اكتب للبحث

أخبار الأقران

وضع "إنجاز الأمور" في السياق

ما الذي قام به بيرني ساندرز؟ لم يكن سوى قائد ثابت في القضايا التقدمية خلال أكثر من 20 سنوات في الكونغرس (وحتى قبل ذلك) وبدأ ثورة سياسية. كيف ذلك؟ (الصورة الائتمانية: Gage Skidmore / CC BY-SA 3.0)
ما الذي قام به بيرني ساندرز؟ لم يكن سوى قائد ثابت في القضايا التقدمية خلال أكثر من 20 سنوات في الكونغرس (وحتى قبل ذلك) وبدأ ثورة سياسية. كيف ذلك؟ (الصورة الائتمانية: Gage Skidmore / CC BY-SA 3.0)
(يتم تقديم جميع مقالات Peer News بواسطة قراء Citizen Truth ولا تعكس آراء CT. Peer News هي مزيج من الرأي والتعليقات والأخبار. تتم مراجعة المقالات ويجب أن تتوافق مع الإرشادات الأساسية ولكن CT لا تضمن دقة البيانات قدمت أو الحجج المقدمة. نحن فخورون لتبادل قصصك ، مشاركة لك هنا.)

فلنضع مفاهيم غامضة من أعلى إلى أسفل حول "إنجاز الأمور" لصالح تعبئة الناخبين وتشجيع المواطنين على المشاركة في مختلف مستويات الحكومة.

باعتبارك أحد مؤيدي Bernie الذي يرجع تاريخه إلى 2016 ، فإن العديد من الأشياء تلتصق بالزحف الخاص بالمثال ، ولكن لا يزال دور واحد من العبارة حتى اليوم يطوي تروسي المثلية أيضًا. عند سؤالها خلال مناظرة ديمقراطية في أكتوبر / تشرين الأول 2015 من أندرسون كوبر عما إذا كانت معتدلة أو تقدمية ، لاحظت هيلاري كلينتون ، "أنا تقدمية ، لكن أنا تقدمية تحب إنجاز الأمور ".

أوه! السناتور ساندرز ، هل شعرت أن حرق المرضى؟

دون الرغبة في الخوض في تاريخ كلينتون والمضي قدماً ، تشير إلى كل الأشياء التي قد لا تكون قد "أنجزتها" - على سبيل المثال ، على سبيل المثال ، في الواقع فازت في الانتخابات الرئاسية 2016 - لا يزال اختبار عبء إنجاز الأمور يمثل مشكلة بسبب كيف يتم تطبيقه بشكل غير متساو وخط حدودي ، على وجه التحديد لأنه يتعلق بالمرشحين التقدميين أصليًا.

بالنسبة لهذا الأمر ، لقد شاهدته يتم استخدامه من قبل مؤيدي مرشح تقدمي ضد آخر. ربما لديك فكرة عن أين أنا ذاهب مع هذا. من الحكاية ، رأيت بعض مشجعي إليزابيث وارين يلتقطون طلقات في بيرني ، يسألون طوال سنوات عمله في مجلس النواب ومجلس الشيوخ ، ما الذي فعله ، كما تعلمون ،؟ من المفترض أن بعض مؤيدي وارن هؤلاء كانوا من مؤيدي هيلاري من دورة الحملة الأخيرة ، وبالتالي فإن نفس خط الهجوم حول ما أنجزه السناتور من فيرمونت قد يكون جديدًا في أذهانهم. لقلة مختارة ، قد يكون هناك بالإضافة إلى ذلك بعض الاستياء المضلل وفقًا لمفهوم بيرني ليس "ديموقراطيًا حقيقيًا" وكان السبب الرئيسي وراء فوز دونالد ترامب. الفقراء هيلاري. انها أبدا خطأها.

