اكتب للبحث

حضاره

Paramount Pictures تحتج عليها مجموعة لاتيني بسبب قلة التمثيل

صورة مدخل صور باراماونت في هوليوود.
التقى المتظاهرون خارج باراماونت بيكتشرز في هوليوود للاحتجاج على عدم تمثيل الشركة لاتيني في الأفلام. الصورة عبر Pixabay.

نظمت منظمتان لاتينيان مدافعتان عن الحقوق المدنية احتجاجا يوم السبت خارج باراماونت بيكتشرز في لوس أنجلوس ، للفت الانتباه إلى عدم وجود تمثيل لاتيني في أفلامها.

قادة ل الائتلاف الوطني الاسباني للإعلام ركزت (NHMC) والمجلس الوطني لاتيني لوسائل الإعلام (NLMC) جهودهما على Paramount ، نقلاً عن إحصائيات من جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا (USC) ومبادرة Annenberg لإدراجها - مع بحثهما الخاص الذي أظهر أن Paramount كان لديه أقل عدد من اللاتينيين في الأفلام.

اجتمعت المنظمتان يوم الثلاثاء الماضي في باسادينا لمناقشة الأمر استطلاع للرأي اللاتيني المشاعر وكشف النقاب عن قائمة الإجراءات المخططة ضد Paramount.

هذا النقص في التمثيل ينتشر في جميع أنحاء هوليوود كذلك. أقل من سبعة في المئة من الشخصيات الناطقة في أفضل أفلام 100 على مدار فترة 11 تمتد من 2007 إلى 2017 كانت لاتينية ، وفقًا لتقرير USC الذي نشر الشهر الماضي.

بناءً على أبحاث استوديو الأفلام من 2012 إلى 2017 - و أحدث تقرير عن تنوع هوليوود في جامعة كاليفورنيا، الذي صدر في فبراير - وجدت NHMC أن لدى Paramount أسوأ الأرقام عندما يتعلق الأمر بتوظيف الممثلين والكتاب والمديرين من Latino.

وفقًا ل NHMC الذي صدر للتو "عدم وجود اللاتينيين في صناعة السينما، التي ضاقت تركيزها على أفضل أفلام 100 التي تحقق أرباحًا سنويًا بين 2016 و 2017 ، لم تصدر Paramount أي أفلام تضم إما كاتبًا من أصل إسباني أو ممثلًا من أصل إسباني في دور رائد. خلال تلك الفترة ، أصدرت شركة Paramount أفلامًا مؤهلة للاستطلاع من 20. في 2017 ، قام فيلم Paramount بتوزيع فيلم واحد فقط من مخرج إسباني ، هو Spaniard F. Javier Gutiérere's خواتم.

وقال أليكس نوغاليس ، رئيس NHMC ، إن منظمته قررت أيضًا استهداف "باراماونت" بعد اجتماع غير ناجح مع مديري الاستوديوهات في وقت سابق من هذا الصيف للتوصل إلى مذكرة تفاهم. وقال نوجاليس إن تلك الاتفاقيات تساعد في تحديد الأهداف في الكتابة في الطريقة التي سيعزز بها الاستوديو تمثيل لاتيني في أفلامه.

توقفت المحادثات بعد اجتماع متوتر بين قادة NHMC والمسؤولين التنفيذيين في باراماونت الذين شعروا أن جماعة الحقوق المدنية كانت شديدة العدوانية في مطالبهم. دافع نوجاليس عن تكتيكاته ، قائلاً إن التغيير في الصناعة قد تأخر طويلاً.

متحدث باسم الاستوديو في أواخر الشهر الماضي قال التقى المسؤولون التنفيذيون في Paramount مع NHMC في جهد حسن نية لنرى كيف يمكننا أن نشارك ، ونحن نواصل دفع ثقافة Paramount للتنوع والاندماج والانتماء. تحت قيادة فريقنا الجديد ، نواصل إحراز تقدم - بما في ذلك ضمان التمثيل أمام الكاميرا وخلفها في الأفلام القادمة مثل المستكشفة دورا, عائلة فورية, طنانة و الشركاء المحدودين - ونرحب بفرصة بناء وتقوية العلاقات مع مجتمع اللاتينيك الإبداعي. "

في الواقع ، يمكن اعتبار التنوع بمثابة هدية للأعمال: في الاستطلاع المذكور أعلاه ، الذي أكمله أفراد 423 الذين عرفوا أنفسهم باللاتينيين أو اللاتينيين ، كان 66 في المئة من المشاهدين يميلون أكثر إلى مشاهدة الأفلام ذات الموضوعات اللاتينية ، بينما يفضل 61 أفلام من ممثلي لاتيني وكتاب ومخرجين. قال 51 بالمائة الآخرون أنهم إما يقومون بإزالة أو مشاهدة أفلام المشاهد من الاستوديو الأقل شمولية.

