输入搜索

公司文化

拉米马利克拒绝在新邦德电影中扮演一个宗教小人

拉米·马利克在68th艾美奖颁奖典礼上。 (图片:华特迪士尼电视台)
拉米·马利克在68th艾美奖颁奖典礼上。 (图片:华特迪士尼电视台)

拉米·马利克已同意在下一部邦德电影中描绘一名恐怖分子,但承诺反派将是“一个非常不同的人”。

获得奥斯卡奖的演员拉米·马利克透露,如果没有与任何宗教有联系,他只会在即将上映的詹姆斯邦德电影中扮演新恶棍。

Malek是埃及裔美国人,今年因为他对已故摇滚偶像Freddie Mercury的描绘而获得奥斯卡奖。 波希米亚狂想曲.

在同一次采访 每日镜 这位38岁的演员表示,他已经与即将上映的詹姆斯邦德电影导演Cary Fukunaga讨论了他的预订。

“我说,'我们不能用任何反映意识形态或宗教信仰的恐怖行为来识别他,'”马利克回忆道。 “'那不是我想要的东西,所以如果这就是为什么我是你的选择那么你可以把我算在外面。'”

马利克肯定了导演福永(Fukunaga)有一个类似的愿景,促使演员接受这个角色。 然而,这个角色将是一个恐怖分子 - “一种非常不同的类型,”马利克坚持说。

虽然令人钦佩的是,Malek和新电影背后的电影制片人正在避免恐怖主义与特定宗教之间的任何联系,但值得注意的是,来自阿拉伯语国家的Malek正在扮演恐怖分子。 这仍然是刻板印象吗?

马利克在加利福尼亚州洛杉矶出生长大,父母从埃及开罗移民。 虽然在非洲技术上,埃及也被认为是中东的一部分 - 拥有共同的语言,文化,宗教和外表。

事实上,马利克以前曾经扮演过恐怖分子,包括在福克斯系列剧“2010”的第八季中作为自杀式炸弹袭击者在24中重演的角色。他最终表达了 沮丧 在扮演以“负面光线”描绘中东人的角色时,发誓不再接受这样的工作了。

在我们在美国和国外的政治分裂时期,媒体中的这种随意的刻板印象可能会产生比我们想象的更深刻的后果。 联邦调查局证实,过去两年来,基于宗教和种族的仇恨犯罪已经上升。 反诽谤联盟 报道 反犹太主义罪行增加,2018明显飙升。

即将上映的詹姆斯邦德电影是其特许经营中的25th,目前正在英国拍摄。 丹尼尔克雷格将第五次重申他作为名义间谍的角色。 这部电影将于4月2020上映。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Rami Malek Refused to Play a Religious Villain in New Bond Film

Rami Malek at the the 68th Emmy Awards. (Photo: Walt Disney Television)
Rami Malek at the the 68th Emmy Awards. (Photo: Walt Disney Television)

Rami Malek has agreed to portray a terrorist in the next Bond film but promised the villain will be “a very different kind.”

Oscar-winning actor Rami Malek revealed that he would only play the new villain in an upcoming James Bond movie if there were no links to any religion.

Malek, who is Egyptian-American, won an Oscar this year for his portrayal of late rock icon Freddie Mercury in Bohemian Rhapsody.

In an interview with the Daily Mirror and Daily Express newspapers, the 38-year-old actor said that he’d discussed his reservations with Cary Fukunaga, director of the upcoming James Bond movie.

“I said, ‘We cannot identify him with any act of terrorism reflecting an ideology or religion,'” Malek recounted. “‘That’s not something I would entertain, so if that is why I am your choice then you can count me out.'”

Malek affirmed that director Fukunaga shared a similar vision, prompting the actor to accept the role. However, the character will be a terrorist — “a very different kind,” insisted Malek.

Although it’s admirable that Malek and the filmmakers behind the new film are averting any links between terrorism and a specific religion, it’s notable that Malek, who is from an Arab-speaking country, is playing a terrorist nonetheless. Is this still stereotyping?

Malek was born and raised in Los Angeles, California, with parents who immigrated from Cairo, Egypt. Although technically in Africa, Egypt is also considered part of the Middle East — with a shared language, culture, religion, and physical appearances.

In fact, Malek has previously played terrorists before, including a recurring role in 2010 as a suicide bomber on the eighth season of the Fox series “24.” He eventually expressed dismay at playing roles that depicted Middle Easterners in a “negative light,” vowing not to accept such work anymore.

In our politically divided times in the U.S. and abroad, such casual stereotypes in the media may have deeper consequences than we think. The FBI has confirmed that hate crimes based on religion and race have risen in the past two years. The Anti-Defamation League reported that anti-Semitic crimes have increased, with a noticeable spike in 2018.

The upcoming James Bond film is the 25th in its franchise and is currently filming in the United Kingdom. Daniel Craig will reprise his role as the titular spy for the fifth time. The film will be released in April 2020.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.