مفتاح حجة "لا تفعل شيئاً" بيرني هو نظرة سريعة على سجله التشريعي، لا سيما التشريع الذي كان هو الراعي الرئيسي في الواقع الحصول على سن. سيشير معارضوه إلى أنه خلال أكثر من عقدين في الكونغرس ، لم تتم المصادقة على ساندرز سوى سبعة من قراراته / مشاريع قوانينه: أربعة من وقته في مجلس النواب ، وثلاثة في مجلس الشيوخ. خمسة من هذه الاقتراحات التي تم سنها هي في معظمها وثيقة الصلة بولايته الأم ، بما في ذلك تشريعان كانا يعملان على تعيين مكاتب البريد بعد شخص معين. لا الاشياء التلألؤ تماما. تناول الاثنان الآخران بالتحديد تعديلات تكلفة المعيشة للمحاربين القدامى وتحديث الميثاق الفيدرالي للمحاربين القدماء في الحروب الأجنبية. مرة أخرى ، قد تجد نفسك غير ملهم ما لم تتأثر على وجه التحديد بهذه التغييرات.

ما يفسر خط التفكير هذا هو السياق الذي تم فيه تقديم هذه الفواتير. بعد كل شيء ، هذا هو الكونغرس الذي نتحدث عنه هنا ، وهي مؤسسة غير معروفة بالضبط لإنتاجيتها الوفيرة. إن عرض GovTrack.us ذاته للتشريع المدعوم من Sanders المرتبط أعلاه يساعد في تفسير هذا الواقع.

هل 7 لا يبدو كثيرًا؟ يتم سن عدد قليل جدا من مشاريع القوانين على الإطلاق - يرعى معظم المشرعين حفنة فقط يتم توقيعها لتصبح قانونًا. ولكن هناك أنشطة تشريعية أخرى لا نقوم بتتبعها والتي تعد مهمة أيضًا ، بما في ذلك تقديم التعديلات وعمل اللجان والإشراف على الفروع الأخرى والخدمات التأسيسية.

حق. هناك صورة أكبر لتكون موضع تقدير. فيما يتعلق بموضوع عمل اللجنة ، تعتبر بيرني من الأعضاء البارزين في لجنة مجلس الشيوخ للميزانية وعضوًا في الصحة والتعليم والعمل والمعاشات التقاعدية ؛ الطاقة والموارد الطبيعية ؛ البيئة والأشغال العامة ؛ ولجان شؤون المحاربين القدامى. لذلك هناك هذا.

لا يأخذ هذا التحليل أيضًا في الاعتبار مشاريع / قرارات 200 التي وقعها الرئيس والتي أضاف إليها Sanders اسمه كراع مشارك منذ أن أدى اليمين كممثل للولايات المتحدة في 1991. كما يجب توضيح ذلك ، فليست كل هذه إنجازات تشريعية لمستجمعات المياه. أعني ، من وجهة نظري ، أن تسعة من هذه الرعاية كانت مرتبطة بالعملات التذكارية. ومع ذلك ، فإن التلميح عن العمل من جانب بيرني أمر مضلل.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن هذا يتجاهل جميع الأوقات التي أظهر فيها السناتور ساندرز زمام المبادرة بشأن مشروع قانون لم يتم تمريره من خلال أي خطأ من جانبه. انظر إلى عروضه الأخيرة. التعرف على "حالة الطوارئ المناخية" لما هي عليه. كلية للجميع. الرعاية الصحية للجميع. توسيع الضمان الاجتماعي. رفع الأجور. خفض أسعار الأدوية. تم اقتراح كل هذه السنة. لمجرد أن هذا التشريع قد مات لدى وصوله إلى مجلس الشيوخ الذي يسيطر عليه الحزب الجمهوري مع جمهوري في البيت الأبيض لا يعطي أي معنى. إنه يشير إلى أن الفرد يقترح استعداده للقتال من أجل أشياء تستحق القتال من أجلها.

