اكتب للبحث

HEALTH / SCI / TECH

حصاد المياه العذبة في التنمية يمكن أن يحصد 10 جالون من الماء كل ساعة

من خلال حصاد محمول للمياه العذبة قيد التطوير ، يمكن حصاد ما يصل إلى جالون من 10 من الماء من الهواء كل ساعة.

نهاية نقص المياه العذبة؟

تم تقديم هذا الابتكار من قبل العلماء في اجتماع للجمعية الكيميائية الأمريكية (ACS) يوم الثلاثاء ، أغسطس 21. الباحثون ، بقيادة شينغ تشونغ وونغ ، دكتوراه ، قدم النتائج التي توصلوا إليها خلال 256th الاجتماع الوطني والمعرض لل ACS، على أمل معالجة نقص المياه في جميع أنحاء العالم. كنت أزور الصين التي تعاني من ندرة في المياه العذبة. قال وونغ: هناك استثمار في معالجة المياه العادمة ، لكنني اعتقدت أن الجهد وحده لم يكن كافياً.

ألهمت ندرة المياه وونغ ومجموعته من الباحثين بالتركيز على تطوير طريقة بديلة لجمع المياه العذبة. استقروا على حصادة المياه العذبة المحمولة التي تستفيد من كميات هائلة من المياه في الغلاف الجوي. في رأيهم ، إعادة تدوير مياه الصرف الصحي باهظة الثمن ولا تلبي الطلب على المياه.

وفقا لونغ ، و سيكون الجهاز قادرًا على سحب ما يصل إلى جالون 10 من الماء في الساعة، ليس فقط في المناطق الرطبة ، ولكن أيضًا في المناطق القاحلة بما في ذلك الصحاري ، مما يجعل الكثير من المياه العذبة متاحة لكل من البشر والحيوانات في أي مكان على الأرض حيث تتناقص مستويات المياه بسرعة.

كيف يعمل حصادة المياه العذبة المحمولة؟

يقول ونج ، إلى جانب طلابه من جامعة أكرون ، إن أجهزتهم تستخدم طريقة لجمع المياه تعتمد على الألياف النانوية حيث يستخدمون البوليمرات elctrospun. من خلال الدعم الكهربائي ، يتم إنتاج ألياف البوليمر "التي تتراوح من عشرات من النانومتر إلى ميكرومتر 1" بواسطة القوى الكهربائية. يقول ونج إن الأبعاد هي حجم مثالي لتكثيف وضغط قطرات الماء من الهواء

بسبب حجمها ، توفر ألياف النانو مساحة سطح عالية إلى نسبة الحجم ، والتي تسمح لجزيئات الماء بالمرور. عن طريق استخدام كل من البوليمرات المائية والكارهة للماء ، والتي تجذب المياه وتصريف المياه على التوالي ، يمكن للجهاز حصاد 744 ملغ / سم2/ h ، والتي ، وفقًا لـ Wong وفريقه ، أعلى بنسبة 91 من الأجهزة المصممة بشكل مشابه بدون ألياف النانو.

تتمتع حصادة المياه العذبة المحمولة بفرصة كبيرة للنجاح نظرًا لنسبة الكفاءة المنفذة في التصميم المقترن بمتطلباتها الدنيا من الطاقة الفعالة. وقال وونغ: "يمكننا أن نقول بثقة أنه مع التطورات الحديثة في بطاريات الليثيوم أيون ، يمكننا في النهاية تطوير جهاز أصغر حجمًا على ظهره".

فيما يتعلق بنقاء الماء ، يقول ونج إن تصميم الألياف متناهية الصغر يقوم بترشيح جزيئات الماء عند التقاطها. تعمل البوليمرات elctrospun "كسطح مضاد للقاذورات ، حيث تقوم بإبادة الميكروبات التي يمكن أن تتجمع على سطح الحاصدة". ونتيجة لذلك ، يصبح الماء صافًا وخاليًا من الملوثات ، ويمكن استهلاكه مباشرة بعد التجميع.

