样性报告在2月份发布的 - NHMC发现派拉蒙在招聘拉丁裔演员,作家和导演方面的数字最差。

根据NHMC刚刚发布的“电影业缺乏拉丁语“它缩小了对100和2016之间每年顶级2017电影票房的关注,派拉蒙没有发行以西班牙裔作家或西班牙裔演员为主角的电影。 在此期间,派拉蒙发布了符合20调查资格的电影。 在2017中,派拉蒙分发了一部西班牙裔导演西班牙人F.JavierGutiérrez的电影。 戒指.

NHMC总裁亚历克斯·诺加莱斯表示,他的组织还决定在今年夏天早些时候与工作室高管会面失败后达成派拉蒙,以达成谅解备忘录。 Nogales表示,这些协议有助于确定工作室如何在其电影中提升拉丁裔代表性。

在NHMC领导人和派拉蒙高管之间的紧张会谈后,谈判陷入僵局,他们认为民权组织的要求过于激进。 诺加莱斯为自己的战术辩护,称该行业的变革早就应该进行。

工作室发言人上个月末 说过 最高管理人员“真诚地与NHMC会面,了解我们如何合作,因为我们进一步推动派拉蒙的多元化,包容性和归属感文化。 在我们的新领导团队的领导下,我们将继续取得进展 - 包括确保在即将上映的电影中代表镜头前后的代表性 爱探险的朵拉, 即时家庭, 大黄蜂 有限合伙人 - 并欢迎有机会进一步建立和加强与Latinx创意社区的关系。“

事实上,多样性可被视为商业的福音:在上述民意调查中,由自称为拉丁裔或西班牙裔的423个人完成,66百分比的观众更倾向于观看拉丁美洲主题的电影,而61百分比更喜欢来自拉丁裔演员,作家和导演的电影。 另一位51百分比表示他们要么从最不具有包容性的工作室中消除或观看观众电影。

截至2016,皮尤研究中心规定,美国有100万58拉丁美洲人,占人口的18百分比。 2018好莱坞多样性报告发现,不到3%的电影中的演讲部分都是拉丁裔演员。

诺加莱斯敦促拉美裔人签署一份 请愿,纠察派拉蒙影业,并停止购买其电影票。 抵制示威活动于11于星期六,25举行。

开创性的新电视系列'Vida'是第一款Latina Showrunner等

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. SIZE 1-2018-XNUMX

    我们目前在“文明”,“自由”和“自由”的世界中看到了什么? 而且我不只是说... https://t.co/psOnE8jB4u

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Paramount Pictures is Protested by Latino Group for its Lack of Representation

Image of the entrance to Paramount Pictures in Hollywood.
Protestors met outside Paramount Pictures in Hollywood to protest the company's lack of Latino representation in films. Image via Pixabay.

Two Latino civil rights organizations staged a protest on Saturday outside Paramount Pictures in Los Angeles, to draw attention to the lack of Latino representation in its films.

Leaders for the National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) and the National Latino Media Council (NLMC) focused their efforts on Paramount, citing statistics from University of Southern California (USC) and its Annenberg Inclusion Initiative — with their own research showing Paramount had the fewest number of Latinos in films.

Both organizations met this past Tuesday in Pasadena to discuss a poll of Latinos viewers’ sensibilities and unveiled a list of planned actions against Paramount.

This lack of representation pervades all through Hollywood as well. Fewer than seven percent of speaking characters in the top 100 films over an 11-year period spanning from 2007 to 2017 were Latino, according to the USC report published last month.

Based on their film studio research from 2012 to 2017 — and UCLA’s latest Hollywood Diversity Report, released in February — the NHMC found that Paramount had the worst numbers when it came to hiring Latino actors, writers, and directors.

According to NHMC’s just-released “Lack of Latinx in Film Industry,” which narrowed its focus on the top 100 grossing films per year between 2016 and 2017, Paramount released no films featuring either a Hispanic writer or a Hispanic actor in a lead role. During that period, Paramount released 20 survey-eligible films. In 2017, Paramount distributed only one movie from a Hispanic director, Spaniard F. Javier Gutiérrez’s Rings.

Alex Nogales, NHMC president, said that his organization also decided to target Paramount after an unsuccessful meeting with studio executives earlier this summer to reach a memorandum of understanding. Nogales said those agreements help set goals in writing in how the studio would boost Latino representation in its films.

The talks stalled after a tense meeting between NHMC leaders and Paramount executives who felt the civil rights group was being overly aggressive in their demands. Nogales defended his tactics, saying that change in the industry was long overdue.

A studio spokesperson late last month said Paramount executives “met with NHMC in a good faith effort to see how we could partner as we further drive Paramount’s culture of diversity, inclusion and belonging. Under our new leadership team, we continue to make progress — including ensuring representation in front of and behind the camera in upcoming films such as Dora the Explorer, Instant Family, Bumblebee and Limited Partners — and welcome the opportunity to build and strengthen relationships with the Latinx creative community further.”

Indeed, diversity could be seen as a boon for business: in the aforementioned poll, completed by 423 individuals who self-identify as Latino or Hispanic, 66 percent of said viewers were more inclined to watch films with Latino themes, while 61 percent would prefer films from Latino actors, writers, and directors. Another 51 percent said they would either eliminate or watch viewer films from the least-inclusive studio.

As of 2016, the Pew Research Center stipulated that there were 58 million Latinos in America, accounting for 18 percent of the population. The 2018 Hollywood Diversity Report found that less than three percent of speaking parts in films go to Latino actors.

Nogales urged Latinos to sign a petition, picket Paramount Pictures, and cease buying tickets for its films. The boycott demonstration was held at 11 a.m. Saturday, August 25.

 

Groundbreaking New TV Series ‘Vida’ Features First Latina Showrunner & More

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. MAAT September 1, 2018

    What are we currently seeing in the “civilized”,”liberal” & “free” world? And I’m not just talking a… https://t.co/psOnE8jB4u

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.