هذا قبل أن نصل إلى مسألة متى "النفعية السياسية" تنجز الأشياء "لكن ليس بالضرورة بطريقة مثمرة لجميع الأميركيين. مرة أخرى في يونيو ، توصف جو بايدن له القدرة على العمل مع أمثال جيمس إيستلاند وهيرمان تالمادج لإصدار تشريع ، وإزالة الشعر بالحنين إلى الماضي على "الكياسة" التي يمكن توفيرها لجميع الأطراف.

بالإضافة إلى المشكلة الواضحة التي يروج لها بايدن لقدرته على العمل مع عناصر الفصل العنصري الجنوبيين - دعوني أسلط الضوء على ذلك في ملاحظاتي - 2019 ، أن الجهد المجتمعي قد لا يكون ما تصدع. تلقى نائب الرئيس السابق انتقاداته الواجبة من كمال هاريس وغيره من المنافسين الديمقراطيين للتحالف مع التفرقة العنصرية في معارضة الحافلات لدمج المدارس. بجانب إرثه كما "مهندس الحبس الجماعي" كما قال كوري بوكر ، فإن استعداد بايدن لتقديم تنازلات يرسمه في ضوء سيء إلى حد ما. من المؤكد أنها تغيم أوراق اعتماده المزعومة على أنه بطل الحقوق المدنية.

ليس فقط مع بيرني. في جميع المجالات بالنسبة للديمقراطيين ، يبدو من المفيد مشاهدة الجهود التشريعية من خلال عدسة ما يسيطر عليه الحزب في كل مجلس ومن الذي ينتظر على الأرجح توقيع مشروع قانون تم تمريره في المكتب البيضاوي. يسيطر الجمهوريون بقيادة ميتش ماكونيل المعوق وقضائي على مجلس الشيوخ. دونالد ترامب ، الذي يبدو أن لديه قبضة الموت على التكرار اليوم للحزب الجمهوري ، هو الرئيس. هل يجب أن نخطئ السناتور وارن في مراقبة ترامب وشركاه تفكيك مكتب حماية المستهلك المالي أمام عينيها؟ هل يجب أن نوجه رسالة نصية إلى الإسكندرية أوكاسيو كورتيز وأعضاء آخرين من فرقة Squad للتصويت على ضميرهم فقط لرؤية الجمهوريين في مجلس الشيوخ أو الديمقراطيين المعتدلين في أي من المجلسين يقف في طريقهم؟

قد يهزأ الوسطيون ، مثل نانسي بيلوسي ، بالتقدميين الذين "لديهم متابعتهم" فقط لرؤية عدد أصواتهم يفوق عددهم أو أن أصواتهم قد غرقت من خلال مناشدات الطيبة والسرعة. في غياب القدرة على القيادة ، إلا أن التقدم الذي يسعون إليه أصبح لاغًا. هناك سبب يحظى بشعبية مثل شخصيات مثل ساندرز وشركة AOC عندما لا يكون الكونغرس ككل كذلك. المواقف السياسية التي تتبناها هي ، إلى حد كبير ، مدعومة من قبل الجمهور الأمريكي. ما لا ينقص هو التزامهم. إنها الإرادة السياسية لرؤية مبادراتهم.


مفتاح عقلية كلينتون - بايدنيسك "إنجاز الأشياء" هو الإيمان الراسخ بقيمة الحزبين ، والوصول عبر الممر باسم التشريع المتقدم. قل الأشياء الصحيحة. قم بالتعديلات الصحيحة. سحب العتلات الصحيحة. في نهاية المطاف ، سيتم إصدار فاتورة قابلة للتطبيق. هذه هي الطريقة التي من المفترض أن تعمل الأشياء ، من الناحية النظرية. الناس معقولة صنع سياسات معقولة.