اعتبارا من 2016 ، نص مركز بيو للأبحاث على وجود 58 مليون لاتيني في أمريكا ، وهو ما يمثل 18 في المئة من السكان. وجد تقرير تنوع هوليوود في 2018 أن أقل من ثلاثة بالمائة من الأجزاء الناطقة في الأفلام تذهب إلى ممثلين لاتيني.

وحث نوجاليس اللاتينيين على التوقيع عريضة، اعتصام Paramount Pictures ، والتوقف عن شراء تذاكر لأفلامها. تم تنظيم مظاهرة المقاطعة في 11 صباح يوم السبت ، أغسطس 25.

مسلسل تلفزيوني جديد فريد من نوعه "Vida" يعرض أول برنامج لاتينا Showrunner والمزيد

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. SIZE سبتمبر 1، 2018

    ما الذي نراه حاليًا في العالم "المتحضر" و "الليبرالي" و "الحر"؟ وأنا لا أتحدث فقط ... https://t.co/psOnE8jB4u

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

Paramount Pictures is Protested by Latino Group for its Lack of Representation

Image of the entrance to Paramount Pictures in Hollywood.
Protestors met outside Paramount Pictures in Hollywood to protest the company's lack of Latino representation in films. Image via Pixabay.

Two Latino civil rights organizations staged a protest on Saturday outside Paramount Pictures in Los Angeles, to draw attention to the lack of Latino representation in its films.

Leaders for the National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) and the National Latino Media Council (NLMC) focused their efforts on Paramount, citing statistics from University of Southern California (USC) and its Annenberg Inclusion Initiative — with their own research showing Paramount had the fewest number of Latinos in films.

Both organizations met this past Tuesday in Pasadena to discuss a poll of Latinos viewers’ sensibilities and unveiled a list of planned actions against Paramount.

This lack of representation pervades all through Hollywood as well. Fewer than seven percent of speaking characters in the top 100 films over an 11-year period spanning from 2007 to 2017 were Latino, according to the USC report published last month.

Based on their film studio research from 2012 to 2017 — and UCLA’s latest Hollywood Diversity Report, released in February — the NHMC found that Paramount had the worst numbers when it came to hiring Latino actors, writers, and directors.

According to NHMC’s just-released “Lack of Latinx in Film Industry,” which narrowed its focus on the top 100 grossing films per year between 2016 and 2017, Paramount released no films featuring either a Hispanic writer or a Hispanic actor in a lead role. During that period, Paramount released 20 survey-eligible films. In 2017, Paramount distributed only one movie from a Hispanic director, Spaniard F. Javier Gutiérrez’s Rings.

Alex Nogales, NHMC president, said that his organization also decided to target Paramount after an unsuccessful meeting with studio executives earlier this summer to reach a memorandum of understanding. Nogales said those agreements help set goals in writing in how the studio would boost Latino representation in its films.

The talks stalled after a tense meeting between NHMC leaders and Paramount executives who felt the civil rights group was being overly aggressive in their demands. Nogales defended his tactics, saying that change in the industry was long overdue.

A studio spokesperson late last month said Paramount executives “met with NHMC in a good faith effort to see how we could partner as we further drive Paramount’s culture of diversity, inclusion and belonging. Under our new leadership team, we continue to make progress — including ensuring representation in front of and behind the camera in upcoming films such as Dora the Explorer, Instant Family, Bumblebee and Limited Partners — and welcome the opportunity to build and strengthen relationships with the Latinx creative community further.”

Indeed, diversity could be seen as a boon for business: in the aforementioned poll, completed by 423 individuals who self-identify as Latino or Hispanic, 66 percent of said viewers were more inclined to watch films with Latino themes, while 61 percent would prefer films from Latino actors, writers, and directors. Another 51 percent said they would either eliminate or watch viewer films from the least-inclusive studio.

As of 2016, the Pew Research Center stipulated that there were 58 million Latinos in America, accounting for 18 percent of the population. The 2018 Hollywood Diversity Report found that less than three percent of speaking parts in films go to Latino actors.

Nogales urged Latinos to sign a petition, picket Paramount Pictures, and cease buying tickets for its films. The boycott demonstration was held at 11 a.m. Saturday, August 25.

 

Groundbreaking New TV Series ‘Vida’ Features First Latina Showrunner & More

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. MAAT September 1, 2018

    What are we currently seeing in the “civilized”,”liberal” & “free” world? And I’m not just talking a… https://t.co/psOnE8jB4u

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.