يأمل ونج في الحصول على تمويل لوضع أبحاثهم في منتج ملموس. إذا نجحت ، فإن حصادة المياه العذبة المحمولة هذه ستكون مفيدة في توفير المياه طوال الحياة على الأرض على الرغم من الظروف المناخية المتغيرة. يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كانت حصادة سترى ضوء النهار أم لا.

مياه الشرب في أمريكا مشكلة وطنية

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
أليكس مويروري

أليكس كاتبة عاطفية ولدت وترعرعت في كينيا. تم تدريبه بشكل احترافي كموظف للصحة العامة لكنه يحب الكتابة أكثر. عندما لا يكتب ، يستمتع بالقراءة والقيام بالأعمال الخيرية وقضاء بعض الوقت مع الأصدقاء والعائلة. وهو أيضا عازف البيانو مجنون!

    1

1 تعليق

  1. كارول شتراوجان سبتمبر 29، 2018

    مهما حدث للنباتات المالحة التي كانت ستستخدم لتحويل مياه المحيط إلى مياه عذبة؟ يبدو أنني أتذكر عددًا قليلاً تم بناؤه في كاليفورنيا ولكن ليس بما يكفي ، فلم نسمع عنهم بعد الآن.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Freshwater Harvester in Development Could Harvest 10 Gallons of Water Every Hour

With a portable freshwater harvester in development, up to 10 gallons of water could be harvested from the air every hour.

The end of freshwater shortage?

The innovation was presented by scientists in a meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) on Tuesday, August 21. The researchers, led by Shing-Chung Wong, PhD, presented their findings during the 256th National Meeting & Exposition of the ACS, hoping to address worldwide water shortage. “I was visiting China, which has a freshwater scarcity. There’s investment in wastewater treatment, but I thought that effort alone was inadequate,” said Wong.

Water scarcity inspired Wong and his group of researchers to focus on developing an alternative method of freshwater harvesting. They settled on a portable freshwater harvester that takes advantage of the vast volumes of atmospheric water. In their opinion, recycling waste water is expensive and does not meet the demand for water.

According to Wong, the device will be able to draw up to 10 gallons of water per hour, not only in humid regions, but also in arid regions including deserts, making plenty of fresh water available to both humans and animals anywhere on earth where water levels are quickly dwindling.

How does the portable freshwater harvester work?

Wong, together with his students from the University of Akron, say their device uses a nanofiber-based method of water collection where they employ the use of elctrospun polymers. Through electrospinning, polymer fibers “ranging from tens of nanometers to 1 micrometre” are produced by the electrical forces. Wong says the dimensions are an ideal size to condense and squeeze water droplets out of the air

Due to their size, the nanoscale fibers provide a high surface area to volume ratio, which allows water molecules to pass through. By use of both hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymers, which attract water and discharge water respectively, the device can harvest 744 mg/ cm2/ h, which, according to Wong and his team, is 91 percent higher than similarly designed devices without nanofibers.

The portable freshwater harvester has a high chance of success due to the efficient ratio implemented into the design paired with its efficient minimal  energy requirements. “We could confidently say that, with recent advances in lithium-ion batteries, we could eventually develop a smaller, backpack-sized device,” said Wong.

Regarding the purity of the water, Wong says the nanofiber design filters the water particles as they get captured. The elctrospun polymers “act as an anti-fouling surface, sloughing of microbes that could collect on the harvester’s surface.” As a result, the water is clear and pollutant-free, and can be consumed immediately after collection.

Wong hopes to receive funding to put their research into a tangible product. If successful, this portable freshwater harvester will prove useful in providing water for all life on earth despite changing climate conditions. It remains to be seen whether or not the harvester will see the light of day.

 

Drinking Water In America Is A National Problem

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

1 Comment

  1. Carolee Straughan September 29, 2018

    Whatever happened to saline plants which were to be used to convert ocean water to fresh? Seems I recall a few that were built in CA but not enough then we heard no more about them.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.