وسط اختلال وظيفي في الكونغرس اليوم ، لا يزال يبدو أن هذا المثل الأعلى يحتفظ بالمياه أمام عامة الناس. كيف يمكن تفسير جو بايدن المستمر في صدارة استطلاعات الرأي للحزب الديمقراطي بعد عرضين ضعيفين في المناقشات وعلى الرغم من وجود تاريخ من الزلات والقرارات السيئة؟ ما لم يكن بعض الناخبين سعداء بما يكفي للحصول على بعض مظاهر رئاسة باراك أوباما مرة أخرى. إذا استطعنا العودة إلى الأيام التي سبقت عهد الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، فكل شيء سيعود إلى طبيعته ، أليس كذلك؟

ممكن و ممكن لا. قد يتذكر بايدن بإعجاب الأيام التي كان يمكن للديمقراطيين والجمهوريين فيها أن يتعايشوا بشكل سلمي أو يعتقدون أنه بمجرد استعادة القيادة "المعقولة" لواشنطن ، فإن الحزب الجمهوري سوف يقطع الماركاركي ويستعيد دور الوكلاء المسؤولين في البلاد. يمكن القول إنه يقلل من استقطاب المناخ السياسي الحالي ويقلل من قدرته على إبرام الصفقات في ذلك.

الحزب الجمهوري اليوم ليس هو الحزب الجمهوري لجدك ، ببساطة. ليس عندما ينتقد الرئيس ضد منتقديه على تويتر يوميًا ، ويحصل على توجيهات سياسية من FOX News ، ويضع الأمة على طريق الدكتاتورية. ليس عندما ينكر أعضاء الحزب بنشاط شدة أزمة المناخ لدينا أو يتظاهرون بأن القومية البيضاء غير موجودة. ليس عندما يدافع قادة الأحزاب عن المعاملة اللاإنسانية للمهاجرين على حدودنا ويشاركون الميمات المهينة عن الإسكندرية أوكاسيو كورتيز وزملائها التقدميين مع الإفلات من العقاب.

بالنسبة لأولئك منا الذين لم يبلغوا من العمر بما فيه الكفاية لنتذكر بيئة مثل تصور واحد بايدن ، هذا هو كل ما نعرفه عن GOP ، واستنادا إلى مدى غرق منخفضة ويستمر في الانخفاض ، هناك كل سبب للاعتقاد أنها وصلت نقطة اللاعودة - إذا كانت الأمور جيدة حتى لتبدأ. بمجرد خلع نظاراتنا ذات الألوان الوردية وإعادة تقييم القرارات السابقة من وجهات نظر متعددة الجوانب ، قد ندرك تمامًا كم كانت سياسات معينة مدمرة من قبل الطرفين للأميركيين خارج الطبقة الحاكمة المزعومة.

بالإضافة إلى سجله المتقلب في مجال الحقوق المدنية ، تتناقض علاقة بايدن المريحة مع قطاعات الخدمات المصرفية والمالية والتأمين بشكل صارخ مع صورته كبطل ذو الياقات الزرقاء. نظرًا لحقل ديمقراطي أساسي مزدحم وموارد وفيرة يمكن من خلالها تقييم سجله العام ، فقد يتحول هذا إلى مسؤولية. أي أنه حتى إذا فاز بترشيح الحزب ، فلا تزال هناك مسألة الانتخابات العامة. ترامب على ما يبدو تحدت الاحتمالات ضد هيلاري كلينتون ، في كثير من النواحي مرشح أعلى. من الذي يقول إن مضاعفة شخص مثل بايدن لن يأتي بنتائج عكسية ، مما يتركنا في ولاية ثانية للرئيس ترامب؟ إذا كان يفعل كل هذه الأشياء المشينة وقوله الآن ، فما الذي يعنيه هذا عند إعادة انتخابه وليس لديه ما يخسره؟

قد يكون للرجوع إلى أيام التعاون بين الحزبين في ظل الإدارات السابقة نداء سطحي للناخبين ، وخاصة البيض المعتدلين الذين يمكنهم تحمل نفقات المشاركة السياسية بصورة غير عادية. حتى تلك الراحة النسبية قد تكون وهمية. حالة الطوارئ المناخية لن تصلح نفسها. ليست أزمة ديون الطلاب أو أزمة القدرة على تحمل تكاليف الرعاية الصحية أو البنية التحتية المتهالكة أو أي معضلة خطيرة أخرى تواجه عالمنا. ببساطة ، إن المخاطر أكبر الآن ، ومفاهيم الأمل والتغيير التي تذوب في عهد أوباما إلى الإزدياد ليست كافية. سيستغرق الأمر أكثر من ذلك. سيستغرق قوة الشعب الحقيقية.

لذلك ، فلنضع مفاهيم غامضة من أعلى إلى أسفل حول "إنجاز الأمور" لصالح تعبئة الناخبين وتشجيع المواطنين على المشاركة في مختلف مستويات الحكومة. لدينا الناس. نحن فقط بحاجة إلى قناعة لرؤيتها من خلال. إذا لم تكن على متن مع رؤية تقدمية لمستقبلنا ، فلا تقلق بشأن ما هو "ممكن" سياسيا أو ما يمكن القيام به. قلق بشأن الخروج من طريق أولئك المصممين على القيادة.

جوزيف مانجانو

قام جوزيف مانجانو بالتدوين لأكثر من 10 سنوات بأشكال مختلفة. اعتقل مرة واحدة في Xanga كمحرر وكاتب. تخرج مع درجة البكالوريوس في علم النفس من جامعة روتجرز ، وماجستير في المحاسبة من جامعة ويليام باترسون. يقيم في شمال نيوجيرسي ، ولم يضخ الغاز إلا مرة واحدة. عندما لا يكتب ، يستمتع بكونه جزءًا من الثنائي الصخري الصوتي الذي لا يلعب أبدًا أي عروض أو يشاهد الألعاب الرياضية ويطارد بوكيمون. يمكن الوصول إليه عند [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو على تويتر علىJFMangano.

    1

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

Putting ‘Getting Things Done’ in Context

What has Bernie Sanders done? Only been a consistent leader on progressive issues in over 20 years in Congress (and even before that) and started a political revolution. How’s that? (Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore/CC BY-SA 3.0)
What has Bernie Sanders done? Only been a consistent leader on progressive issues in over 20 years in Congress (and even before that) and started a political revolution. How’s that? (Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore/CC BY-SA 3.0)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

Let’s put aside vague, top-down conceptualizations of “getting things done” in favor of mobilizing voters and encouraging citizens to get involved at various levels of government.

As a Bernie supporter dating back to 2016, many things stick in my proverbial craw, but one turn of phrase even today still grinds my likewise proverbial gears. When asked during a Democratic debate in October 2015 by Anderson Cooper whether she is a moderate or a progressive, Hillary Clinton remarked, “I’m a progressive, but I’m a progressive who likes to get things done.”

Ooh! Sen. Sanders, did you feel that sick burn?

Without wanting to delve into Clinton’s history and go tit for tat, pointing out all the things she may not have “gotten done”—like, for instance, actually winning the 2016 presidential election—the litmus test of getting things done remains problematic because of how unevenly and borderline disingenuously it gets applied, specifically as it concerns authentically progressive candidates.

For that matter, I’ve witnessed it being used by supporters of one progressive candidate against another. You probably have an idea about where I’m going with this. Anecdotally, I’ve seen some Elizabeth Warren fans take shots at Bernie, asking, for all his 28 years in the House of Representatives and the Senate, what has he, you know, done? Presumably, some of these Warren supporters were Hillary supporters from the last campaign cycle, so the same line of attack about what the senator from Vermont has accomplished may yet be fresh in their minds. For a select few, there may additionally be some misdirected resentment in accordance with the notion Bernie is not a “true Democrat” and was a chief reason why Donald Trump won. Poor Hillary. It’s never her fault.

Key to the do-nothing-Bernie argument is a glance at his legislative record, particularly the legislation for which he was primary sponsor actually getting enacted. His objectors will point out that, in over two decades in Congress, Sanders has only had seven of his resolutions/bills ratified: four from his time in the House, three in the Senate. Five of these motions enacted are germane mostly to his home state, including two pieces of legislation which served to designate post offices after someone specific. Not altogether scintillating stuff. The other two specifically addressed cost-of-living adjustments for veterans and updating the federal charter for the Veterans of Foreign Wars. Again, you may find yourself uninspired unless you were specifically impacted by these changes.

What this line of thinking fails to account for is the context in which these bills were introduced. After all, this is Congress we’re talking about here, an institution not exactly known for its prolific productivity. The very GovTrack.us showcase of Sanders’s sponsored legislation linked to above helps explain this reality.

Does 7 not sound like a lot? Very few bills are ever enacted — most legislators sponsor only a handful that are signed into law. But there are other legislative activities that we don’t track that are also important, including offering amendments, committee work and oversight of the other branches, and constituent services.

Right. There’s a bigger picture to be appreciated. On the subject of committee work, Bernie is a ranking member of the Senate Committee on the Budget and a member of the Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions; Energy and Natural Resources; Environment and Public Works; and Veterans’ Affairs committees. So there’s that.

Such analysis also doesn’t consider the over 200 bills/resolutions signed by the president to which Sanders added his name as a co-sponsor since being sworn in as a U.S. Representative in 1991. As it must be clarified, not all of these are watershed legislative achievements. I mean, from my count, nine of these co-sponsorships were related to commemorative coins. Still, to imply inaction on Bernie’s part is misleading.

Moreover, this ignores all the times Sen. Sanders has shown leadership on a bill that, through no fault of his own, hasn’t been passed. Look at his recent offerings. Recognizing the “climate emergency” for what it is. College for All. Medicare for All. Social Security expansion. Raising wages. Lowering drug prices. These were all proposed this year. Just because this legislation is dead on arrival in a GOP-controlled Senate with a Republican in the White House doesn’t confer meaninglessness. It signals the individual proposing it is willing to fight for things worth fighting for.

This is before we even get to the issue of when political expediency “gets things done” but not necessarily in a way that is productive for all Americans. Back in June, Joe Biden touted his ability to work with the likes of James Eastland and Herman Talmadge to pass legislation, waxing nostalgic on the “civility” that could be afforded to all parties.

Beyond the obvious problem that Biden is touting his ability to work with Southern segregationists in—let me highlight this in my notes—2019, that communal effort may not be what it’s cracked up to be. The former VP has received his due criticism from Kamala Harris and other Democratic rivals for allying with segregationists in opposition of busing to integrate schools. Next to his legacy as “an architect of mass incarceration,” as Cory Booker put it, Biden’s willingness to compromise paints him in a rather poor light. It certainly clouds his purported credentials of being a champion of civil rights.

It’s not just with Bernie either. Across the board for Democrats, it seems instructive to view legislative efforts through the lens of what party controls each house and who is potentially waiting to sign a passed bill in the Oval Office. Republicans, led by shameless obstructionist and judiciary stacker Mitch McConnell, control the Senate. Donald Trump, who appears to have a death grip on today’s iteration of the GOP, is president. Should we fault Sen. Warren for watching Trump and Co. dismantle the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau before her eyes? Should we admonish Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and other members of The Squad for voting their conscience only to see Senate Republicans or moderate Democrats in either house stand in their way?

Centrists like Nancy Pelosi may sneer at progressives who “have their following” only to see their votes outnumbered or their voices drowned out by appeals to civility and expediency. Absent the ability to lead, however, the progress they seek is all but nullified. There’s a reason why figures like Sanders and AOC are so popular when Congress as a whole is not. The policy positions they embrace are, by and large, supported by the American public. What’s not lacking is their commitment. It’s the political will to see their initiatives through.


Key to the Clintonian-Bidenesque “getting things done” mentality is a firm belief in the value of bipartisanship, of reaching across the aisle in the name of advancing legislation. Say the right things. Make the right amendments. Pull the right levers. Eventually, a workable bill will come out. That’s how things are supposed to work, in theory. Reasonable people making reasonable policies.

Amid the dysfunction of today’s Congress, this ideal still appears to hold water with the general public. How else to explain Joe Biden’s continued hold on the top of Democratic Party polls after two poor showings in the debates and despite a history of gaffes and poor decisions? Unless some voters are simply happy enough to have some semblance of Barack Obama’s presidency back. If we could just go back to the days before the era of President Donald Trump, everything would be back to normal, right?

Maybe, maybe not. Biden may reminisce fondly about the days when Democrats and Republicans could get along peaceably or believe that once “sensible” leadership is restored to Washington, the GOP will cut the malarkey and retake the mantle of responsible stewards of the country. He arguably both underestimates the polarization of the current political climate and overestimates his own deal-making ability in doing so, though.

Today’s Republican Party isn’t your granddaddy’s Republican Party, simply put. Not when the president is lashing out against his critics on Twitter daily, getting policy directives from FOX News, and putting the nation on the path to a dictatorship. Not when members of the party are actively denying the severity of our climate crisis or pretending that white nationalism doesn’t exist. Not when party leaders are defending the inhumane treatment of migrants at our border and are sharing derogatory memes about Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and her progressive colleagues with impunity.

For those of us who aren’t old enough to recall an environment like the one Biden envisions, this is all we know of the GOP, and based on how low it has sunk and continues to sink, there’s every reason to believe it has reached the point of no return—if things were even that good to begin with. Once we take off our rose-colored glasses and re-appraise past decisions from intersectional perspectives, we may come to realize just how devastating certain policies spearheaded by both parties have been for Americans outside the so-called ruling class.

In addition to his checkered civil rights record, Biden’s cozy relationship with the banking, financial services, and insurance industries contrasts starkly with his image as a blue-collar champion. Given a crowded Democratic primary field and ample resources with which to evaluate his overall record, this may turn out to be a liability. That is, even if he earns the party nomination, there’s still the matter of the general election. Trump seemingly defied the odds against Hillary Clinton, in many respects a superior candidate. Who’s to say doubling down on someone like Biden won’t backfire, leaving us with a second term of President Trump? If he’s doing and saying all these reprehensible things now, what will this mean when he gets re-elected and has nothing to lose?

Going back to the days of bipartisan cooperation under past administrations may have its superficial appeal to voters, especially moderate whites who can better afford to be casual political participants. Even that relative comfort may be illusory, however. The climate emergency is not going to fix itself. Nor is the student debt crisis or the health care affordability crisis or our crumbling infrastructure or any other serious dilemma facing our world. Simply put, the stakes are higher now and Obama-era notions of hope and change dissolving into incrementalism aren’t sufficient. It’s going to take more than that. It’s going to take real people power.

Let’s therefore put aside vague, top-down conceptualizations of “getting things done” in favor of mobilizing voters and encouraging citizens to get involved at various levels of government. We’ve got the people. We only need the conviction to see it through. If you’re not on board with a progressive vision for our future, don’t worry about what is politically “feasible” or what can get done. Worry about getting out of the way of those determined to lead.

Joseph Mangano

Joseph Mangano has been blogging for over 10 years in various forms. He once interned for Xanga as an editor and writer. He graduated with a BA in Psychology from Rutgers University, and an MBA in Accounting from William Paterson University. He resides in northern New Jersey, and has only once pumped his own gas. When not writing, he enjoys being part of an acoustic rock duo that never actually plays any shows, watching sports, and chasing Pokémon. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter at @JFMangano.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.